JPJ to crackdown on private Uber vehicles from Oct 1

uber-x

From October 1, the Road Transport Department (JPJ) will be carrying out a nationwide crackdown on private individuals and companies providing transport services through Uber, The Star reports.

Private vehicles caught providing the service will be impounded, and their owners may face fines between RM1,000 and RM10,000, or be jailed up to a year, said JPJ director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad.

“It is similar to teksi sapu or illegal taxis, and that is why we are taking action to stop it,” The Star quoted him as saying. “The public should be aware that by using private vehicles as taxis, they are not covered by any insurance should they get involved in any accident.”

Taxis, limousines and other vehicles from licensed operators using Uber to ply their services will not be affected, said Ismail.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• hondana on Sep 22, 2014 at 4:23 pm

How about those rude, kaki cekik, kurang asam punya legal Teksi?

No crackdown on them kah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 260 Thumb down 2
    • Fake Same L0rrr on Sep 22, 2014 at 4:34 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 206
      • Simple Logic on Sep 22, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Similar logic: Sex is prohibited by law, so some can keep on raping…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
        • Black Dog on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Our taxis are even much much worst than Vietnam!

I just came back from there and all of them use meters! What a fricking joke here!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
        • Teksi - Part time Pimps on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:15 am

Now everybody use UBER very simple. All our teksi drivers are so dirty. All the time digging their nore.

So many complaints that teksi drivers always digging their nose, teeth of pulling their janggut with 2 ten sen coin. Most ladies and even men so difficult or geli to give money to the teksi driver because sure got gold (bugger) in his fingers.

In Malaysia, ladies always ask teksi drivers to keep the change because they really geli want to touch the change from teksi drivers.

Another matter also is that all teksi drivers in Malaysia are sex maniacs. Ask any woman, they will tell you, teksi driver always talk dirty or sex to them. Most women feel uncomfortable and scared because teksi drivers talk filth.

Malaysian teksi drivers should all be prosecuted. This is an Islamic country but they get commission by pimps to bring clients to them. Most single men, either Malaysians or tourist enter the teksi, straight away teksi driver ask whther they want prostitute or spa. Then when the passenger says yes, the teksi driver gets a commission from the brothel, rumah tumpangan or pimp. this has been going on for years and yet, the teksi drivers try to play innocent. They profit from dosa and make Malaysia the sex capital of Asia by encouraging, promoting and aiding and abetting such crime.

I hope our transport ministry see into this. Remember, our taxi drivers are promoting red light practises as well as sins of the flesh in Malaysia. Mana JAIS? JAIS got time to run around the taman bunga catching young school boys and girls kissing on the cheeks.

JAIS knows about this but close an eye. Bulan Puasa also, JAIS knows our Muslim taxi drivers are carrying prostitutes and encouraging sins of the flesh but don’t do anything. Don’t forget, they are promoting Malaysia as the sex capital of Asia.

Now, Malaysia is already a very big hub for underage sex. It is all over the world now with the video done by the two journalist. Guess who is promoting all this? It is our teksi drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
          • TROLOLOL on Sep 23, 2014 at 2:09 pm

eh hello “Teksi-Part time Pimps”.. your generalization comments of ALL taxi drivers are sex maniacs and pimps are shrewd and uneducated at best.. perhaps like you.. yes i agree that there are those who do this part time jobs, but to say ALL are doing it, is just plain stupid like you.. please use your brain to think and comment, not your racist undertone logic.. and yes, not ALL these part time pimps are muslim.. so should the authority just take action on muslim part time pimps? what about those majority non-muslim drivers who promote such act? my guess is you’re one of those taxi driver who ferries and promote sexual activities, but lately cannot cari makan anymore..

• kzm (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 4:56 pm

u need to read n watch more..last couple of day i see tv segment showing crackdown those kind of Teksi that not using meter, altering meter etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 79
      • Carlover on Sep 22, 2014 at 5:17 pm

That one just drama…and many Taxi driver still no scare.. after all, the driver being catch one will drive back taxi tomorrow and continue ask for high price with lousy service and lousy condition P car… Apa takut sama JPJ???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
        • kzm (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 5:57 pm

then above article oso drama from JPJ lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 44
          • Anti CO2 on Sep 22, 2014 at 6:31 pm

In TV, our IGP also say our cities are safer than Singapore, Hong Kong… I bet you are proud and promoting this to your frens right…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
      • kzm (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 1:45 am

Some country banning uber totally eg Germany but lifted after an appeal by Germany taxi association. here in boleh oni private car is ban…this is not just boleh prob..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • kzm budak bodo on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:18 am

kzm is one idiot lah. Living in a fantasy world. He is the typical dude who sees rtm1 and thinks government cares and doing so much.

• Simple, gov didnt get any tax from the service, thats why they want to banned it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • More accurately, some Little Napoleons didn’t get their share. And those that have lots of share in existing system, scared their free money taken away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
        • little napoleon on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:09 pm

as if you don’t know that most of teksi company are owned by those are pledge allegiance to ruling parties.. all those cronies and knows who ..
          so this uber.. no commission to them.. that’s need to get quickly banned.

stupid mentality.. that’s why we still live in third world country image.. simple thing like taxi also cannot be reliable. And there’s a change to innovate, modernise the transportation section (taxi) with new player.. immediately banned them!

• Teksi and Sex Industry on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:41 am

How about our teksi drivers promoting prostitution in Malaysia? Our teksi drivers are the NO 1 friends for all the pimps in Malaysia who give these teksi drivers commission.

Is this really an Islamic country?

• Hahaha… Confirm taxi companies bribing JPJ already la. I guess its back to the old same system where we must fight for our rights to get a fair taxi price. What a joke. Cant handle the competition??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 6
    • Perkasa on Sep 23, 2014 at 8:39 am

Of course, since when our taxi can match Uber in terms of service and efficiency? our taxi is lousy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • LatukBandar on Sep 22, 2014 at 4:34 pm

They should have changed their name to ‘CarPool’ and the fees as ‘Tips’.

Imagine the headline says – Gov to crack down on CarPool(ing).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 2
  • How about non-metered taxi? Why not we all report non-metered taxi until they are eliminated? I love Uber, it was way affordable and feel safer than our Proton Iswara/ Wira.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 4:57 pm

watch n read more local news..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 78
      • stranger on Sep 22, 2014 at 5:15 pm

News? so what?

Can the G abolish them all at once?
        Even the G take actions, it ll be just a temporary period.

Msia news for syok sendiri and wayang saja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
      • Carlover on Sep 22, 2014 at 5:18 pm

That one just drama…and many Taxi driver still no scare.. after all, the driver being catch one will drive back taxi tomorrow and continue ask for high price with lousy service and lousy condition P car… Apa takut sama JPJ???

• katak bawah tempurung on Sep 22, 2014 at 5:34 pm

watch more international news la.. local news you trust 100%? Use your brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • news?? can you name any media that is not controlled?

cabbies who can afford to go onto myteksi service are actually in better conditions and friendlier but those that you need to hail down are all made up of assholes who are either reckless or rude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • Fake Motorhead on Sep 22, 2014 at 7:44 pm

International News: German Govt Banned Uber. Go Google now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
        • Real Motorhead on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Germany lifted its ban on Uber, 6 days before yr post. Go Google again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • Otak Udang on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:42 am

wow, kzm is one stupid idiot lah. Never seen anyone so stupid like him

• Buda Kampung on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:45 am

What an idiot. He loves to ask people to read news and google it. But all the time kzm is wrong. Woi buda bodo, balik kampung lah where you are happening. In Bandar, you are a joke.

• 20-year-old Saga

• Guess what, from my house to Senai airport, normal falling apart taxi asked for Rm80, Uber Starex, sometimes Velfire only charged Rm51.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • I would say, taxi price in Malaysia is kinda cheap compared to most of the countries (talking about dollar to dollar without currency conversion). Just the attitude of the taxi drivers that pisses me off at times

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
  • jwrx (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 4:44 pm

How about concentrating on issues that kill/injure msians every year?

overloaded lorries, bald tires, speeding commercial vehicles, false plates, uninsured/no road tax vehicles, unmetered taxis…

so many things to crack down…they chose to crack down on Uber

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
    • Heng Lat on Sep 22, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Since these taxis own by cronies so disturbing their income and indirectly JPJ for sure…or else those f up lousy taxi can still running n the lorries , buses all giving black bit cracked down..

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Eh plz.

Your fantastic taxis who are speeding, driving like need for speed, not using meters and refusing to go places don’t get any action?

Which would you choose, Uber where there is a much lower chance of being in danger, but if you are ever in danger the insurance cover isn’t there, or in a deathtrap taxi where you are at a higher likelihood to be robbed or ending up in a ditch, but hey, you will get your reimbursement from SPAD in like, hopefully before 10 years (at the current efficiency rate)?

Disclaimer: I still know a number of taxi drivers who I can trust, and MyTeksi, but besides those two I’d never take any other taxi. Ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • AMG POWAAA on Sep 22, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Wannabe German? ban Uber taxi and and not ban them after a days?? Uber taaxi are better than shitty Iswara broken rear suspension taxi that take me to KLIA

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
  • LOL…..this create competition which forces the current lousy teksi provider provide better service.
    However, government choose monopoly system.
    Instead JPJ should caught those lousy Potong Iswara teksi with serious bad condition. Stupid!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Carlover on Sep 22, 2014 at 5:06 pm

JPJ got no other work to do??? Our country Taxi driver famous in the world with rube attitude, langar Undang-undang, careless driving, lousy taxi condition, using second hand tyre, drive like F1 driver, non meter use, ask for high price… What did JPJ do on them? What did SPAD do on them? Talk talk so many years but no improvement at all.
    Rakyat already know JPJ pattern…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • Duncan Lim on Sep 22, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Did Uber pay to JPJ for any kind of registration or license fees?

• How much of those “fees” will actually end up for the rakyat’s benefit? And not into “someone’s” latest Ferrari or Porsche?

• Legend (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 5:19 pm

JPJ why you always keep point to those who are good to us?Uber taxi is indeed a good premium taxi service in our country
    Why you want to force them to quit in our country?
    I really feel insecure when taking those SAGA taxi, the driver drives recklessly and occasionly they can even scold the passenger to keep quiet
    Taking bribe again?hmmm wonder will you switch another batch of car soon.
    Maybe those bribe enough for you to purchase a fleet of Macan to replace the Fortuner?
    Really Makan gao gao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • Hondaman on Sep 22, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Got proof or just a hearsay? Got proof show & report to SPRM laa. I can also say u take bribe & sleep with hookers. Jangan baling batu & sorok tangan di belakang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 50
      • Did you just arrive in Malaysia?

Got video of judge fixing also say it’s not him, and the people who report get arrested for their own “safety” instead of the criminals – who want to report?

RM4.7 BILLION PKFZ is NFA, but some tiny thing, you die by “falling” out of MACC’s window. You don’t remember? Too many of these things. Rakyat has a right to be very suspicious. How to show proof when even if proof it will be swept under carpet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Sam Loo Ori on Sep 23, 2014 at 8:46 am

Not sure whether you got any brain at all

• Painter on Sep 22, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Uber must iron out whatever differences they have with the authority. They mustn’t let it drag. The absence of their services will be a bane to discerning customers.

My wife uses Uber regularly. It gives her that sense of comfort and confidence as opposed to our taxis.

• uber driver told me KL has 30,000 taxis, but uber only 200 taxis. And uber can only use app, can’t even pick up by roadside or call in. How to earn enough to “pay” the authorities?

• Seriously, whats so good about the “LEGAL’ taxis in Malaysia? Lots of them are not on meter anyway although they suppose to. And ask about the kind of service attitude they have and I bet you will have the floor wet with ludah, no jokes. The Malaysian Taxi system seriously need a revamp, and the main problem mind you is not with our taxis drivers, it is the whole crap system of licensing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • backward_G on Sep 22, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Another step backwards from our govt. Uber & JPJ should have iron out the problems and move into the new millennia. Instead JPJ is taking the easy way out by banning all UBER drivers. Possibly UBER is not willing to pay under-table money to JPJ, hence the retaliation via crackdown…

• Gilbert on Sep 22, 2014 at 6:09 pm

ask JPJ to go to any primary school, how many illegal bas sekolah there. these illegal vehicles include cars, vans. what u say JPJ.

• gggih on Sep 22, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Cibai teksi driver, we cant enjoy better yet cheap uber service to feed u until u wo fat. Cibai teksi driver.

• tishaban on Sep 22, 2014 at 7:18 pm

I’m still surprised at how anti-entrepreneurial the govt is. You have to get a taxi license through a company, and now you can only be a Uber driver through a company. Where do the individuals go? Instead of banning them, why not open up an avenue for these individuals to “legalize” their operations ie. insurance or training or …

Yes I know that these car/taxi companies are in general owned by rich businessmen/cronies who are part of the govt. It’s a sad state of affairs.

• Iskandar Hidayat on Sep 22, 2014 at 7:25 pm

Dear JPJ,

If you want to do crackdown on Uber Service. Please do crackdown on arrogant taxi drivers at KL Sentral & Kelana Jaya LRT. They refuse to use Meter and will charged you according to their price.

They never polite to the public & ask us Malaysian in a really negative attitude. Sadly, most them who behave like this is a pakcik with grey hair and a Muslim Malay.

• protonsucks on Sep 22, 2014 at 7:29 pm

obviously datuk seri ismail is in favour of the taxi company,i wonder how much he have suap makan for this case, if there is a protest against taxi drive. we should all participate and go against this bullshit

• How can a 10 year old Saga with half a million km and no airbags be safer than a new Prius? Of course you will need insurance on the SAGA!!!

• hondaman on Sep 22, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Gosh all the keyboard warriors at Paultan! Can you guys read? They are taking actions againts those private cars used as taxis hired by Uber, not againts Uber laa because it is an apps. There is no issue for vehicles with permit hired by Uber.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • I don’t think they give permits to uber vehicles, unless uber pay a lot of money.

• please read on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:33 pm

‘Taxis, limousines and other vehicles from licensed operators using Uber to ply their services will not be affected, said Ismail.'<<< this is important. please read

What JPJ is doing is catching PRIVATE VEHICLES that is not licensed to operate as a taxi. UBER operators that uses limousines or registerd vehicles are not gonna get fined. It does not mean that Uber cant operate, just that they have to register/license their cars.

I think this is a good move, as it forces Uber(s) operators (i believe there are many companies that uses the Uber service, correct me if im wrong.) to register their car to be under their company. If anything were to happen, say an accident, etc . At least you the user are well protected with the company insurance. You yourself as a user would take a risk and take an uninsured vehicle? are you sure about that? Meaning you are okey to using prebet sapu as a service?

Again i reiterate, JPJ only summons UNREGISTERED PRIVATE VEHICLES, and registered/licensed vehicles under the Uber operator are not affected.

• Is there such a thing as a “licensed” vehicle under Uber?

Re: insurance, I am totally OK with my friend driving me, even though I’m not “covered”. YES, ABSOLUTELY OK WITH UBER’S CARS compared to the death trap taxi’s. Definitely OK with any of uber’s new, comfortable cars with polite, careful drivers.

Instead of 20-yr-old Iswara driven by a maniac who think’s it’s F1. If that Iswara crashes, insurance doesn’t mean anything – you’re already screwed.

• Just go check who are the owners of the taxi companies in Malaysia then u will know why uber is banned. Some more, just see our taxi’s are made up of which brand of cars then u will understand even more.

• Some more, our people has become less civilized and matured for services like uber. It won’t be safe for both the driver and the passenger. Malaysian really need to do a lot of catch up from mindset and attitude. We are falling behind yet we are still so arrogant.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 2:10 am

need more duit kopi

• Perkasa on Sep 23, 2014 at 8:55 am

All i can say is Malaysia in a whole is getting backward as compared to the past. Although they are a handful of group willing to learn from overseas and work hard to earn a good living. However, majority thinks what the G offer is the best. But in current trend, G offer what they want us to have, not what we really need to have in order to strive and compete globally.

• Pirate taxis has been around for so long, why no actions.. why now??? double standards… Why can’t the legal taxis follow what Uber is doing…

• Jacky on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:05 pm

But how is JPJ going to check whether that private vehicle is using Uber to drive customers? It’s just an app on his phone right? If JPJ check, just say that I am dropping off my friend lar. Since there is no physical cash transaction occurring, JPJ has nothing to proof. All the monetary transaction is done via the app right?

• Jacky on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:08 pm

On the same page, if my friend drives me to the airport and is involved in an accident, I accept the accident as my own risk. Same with Uber, so the case of insurance is really not a big issue. You think if Malaysia taxi is involved in an accident, the fella will cover my medical expenses?

• Justice Char Siew Bao on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:47 pm

taxis who flaunt the laws, attack and harass customers who request for meters – semua OK je, JPJ no problem .. happy

other companies that provide alternative solution, good price, good service, increase competition and entrepreneurship – you illegal! crackdown! hunt them till they are gone!!!!

Welcome to Malaysia, Uber.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 23, 2014 at 3:41 pm

I suppose I will have to depend on UBER Black for now. A good number of their cars are contracted out to Limo services, so they have the necessary permits. Too bad they still don’t have enough cars and service is limited to KL, Bangsar and close areas.

KL cabs are sour grapes. If they weren’t that horrid in the first place, Uber would have no where to step in.

Since now as it seems, the only issue is INSURANCE…I’m sure UBER can negotiate a group policy for their drivers…but given Insurance companies are just as bad as the Taxi conglomerates themselves, Uber would probably get raped.

• Nasha on Sep 23, 2014 at 4:04 pm

hmm i thought that taxi/kereta sapu offences under SPAD? Why JPJ is making the enforcement? Shouldn’t it be SPAD?

• Jpj go home on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Spad jpj whatsoever .. Just talk no action.. Only target those who are good but those bad for the society they leave it be because those owned by G linked bodies. Like we Malaysian don’t know.