Proton PCC scores 5 stars in ASEAN NCAP crash test

Proton-PCC-crash-test

ASEAN NCAP has released crash test results for the new Proton Compact Car. The Proton PCC was rated five stars (14.07 out of 16 marks) in ASEAN NCAP’s Adult Occupant Protection (AOP) test, and four stars (82%) in the Child Occupant Protection (COP) test. You can view the full results and report here.

The variant tested had Electronic Stability Control (ESC) and dual airbags, while the top-spec Malaysian variant of the PCC is expected to have six airbags.

According to ASEAN NCAP, Proton has set a new trend in producing safer cars, and this is the second time for Proton to achieve a five-star AOP rating after the Prevé and Suprima S. In addition to that, stability control has been made standard fitment on all variants and this offering is aligned with ASEAN NCAP’s objective to make the system more affordable to consumers.

ASEAN NCAP Chairman Professor Wong Shaw Voon said, “I congratulate Proton for this achievement and hopefully this will set a trend among all manufacturers to produce a “global platform” of five-star cars in the region, and safety will not simply be compromised especially for the entry level cars.”

Here’s a quick comparison table to compare the Proton PCC’s results with other B-segment cars crash tested by ASEAN NCAP. We also threw the Perodua Axia in for comparison sake.

Model Adult OP Child OP
Proton PCC 14.07 82%
Perodua Myvi 8.71 54%
Perodua Axia 12.91 71%
Honda Jazz 15.58 71%
Peugeot 208 13.13 72%
Volkswagen Polo Sedan 14.51 85%

The Proton PCC will be launched tomorrow morning, and you can watch the whole event live through our exclusive livestream right here on paultan.org!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:04 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 147
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:54 am

Good job PROTON for achieving 5 star Asean NCAP. No problem to go global ady. Thumbs up!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 7
      • Yea, can stop asking money and lift all the protection. Apa lagi tunggu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
        • Papa Smurf on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:26 pm

lift protection?
          not during the founder’s lifetime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Anti-Establishment on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Tunggu Perodua to get better quality – if remove now then they’ll die a horrible death. All those big sales will disappear like smoke.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 5:03 pm

hahah macai p2 perasan kereta import kununnya p2 takde protection la tu

nak terkencing peyno

kalau yg condemn ni eeal import car salesman ka.. tak pa gak.. ini p2 salesman.. another protected company( p1 n p2)

• kzm fanboy on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:27 pm

If Proton Iriz can sell 1 million units globally (beating Ford Fiesta), i’ll run naked from Tg Malim to Shah Alam wearing only tiger-stripes seluar dalam.

Wanna bet? Any takers??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
    • The Truth Abt Judges on Sep 24, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 210
      • tatu880 on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:11 pm

You have serious life issues, man.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 9
      • No reason for P1 to cheat here, because the same car is going to be tested in other regions (e.g. Euro NCAP). Lets hope the results are consistent.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
      • Nieko on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:31 pm

my dear( The Truth Abt Judges)

You are aware that the German car you speak of ie The Polo Sedan is not even coming from Germany instead its actually coming from India ,well yes you may argue that the car now is made in Hicom plant in Malaysia but the truth is the cars CKD kits still come from India. Honda, Toyota ,Perodua ,Ford ,VW and lastly Suzuki .

I Really have To thank Kia Motors as because of them and their attention to safety now all carmaker started making changes to their cars for the Msia market and the first People to take notice is non other than Proton….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
      • kzm (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Do you know how to score point to achieve 5 star?

• Nieko on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:39 pm

The damn Polo CKD kits comes from India you Fool and they are expected to give a lower safety score as in India Safety is not the prime concern for the Indian Population just check out IAB.Blog and you will understand

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Allegations of corruption is very serious and should be backed by proof. Do you have any? Otherwise you may find yourself liable for defamation & can be sued by Proton.

Besides, how hard is it to believe that Proton’s capable of getting 5-star safety rating? Both Preve & Suprima have the Australian NCAP rating, why not the PCC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
      • trololo on Sep 24, 2014 at 2:23 pm

impossible so many unlike, someone must be spamming. we call it ass licker n those who only wanna hear good things, even tho its a fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
        • !@#$%^& on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:53 pm

And you are just a toilet bowl…swallow everything without think.

• ..cakap dgn org bangang mmg tak guna..by the way tahniah proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Veneno on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:06 pm

dari mana lu tau..? lu ahli nujum kah..?

• rally_fan (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:39 pm

if you actually bothered to “read” the full report. The car tested and rated 5 stars is the “local Malaysian” 1.6L executive version which has only 2 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • BadBET on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:05 am

myvi really scored that low?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 3
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:56 am

Ah Beng want NFE turbo pliss! Way to go PROTON! U r in the right direction!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:20 pm

This Aseancap no side impact, rear impact, roof impact, small overlap impact so many standard tests…

5 stars? Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok.

Our Prius and Prius C are in fact IIHS 5 star safety cars.Check out the website http://www.iihs.org/ yourself lar.

Why US 5 star Prius would be equivalent to Malaysia Prius? Simple, because they are from same production line.

And why Prius/Prius C so expensive now? All thanks to Proton’s protection. The protection logic is: If I can’t enjoy KFC, I will make sure no Malaysian can eat chicken egg also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 42
        • Anti-Establishment on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Yeah right – when excise duty was removed, Prius still more expensive in Malaysia compared to the US.

Explain. And don’t give me gomen set the price to protect Proton/Perodua – there are cheaper cars than Proton/Perodua so that reason is bunk!

• BadBET on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:26 pm

vios? dont forget that car.. care to share?

• Fake Motorhead on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Haha. Same L0rrr Sendiri Cakap Sendiri syok sudah gelabah sebab Paultan sudah pecah MyVi punya rahsia…rating very2 low.

• Decision is on you. Do you want a safer or spacious car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:57 am

Ah Beng want safer car, with a lot features and affordable price. If yes, you must opt for PCC!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:58 pm

The Preve/Suprima S are in fact the safest in Malaysia, because it is always in showroom/warehouse. So far no one die in a showroom Preve/Suprima S. These are the safest models so far in Malaysia.

Proton prepare so many airbags for a showroom car, show its caring for the safety of showroom visitor. Good one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 31
        • Ononimos on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:25 pm

I have said this before and I am saying this again.. Your Altis is far safer than those cars you have mentioned because it is less seen on the road lorh. Smacked that!!! Hahahahah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • GO GO PROTON.SMOKE HONDA,TOYOTA,PERODUA!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 16
    • Hiris on Sep 24, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Congrat Proton… with hope that it wont heavy like bricks, like what has happened to Suprima, scoring 5* and taking the class heaviest trophy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Yea, Proton is no doubt good in smoking. They are the latest MPV (Multi Purpose Vehicle).

Sometimes you can use it to smoke chicken wings also at your BBQ.

THe Iriz is tested able to smoke salmon in Europe months ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
        • Ya ya smoke.
          Exora is very big and heavy but whu can smoke your rare showroom collection vios and altis?

Oh i forgot, Exora got TURBO!!!!!!!

Kepiiiiiisssshhhhhhhhh

Hahahahahahahahhhhhh

• peyno (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 12:35 pm

u stupid amir
      u think proton basher is real honda toyota owner???
      they just UMW p2 owner laa

believe me

real toyoya n honda owner will bash all local cars p2 n p1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • komen berfakta on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:44 am

siapa tak kenal proton saja akan support poton lagi… poton seperti poton… tetap poton

rupa bagus ok macam mana pun kualiti k.o
      dah beli baru tahu…

• peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:54 am

tgk gaya kimen ni mesti aet set perodua macai je ni

kan kan

• Eyo (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:16 am

Please don’t smoke here smoke there even if you drive a BMW or any other luxurious car . Endangering other road user’s is not awesome . Please be awesome on the road :) Driving fast is fine as long as it is done in a safe manner . ( not outrageously fast or performing dangerous maneuvers ) . Drive safe everyone :) May you reach your destination safely.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:13 am

Good job PROTON for achieving 5 star Asean NCAP. No problem to go global ady. Thumbs up!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 7
  • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:14 am

Ah Beng want NFE turbo pliss! Way to go PROTON! U r in the right direction ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
  • peyno (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:15 am

safety first= urban n smart rakyat’s choice

well kampung ppl n old minded ppl quite hard to educate them on safety awareness

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • Nieko on Sep 24, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Ahh just let them die if they don’t trust PROTON scouring higher than almost all B segment cars …..

We Malaysians Are really the Dumbest people in the whole Asean as we cant even believe that we are capable to produce a car like the Proton Iriz …

Really Sickening

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • nieko..i agree with that..percaya atau tidak..yg byk bg komen bangang tu tak pernah pun memiliki kereta2 kontinental..dan hanya ada 1 @ 2 buah kereta jepun..utk berlaku jujur saya memiliki kereta2 jepun dan german..dan yg terbaru volkswagen jetta utk isteri saya..percaya atau tidak..kesemua kereta yg saya miliki mempunyai mslh.. dan pd hemat saya proton adlh jenama yg paling muda berbanding jenama2 lain dan apa yg sedang mereka lakukan ini harus dipuji..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 24, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Peyno alway have problem with kampung, why?

When he doesn’t have fact to back him up, he simply masquerade me and bash on kampung people.

Peyno why you so shameless?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 12:28 pm

isn’t that u n i to inform kg people bout safety..mumbling on paultan will do nothing.. don’t depend on govt, we all know they r suck giving info..

• Eyo (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:24 am

Peyno , i agree with you when it comes to your comment regarding safety . Buying cars with higher safety ratings is a smarter choice in my humble opinion . But whenever you talk about kampung people you seem to imply that they are all uneducated and old minded . Please refrain from making statements like that , it is offensive and inappropriate .

• Burong on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:17 am

Great for Proton, having the great NCAP. But hopefully this Iriz can be a long term project, instead a few years project and later no more Iriz on production. Hopefully we can have Iriz 2 in 5 more years, Iriz 3 in another 10 years.

Proton is making a not so smart move by eating into Perodua’s market share as you know Perodua is heading this market share, but hope they can success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:03 am

org yg fikir
      cam ni hanya la salesman yg takut market share mereka berkurangan

kita sebagai customer n buyer pasti gembira sebab ada pilihan dan competition antara maker

• peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:05 am

ya hopefully iriz wudnt end up like perodua viva… discont production

• limahpek on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:17 am

How on earth the car has yet to launch locally or globally be tested for crash test? The global standard of car chosen for crash test would be randomly select from the end production line for crash test. Is the test unit specially fitted to score well or normal off production line mainstream unit? I understand Proton want to do well, but do it like others car manufacturers, you can always published your own crash result first then be check again by independent body to verify your result is true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 59
    • ruffstuff (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:55 am

I have to agree with you on this. The same thing happened with Perodua AXIA. It is more like Asean NCAP process is not in line with the other NCAP. I give the benefit of doubt to ASEAN NCAP since they are very new. So they can improve on the timing of selecting and releasing the result.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • err..the car already in production..it just will be launch oficially tomorrow..so hard to understand this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Though your concerns are somewhat valid, please bear in mind that the Iriz or any car for that matter have left prototyping stages and moved to production line build months prior to launch.

If these results came out in the first quarter of this year (did it?) or earlier then there would be plenty of reasons for suspect. Proton’s lines are possibly on full scale for the last couple of months to build up stock and hence why ASEAN NCAP got a few units delivered to them.

Lets wait for ANCAP results and see if it adds up or if your concerns prove to be indeed true. Meanwhile, great job Proton! The full spec unit is going to be right up there with the best i reckon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • ruffstuff (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:37 pm

The production only start this week or last week if im not mistaken. All the cars before this are pre-production.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 12:30 pm

It meant that u know less..

• Syazwan007 on Sep 24, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Wow.. Speechless.. ASEAN NCAP is independent, thats one thing, and two, u seriously think a car needs to be launched before peoduction begins? Then the model used during the launch is made of clay ke?? Every car maker always post safety rating even before car is launch lah, think for god sakes before u comment..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Blue-traveler on Sep 24, 2014 at 12:37 pm

You nail it, man. The big question(s). I would take a huge, huge pinch of salt when seeing/hearing any answers/result/fact from any localize companies that deal with our gov’t link or protacted company. Yeah yeah, you guys can shout all you want that P1 is now Pte Ltd. No longer a GLC. I say, see what company is that, who owns it, and who the MD/CEO bow to. However I too really hope that p1 finally comes out with a good safety car, as a numbers of my sales persons drive P1&2. Only a few would fully use the given budget and upgrade to a city or vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • ruffstuff (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Well i have no doubt on the result, but i have doubt on the method which raise some unwanted question. Nevertheless, if you don’t trust Asean NCAP, the Australasian NCAP which is more inline with Euro NCAP will of course test the production unit of Iriz, which eventually will get 5 star nonetheless.

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 24, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Why do you look down on local capability. Don’t you realise you’re only setting YOURSELF for failure since you’re a locally made “product” too you know.

Every time you do that, subconsciously you’re saying “I’m low quality”.

• Blue-traveler on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:46 am

Haha, you’re a really funny person, anti-E. I have come back to read your replies on all the chat, twice. I think you’re no different from our famous “auto-bot pix” guy. I don’t give a hoot about his chat anymore, sometime I just skip them altogether. You 2 may even be the same guy or from the same org. When the topic warrant that the truth benefit P1 or our current gov’t policy, you will put fore the truth. When not, you will just call us stupid or “back stabers” to our national. Or the horde all yous thumb us down. I hope that you’re highly paid by a NGO for your work…. Or if not then I’m really sad for you . Either ,1)Continue blindly believing the “lies” when the truth is just a click away or just step out of country for a trip, no need go Singapore, and you can see, and also it is breathing down our nation neck already., by the way of how our neighbour countries have move pass us, including Indo. Even the blinds can heard it too already. Or 2) that you would call yourself a true citizen that must support our nation in moving forward, continue to spread lies and fear… Which will NOT improve our nation in anyway, least of all our locally make product. We must know and face our defect and find solution to it. Else then there no hope…Here I have a question for you, in a true heart to heart talk; in the big bad reality of world economic, what is our countries product famous for, that people around the world wants…factory make…… Oil/gas, Palm oil, rubber(already out of the lead) doesn’t count as it’s not really factory make nor only malaysia have. ……
          Well here’s some that you may or may not have heard, btw, OUR EPF, does buy in them, or try to take over as they have become so important to the world market.
          1- can drinks cover, whenever you pull a soda can drinks, anywhere in the world, beer included, Kar-chin, a malaysia company make money, internationally. Let’s toss to it. And yes sadly EPF is current trying forcfully take over the company.
          2, world international coffee bean trade can’t do without it. Yes the very very specialise weighting scale for coffee beans for almost all of world trade is make in Malaysia. Another kar-chin for malaysia. Next you rip a nestle cafe pack or drink at Starbucks or coffe bean or even cafe artisian… Thank you Malaysian company.
          2,3,4,5 to 10, I can’t say anymore, else some here will know am I. I do invest a great on our nation when dad ask me to come back. No, I’m not jolow”.older then him, back earlier then him. And I Mainly invest in trading compaies , equities and some factories. No bonds or 1MDB, things like that. :) So I DO KNOW what’s going on. I have also invested in 2 company that do some deals with P1. Do I like p1, yes! In the past. the 1st car I drove after getting my L is my grandma proton saga. That very 1st batch of proton. Love that red car. Do I love our nation. F#ing Yeah. Just not those who destroy our nation for their own personal gains. So do I buy our local product. Yes when i know that they are good product. And for the record I drive P1, p2, Toyota, Honda , Benz, Bmw and Kia. So am I low quality.
          Next time when you step out into the business world where it matter, when ask what does your countries MAKE; please think real hard before falbing your mouth. Btw you do know that a numbers of iphone parts are oem in Malaysia since 3 and 3GS right? In Penang. And also now, currently a number international car brands parts, are being prototype by a number of companies in Malaysia, that are jv or with brunchs around theworld’s famous tech countries. Entering those factories are like passing US airport checks. How I wish on a number of times that I could bring a member of Pual stuff into one of these factories, just to see their face light up on seeing all the unseen car part prototypes. Something new for you to learn today, bud.

• jisung on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:19 am

my first concern to buy new car is safety..definitely i will buy this 1.6L (M) after test drive..safety first!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Obviously (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:20 am

Wow, impressive child occupant protection score. Well done, Proton! It was a given that they’d score 5-stars for the ASEAN NCAP. Now let’s await the ANCAP score. Footwell rupture robbed them of some points in the adult occupant protection score; they should look into that ASAP. Also wondering why the chest of the driver section is only at adequate.

I foresee some people will say something about the crash photo is taken before the dummies impact the airbags and proceed to say that ASEAN NCAP is hiding something, bla bla bla. The scores don’t lie, though. Sensors measure the impact forces the dummies experience, so there you have it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • azhar on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:25 am

to get 5 star for a hatchback and scores that rival even a sedan (VW polo) think its an impressive effort for all people that involved in PCC..u all deserve a pat on the back

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
  • Syihabuddin on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:25 am

How about 6 airbags version? Maybe 5 star for Child Protection

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • AVH (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:26 am

Few things I gain from this…..
    the kerb weight is heavier than that of a full-spec Honda Jazz (+100kg), with slightly less power(-13hp) and slightly more torque(+5Nm).

Like the Jazz it runs on rear drums

Structurally, it holds up pretty well

If the PCC wont kill the Myvi the Axia will(cheaper, safer, and comes with a bigger boot).

• grats!

• Super Saiyan (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:40 am

Tahniah Proton. a good product for malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Hmmmm…interesting

• rilroy on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:55 am

mana semua pengkritik ni.. lari habis…. good job Proton

• bukapintubayartol on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:56 am

Perodua better sit up and take notice. Safety features should be paramount. I think Perodua can start by offering ABS and break assist in the standard G model of the Perodua Axia considering there is an RM7k gap between it and the SE version.

Then they need to seriously need to start work on updating the Myvi. It is now facing competition laterally from Proton and from below by its own Axia. If they don’t do something, I think that the reign of the Myvi as Malaysia’s best selling model will be over

• Penangnite on Sep 24, 2014 at 12:04 pm

I am actually looking forward to the launch of Proton’s new car. the specs looks good and promising on paper.

• Eh, how come Malaysia’s favourite “lagi best” is the worst? ASEAN NCAP got it wrong, some special badges, body kit and colors are worth much higher scores.
    If the Lagi Best that was on front page of The Star last Saturday was the lime green color version, it surely would have escaped unscathed from the falling billboard in Penang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Car-Fans on Sep 24, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Good but will those Electronic Stability Control (ESP) and dual airbags working once on daily use? Weird! From those accident cases – I don’t see any airbag pop out from those car’s ?!? Perhaps next time you all can keep your eyes on those accident car’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
    • Nieko on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:15 pm

to Mr Car-Fans…

Proton’s Biggest Problem is Quality .But when it comes to Safety it is the best equipped Car money can buy ….Yes if you think when a car with QC issues cant get a Great Safety then you have not seen a VW triplets ie VW Up /Skoda Citigo and Seat MII all these three cars have great Safety but when Quality is concerned they are only better than some Perodua model …

So the morel of the story is never judge a Book by its cover …Hope you Understand

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Airbags doesn’t necessarily deploy in all accidents. Only under certain conditions will it trigger – in the case of the frontal airbag, any force strong enough to damage the crumple zone.

If it’s just a fender bender, the system will not trigger.

• DrCooper on Sep 24, 2014 at 2:15 pm

You never know when you gonna need ESP until less than second you in a collision path and the system probably gonna be the cause between your death or survival…I experience (no esp and got esp) and thank god survived both condition before so I’m so appreciate the invention..

and airbag is means to deploy at certain characteristic of the crashes…I’m not sure for Proton but in Mercedes user manual, they did mention the condition when airbag WILL NOT deploy (e.g when hitting Truck’s rear barrier..cause sensors is position at lower car fender)…

• peyno (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 12:17 pm

what ever it is
    it is still a proton, campro, timing belt

p2 macai

• SAFETY 1ST!! on Sep 24, 2014 at 12:23 pm

ASEAN NCAP ranking for A/B segment hatchback:-

1) 5* – AOP: 15.58 – COP: 71% – Honda Jazz ’14 (6AB, ESC)
    2) 5* – AOP: 14.07 – COP: 82% – Proton PCC ’14 (6AB, ESC)
    3) 4* – AOP: 13.32 – COP: 77% – Suzuki Swift ’13 (2AB)
    4) 4* – AOP: 13.13 – COP: 72% – Peugeot 208 ’13 (6AB, ESC)
    5) 4* – AOP: 13.07 – COP: 43% – Mitsubishi Mirage ’14 (2AB)
    6) 4* – AOP: 12.91 – COP: 71% – Perodua Axia ’14 (2AB)
    7) 4* – AOP: 12.67 – COP: 73% – Kia Picanto ’13 (6AB, ESC)
    8) 3* – AOP: 9.24 – COP: 53% – Tata Vista ’14 (2AB)
    9) 3* – AOP: 8.71 – COP: 54% – Perodua Myvi ’11 (2AB)
    10) 2* – AOP: 7.31 – COP: 48% – Hyundai i10 ’08 (2AB)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • powershot (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:45 pm

SAFETY 1ST!!,

the Proton PCC tested in the Asean NCAP has only 2 airbags instead of 6.

• SAFETY 1ST!! on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:01 pm

i’m fully aware of the safety spec of the tested variant.. however since asean ncap rewards the rating based on the variant with the LOWEST safety spec, it’s safe to say that the full spec variant is also covered as well hence i just listed the full spec safety feature of each model..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 12:27 pm

no wonder iriz received 17k as of now

rakyat smart predi

• Absolute Rider on Sep 24, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Good job. EuroNCAP (AEB – Autonomous Emergency Braking) and IIHS (which include small overlap crash test) have tougher requirements. Hopefully, Proton will have this in very near future.

Can’t wait till tomorrow!

• Absolute Rider on Sep 24, 2014 at 12:43 pm

May I know where I can watch the Axia and PCC crash test video? Thank you. Please post it here if any. Thanks again.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Impressive….u can tell thy are trying hard to raise the bar…i hope the final product is jus as polished…..good job!

• Stupid rakyat kena brainwash to think Proton is the best. With this stupid result, everyone’s brandishing the proton brand like its a triumph already. Long way to go and try removing the protectionistic measures and see if people would still buy Proton if they have a choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
  • Aero (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Well done Proton. Your third 5-star ASEAN NCAP rated car. I’m a bit disappointed to hear it didn’t score more than 15/16. But seeing that the Iriz is only Proton’s second attempt at a small 5-door hatch, or first attempt at a B-segment 5-door hatch, I’d say it’s a commendable achievement.

I’m looking forward to the the ANCAP rating. For those of you who are confused, ANCAP is the Australian one, and it’s much stricter than ASEAN NCAP.

• aero, anis rasa proton iriz boleh cecah hampir 16 point mengatasi honda jazz 15.6 jika di test dgn 6 beg udara sama cam jazz .tapi yg result nih untuk 2 airbag sajer.mungkin proton nak tengok 2 airbag boleh pergi berapa jauh percentage point dia sebab 2 beg udara mewakili varian standard dan executive jugak cuma premium ader 6 airbag. dan yg pasti jazz yg 2 airbag cuma cecah 4 bintang terbukti dalam result sebelum nih dan proton iriz ngan 2 airbag tetap cecah 5 bintang berbanding jazz 2 airbag 4 bintang. body iriz ni memag kukuh sekukuhnyer hehe

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:37 am

sorry anis, you misunderstood the ncap system. Jazz with 2 airbags still scores better than Iriz in Adult Occupant Protection. Jazz could actually score 5 stars but they only get 4 due to absence of ESP/ESC.

• aero dont be disappointed because im sure iriz with 6 airbag can get more point then 2 airbag version.dont forget asean ncap also rate that jazz with 2 airbag got 4 star only then 6 airbag jazz.so iriz with 2 airbag better then jazz 2 airbag hehe.iriz and jazz definitely safer then other same segment,kudos for this two model

• Great, now you guys got 5 star NCAP with 6 air-bags. So can you’ll start wearing your seat belts stop using your handphone while driving and use the indicator before you make a turn.

• pengguna proton kecewa on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:10 pm

OK la tu…at least good effort from P1 to improve their product. However kudos to P2 also as there is a big improvement from MYVI to AXIA..we should be pleasantly surprise that the quality of both local manufacturer has improved. It seems the ‘imported’ needs to buck up.

• Only praises for proton pcc. But how many of here will actually buy this car? especially the first batch.

• Small tiny cars with 6-7 stars also wont be safe if collide with bigger car.

• AntiSocial on Sep 24, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Since Proton and Perodua also produce compact car now, they should merge into one company. Internal competition is no good for country.

• gaaanni on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:14 am

yeah..agreed…it could be a good steps to target on the global market..like what kia and hyundai did nowadays…

• komen berfakta on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:23 am

mana ANCAP 5 STAR?

• Eyo (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:06 am

I do hope every car manufacturer follow suit . Safety is very important . Some might argue that if we drive safe under 60km/h and always practice good driving ethics is good enough . But hey , we all know roads are shared between drivers with different personality and background . Not everyone ‘drives safe’ and that’s when safety features will prove itself useful .

To anyone out there capable of forking out a bit more cash i suggest getting vehicles with good safety ratings and safety features just to show them support . AND let it be a warning to other car manufacturer to follow suit . We malaysians deserve good cars with good safety ratings . But no amount of safety features can help you if you drive recklessly . Drive safe everyone:) May god protect you and your family on the roads .

• foolpeyno on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:26 am

Peyno wrote
    “no wonder iriz received 17k as of now
    rakyat smart predi”

Are u dreaming???mimpi di siang hari?pity you peyno…
    Heard protong desperately launch this car this month..actual car will be delivered to customer by early next year???really???

• Sparcov on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:27 am

Please admit that ever since the launching of Proton Preve, Proton quality improved a lot.

Please don’t always compare the past model.

Everything there is a starting point. Preve is the starting point followed by Suprima and now Iriz.

The mentality of the people have to change and absorb lah….always say the past you never learn !

• fzni91 on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:55 am

currently we matching honda for safety aspect.. good proton..