SPYSHOTS: Proton Iriz prototype with ADAS active safety stereo camera testing on Malaysian roads

Iriz_Adas_Test_03

Remember the Proton Iriz prototype with the LG ADAS stereo camera that we saw at the Alami Proton carnival last weekend? Well, it looks like it’s being tested on the road now – our photographer Sherman Sim happened to see it at the Petronas station on KESAS, across the road from the Proton headquarters. So naturally, out came his camera.

The ADAS stereo camera allows active safety technologies to be implemented such as Autonomous Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Warning, Traffic Sign Recognition and Lane Departure Warning. All of this is thanks to the car being given a pair of “eyes” positioned near the rear view mirror.

This could be interpreted a few ways – Proton could be working on an Iriz with these active safety features in the future, or it could be part of LG demonstrating these technologies to Proton in hopes of getting a new customer.

In any case, EuroNCAP recently made Autonomous Emergency Braking mandatory for a car to get a full five-star safety rating. Real world data suggests that these systems can reduce accidents by up to 27%. So if Proton wants the Iriz to achieve a five-star result in EuroNCAP (like it has done with ASEAN NCAP), at the very least it will have to be equipped with an emergency braking feature, be it from LG or other suppliers.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• zeek (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Never thought I’d say this but kudos to you Proton! But just one thing, the slightly below average fuel consumption is kinda off-putting especially for European buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:50 pm

WHY nobody publish about IRIZ sales volume since launched?

How many booked on 1st day and subsequently?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
  • MoFaz (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:50 pm

this will be good for pedestrians. drivers in Malaysia are very inconsiderate and won’t stop at zebra crossing. but cars will stop automatically. pedestrians win.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:36 pm

criminal oso will not use p1 car….police just stop in front of p1 car..the car will stop due to ADAS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • good in theory but here, u know la. those ah beng will see it as a restriction to their balls and bring to brothers shop to cut wire here and there to bypass this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:21 pm

And the car behind will not be able to brake fast enough and crash into you… in Malaysia 2 sensors are needed. One in front, one at the back, with the one at the back making sure that hard braking won’t lead to a crash…

• Nieko on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Sweet Lord!!!
    I am really impressed by this new Proton Management ie Tun Mahathir’s regime….Finally we Malaysian are able to see how Outstanding & Dearing Proton can be, as we used to look down on proton because non of us believed that Proton would be able to survive but survive it did ..

By the way this new Safety system ie ADAS looks really advance and it is the same Safety system that is required for Proton to fit into their latest cars for Euro Ncap , cars like the Iriz to the Next Generation Saga and The Rumoured Compact MPV or even the Iriz Active …..Go ahead Proton no one is stopping you …if there is than those fools are idiots!!!!!!

FYI if I am not mistaken this system is made by
    LG Electronics ,Hum than I am think this is good news as LG has been with Proton since the Savvy hum …

Cant wait for the New Saga3 and the Iriz Active Crossover it should be very good ……Cheers Proton .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawi (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:25 pm

I think the problem is that this feature will probably be mostly on EU bound cars. In Malaysia…? All but the most expensive Iriz don’t even have 6 airbags. If anything this could come to the Premium model… (and perhaps lower ones are upgraded to 6 airbags? Please?).

• Nieko on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:34 pm

The Saga3 will be finally available in any 3rd world or some European countries like Czech Republic ,Latvia ,Romania ,Poland ,Austria ,Ukraine or even Turkey as these are sedan loving Euro Nations and if that not enough than export it to the whole African Continent ……..what ever it is just export it Proton my Dear

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawi (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:22 pm

If they are aiming for a proper 5 star EuroNCAP rating I don’t think they just aim at countries like Romania, they are perfectly happy with 3 star Dacias. No, 5 stars is more important in Western/Southern Europe… UK, France, Germany, Spain, … and at least the Spanish seem to have some fondness for sedans.

• It is good to see that at least Proton did not just sit idly after Iriz has been launched. The continued R&D and improvements are needed to make sure that they gain that competitive edge. This should serve as a motivating factor for Perodua to not become too complacent with their newly launched Axia as well. Good luck Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • nuffIriz on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:46 pm

I guess Proton really have a big marketing budget for this car ! Tak habis habis dengan Iriz mana news kereta lain ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • kadajawi (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Having adaptive cruise control would be very nice in Malaysia, with all the traffic jams and stop and go traffic. Very convenient.

• Nieko on Oct 01, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Yes I agree with you mr Kadaiawi …

Adaptive Cruise Control would be marvellous for us here in Malaysia…

Hats off to you Tun M Sir you are what proton needs rite now….

• mr1031 on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:42 pm

perodua..ko ada.??

• Absolute Rider on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:51 pm

This is good progress for Proton. EV, ADAS and active concept, all these are so much better compared to usually showing their R3 concepts.

Proton, good job. Please continue and remember forget about R3 for a while. You need to get those “MUST DO LIST” done. Remember you are not like Mercedes with the AMG and BMW’s M Devision, they make huge money and they have healthy capital to explore more aggressive models.

Now, Proton you need good models and that can sell well to make more money for your company’s capital, for your R&D etc. including factory upgrading facilities so that better improve, better models can be produce.

• saifulgtr35 on Oct 02, 2014 at 7:51 am

nice testing

• Die Maker on Oct 02, 2014 at 4:15 pm

P490B..project code for new perdana..hoho

• orangminyakenjin on Oct 03, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Criticism should come with suggestion, dont you think so..