New tint rules from Nov 1: windscreen 70% VLT, front side windows 50%, rear side windows and rear screen 30%, exceptions given to certain parties – report

ops-cermin-gelap-55

According to a Berita Harian report, the Road Transport Department (JPJ) will be enforcing new vehicle tint regulations from November 1.

The new rules specify minimum permissible visible light transmission (VLT) levels of 70% for the windscreen, 50% for the front side windows and 30% for all other windows (rear side windows and rear screen), the report says.

The current rules stipulate 70% VLT for the windscreen and 50% VLT for all other windows (all side windows and the rear screen). This means that under the reported new rules, your rear side windows and rear screen may now wear darker tint.

JPJ director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad told BH that the revised tint regulations are in line with international standards. They apply to all Malaysian-registered vehicles, with exceptions given to certain parties.

Current (left) and reported new tint regulations effective November 1.
VLT expressed in percentages; the lower the number, the darker the tint

“(Translated) Exceptions are given to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, the Prime Minister and his Deputy, Chief Ministers, Menteri Besar, Chief Justice and Ministers,” Ismail was quoted by BH as saying.

“The same goes for high-risk departments like the Royal Malaysian Police and the Royal Malaysian Customs.”

A few months back, amidst the whole Ops Cermin Gelap malarkey, JPJ proposed minimum permissible VLT levels of 25% for the rear side windows and rear screen.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Good time to be a tinting salesperson

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • Pengantin Baru on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Got to memorize that 70, 50 & 30 for my Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 26
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Although the tint installed according to the rules, but it maybe spoilt heated under sunlight causing it failed test, so years after it’s time to change again before you loan settlement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • Wisdom on Sep 30, 2014 at 9:26 am

Nice…

I bet all recond (AP) MPV owners can smile now (Vellfire, Wish).
          However, these recond cars are having 25% VLT if im not mistaken (on spec).
          They told me there’s a 10% tolerance before summon issued. Which means, 70& dark + 10% tolerance, maximum a glass can go 80% dark (rear half).

JPJ officer pls verify..

• I want to share here that even though my new car was tinted per the JPJ approved levels by Honda, it was rejected by Puspakom when I wanted to transfer to my wife. I wonder how are we protected then????

• Dua Roda Sahaja on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:27 pm

At least JPJ Director is working and not sleeping on the job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
      • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Singapore allow slightly lower.. 25% VLT for rear passenger windows and rear windscreen…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
        • hadi75 on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Alaaaa….5% differences only la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
          • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Yes, i said slightly lower. If we adhere to the rules, Malaysian cars should have no problem getting into singapore, but singapore cars will be fined?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Obviously (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:58 pm

This actually sounds pretty good. Is this the JPJ finally understanding what it’s like to be driving along Malaysian roads in the heat of day? I’m sure many will appreciate this, especially the people in the back seats. I think 50% is cooling enough for the driver and front passenger while the 30% VLT in the back is absolutely awesome. I think only lah…feel free to disagree.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
    • Lorat on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:17 pm

I don’t think they changed because of heat consideration. Most likely to help the MPV users, which can’t hide what they’re carrying in the rear.
      Anyway, thank you JPJ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • taboogen on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:40 pm

pros… can hide things in your car
      cons.. criminal also can hide your children in their car
      so dont make noise after this ya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 13
      • Fuck Road Bully on Sep 29, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Agree, – those people that tint until so dark until can’t even see who’s driving inside. Mostly they are road bullies. Hope their children get kidnapped by criminal in a tinted dark car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 45
        • Ehy, don’t hope for such things la wei… the children didn’t do anything also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
        • hadi75 on Sep 30, 2014 at 6:52 am

Dont wish for something that may happen to you also…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • Fuck Road Bully on Sep 29, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Agree, – those people that tint until so dark until can’t even see who’s driving inside. Mostly they are road bullies. Hope their children get kidnapped by criminal in a dark tinted car. Hope their wife or daughter get raped in a dark tinted car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 76
    • proton lover on Sep 29, 2014 at 6:10 pm

rear passenger 30% vlt really awesome..tq to jpj if this really happen.

• policeman on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Personally, I feel suspicious when I see cars with dark tint. I’ll try to look from the front to see what’s inside.

What do people have to hide?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
      • Black Dog on Sep 30, 2014 at 2:46 pm

I think many ppl don’t understand, especially the EXCEPTION rule.

You can get a doctors certificate to show that your skin is allergic to sunshine to get exception.

You can kau tim with the police with a ‘vip, celebrity or high risk of kidnap’ person to get exemption.

• cendol (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:58 pm

JPJ can come out with all kinds of laws but everybody flouts the law as we all know enforcement is sorely lacking.
    Everyday I see people’s car being tinted darker than Batmobile.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 3
    • Albert lee on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Cendol, you are 1000 percent absolutely correct.
      We have inherited tons of ‘legal laws’ from the British,which is good but the question is always
      ENFORCEMENT ,accountability and TRANSPARENCY.(EAT)
      Have you seen small trucks stopped by them and ‘negotiations’ going on by the road side?
      Lately,dozens of Customs personnels were remanded and have their ill gotten assets frozen cos of suspected corruption/kao tim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • Pengantin Baru on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Got to memorize that 70, 50 & 30 for my Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 28
  • Banyak Cantik lah…!! time for end year kopi $…!!for the rest of us….prepare to spend thousands in re-doing our tints.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
    • bowtuk on Sep 29, 2014 at 8:03 pm

i think you misunderstood VLT for darkness. They are actually giving more flexibility by lowering the VLT percentage level

• hadi75 on Sep 30, 2014 at 6:54 am

Why would you want to re-tint your car…????

• hotblooded on Oct 18, 2014 at 1:41 pm

may be his car is NOT dark enough so he had to re-tint..

• RicoT on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Remember to measure the VLT for all the glass before selecting the tint. Different cars have different base VLT, e.g. (just example) car A front windscreen has base VLT of 15%, which means it can only accepts 70% – 15% = 55% +/- 5% VLT tint. Do not get con by tint salesman, I kena once. JPJ will measure VLT glass + tint, not just the tint itself.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
    • windscreen-tint on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:03 pm

I think you got the maths wrong. If the windscreen has base tint (not VLT as you stated) of 15%, that means only 85% of the light can get through the windscreen. If you apply another layer of tint with 80% VLT (not sure if this is available, as the highest VLT for vehicle tint that I came across is only at ~ 70%), another 20% of the remaining lights (after through the windscreen) will be blocked. So effectively, only 85% X 80% = 68% of the lights passed through the windscreen AND the tint film, and that’s not meeting the JPJ regulation.

It basically means that – if your car windscreen already have base tint, you are unlikely to meet JPJ regulation if you install any tint available in the market on your windscreen!

• RicoT on Oct 01, 2014 at 12:08 am

Thank you for the clarification and correction. Your calculation is correct. You saved my comment. :)

• In here, 70%, 50%, 30% mean that the lower the number, the darker the tint is (as in the article). Windscreen-tint, are you saying that in the shops, let say 70% and 30% tint film; the higher the number, the darker the tint is? Can someone confirm this?
          Also, in my Puspakom report for my imported W203 without any tint (very panas) is around 25% I have to send the car for Puspakom in order to use it here. What does this number mean? The higher or lower the number makes the tint darker?

Please clarify

• xoxox on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:32 pm

have more detailed/accurate information?
    now is glass VLT+tint VLT< 70%? or tint VLT <70%? (for windscreen), anyone knows/confirm it?

• neemfa on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:46 pm

I believe it is VLT for tint+glass because once the glass is tinted, only way to measure VLT is tint+glass.. otherwise they have to peel a bit and measure the tint.

• Anyone know what is the VLT level for original rear side windows and rear screen for recond car (i.e. wish)?

• Most of the heat is through windshield … biggest glass area and most slanting position. Yet windshield is biggest amount % VLT?…#@&%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 36
    • Of course, or else speed cam cannot catch your face mar. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • roffle on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:07 pm

That’s because you look through the windshield when you drive. Plus, any less VLT would be too dark for night driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • asyraffzulkif on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Dude, dark tint doesn’t mean heat resistant lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Jilbaber (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:59 pm

You must be some ah_beng with Mohawk style hair buys every accessories from brother’s shop and load it into your car without knowing the sciences behind them

• L-Bird on Sep 30, 2014 at 8:46 am

Typical brainless Ah Beng…complaint every single thing the govt does (regardless good or bad). Darker tint doesn’t mean more heat resistant. My Vkool 50% VLT can block 90% of heat. The cheap dark tint you got from your brother accessories shop with 10% VLT can probably block 5% of the heat. Please go ahead to risk your whole family life in your heavily ” so called modified” Satria, but don’t risk other’s life. Drive safe la Beng…

• Hmmms on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:55 pm

The eyes of the white princes’ must be sharp enough to determine the darkness of tint level during kopi time…. Hahahaha

• Malaysia Boleh on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Exceptional will be given to high risk departments, basically all are governmental, enforcement bodies and politicians. Meaning the life of rakyats are not important? Dun you think that rakyats are the boss to these politicians? Tax payer paying the salary to the government officers. And by right the enforcement bodies like police should be the one to protect rakyats? Now the exceptional given to them to protect their life, instead our life?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 24
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:11 pm

i dont see politician there oni Yang di-Pertuan Agong, the Prime Minister and his Deputy, Chief Ministers, Menteri Besar, Chief Justice and Ministers..that is their title job…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • anything on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:57 pm

PM, DPM, CM, ministers and MBs are politicians. Seluruh Malaysia pun tahu kecuali kamu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • Malaysia Boleh on Sep 29, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Exceptions should be given to Royal families and Chief Justice only because they are not elected by rakyats. But if the environment became so dangerous and needed a tinted glass for protection, then who do you think should be responsible due to the bad environment? For instant, the traffic situation is bad everywhere in KL every morning. Rakyats stuck in the jam for hours. Suddenly, you see the car of transport minister drive passing you smoothly by the escort team of traffic police officers, what do u think?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • Ibrahim on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:22 pm

I do not think rakyat’s life is compromise in any way with the tinting rules.

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:54 pm

complaining just for the sake of complaining… opposing just for the sake of opposing, even though what’s given to you is enough already? of course police should protect their life first so that they could protect us. or do you think police life is too cheap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
      • anything on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:44 pm

or your life is cheaper than police?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
        • anything on Sep 29, 2014 at 6:01 pm

We should say everybody life is equally important. Unless u think that ur life is cheaper than others like those ministers or any other custom officers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:26 pm

This is not about who’s life more valuable, but the risk they’re facing with their job. If they’re recognised by the criminals, even their families are at risk. Besides, not all police cars are tinted dark. Normal patrol cars are still very clearly visible.

• Malaysia Boleh on Sep 29, 2014 at 6:12 pm

You think that your life is not equally important or cheaper that any police, custom officers or ministers? That’s your choice but i kasihan you…

• badduck on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:43 pm

I only agree to the exceptions if its applied to the official vehicles. No exceptions for personal vehicles.

• Legend (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:07 pm

I think the exception given to certain parties is not fair.
    As nowadays those tinting shop still provided illegal tint to the customer, and customer always convinced by all those tinting shop that it’s legal. Ended up we still have to pay the fine under this new rules.

• BigBoss on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:14 pm

With the new rules, all JDM recon vehicles would still fail the test. As I was told, recon cars come with 20% VLT for rear side windows and back screen.

If they do not pass the local law, the fairest way is to disallow them from being sold in Malaysia instead of penalizing the owner during roadblocks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • neemfa on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:08 pm

those “doctor” cermin makes a lot of money by selling/renting clear glasses mah..

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Why cry foul when its the owners fault anyway. How many times the dealers change the side glass to get JPJ approval then swap it back to the originals.

As if the owners don’t know. Pleading ignorance here won’t work. You already know your car has glass too dark to be legal.

• Car-Fans on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Soon more “Bat-Mobile” on road … Now already a lot on road – Unable to see vehicles in front … Let join the “Black Club” :) Put more those cute cute Soft Toys behind easier !

• totti on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:47 pm

They should summon the Tint Shop instead of Car Owner.

Many owner not aware of the percentage of VLT and no proper advise from them. They always said” Our tint had approved by JPJ but the actual glass on the original car is unknown.

A lot of consumer get con from them.

• kangkong on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:59 pm

I hate those stupid samseng black vellfire / alphard with all black glass. Drive like samseng, park like taiko….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 6:04 pm

exceptions given to certain parties。。。。good..that means me

• while the new rule seems good.. not sure is it a good idea to change to darker ones.. cause who knows they go change the rule again 1 year later.. suka hati one them..

• darkermarker on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Ok then,,,,,,,Lets see how the authority ENFORCES the new rules..

hopefully this is not just the typical “all talk, no action”

• Agent on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Pay puspakom to check if you’re unsure. But generally the 70% front windscreen, you need a very clear film if you want to pass the test. Just ask any officer, any car with a normal film will fail the front windscreen test. The sides 50/50 but if fail, you’ll have to pay again to retest( for car ownership change). Most new owners will tear away the tint film for puspakom inspection.

• abang kedai brothers tepi NPE on Sep 29, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Walauwehh.tomolo i do special promo in my tint shop.come come

• Veloster on Sep 30, 2014 at 1:17 am

So my Veloster how? One side 30%, the other side? (30+50)/2 = 40%?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • What’s Veloster ?
      If that’s Korean car, never mind la.

Burn it better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • biasa la… all this for JPJ year end bonus… after a while this rule will be forgotten…

• gaban on Sep 30, 2014 at 8:38 am

its time to be back passenger.. its more cooler.. haha

• wankj on Sep 30, 2014 at 10:19 am

But still double standard rules…
    In Johor Bahru,Gov vehicle that non Officer use still “Gelap Bapak”..

• RAMLAN YAHIL on Sep 30, 2014 at 11:19 am

Now all car owners need to be careful as the new tinted glass regulation state 70, 50 & 30 VLT but the tint shop must bring in tinted film of 75, 55 & 35 VLT as the current OEM glass has a slight tint so if JPJ allow a 10% buffer then its okay otherwise the car owner need to change the tint again upon JPJ inspection.

Can Paultan check and confirm the 10% buffer with JPJ

• guest on Sep 30, 2014 at 2:10 pm

I want to ask stupid question..I Wonder can the original tint that come with new car pass Puspakom or not? Like Perodua car now have tint screen? Can somebody give me an answer for this? Thanks in advance..

• Andrekua on Sep 30, 2014 at 9:25 pm

I wonder if there are any bodies that provide free checking?

I claimed a front windshield few months ago and has tint applied by the shop. No brand was provided.

• aiya… chillax guys… we’ve all been breaking the JPJ law of 70%/50% VLT all these years…. why all jumping pulak now… just avoid roadblock… if kena… then too bad lar (try ask if they thirsty)… its how it is in our country… nothing can be change… all for the good of special people right… semua ada special exceptions… pundek!!!

• Is Japanese recon car ori Glass vlt 30%?

• reboot on Oct 09, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Whatever the law that is from JPJ 70% 30%…etc etc….is there a dedicated body/dept that will verify if their windows tint scanner is accurate or not? If their equipment is not fine tune or has been set to lower then whatever your tint also will fail…

• NIckblueeye on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:10 pm

It’s good that the Director of JPJ gave the green light to allow darker tint at the back of the cars but Puspakom doesn’t seem to know about it. Does it mean Puspakom has their own set of rules? Or this relaxation will only take effect on the 1st Nov? So any cars sent for inspection now will face tougher regulations? Doesn’t make sense isn’t it when it it a relaxation of the rules. As usual in malaysia, the government departments the HEAD doesn’t Talk to the Tail!!

• Brian on Oct 31, 2014 at 12:04 pm

I think read somewhere the rules enforcement is to be postponed. Can anyone confirm that?

• Farid Sabri on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Bullshit rules and I’m still opposed it, coz minimum VLT for Japan MPV recon still not meet 30%. Standard Private Glass (PG) VLT is 21% without tinted. Can JPJ allow the passenger window and rear glass to maintain the original PG? Unless the owner, tinted dark all his vehicle than saman lah ? Another thing wanna highlight, did SIRIM or what so clever agencies check and do some test for China made glass? Does it safe when it broken ?
    The most stupid thing when you downgrade the standard and original parts of your cars. Japan to China??

• Farid Sabri on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Brian, yes the enforcement postpone until 1 May 2015, and starting now, JPJ officer will give advise or issue letter to do inspection at their technical units,but we still need to highlight the issue for Japan recon MPV. Also push PEKEMA as the sole-importer of this kind of cars to talk with government. Then again PEKEMA is one of the biggest “supporters” for government.