VIDEO: Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium in-depth walk-around

Launched earlier today, the new Proton Iriz is certainly the talk of the town. Across the whole of Malaysia too, most likely. Want to know Proton’s latest B-segment hatchback in more detail? Find out all you need to know and more in less than eight minutes with our exclusive walk-around video of the Iriz.

UPDATE: Our full comprehensive review of the Proton Iriz (1.3 and 1.6 engines, manual and CVT) is now up.

Watch as paultan.org freshman Gregory Sze walks you through the Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium CVT, highlighting its standout design details and features both inside and out. The exterior differences between this top-spec RM62,438 (solid colour, on-the-road with insurance) model to more affordable variants are covered as well.

There’s no doubting that the Iriz is an eye-catching car (pun very much intended), but does it have the equipment and interior practicality to match its looks? What about safety then – how does it compare against its closest competitor, the Perodua Myvi? Watch the short video above to have all those questions answered.

For more on the Proton Iriz – complete with a detailed spec-by-spec equipment breakdown – refer to our comprehensive launch report. Also, you can use CarBase.my’s comparison tool to see how the Iriz fares next to the Honda Jazz, Suzuki Swift and Kia Rio. Enjoy.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Iriz 1.6 Premium sangat bagus tapi Motorhead kata tak bagus sebab tak dapat booking lebih dari 3 juta pada hari pelancaran seperti P2. Hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 8
    • Inside Info on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Friend working inside. Told me latest report is many dealers still ZERO sales after launch..

Not because car no good… but Malaysians all no money already… maybe can ask Najib give BR1M-IRIZ also ? afterall who dunno how to give angpow especially its not your own money !

But alamak… Proton didn’t invite the Prime Minister to launch… So sorry la no BRIM-IRIZ!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 79
      • Of course still no sales. they just launched it this morning. they got 17000 bookings in 2 weeks tho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 11
        • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Yep.. P2.. just after open for book claim 3500 bookings..

Plotong. . Just launch open booking later than Axia claim 17,000???

Besoh boleh dpt kereta.

Axia.. bang.. maaf.. 1 tahun..

You ada otak fikir sendiri.

Hehehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 53
          • motorbuttt on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:13 pm

chill la uncle…. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:14 pm

yesterday p2 salesman said aziah waiting period was 2 years… but after iriz launched… so many cancel
            aziah booking n buying iriz… so now waiting period aziah from 2 years reduce to 2 mth

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 10
          • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Uncle mmg chill.. lebih mkn garam.. Can’t con uncle..

U deserve to be conned. Hehehe. .

Numbers can’t lie.. it ll come around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
          • motorbuttt on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Lebih mkn garam?? ok takpe uncle…

just beware uncle..ur blood pressure will rise.. somemore in this situation..
            the IRIZ > myvi/axia….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • Calculator on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Motorhead. Yes numbers don’t lie but you do. And if you know how to count there is a big difference between 3000 & 3000K.

• premium? on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:26 pm

What? No front fog lights?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:12 am

Ya ya.. abg motorhead lied… may be need to make some change here.. straight from the source.. Tun M lied too may be..

….”Although running at a loss, Proton will continue to export its models to create future markets,” he told the Dewan Rakyat on Monday.
            In a reply that appears to echo Tan Sri Khamil’s earlier comments that Malaysian consumers are not giving enough support to Proton, Mahathir said:

“The consumer does not care what happens to the country, as they only want a low price and best product. As such, we (Proton)) find it difficult to compete, particularly with Perodua.

• motorbuttt on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:12 pm

PM in new york la…
        I believe they did invite him ..but not to delay this scheduled launch iriz anymore..they just proceed without him….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
        • Just dont add up on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:24 pm

XX

Spent a mind boggling $500 million to develop a compact car for budget market.

If one IRIZ sold , Proton makes an average of 10% nett, it works out to be $5k per car to Proton. Proton will need to sell a whopping 100,000 units just to recoup the R&D of $500mil.

And that is excluding the current and future overheads and S&P cost to market the IRIZ !

I seriously doubt this 100,000 figure can be achieve. Not even 50% of it. Proton gotta ask themselves how many units of the best selling SAGA they sold since ?

Might as well just rebadge from Accord to Perdana, just like Perodua with Daihatsu. The badge will cost Proton less than RM50 per car and still have $500mil cash in the bank.

Sheer irresponsible business decision at Proton Board level.

The first rule of R&D is …” If its not broken, don’t fix it !”

XX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 41
          • semua tak kena with you lot – p1 buat good car tak kena, p1 rebadge pun tak kena. macam Eleanor Rooservelt said ‘ damn if do, damn if dont’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
          • basher on Sep 26, 2014 at 7:46 am

Phuuuiii… Proton rebatch u said not good… Proton increases specs u said too expensive… Proton made a new iriz model from scratch u said wasting money… They need something to kickoff into something good.. This is good… Quality built, good in safety features, nice looking car… Its ok if they didnt make so much profit but at least people are looking at it, perhaps proton can think of sending this car outside malaysia… Once a basher will always be a basher…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
          • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:16 am

Sama la.. P2 rebadge pon x kena.. untung byk capitalists. .

Relax la brader.. apsal panas? Axia post selamba je korang bash..

Kita org bash tau plak panas…

Hahaha. .huhuhu. .

• skidezourus on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:27 am

Proton rebadged Mitsu – Aparaaa proton.. near 30 years still rebadge? do your own design la!!!! Haiya!! people mistook my lancer as inspira which make me frustrated.

Proton come up with own design with new platform and spent RM500M for development – “The above comment”

My take:
            1. it’s not easy to please everyone.
            2. Proton produced 200k units per year. what makes you think that it will not hit 100k marks…the question should be “How long is the projected ROI?”
            3. For a low volume car.. it will be profitable to just rebadge a known brand model rather than investing so much on the RnD. It is called “The Economics of Scale”.
            4. Every company would love the idea of opting for cheaper cost of development while they can have high profit margin.
            5. Proton is trying to make malaysian proud by coming up with a genuine product. This is for the world.
            6. However, I strongly believe that there are still so much things to be improved before we can really say that PROTON is ready for the global market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • chef poodah on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:46 pm

no PM still can lauch wat….

• wohoo on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:10 am

najib ade UN meeting la… very low pengetahuan am. kena banyak@ bace paper nih.

• kereta kompak on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:56 am

Talk without any prove is nonsense!

• peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:30 pm

waiting period aziah pon katanya 2 tahun oooo

maklum la 3 juta booking

mau x lama

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
      • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:46 pm

Yep..

Axia..
        Maaf bang.. Axia kereta kecil.. 1.0hp.. xde VSC.. tp kena tunggu 1 thn.. maaf ye.. ramai org order.

Iriz..
        Bang.. hari ni order.. besoh boleh dpt kereta.. (sbb xde org order pon)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 61
        • motorbuttt on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Uncle…..kena tunggu 1 tahun ka…?? : (

Indonesia already got facelifted…here in m’sia baru dapat kereta…??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
          • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Ya.. 1 thn.. sbb 20K

Iriz.. 17K.. hari ni order. . Besok dpt..

You deserve to con ppl..

Good. . Keep con org.. miskinkan org.. uncle suka mereka pny perempuan saje..

Hehehe. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:26 pm

hahahahha

patut jepun n indon gelakkan je kat malaysian caprut jepun wannabe tapi x pernah duduk jepun cam peyno

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
          • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:49 pm

Ye.. penyoo sell butut.. 6 years in japan.. tgk org jepun mandi.. sxx service to japs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • axiahh on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:25 pm

Motorhead pretends to be an uncle, actually he is only 2 inches kid.

So sad. Sure he doesn’t get enough love from his parents. That’s why he is commenting bs here.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:32 pm

But flaming and belittling each other doesn’t make you better…

Please stop the flaming, guys. Hate breeds hate and it’ll just make things worse. Just…enjoy the car? :)

• motorbuttt on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:50 pm

@ axiahh

2 inch kid..?? i believe what u want to say here is his p***s..

• jerry on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Motorhead…Axia 1.0hp???go back to school la uncle…shame on you..hahaha

• chef poodah on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:48 pm

pehhh…setahun baru dpt kereta!!
        lama giler!!!

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:18 am

Ye la dik.. jujur cakap.. 1 thn.. sbb 20,000 org order.. ni bukan order kuih..

Iriz.. 17,000.. tp besok bole dpt keta.

Otak ko ader jalan x pagi ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:36 pm

17,000 sales.. tp x overwhelming. ..

The desperation of plotong. . This is why.. read..

…This also implies that Proton will not be able to export the Iriz to many developed markets unless it produces an engine that meets Euro-6 emission standard.

The short-term solution would be for Proton to source the engine from other manufacturers.

“To develop an engine, it usually takes four to five years. We cannot wait so it is better for us to acquire it from other party,” said Tun Dr. Mahathir.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • FC for 1.3 variants

• Àlahai (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Nice one Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:03 pm

So proud to compare with myvi alone only. Once you compare with KIA Picanto..your iriz just nothing but a plastic toy car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 77
      • Ononimos on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:25 pm

So.. What is myvi when compared to the picanto then?? A cheapo toy car perhaps?? Smacked that!! Hahaha.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:36 pm

alaaa macam la rakyat tak tau u hanya p2 salesman je.. no need to talk picanto laa.. u just a perodua salesman

n yes picanto mich2 better than myvi
        jajahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • Looks promising.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • komen berfakta on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:40 am

savvy masa awal dilancarkan dulu pun nampak mcm ok nampak cam bagus..
      tapi bila dah pakai… macam najis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 5:04 am

hahaha modal kutuk tak laku dari p2 macai

remember savvy?? timing chain???

hahaha

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 7:34 am

Tau xpe.. Iriz x bole nak export pon.. ha.. baca2. .

This also implies that Proton will not be able to export the Iriz to many developed markets unless it produces an engine that meets Euro-6 emission standard.

The short-term solution would be for Proton to source the engine from other manufacturers.

“To develop an engine, it usually takes four to five years. We cannot wait so it is better for us to acquire it from other party,” said Tun Dr. Mahathir.

• zaidss on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:20 am

cantik nyer cakap hahaha lu pakai savvy ke ?? penah bawak savvy ?? wa pakai savvy dri 06 kot xde ape2 major probs pun..lgi 1 der, power window xpenah rosak pun stakat drive 120km/j-140km/j ok je..pk sebelum cakap derr nanti xpsl2 memalukan diri sendiri

• Komen takfakta on Sep 26, 2014 at 3:38 pm

kau tak jaga kereta mmng la macam tuan dia najis. savvy enjien renaut kot.lagi tahan lama. LAME!

• 17000 pre-launch bookings to date

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Self proclaimed figures. . Wait abit bit.. real figures will come out soon..

Open for book 17K.. now also 17K.

Tggu abg motorhead gelak 2nd round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 31
      • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Haha..this is because proton sales man all busy dislike’ the actual fact comment here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:20 pm

p2 macai really work sonhard n very free masuk paultan

many customer cancel booking la tu

takde customer baru

jahahhaha

prrrfthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
          • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Kansel pon xpah.. org kampung boleh dpt kereta cepat sikit..

Cepat2 cancel.. beli Iriz..

You conlah baik2 punye..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:48 pm

if u notice
            yg ramai masuk thred ni adalah ordinary ppl n p2 salesman je

p1 soo bz getting order from customer no time joining paultan

whereas p2 salesman very free coz no order n ppl may cancel order n booking iriz

hahahhaha

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Axia 260L boot vs Iriz 215L. But, looks like Iriz can hold 4 cabin size bags too.. better to see and compare it with your own eyes. or maybe Paultan can make a comparison video just like Exora vs Avanza?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:26 pm

B segment Iriz has smaller boot than a A segment Axia..LOL. Axia > Iriz..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:02 pm

B segment myvi has less boot space than aziah
        hahahha
        aziah> myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:45 pm

all this while, tens of thousands of small cars with small boot space like kancil, viva, kelisa and myvi was sold. bigger boot space in small car is a bonus, but i don’t think Iriz will have a problem with that. if people want bigger boot, they won’t buy Myvi but Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Annoynimouse on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:52 pm

I am tempted to buy this car, but I’ll hold that thought until an R3 version is released.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Inside Info on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Friend working inside. Told me latest report is many dealers still ZERO sales after launch..

Not because car no good… but Malaysians all no money already… maybe can ask Najib give BR1M-IRIZ also ? afterall who dunno how to give angpow especially its not your own money !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 59
      • Inside Info Also on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Friend working inside also. He said your brother, auntie, cousin and many more also working inside. Good la you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • MugenRR on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:58 pm

Are those leather wrap dashboard standard on all variant?

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Another victim, the leather wrapping is just a plastic. You expecting real leather u must be dreaming like bios owner..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
  • alldisc on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:10 pm

to be able to produce such a good figure in the FC dept is something remarkable, especially when it is not tested at constant speed but according to euro mixcycle formula.

2 thumbs up to proton.

its not cheap, definitely. proton seems need to earn more in this car as we were told before that Proton only makes rm500 nett per car (for SV spec).

cant wait to see how the european-hatchback-craze market will respond to this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:22 pm

17k booking for such 62k price car

proven
    rakyat smart oredi
    safety is their 1st choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
  • sudonano (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:24 pm

From a design perspective, it genuinely looks quite nice for a Proton. Let’s not forget that unlike the Myvi, they had to do it from ground up, which means they could have screwed up really easily (Remember the Waja’s front anyone?)

On paper, the interior looks really well thought out and put together. Perceived quality sells in this segment, so I guess they covered that pretty well too.

Being a Proton it should drive pretty well, in terms of handling. The engine, while I am a bit sad the CVT is here to stay, at least there is a manual! Safety is genuinely impressive for the price and segment. At this price range, you won’t get much safety from it’s rivals, like the VW Polo 1.6, Myvi, and the base Jazz.

Oh and that downright insulting Vios.

Anyway, back to the Iriz. By far it has to be Proton’s best effort yet, after the Preve and Suprima. While I was OK with the Preve, I was not wowed over though, as the Cerato for a bit more $$$ felt nicer.

What I am happy to see is Azlan Othman actually being given a chance to talk. Why? A lot of the time, the designers, the people who actually coin this, get shushed by the marketing and PR people. Many don’t truly understand the purpose of the crease or like on a panel, or why they went for certain materials. Though I would have wished that Syed Zainal to be here to see this, I would say, for once they did not sideline the designers.

For once, the ball is on the other side. Perodua has to be worried, cause yobbo body kits and crappy “aggressive looks” and “ornaments and tissue box holders” will not sell a car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 6
    • seancorr on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:54 pm

I’m more concerned with the FC on this Iriz. Its a light car but the FC is just so so as commented by the person doing the video walk around. If a hatchback scores FC figures like this one can only assume the FC will be worse on a heavier sedan model…hmmm.

Anyhow hope P1 made a good car this time around. Please, no more poor quality interior parts which break over time.

• autodriver (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Went to showroom this afternoon and only lowest version available for show car.

From outside, can easily feel it is bigger than Axia. The new cutting edge design and importantly the gap of door, front cover and trunk are tiny. Unlike Preve having horrible furnishing on the gap and even the new Hxnda City is terrible at this part as it is clearly visible.

The door closed with a solid sound. Sitting on the driver seat with door closed, the space is satisfied as I am 185cm and 95kg. However sitting on rear seat quickly feel it is short. The internal length does not as good as Axia. But the internal width is definitely bigger than Myvi and Axia.

The door panel and dashboard are all plaster made without any soft touch PVC. But the quality of the plaster is good and far better than Saga FLX. There was fake stitching around the dashboard, design copy from Vios but it is doing well in Iriz. The aircond button feel solid, unlike Axia which I feel like a “toy”. No GPS available in the 1.3 display unit but at least there is audio system in lowest spec, unlike Axia we need to sing all the time if bought the lowest spec without audio system.

The new Iriz is highly emphasize on safety, and this is biggest advantage of Iriz where airbags, ABS with EBD, BA, HHA and ESP (Proton called VDC) across the board. Big thumb up for Proton effort. Despite all this, there was a bit let down Iriz using the Silverstone M3 which is a lousy tyre as less grip and loud noise. No big issue, buy the car and change the tyre will fix the issue. The rim design of 1.3 is quite outdated.

I personally feel the basic 1.3 standard is great offer to most people. 1.6 price is less attractive but it is aiming the enthusiast who willing to pay higher price for more power and more gadgets.

Good effort from Proton after so many years. Looking forward to own a Iriz.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 5
    • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:54 pm

Don’t look.. or think.. just buy it bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
      • motorbuttt on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Just like those people who bought MYVI…

especially…those uncle…… :p

• das auto on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:58 am

So many people with mentality like unker motorhead. Buy car without thinking and test drive or compare with other options. No wonder p2 n UMW can continue shortchanging n ripping off their money.

• BOYRACER on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:50 pm

I agree with you. At the price range this has to be the best safety equipped car on sale. As for the interior, quality is better than previous Protons especially those pre preve and suprima. As for the engine’s, they are much better now. Throttle response is so much better. The 1.3 is a sweet revver. You should test drive one.

• autodriver (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:39 pm

I will do test drive definitely when available. The showroom I went got 3 SA only and 1 SA is serving at least 2 customers. So no chance to test drive somemore raining at the time. Sigh..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:26 pm

p2 umw salesman really hv to work harder now

ok start 1-2-3

remember savvy??? still timing belt?? no timing chain?? no RV, no japan dna bla bla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:44 pm

Axia > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:21 pm

only applies for p2 umw salesman

hahahahah

rakyat smart orwdi

• wouldve preferred a familiar face to introduce this long awaited car, but i guess the lad’s alrite. you kinda get he’s a bit too much into proton.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Nice.. good. . Mari order.. cepat2. .

Engine sama Saga BLM & Preve.. taruh VVT saje.. ikut kereta teknologi ketinggalan zaman.. Myvi dah pakai 10 thn. Vios 15 thn guna VVT.

You deserve to be conned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 47
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:23 pm

u look sooo frustrated ppl cancel aziah booking n buy iriz yaa

hahahahha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • motorbuttt on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:26 pm

yup… those toyota still use the VVT….

u said those are reliable engine…..

now minyak lagi jimat.. somemore at almost same price as MYVI but better safety features…

who need MYVI now ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • autodriver (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:51 am

With VVT the engine performance will definitely revised.

new P2 car, gearbox sama Myvi, Alza, Kembara, Kenari & Kelisa… taruh nothing saje… ikut kereta teknologi ketinggalan zaman… Proton dah pakai 20 thn, tapi sekarang tukar ke gearbox baru CVT.

I am not blindly protest for proton, but this Iriz is a much better car among Proton after I see the real car in showroom. Please do not comment buta2 without any fact.

• Protong King of Junk on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Proton is the King of Junk,new Axia and Jazz better than this shit thousand times!!!

• From this video, i kind of like the rear look now.. Before it looked awkward at certain angle. Looks like a good package alltogether.

• Eh, how about 1.3 fuel comsumption?

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:36 pm

1.3 punya FC mmg NA.. not available. . Sb. Bukan EEV..

FC x penting. . Yg penting ada VSC. . Konfem x mati if accident. . You ll be safe like inside a tank.

Beli sajalah. . Siapa beli plotong. . X kisah FC punya. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
      • motorbuttt on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:51 pm

yes… uncle is right….
        safer than a movin coffin…

but for uncle those coffin is alright….as long as it reliable…body tak makan dek anai2….

• Annoynimouse on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Fuel consumption is largely influenced by the weight of your right foot. A start-stop technology also helps a lot in city driving.

• Eyo (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Good first impression . Lets hope the impression stays good even after driven review and test drive . I find cars with good safety ratings and safety feature interesting hmm . I hope the quality and performance lives up to expectation . ( i’m still doubtful of this car , only after real reviews and testdrive can proton prove me wrong ) . Good luck proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • deaftek on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:05 pm

the CVT installed in the Saga is cap ayam, wait and see for this one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • autodriver (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:55 am

Yes, I do tested the CVT of Saga and it is really horrible. However I drove the Preve before the CVT response is much better than Saga. Hope the CVT of Iriz will perform at least like Preve.

• Albert Lee on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Great copy and paste job.Has elements of Myvi,Honda,Hyundai all campur,campur.
    The aircon control knobs look ‘plasticky and toyish” while the auto gear stick is a great turn off.
    The price range overlaps top range Saga FLX 1.3,1.6,Persona 1.6,Preve 1.6.Sales of these other models will be affected cos people want something new.
    Well,Proton,this is your saving grace model.If you fail,many will lose their jobs soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 52
    • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Rugi pon xpah.. Plocong welfare company.. x boleh buat untung.. nanti org kata capitalists.

Bole minta duit gov.. Tun M boleh kauthim punya.. selagi dia hidup la.

Kalau ini model fail.. we can ask more money for next R&D… kita buat model lain.. baru punya.. Iriz bole tapau mcm Savvy.

Kita niaga mmg mcm ini punya.

Hehehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • !@#$%^& on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:37 pm

Lu jgn merapulah apek. Kalau setakat jadi salesman gores & menang mcm lu, tak payah sombonglah.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 7:39 am

Relax la brader.. gentle sikit.. apsal panas??

Tak betul ke?

Salesman? ?.. brader.. salesman keta skrg apa model pon jual.. ko x penah beli kereta ke?

Salesman? ? Tak main la..

Hehehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • autodriver (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:02 am

I don’t mind if some elements are similar to other brand, as long as it is well design and most importantly is, I like it.

The aircond control switches look “plasticky and toyish”? If you have seen the Axia, you will see the “plastickiest and toyishest”.

About the price range, Iriz is not overlapping any of its siblings because this is HATCHBACK and others like Saga, Persona and Preve are “SEDAN”. Unlike P2, compare Axia 1.0 most expensive version is RM 42k and Myvi 1.3 cheapest is RM45k. Both are ALMOST same size where Axia length is 3640mm and Myvi is 3690mm. both are same segment and same hatchback. This is baru called overlapping. You can find the evidence at their official website.

• leoRNado on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:30 pm

autodriver, read more. since when myvi and axia same segment?. Hatchback?? all small car produced by P2 are/were hatchback..

Myvi entry level started at RM42k while Axia RM25k. Last time, Viva Elite (permium model) also price at RM41k n yet top 3 sales after Myvi n Saga.

• autodriver (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:32 am

leoRNado, had you compared the Axia and Myvi size in real world? The new Axia is ALMOST same size like Myvi and it has bigger trunk spare than Myvi. Sitting inside the Axia will immediately feel it is much bigger than Viva. In fact the interior length is bigger than Myvi, except the width is slightly smaller.

Viva – 3575 / 1475 / 1530
          Axia – 3640 / 1620/ 1510
          Myvi – 3690 / 1665 / 1545

You still consider Axia same segment with Viva? Segment is measured by car length generally and not displacement. Peugext 508 is a D-segment car but only 1.6L turbo. If measure by displacement it was only C-segment but the real world is measure by “SIZE”.

If you have a budget of 42k (Myvi XT Auto 45k), which model you go for when the price is overlapping 2 models.

• therealmaserati on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Good or no good, its about the reliability! Lets see what happens after 1 year . Wait for owners review

• I see so many ppl bash the gear knob.. Yeah, it may look off but i think its far better than perodua axia’s gear that looks like 1995 kancil, 1999 kembara & 1999 kenari, with that super long stick…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:51 pm

no point to bash iriz ciz iriz almost perfect

do dapat bash gearknob pon jadi laa

hahahahha

• Absolute Rider on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:39 pm

Went to showroom after work, I only spent there for 30 minutes since I have to go back home. Going pay a visit later this week.

Anyway, first impression is good and better the preve and suprima s. Like the headlamp with proton word. really a good detailing there. open and closing the door also feel solid and nice. dark interior compared to suprima s also a welcome. however, I still have enough time to feel other places. proton really needs to redesign the whole interior of preve and suprima s and using better touch screen infotainment system for those models.

the seat are good, well at least for me. hold me just fine. good job for that. test drive units pnly available two days from now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:52 pm

your comment really make p2 umw salesmN hurt

• driver on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:35 pm

please come back and tell us your experience once you’ve test driven it. not everybody has the chance. thanks.

• Absolute Ride on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:28 pm

To peyno. even though i went to showroom to visit axia, but that’s it. end of story. the front end axia SE and advance too ah beng style and rear end doesn’t match the front.

To driver. hopefully i manage to test drive the car.

again, first impression for proton iriz…. well done!

• AVH (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Being a Proton, I need to carefully lay out in a way it would not insult the far Left and Far Right of fandom which I usually end up doing. Having pop over to the local showroom to take a closer look as what is hailed(by me) ‘As the car that would save Proton’.

Initial outlook seems to be promising, its a very well laid out car, the back tends to curve out abit that what I initially thought looking at the picture, I was initially holding out that the rear end looks abit too Tata Nano but I was proven wrong. The rear ‘fake’ diffuser its also now made with a more lighter (and slightly premium interior) . The front….I have my doubts, but I will Leave it in my heart(dont wanna anger those lefties).

Onwards to the interior, well built with solid (but hard) plastic, the fake stitching seems to have complimented the interior well. There are still signs of Proton low quality pass however, but you have to go in great details to find it , like the air cond knob for example, it feels fidaliy, and abit too hard to turn, but like I said, for the car of the price, it should’t bother anyone. The android head unit is a huge improvement from the old, still smooth and slick, but I find the screen abit far reach thou and the in screen button too small, if you have Parkinson’s diesease, get the 1.3, still have physical buttons, thou uglier unit thou(OK OK,in my opinion, opinions differ, put the knife down P1 fans). Its a well laid out interior than the Preve siblings, no armrest thou, bummer if you really do have Parkinson.

It looks suprisingly good, well laid out and thought out, and design seems to be an improvement over the Preve siblings(still seems lazily designed to me). But of course we have to come down to where to votes are lost….space. The Headrooms is a no problem, front and back you can feet Michael Jordan in here, but you might have to cut his knees, the legroom at both front seems very restrictive. Its probably best if you leave Michael Jordan to the Passenger seat because rear ingress is rather restrictive too. Than theres the boot, it should not worry many Malaysians, but thou the door is big, it seems to reveal a portal to the carneverous(by insects standards) boot. Like the video says, its the small things that make the difference, and is the small things where I find the flaws.

Where the game changer lies is the safety, naysayers say it would mean much, Proton-diehards will say this car will grant you imortality, I’d say for the price, you have to give Proton kudos at hhaving VSC/ESC/SC/C3PO(the stability control, whatever proton calls it) standard across the board, it still littered with flaws and if you and your pals are Michale-Jordan and co, its best you look at somewhere else, The Axia I sat yesterday has a much larger legroom than this(no, P2 fans that is not a praise)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:59 pm

people with parkinson? i’m not being mean or despising them but they shouldn’t be driving.

• AVH (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:32 am

True, Parkinson came to mind partly because its the most infamously known to the ‘shaky hands’ syntoms. But there are also people with shaky hands that are not related to parkinson. Theres the Benign essential tremor, Low blood sugar (hypoglycemia) and Acute stress reaction. I have minor-hyperactiveness in the past, thou now I was told that its gone, but I do have shaky hands, not as severe as people with Parkinson, but very obviouys when I am holding a cup or mug. which is why I contatntly miss-press the keyboard(was told it was low blood sugar and stress the last time).

Anyways, the point I’am delivering was the fact that the buttons on the menu screen is abit hard to press, make worse if you’re in a moving car. Being Android, I do believe you can actually increase the button size thou I didnt get there, I got stucj in the settings menu and quietly left the car, whistleing.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Found it a bit hard to understand what you’re going on about because of the ‘then’ and ‘than’ confusion and your sentences sometimes colliding into each other, etc. Didn’t mean to offend, I did finish reading it. :)

Thanks for your honest first impression on the car. Until I get to touch it, comments are all I have (stuck on metal island).

But from initial comments, it seems Proton isn’t ready for the launch…The lack of certain models, and some SAs who don’t know how to start the push-start manual variants. Might put a lot of people off!

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Apah nih? Look forward lah.. tgk lah.. tggu lah.. nanti lah.. beli sajelah..

17,000 people booking dy.. sini Paultan satu haram pon xde beli.

Something fishy here.. mcm bau butt, bart & penyu.

Siapa dah beli raise their hands?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Garfield (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:29 am

Went to Puchong Jaya showroom 10pm last night. A lot of people was still flocking into the showroom. First impression, fantastic interior. I love the seats, and even the lowest specs car does not leave the buyer feel shortchanged. Dislike: only gearknob.

Perodua showroom was just a few doors away. I made a point to drop by and see how I would personally feel jumping from Iriz to Axia. Man, how do I feel shortchanged even though it was the SE version I was looking at. An apek was in the driver’s side cursing the interior. There was silence from the salesmen. I guess that apek was venting his frustration since he is inline to get his Axia very soon…..

• maaajeeedaaa on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:56 pm

I pass.. I’ll wait for mazda 2 kodo.. better deal.. better performance…. I’m willing to pay extra coz I will not suffer the weird small sounds that may come from this Iriz… I am not a basher…but I’ve been disappointed by Proton quality and sweet promises in their product… enough is enough. Good luck Proton in the future. All da best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Well friends, I hope you guys can make a good choice on choosing cars. It is better to choose a car with vsc & TCS. It is very much different without it. I use to be driving suv & pick-up. By turn it off or driving 1 without TCS & vsc on mountain roads is very much different. Even much more safer on rainy days.

• victor tan (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Sad betul la, most ppl only bash and bash but not welcoming the new member.

Welcome Gregory Sze!!! And nice walk around review! Looking forward to your future work!

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:09 pm

IKR?

I couldn’t finish watching the video due to the connection here but initially his narration seemed to be very smooth and quite natural. He might be the new face of the Driven series too. “Actor” credentials eh?

• praise on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:57 pm

This car is good. Credit is due when it is due. We don’t complain all the time Proton. This time you deserve a praise and a big praise that is. Now, I just wish it’s more affordable to own a car in Malaysia, that’s my only issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Bluesyworms on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:04 pm

So who won the Siapa Nama Hebat?

• Jaguh on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:14 pm

The paint job in this unit looks good not like previous proton with thin layer of paint and I didn’t noticed much orange peel effect as well. Hope the sale units are the same too. Good job! Hate the rims tho. The price…. Hmm Not too attractive for a proton. Let’s see if it comes with 3 yrs warranty, 3 yrs free service…

• Àlahai (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:52 am

Sir, if you read carefully. It comes with 3 years free service and 5 yeas warranty.

• Jaguh on Sep 27, 2014 at 7:56 am

Oops. My bad sir. I didn’t know of the free service…. Well in that case, the price ain’t too bad. Good fou u proton! But still, hate the rims man.

• Stop la support perodua. Sekarang perodua semua jepun saja. Kerajaan malaysia pun banyak sangat bagi chance pada jepun2 ni. Kilang baru mereka employed nepal n bangla. Macam ni ka nak majukan malaysia…

• carfan on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Visually Iriz looks good. My own experience of driving the Preve- all the good work was let down by a very rough engine and drivetrain (campro!). I hope Iriz improves on that. Additional one factor to consider is that MyVi has a proven record for reliablility but Iriz was built ground up and do not have any data on its reliability.

Anyway well done Proton – can u fit some Ford Ecoboost 1.0 turbo engine for your Iriz R3.

• savior on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:17 am

Test drive it today, yeah.. they did improve the sound and cvt much better than preve.. overall for me it’s the best money can buy for a car at this price tag.. (1.3L Executive CVT), rm49.888

• Impressive car (relatively), but they seem to be continuing on their trend of crappy names.

Wasn’t it supposed to be 6 letters in the naming contest? I was hoping the name “Iriz” was just a bad rumour gone viral.

• alldisc on Sep 26, 2014 at 2:38 am

iriz is not even a word. just some sort of acronyms

• Bluesyworms on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:36 am

The contest state the name in BM, max 6 letters and you can use numerals as well as long as the whole name is not in numbers. Thus i see nothing wrong with the name IRIZ. It could be 1RI5 and it is still within the rules.

• if there is a 1.6 turbo… definetely it will rival international hatches

• NonProton on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:32 am

This is the right product to compete with any 75k car in the make. Congratulations to Program. Just ensure no build quality issue.

• Very impressive review from Paultan, straightforward and honest. Keep it up. Would love to hear from test drive review.

• komen berfakta on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:49 am

setakat jaguh kampung… kat tempat sendiri gah kat luar sampah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 5:09 am

macam mengata perodua jeee

tgk komen pon dah tau p2 macai ni

kutil2 proton skit pastu mesti piji2 p2

rakyat smart oredi

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 7:52 am

Bukan sampah.. sampah tu bole jual lg kat recycle. . Ni nak jual kat luar pon x bole.. nah komen berfakta.. xde enjin.. kita beli enjin…

…This also implies that Proton will not be able to export the Iriz to many developed markets unless it produces an engine that meets Euro-6 emission standard.

• R.I.P. myvi.. anyway, myvi are being close to Malaysian’s heart for many years. But, myvi this time is totally defeated by IRIZ. Gudjob proton.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 7:46 am

Hundreds of comments dy.. looking forward la.. test la.. tgk la.. bagus la..

Still xde buyer ke kat sini?

17,000?? Hehehe. .

• azrai on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:35 am

SAM LOO’s myth busted. Myvi’s RV today dip more than before because of the new Iriz’s pricing!!

• wendy on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:37 am

actually its a good sign when u see so many p2 seller so threaten by this..they will say anything just to safe their sales..

good proton! at least this one made by Malaysian!

• troll on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:34 am

kenapa aku benci proton!!? bodoh pakai preve x sampai 3 bulan 3 kali masuk servis center repair problem overheating. enjin bodoh campro.

• Garfield (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:25 am

Went to Puchong Jaya showroom 10pm last night. A lot of people was still flocking into the showroom. First impression, fantastic interior. I love the seats, and even the lowest specs car does not leave the buyer feel shortchanged. Dislike: only gearknob.

Perodua showroom was just a few doors away. I made a point to drop by and see how I would personally feel jumping from Iriz to Axia. Man, how do I feel shortchanged even though it was the SE version I was looking at. An apek was in the driver’s side cursing the interior. There was silence from the salesmen. I guess that apek was venting his frustration since he is inline to get his Axia very soon…..

• mango on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:38 pm

for once i feel proton is getting this right in term of styling.

• Desperate Citizen on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:41 pm

The boot could have been bigger if the rear was more sloppy like Fiesta.
    I hope they come out with a sedan version soon.

• why the engine cover look so cheapo? the gloss make it look like some black greasy oil stain on it ^^

• Kesian Perodua..makan asap Proton Iriz..kepada salesman P2 yang takda kerja disebabkan tiada pembeli..cuba2 lah check website JPA..mana tau ada kerja kosong..ANGKAT SAMPAH..anyway..P2 is still not national car marker..BECAUSE:
    1. hanya tahu Copy Paste
    2. Main Share Holder is TOYOTA
    3. Belum pandai buat enjin

To P2 Salesman..please admit it..don’t ever try to hide it..- PERODUA. RUBBISH, HOPELESS (as what Jeremy Clarkson of Top Gear UK said)

• gasjatt on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Paultan’s videos have improved a lot since the first Driven season.

• Dissappointed on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:56 pm

I’m a vivid supporter of Paultan’s page but this video really made me doubtful. In the video they said that this Proton Iriz is spacious and can comfortably seats tall occupants front and rear.

This Iriz is spectacular on the books. Spacious, superbly accessorized and top notch safety aspect. I brought money together with me ready to book the top model but was taken aback after sitting in the real car.

I’m 179cm tall and after adjusting the driver seat to my comfort (Note that I like to seat upright). I can’t even sit properly into the rear seat. Also after closing the door in the driver seat, the side window glass is only less than 5 inch from my face. the rear boot is much more narrow than the Myvi from the looks of it.

Just like Tiara & Savy at their time, spectacular on paper. These three cars carries the same marketing strategy. Bigger, stronger, more accessorised, higher safety specs and highly regarded quality control. However, it also carries the same disadvantages, less spacious interior, low power to weight power ratio, higher fuel consumption and Proton’s Badge.

Truly disappointed with this car after seeing the actual car.

Sorry but I think this will just be another Tiara & Savy.