VIDEO: Proton Iriz crash test – front and side impacts

Other than its looks and updated engines, the stand-out feature of the new Proton Iriz is its raft of safety equipment. The new B-segment hatchback has up to six airbags (on the top-spec 1.6 Premium; lesser models have two), and Proton’s Vehicle Dynamic Control package (ABS, EBD, brake assist, traction control, electronic stability control and hill-hold assist) is standard across the range.

The day before its launch, the Iriz’s crash-worthiness was verified – it receiving a full five-star rating by ASEAN NCAP. The independent body has just released a video of the crash test, which you watch in full above.

While ASEAN NCAP only tests for frontal impacts, Proton itself had performed internal testing (above) to see how the Iriz would perform in side collisions – where its side and curtain airbags would come in very handy.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Good job proton iriz

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 6
    • Bye Proton on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 197
      • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Here you go :)

Honda Jazz – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v95p2sKJhRA
        Volkswagen Polo Sedan – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vKD33jUU8KU

And while we’re at it, why not others as well?

Ford Fiesta Sedan – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OyT2KgWje8s
        Peugeot 208 – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DejgEtlYz1I
        Suzuki Swift – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pxjA7hbHymY

Cheers, buddy!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 294 Thumb down 1
        • Haha i wish i could give u million likes

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 2
          • And I wish I can give him 3000K likes. Very2 useful info indeed. Thanks a 3 million Hafriz.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
        • kzm (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Nice Hafriz!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
        • Anti-Establishment on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:52 pm

You forgot the Toyota Vios – everybody’s “favourite” car

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eDrVfciEz-E?w=250

Looking at the results – even a bloody Picanto can score better than the Vios, let alone the Iriz!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 26, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Hopefully all Proton’s airbags, safety features will work when the passengers need them.

Proton build quality…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 73
          • Goh Jeng on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:51 pm

Yaloh, even after accident and you’re dead, your Toy still maintain its RV and will still run to send you to the grave. Good build quality kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
          • Anti-Establishment on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:13 am

Same L0rrr – as you can see from the picture below, the airbags did deploy safely in this Preve. You know, the one where the accident force was so strong, the engine came off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:55 pm

The info, videos is all over on internet, but some Malaysians are lazy and just want people to fed them. no wonder they could believe false or untrue stories so easily too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
        • eims perfume on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:55 pm

wow impressive,

looks like iriz beats all that u list above..

high safety rating for small cars is a lot more crucial since they compete with bigger cars outside. those crash test only assuming that the other car is the same size and weight.

this is example of others people’s fault, and why u need to be ready. http://ondscene.my/kemalangan/2-parah-kemalangan-3-kereta-di-tidal-flow

by the way… bye proton name just make it sound like buy proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • kadajawi (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Don’t forget the Proton Wira. Sort of.
          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hAZKPGI1r7Q
          That one is really scary.

Proton has come a very long way since then…

• unforgiven on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Good job, however we need to have forward thinking, to have ASEAN standard, then move on to ASIA standard, inclusive Japan standard, then move on to global standard (US/Euro).

Ultimately once we have the knowledge and educated people, it’ll be one single standard in the world!

Not forgetting one single global car prices as well (FX into consideration of course).

• KLWong on Sep 26, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Paid review? You mean paultan.org accepting bribes? That is a serious accusation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • Chong on Sep 26, 2014 at 6:58 pm

Worst Crash test
        https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8N57sfAxT8&w=100

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:35 pm

That is a misleading compilation. Yes, the Rover 100 was rubbish, and after that crash test the sales tanked, as they should.

Other old cars, yes, they do bad. What a surprise. It doesn’t matter what brand, even an old Mercedes, BMW or Volvo (say the car was designed before 1995) will perform very badly. For pick-ups I’d add another 10 years before they started getting safe.

But the Audi A4, Camry, Kia Soul etc.? They are safe cars. Much safer than many other cars that are not shown in the video. IIHS has introduced a test that is extremely hard to do well in, so basically every car out there failed/would fail very badly. Only a Suzuki and a Volvo did well enough at this test. So picking out a few cars and pointing out how rubbish they are is very misleading and unfair, and perhaps even dangerous without knowing the context. People may rather buy a car that is less safe but hasn’t been tested, because they think it might be safer.

Btw., this small overlap test that all cars fail on, together with sensationalist headlines, show the different philosophies between western crash test organizations and ASEAN NCAP. The western ones came up with a very harsh test, and shamed companies, so that they quickly improve safety in an area that was so far neglected all around the world. ASEAN NCAP however decided to not release results that would harm companies that have been avoiding putting in crucial safety equipment that has been around for 15 years, and is standard on the same models in other countries. Clearly, ASEAN NCAP tries to protect companies, rather than people.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:13 am

Besides Suzuki and Volvo, Subaru and the bigger Mitsubishi cars are also able to pass the small front overlap test. The latest Jazz also passes the test. There are others as well, but I don’t feel like going on a search to confirm.

• Aaron on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:02 pm

This video title is very much misleading. Most of the cars here performed quite well. However, almost every cars will definitely fail the small overlap test. If were to involve physics in this, there are no passenger cars to date and no engineering today is able to withstand the force of a small overlap test and still grant passenger safety.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:38 pm

P1 crash test facility look more advance than AseanNCAP? from lighting, camera, environment..all look better than MIROS equip test lab..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Anti-Establishment on Sep 26, 2014 at 5:05 pm

You’ll find that it’s the Applus+Idiada Proving Ground facility (as evidence by the box on the bottom left corner)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • kzm (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 5:27 pm

ur rite..i miss those small conner.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 5:30 pm

mean that they do the test in Spain?

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Yup. It’s probably cheaper to send a prototype to Spain and have it tested there than to either set up a testing facility (Volvo has one, but hey, it’s Volvo…) or go to another that works for others… they are rather rare I guess. I know there’s one in the US, but that’s not really better.

• shame_Loo on Sep 26, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Gotta see when it’s on the road, how reliable this car is, how well is the fuel consumption (not claimed by manufacturer)? For a company with 30 years old, Proton should match with or close to Hyundai at least in term of design, quality, sales, market & etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • Naim Hasbullah on Sep 28, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Ada tengok pasal Myvi langgar Iriz tak. Not bad arh dapat tahan. Haha. Macam sengaja langgar nak test power ada gak LOL!

• A-pillar is damn strong. Good stuff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • ismail saad on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:11 pm

wow wow wowwwww… good job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • if compare with wira crash test, Iriz improve a lot!
    and you never wish to drive wira on road.
    (Google search proton jumbuck crash test)

• kzm (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:41 pm

no need google search..just go ANCAP website or ANCAP youtube channel.

• GEN Y on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Impressive Proton! i might rethink to buy new car, what most crucial? fuel efficiency or safety? the new MYVI SE Lagi Best is not equipped with stability control. But the Iriz get ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, Hill Hold Assist, dual airbags and Electronic Stability Control (ESC) as standard. The top spec Premium version gets six airbags – dual front, side and curtain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • haziq on Sep 27, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Wouldn’t want to make it obvious in P1 thread but do pick a car with ESC enabled. This technology saved my life in car accident 2 years ago
      I’d agree that this is the best thing after seatbelts and airbags regulatory in car.

• Aaron on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:25 pm

That 1990 proton saga without airbags and isofix crash test was ultimately disastrous. This shows how much car safety has improved over the past decade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Anti-Establishment on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:48 pm

It also goes to show why, even with taxes we won’t be able to enjoy RM 20,000 cars anymore.

Those safety systems do cause money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Anti-Establishment on Sep 26, 2014 at 5:07 pm

I meant even WITHOUT taxes.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Well, as long as there are no regulations to enforce good safety standards/equipment, and as long as people are willing to buy a car lacking basic safety equipment (and judging by Toyota sales figures they are), it is still possible to sell very cheap cars. The Tata nano for example would easily stay below RM 20000. These models exist in other parts of the world.

• Say something on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:26 pm

How Fragile a Myvi is….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • ToomuchIriz on Sep 26, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Paultan enough of Iriz ads pls continue with other auto news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 59
  • sharifah on Sep 26, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Sudahlah. Nobody cares.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 44
    • maniam on Sep 26, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Whole nation care except
      u, Motorhead & Same LOrrr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Dey..

Yep.. the whole nation looking forward to scrap NAP.. together with lost making.. money asking. .plotong. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
        • kahkah on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:56 pm

Who are you to say whole nation? PM kah?

Kah kah

• Man Lancer GTE on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:01 pm

Don’t get too excited. If NAP scrapped in the near future & no tax imposed on foreign cars, u think smart Malaysians will still buy rebadged cars like P2’s? If Proton die, so P2 and its salesmen like you.

• motorbuttt on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:42 am

Deyyyyyyyyy……

http://www.chaseforfun.com/data/images/People/funny-indian-people_3.jpg

p2 money making ..but people is dying..u tarak care ka…??

• peyno (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:26 am

u r wrong
            p2 neve made profit since established

japanese make money n bring back home n indonesia

• peyno (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 6:08 pm

peyno soo happy now

last time when ppl bashing proton we tot and assume they are import car owner or slaesman

but now .. ppl smart oredi and when ppl bashing proton.. we alrwady knew it must be come from
    p2 UMW macai n salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • tishaban on Sep 26, 2014 at 6:14 pm

I’d love to see how the new Iriz fares in the more stringent tests eg. IIHS small overlap tests or roof strength tests. I guess if Proton ever does make a LHD version for export to the US we’ll get to see that…

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Exporting to US is not as simple as you thought. They have their own auto business that need protection too. Remember? Hyundai and Kia had to build their factories there… same as China, you have to do joint-venture with local chinese company to sell in china. So it will take years before Proton can be in US. By that time Proton should have better car than Iriz.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Full version. ..

Proton is considering to purchase Euro-6 emission standard compliant engines made by other manufacturers, says Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed at this morning’s launch of the Proton Iriz.

Currently, the Proton Iriz is powered by a new Variable Valve Timing (VVT) engine that Proton says is 5.7 kg lighter than the previous CamPro engine. It is available in two displacement capacities – 1.3-litre and 1.6-litre. At its current state of tune, the engine complies to Euro-4 emission standards, which is the current standard adopted by Thailand.

Tun Dr. Mahathir also adds that it is possible to tune the VVT engine to up to Euro-5 emission standard.

The current emission standard for Malaysia is Euro-2. However many developed countries will be moving to Euro-6 emission standard very soon. Singapore for example, will be adopting Euro-6 for both petrol and diesel vehicles by 2017.

Earlier this month, Euro-6 was enforced in the European Union. All new cars homologated after 1-September 2014 must meet the Euro-6 standard. The regulation also require manufacturers of existing models currently on sale in the European Union (homologated before September 2014) to be upgrade their existing models to meet Euro-6 standard by 1-January 2015.

This also implies that Proton will not be able to export the Iriz to many developed markets unless it produces an engine that meets Euro-6 emission standard.

The short-term solution would be for Proton to source the engine from other manufacturers.
    “To develop an engine, it usually takes four to five years. We cannot wait so it is better for us to acquire it from other party,” said Tun Dr. Mahathir.

The Proton chairman did not elaborate any further on the matter but earlier this year Tun Dr. Mahathir has said that Proton is in talks with several Japanese car manufacturers on the prospects of future collaborations.

“We are looking at other Japanese automotive makers. Right now we are cooperating with Honda,” Tun Dr. Mahathir.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 6:39 pm

wow
      japanese engine
      it must be a honda

yeahhh brio engine or jazz wud be better

DRB sooo smart oredi

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Ahh.. justified dy..

Plodua use Daihatsu engines etc.. you talk kork..

Now.. honda in plotong.. your tone changed so fast meh?

Kork man..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
        • motorbuttt on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:45 am

tarak isu lain ka macha..??

so butthurt!!

http://www.chaseforfun.com/data/images/People/funny-indian-people_3.jpg

• peyno (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:52 am

go proton go

we have own developed engine n rebadge engine yeahhhh

ni baeu pakai own engine pon dah butthurt

kalau pakai japan engine honda…abis la p2 macai

dah takde modal bak berselindung dosebalik nama jepun

all this while p2 can survive sebab mengencing makcik2 disebalik nama jepun jeee

sebab tu org yg arif pasal jepun n product jepun cam peyno gelank guling2

• LOLzzzzz on Sep 26, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Dude are u retarded? this is pertaining the crash test…cannot tahan to see your p2 go airbone ka?? stop deflecting the subject matter la kawan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 7:38 pm

It’s not a deflection. . It’s info for some.

Especially those idiots malas baca…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
        • motorbuttt on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:00 am

deyyyyyy…malas baca tidak mengapa..

malas pikir is much worse… (¬_¬”)

• peyno (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:55 am

modal tyerakhir dia… myvi cramp like that oso no problem.. it still carriws daihatsu dna

tu yg macai yg bwrselindung disebalik nama jepun jee

hahahah

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Eh? Maybe you forgot tu write but where’s your booking number?

• The Real Same LOrrr on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:11 pm

His auta booking number today is……….. the same 3000K aka 3M!

• motorbuttt on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:24 am

booking increase already…

the waiting is till 9 years now…
          soon u finish the loan only then u get the car…

• peyno (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:56 am

nro
            pls clarify
            some saind 2 years
            some said 9 years… which one is correct

• Seriously on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:26 am

Haiya Motorhead, still harping on about Proton buying engines from other carmakers even when its about safety? Because no other issues to bring up is it?

Don’t forget the mighty Toyota also
      bought diesel engines from BMW for its European market models. Toyota have their own engines but still get engines from BMW. Why? To save on developmental costs and time.

You said you are from the corporate world. Surely you will know the benefits of outsourcing. Unless you are just a lowly P2 cyber trooper cum SA, like we all already knew.

• Can we resume with the proper car reviews. Like I said, remove the protectionistic measures and see if anyone would still buy Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • RoadRage (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 7:15 pm

I know you’ve been longing to own a cheap tax free car from your homeland Geely and Great Wall

• Another x brand SA butthurt

• peyno (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:57 am

did u say the same to perodua??? it applies to perodua too

• Ammar on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:02 pm

Nice car and more safety.

• Subframe on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:39 pm

Anybody notice that side impact in Iriz is using the AE MDB, which is much severe compare to normal side impact barrier?

• eims perfume on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:33 am

http://www.oasys-software.com/dyna/en/fe-models/barrier/AE-MDB_Development_Report_v1-0.pdf

impact from a 1500kg vehicle.. its amazing how the center pillar (i dont know what its called) but that pillar is made from Hot press forming. it doesnt even dent… !

• well done Proton! Abah hope that Iriz is really the game changer for Proton..

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:18 pm

I find it really misleading that ASEAN NCAP mentions that side impact tests are done. That gives people the impression that a 4 or 5 star rating means the car is good at side impacts, when it really doesn’t have to be cause the standards the car has to fulfill to not be punished are really very low, and NO detail or material is ever released on the side impact tests they do. For all it’s worth they may only say they do it, because we wouldn’t find out anyway.

Also, it seems to me like the frontal impact test in the Proton video is done at a much lower speed. And where is the rest of the car in the last shot of the side impact? No information about what tests exactly were done? I guess we’ll have to wait for ANCAP…

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:48 am

Hmm…this is a trend I am worried about here. kadajawi gave a very good point regarding the NCAP testing we have in the ASEAN region yet he is marked down. It seems that any negative comment that could call into question local practices are seen as bashing now, even if the comment is unbiased and makes sense.

kadajawi is one of the more level-headed and unbiased commenters here and I find his comments generally enjoyable. He favors the French automakers, btw. A rare breed here.

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:06 pm

The test done by Proton was at Applus+Idiada, one of the crash lab for EuroNCAP. The lab definitely know what they’re doing. Do not judge the speed based on the slow motion video. The crash usually ends in few seconds only, so the high speed camera is used to watch it clearly and to decide area of improvement needed.
      Asean NCAP only give marks based on front collision only. It would be unfair if one car is tested for side impact and given marks which would affect overall score, and others doesn’t go through the same test but getting higher score. That’s why it is stated as ‘pass’ only, without the mark. Yes, we may have to wait for ANCAP to know it.

• IRIZ fanboy on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:18 pm

I drove Iriz just now it was a 1.6VVT CVT Premium model testdrive unit at Setia Alam Proton, thanks to MR.Mohd Wafi and other sales advisor. Im impressed with the car performance and built quality. Welldone Proton!

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Why do these two say similar things under different names…? Smells fishy.

• Gen Y on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:41 pm

I drove the testdrive unit today and im impressed with performance and built quality of the Iriz 1.6VVT CVT Premium. Thanks to the Sales Advisor from Setia Alam Proton. ;-) hopefully the Iriz accepted by Malaysian. Welldone Proton..