Proton Iriz prototype fitted with LG ADAS camera

Iriz_ADAS_04

Here’s another prototype that was on display at the Alami Proton carnival last weekend – a Proton Iriz prototype fitted with an Advanced Drive Assistance System (ADAS) stereo camera, an effort by LG Electronics.

You might recall that the Proton Iriz Active concept had the same stereo camera fitted behind the windscreen near the rear view mirror – it was used to showcase pedestrian detection in that car.

Screen Shot 2014-09-29 at 2.52.53 PM

The stereo camera allows many safety features to be implemented such as Autonomous Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Warning, Lane Departure Warning, Traffic Sign Recognition, Adaptive Cruise Control, High Beam Assist, Cross Traffic Assist, and others.

Euro NCAP recently made Autonomous Emergency Braking mandatory for a car to get a 5-star safety rating. Real world claims data suggests these systems can reduce accidents by up to 27%.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• From the back on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 157
    • implying the technology is tailored made for every car,

no need to make a mold to mount the unit, calibrating the sensor, more changes to bcm/ecu

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 0
      • darkermarker on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Are you sure??? Doing such simple thing cost RM500mill?? Cronies company ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 68
        • farghmee on Sep 29, 2014 at 8:14 pm

bro, everythg can get on-the-shelf.
          but integration needs time.

i can understand if this thing isn’t there in iriz (since proton is small co)..
          but i cannot brain if this thing isn’t there in other-turf-is-greener car.

• brazbuz on Sep 29, 2014 at 10:40 pm

500m is to develop an iriz not this system. ADAS is collabration of p1 with LG… Read first la,dont just bash blindly….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
          • Oh My English on Sep 30, 2014 at 11:59 am

Brazbuz, I believe you are the one with poor understanding of English.

That reader is questioning what did Proton spent the $500mil R&D on , when they (Proton) just OEM such technology from Korea.

Its you who is blind and needs more lessons in English ?

OME

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 37
          • Obviously (Member) on Sep 30, 2014 at 1:14 pm

brazbuz made a good point, OME.

No carmaker actually develops these detection technologies themselves. It’s more cost-effective to source it from a specialist developer, just like how no car company makes their own OEM reverse cameras themselves but sources it from dedicated companies focused on optical technology.

They would only need to integrate them into their system, calibrate and test it so that it’ll work.

RM500m would be spent on the development and testing of this car. Looks like further costs will be spent to develop the car to work with these systems.

Don’t kutuk people’s English when yours isn’t that good as well.

‘Its’ is a possessive form of it.

What you wanted to use was “it’s” which is a contraction of “it is”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
          • brazbuz on Sep 30, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Yeah i might not really good in english, but i care to read the article,understand it pretty well n then make comment to those misunderstand the article… So chill ok…. Assist me if my english not good on my other comment in the future :)

• ciakap on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:42 pm

when autoblog become English class lesson..

Go home OME, you’re drunk..

• Drachen on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:02 pm

from the back: bla bla bla bla bla..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • vivon on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:37 pm

You are too lazy to find it

• LG has been working with proton since 2002. BLM is the first car LG give full contribution from design to engineering.

• Observer on Sep 30, 2014 at 8:30 am

500m was to develop IRIZ from scratch…. not to develop these ADAS… duh… please read before you bash… no need to show your stupidity here -.-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • PAssby on Sep 30, 2014 at 11:07 am

I am not sure if this thing cost 500mil but to integrate to local traffic condition it surely cost a lot, such as recognize traffic sign, lane changing etc. All these maybe need to re-build the object targetting kind of staff maybe.

• Rashuk Khan on Sep 30, 2014 at 12:32 pm

RM500M is for Iriz it self….. nothing to do with ADAS. LG show their interest because they trust Proton have the capability to adapt their technology and sell to the customer with the reasonable price before other competitor counter offer Proton….

• Uzair on Sep 30, 2014 at 2:45 pm

RM500 million to spend on development of the whole car not just LG ADAS.

• AVH (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Wow, I starting to see some solid R&D from Proton. Hope they can refine this for road use in….. 2 years. Reminds me of Honda’s ‘V2X’ or Subaru’s EyeSight.

I foresee, a face lift Iriz with the Iriz Active’s Electroluminescent film strips (a more through job than the ‘aftermarket-ish’ LED DRL found on the production car) with this tech could be the car Proton needs to gain back trust.

….still need better engines thou.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Obviously (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:59 pm

They definitely need better engines. Current engines, while improved, don’t seem to have caught up with the current times yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Yes, fix the damn engine first.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:19 pm

at least in near future many boleh people can have those volvo inspired safety package without paying volvo price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • iskhalifah (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Yes, the Iriz need better engines. Powertrain refinement & NVH is the issue here. During the test drive, quite disappointed that the 1.6 VVT engine growls with 65dB noise over when driven at 2.5-3K rpm with moderate throttle, and slight vibrations felt over the cabin (plus dashboard rattling).

• LG electronics on Sep 30, 2014 at 10:06 am

Proton will never put any effort in R&D in the past, now and tomorrow, they got everything from us, LG electronics. Proton can’t even R&D their own simple reverse sensor and alarm system, forget about all those LCAS, HBA, ABC, DEF………..MONEY can buy anything…..ofcause la from LG Electronics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • so msia ppl getting crappy spec and international get more safety spec? nonsense… good 1… now ppl can see.. your true color.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 79
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:23 pm

crappy spec?..with current p1 safety spec none of japanese (A n B seg) have that as standard in ASEAN let alone in boleh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 3
    • Anti-Establishment on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:50 pm

As if Malaysians would buy cars with good safety specs anyways – witness how so many Myvis are on the roads despite their poor safety equipment. Also witness how Axia gets “3000K” orders even though their safety specs are poor – some even argue against the need for ESC since you won’t be using it in a traffic jam!

It’s Malaysians that’s causing crappy specs, not the car makers – they only give what YOU WANT!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
      • mascaretaker on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Also witness how Axia gets “3000K” orders even though their safety specs are poor ????

lol they buy axia because budget at 24k duh… if iriz 24k ppl buy iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
        • motorbart on Sep 29, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Haha! So where’s him? Dun want to say that if drive car jangan pikir pasal mati and you will be safe?

If like that why use seatbelt? Use the power of brain is enough to live 1000 years. Lol.

Stupid. Waiting for his answer.

• I agree with you, all the Vios, Myvi or Axia buyers are “auntie mentality”. They dunno about CAR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Obviously (Member) on Sep 30, 2014 at 1:20 pm

“some even argue against the need for ESC since you won’t be using it in a traffic jam!”

I like this part. It really boggles the mind to try to fathom what they’re thinking!

• Drachen on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:04 pm

crap, what crappy spec?

• brazbuz on Sep 29, 2014 at 10:44 pm

It depends on gov requirement,p1 say that can put all this gadget if its mandatory here in msia. If then it just unnecessary price bump of their product,esp when msian still hoping p1 can sell their car as low as RM1 with spec as good as RM1m merc S-class….

• driver on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:17 am

it’s a “prototype”.. research in progress.

• Car-Fans on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Pls settle Exora Bold first … Ish ish ish …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • AMG POWAAA on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:54 pm

What about for Mlaysian buyer? Oh! Proton team will say “They will buy aftermarket safety stuff with low prices”. Am I right am I right!!??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 34
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:09 pm

some people said small car not need ESC+TC so y bother ADAC?

• Antiestablishmentbodo on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Nice.. you make fool of yourself over a typo.

Memang buduh indeed.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 29, 2014 at 6:25 pm

oh wait a minute. Din’t proton shoot itself in the foot again?

With supposedly UK export sales to begin next year, one would hazard a guess that these systems will probably be ready by then.

Now, I assume Proton will also release these safety features on local cars or they’d never hear the end of it. But then again, should one wait another year to see if these are actually made available? Colour me a fool if I bought one now, with only better equipped ones show up just a few months later.

• MM (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 6:28 pm

If Asean NCAP put Autonomous Emergency Braking mandatory for a car to get a 5-star safety rating. Then you can see how many stars can Axia get. So that is why Iriz needs to install those technologies just to enter Europe market and get 5 stars Euro ANCAP as well. No such thing as Malaysian get the crappy specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Absolute Rider on Sep 29, 2014 at 6:32 pm

This is good. With AEB (Autonomous Emergency Braking), this Iriz can get 5 star in EuroNCAP.

Anyway, we need more models, more segments and more engine variants to be success as people have more choices. For this from Iriz hopefully will well accepted, so more capital Proton will have to do all that.

Wish you good luck, Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • skyjuice on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:12 pm

With autonomous emergency braking system, no more worry in the feature about being hit by the lady playing with her phone.. I was hit twice, both by the lady in proton saga..

• anoinemus on Mar 08, 2015 at 11:48 pm

Woahh seriously? Hit twice by lady who using phone while drving.. Thats some shitty deja vu !!

• policeman on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:25 pm

Curse this generation of pansies that can’t drive and rely on ridiculous crap like this.

• BLT_Club on Sep 29, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Actually it’s the distraction nowadays. Phones tablets etc. should have phones that go into airplane mode automatically when on the move…

• Absolute Rider on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:25 pm

Proton, please make sure no R3 variant for Preve, Suprima S, Iriz and future models UNLESS the particular model is well accepted and sell like hot cakes. Making huge money.

As for now, you need capital for better products, explore more segments and models etc.

Save your capital, man power, time for better purposes. Wish you all the best!

• guilt (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:25 pm

Wow. Looks promising with latest active safety features. But hope Proton really moving towards that direction and not just cakap kosong

• komen berfakta on Sep 30, 2014 at 1:27 am

kenapa kereta ni sgt hodoh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • toyol on Sep 30, 2014 at 9:37 am

aah hodoh sgt….lg cantik kancil 660 convert yg ko drive tu kan.. kikiki

• Go Go Proton!!!Beat Audi,Honda,Toyota,Perodua!!Go go Proton.We are always beside you

• shawal on Sep 30, 2014 at 1:50 am

Will we get to see a new accord based perdana with all d bells and whistles priced similarly to a brand new cerato? Only time will tell…

• Now Koreans try to claim everything as theirs now.

Good job Malaysians, we are soon colonized by Koreans. Everyone have to speak Koreans and sing Kpop.

Don’t know what’s wrong with you all.
    Volvo has the technology and experience, but still depends on Korean technology which is very plasticly weak.

• Dissapointed on Sep 30, 2014 at 10:29 am

I was so hopeful for this car till I try to sit in all the seats.

This Iriz is spectacular on the books. Spacious, superbly accessorized and top notch safety aspect. I brought money together with me ready to book the top model but was taken aback after sitting in the real car.

I’m 179cm tall and after adjusting the driver seat to my comfort (Note that I like to seat upright). I can’t even sit properly into the rear seat. Also after closing the door in the driver seat, the side window glass feels as if it was beside my face (Scary Near). The glorified rear boot is much more narrow than the Myvi from the looks of it and definitely smaller than the Axia.

No wonder why people compare this model to the Axia rather the Myvi.

Just like Tiara & Savy at their time, spectacular on paper. These three cars carries the same marketing strategy. Bigger, stronger, more accessorised, higher safety specs and highly regarded quality control. However, it also carries the same disadvantages, less spacious interior, low power to weight power ratio, higher fuel consumption and Proton’s Badge.

Truly disappointed with this car after seeing the actual car.

Sorry but I think this will just be another Tiara & Savy.

Proton, please correct the wrongs before anything else. If only the interior space was a tact larger instead of larger exterior only and a well compatible engine which meets today’s market demands instead of that outdated and thirsty one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • lookingforward on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:58 am

me too because didnt win nama siapa hebat contest.. i wrote iris instedt.. huk huk

• I am really really really hoping for Proton to include this system in the upcoming Perdana replacement.

If they can give Bosch a call and get radar based cruise control, that would be excellent too.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 30, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Radar cruise control and queue assist for those KL traffic jams.

• I tell you any car use bosch/siemens. Nothing else spoil except bosch/siemens parts. Look at VDO Wira. Look at IAFM of BLM. All bosch/siemens. No Bosch/Siemens = No kacau!

• Saya mengunjungi pusat jualan proton untuk test drive dan menempah IRIZ …nice car.sempat juga memerhatikan gelagat pelanggan yg datang tengok kereta ini.mereka seolah2 macam nak beli kereta kebal.Ketuk body kereta tu dengan kuat…tutup pintu berulang kali..ketuk dashboard.dan macam 2 lagi.and then bila test drive abuse kereta tu langgar lubang konon nak rasa feeling kereta ini.Tapi kalau pergi tengok kereta jenama lain tak berani buat semua tu.bila test drive bawak dengan sopan.Adoiii aiii.