Proton Design Competition 2014 – shortlisting entries

Submitted your designs for the Proton Design Competition 2014, which closed on August 18? Proton is currently shortlisting the submissions, both postal and online.

In total, the company has received 337 entries from both categories. Category 1, open to entrants aged 13 to 17 years old, contained 158 submissions, while Category 2, open to those aged 18 to 25 years old, received 179 submissions.

To recap, budding designers were asked to design a Proton city car for the year 2020. Entrants were required to submit coloured renderings depicting the 3/4 front, side and 3/4 rear views of their design, while those falling into Category 2 were also required to produce an additional coloured interior rendering.

In addition, entrants had to submit a written proposal detailing their car’s design concept, unique selling proposition and proposed powertrain system. Given that this is first and foremost a design competition, submissions were naturally judged on their aesthetics and presentation, but specific emphasis has also been given to the originality and innovation of the designs.

Two rounds of shortlisting were held on September 12 and 15, whittling the entries down to 58 in total – 36 for Category 1 and 22 for Category 2. Another round will see the top 10 emerge from each category before the winning entries are finalised.

The judging panel included senior management from group communications, group marketing, branding and motorsports as well as product strategy. Also present were UiTM’s senior lecturer of industrial design Dr. Shahriman Zainal Abidin as well as Proton’s chief designer Azlan Othman. Anthony Lim and I were also on hand as representatives of paultan.org, the official media partner of the competition.

ART_6170

The submissions we have reviewed were genuinely interesting, running the gamut from simple little runabouts to more audacious ideas such as flying cars and submersibles. The quality of the best of the entries was also very impressive.

“Some of the submissions are quite outstanding, coming from the young and inexperienced age groups. This meets our objective in unearthing young potential talents so that we could provide the right exposure for them,” said Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah. “We understand that more people of the older age groups are also interested to participate and we shall consider this in the future.”

These entrants are in the running to receive MacBooks and cash prizes, while the winner in Category 2 also stands a chance to secure an internship with the Proton design team.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• why all blue color…

• PogChamp on Sep 23, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Blueprint!

• Same L0rrr on Sep 24, 2014 at 10:49 am

The GSC already took soooo long to launch, the winning design will be made in production in year 2025 the earliest, IF this kerja kanak-kanak is accepted.

• Pakcik Schreyer on Sep 23, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Kerja budak-budak.

• M/T is KING on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Give an opportunity to kids and our teenager to show their potential definitely a good things. Adults here need to grow up.

• guilt (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 5:50 pm

I rather take macbook and cash than be intern in Proton.

• Why need chinese idea? 1 malaysia mah. Malay mind only please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 51
    • Wolpe on Sep 23, 2014 at 8:14 pm

You are the kind of person that brings racial inharmony to the society, please don’t make this kind of racist remarks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • M/T is KING on Sep 23, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Macai DAPigs. They talk kok when they calling us racist. Now i realize they’re also doing the same thing. Let the game begin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Aero (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Just 337 people entered ? Wow, that’s a shame. I’d expect a few thousand at least. So many Malaysians always like to bash Proton for their ‘failed’ designs, but when Proton invited us to submit our own ‘perfect’ design and ideas, hardly anyone did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Because they don’t want waste time for plotong.

That’s it.

Not worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
      • 008 Lion (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Bashing no need to use brain. But to come out with the design, you need to use brain…. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Sep 24, 2014 at 8:14 am

open up to adults lah… why proton needs to limit to students?

students are unlikely know how to bash…

• peyno (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 7:42 pm

we lwack of dwsigner
    jist look at p2 designer n indonesian designer
    p2 design bumper oso cant make a beauty car

indonesian bwtter

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 8:10 pm

Yep. Plocong lack of ideas. . So need to con students for the job.

Cheaper ways..

Peylirno watch Japs mandi.. becoz 6 years selling butut in Japan.

Thumbs up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • should open to all age malaysian ma this contest. I also very talent but overage already :p

• Tiger on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:46 pm

The Axia selling like goreng pisang panas,and P1. Still fooling around wit this syok sndili contest, unblievable

• peyno (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 7:59 am

see
      p2 macai

selling lebih kengoreng panas??? 13.5k or 30k?? even p2 salesman oso confuse

neway last time u oso said like this viva hit selling… so what?? what happen to viva owner now?? felt cheated?

• Viva cheated? You mean like the 8k+8k=16K discount given to Suprima right now?

• peyno (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:02 am

look at aziah… we feell pity at viva owner esp vival elite

cheated by p2 salesman buy viva hot selling got RV

after aziah released nibody wanna buy viva

suprima 8k discount still sxpensive than viva

malu la nak compare 80k product dgn 40k product

hahahha

• Viva low RV?
            But the whole Proton stable have low RV.

• mascaretaker on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:49 pm

slowly climb to peak proton. no need to follow KIA style buy BMW engineers to do total-overhaule to their cars.
    we do it progressively. get ideas from masses is one of the tools to improve

• Yeah right, do slowly, people make 10 years progress and you make one. Do you know the meaning of “competition”? Car industry is so competitive and unforgiving, this kind of mindset is not going to get anywhere except down

• Steve Kok on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:49 am

Yes, slow slow never mind. Janji boleh sampai to the top in Malaysia sahaja.

Never mind lah.. slow slow as long the Gomen protection is there..

Vorsprung durch Protektion!
      Juara Kampung!

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 11:30 pm

The question i have is after announcing the winners, how soon can Proton make a real car from the design? No point having such contest & not building a real car from it as it will be a waste of time.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 8:01 am

remind me if perodua kedidi( comcept car) bezza n buddyz

• peyno (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 8:00 am

latest info saying that iriz booking ariund 17k as if now… woowwwwwwww

but we customer who cares… salesman suka la

• Ken Teos on Sep 24, 2014 at 8:03 am

I doubt Proton has the right people for the job. Looks like bunch of teachers in school hall meeting judging primary art competition.

• car nerd on Sep 24, 2014 at 8:15 am

I do think to participate this contest but for nowadays the main selling point of car is design, then only define the performance from design and category. the design winner get a macbook and some cash, kidding? I guess it should give at least some cash on time and a production car from your design when the time comes right? I do remember the savvy name contest it do give away a savvy car for the winner.

• Hate Proton Competition on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Only 337 entries?? Very small number. Why? I think because many people don’t believe in proton competition anymore after been cheated terribly by proton in mpv naming competition in 2008. http://paultan.org/2009/02/18/proton-clarifies-choice-of-proton-exora-name/