Proton Iriz – full-length design process video released

You may remember that last month, Proton’s design studio released a teaser video of the new Proton Iriz ahead of its launch. Well, now that the car has been unveiled in its entirety, a full-length version of the said video has also been released, describing the work of Proton Design.

The video features the various heads of styling – including chief designer Azlan Othman – who explain the design process behind every Proton, going through the steps from trend analysis, ideation, computer-aided styling (CAS), colour and trim and finally to clay and hard model making.

We managed to interview Azlan himself regarding the styling of the new Iriz, where he mentioned that the car was benchmarked against the Ford Fiesta and the VW Polo – the latter in particular in terms of perceived quality. You can also check out our two-part behind-the-scenes look at how a Proton is designed.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• nobrand on Oct 02, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Another promo video? This car company is really good at wasting money. Too much promo make you look desperate to sell your car. Iriz is already in showroom and people can testdrive the car to know whether it is as good as promoted or not. Save your money for r&d and produce a better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 127
    • Can’t blame them. There are people visiting the showroom but hardly any buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 68
      • Abu Sayur on Oct 03, 2014 at 12:33 am

another junk wad…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 55
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 03, 2014 at 9:29 am

Put an ad also wrong? Handling and safety high rating also wrong? Bashers are simply like a whiner and cowardice, Alvin Tan..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 12
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 06, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Handling and safety high so what? The finishing so bad, I see gap between left headlamp and hood is three time bigger than the right headlamp’s one. Some more it is a new car in show room.

Whatever feature Proton give… You don’t know it will last more than 2 years or not.

A Proton, is still a Proton after all.

Alvin Tan maybe coward to run away, but Proton buyers are deadly brave… to contribute their hard-earn money to Proton quality, garage, GST and nation’s economy, like candle burning itself to shine.

Please buy more Proton (Proton beg less money from government) so that less fuel price hike in the future. Please sacrifice yourselves for everyone’s better future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • KaoPehKaoBu on Oct 03, 2014 at 10:50 am

Axia > ALL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
      • Mr Truthfact on Oct 03, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Pardon me??? I think you are not living in real world. i heard Proton received good demand on Iriz. This time Proton really do their good work. Bye…bye MyVi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
        • You heard? you heard it? The last time we heard Proton is going to take on BMW.
          You should go to the showroom & see it yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • ProtonGSC on Oct 02, 2014 at 9:40 pm

After 30 years still talking about design.

Handling is great as alwyas. Please shared something new like engine and transmission.

How it really perform under heavy rain and going up hill?

Shared more useful info not all month long just design this design that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 20
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Oct 03, 2014 at 12:02 am

Seriously, so dated front lamps set, its was 5~10 yrs back design & space Utilization not really impressed. Others area was fine.

But now u want to talk about DESIGN ???

Yuick…, today the chief designer promoting its dated 5~10yrs back yesterday design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 66
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 03, 2014 at 9:32 am

What car in 5~10 yrs back design looks like Iriz? U tell me..Penipu Operation-Manager..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
          • orangminyakenjin on Oct 03, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Operation Manager can u show the front lamps set,which was 5~10 yrs back. I really want to see la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 06, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Design is never Proton’s problem but BUILD QUALITY.

That why you see people rather buying more expensive, less attractive Vios (Dugong) rather than Proton in past 10 years.

People want reliable car, not syok sendiri break down here and there car..

• Mr Truthfact on Oct 03, 2014 at 3:26 pm

If you said so then don’t bother about Iriz. Here you talk about the out-dated design but in real fact people out there really impressed with the design bro…

• chef poodah on Oct 03, 2014 at 4:43 pm

tengok citer kartun byk sangat operation-manager ni….

• Carrera 997 on Oct 02, 2014 at 9:44 pm

talk less .. more action needed.

so who has bought IRIZ so far ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • Vader (Member) on Oct 03, 2014 at 7:33 am

It seem the design team is huge department ya.. got design head A, B, C, D …
      Seem all potong employee is only from single race?
      Malaysia will not succeed if non-Muslims marginalised, says Obama.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 51
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 03, 2014 at 9:38 am

How many Sekolah Agama, Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan in America? Do you think they fairly treated all races in US??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 14
      • armandd on Oct 03, 2014 at 10:20 am

You believe everything Obama said? We are much better than them in racial integration la bro.
        In the US you can’t have:
        1. Sekolah jenis kebangsaan.
        2. Daily newspaper in your mother tongue.
        3. Build mosque, church, kovil or tokong easily, anywhere.

Despite our differences in religion and skin colour, we live relatively peacefully here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 8
      • jebat on Oct 03, 2014 at 11:12 am

proton isnt racist company. there are chinese, indian, iban and kadazan in proton. you portray it so it shall look like it and make pre judgement on it. there are sins in generalisation.

if you still want to generalise it. lets portray two kind of people. one is doers. and another is loser.. loser dont do. they critics what people do. they’ll drag people to their level so they stop doing thing.

its look like, I was in your game. hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • >> Seem all potong employee is only from single race?

I’ve noticed that too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
        • krokodailhanter on Oct 03, 2014 at 1:08 pm

when talk about GLC must have all races..but private sector only have your own race, not a problem? sekolah jenis keb for only your race also no prob? you think ur race is above all?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • buaya on Oct 03, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Ya, but Obama oso a supporter of affirmative action for black people so he’s a hypocrite.

• orangminyakenjin on Oct 03, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Alo sir..they do promo also wanna get angry, they don’t do promo also wanna get angry..what do u want ah..

• ayo achi,

lu faham ke apa itu teaser video dan apa itu full video ? Dulu yang keluar adalah teaser video which part of the longer full video. Sikarang yang keluara adalah full video of the same video.

aiyaaa…

• Already test drive. I dont like the CVT. Especially when you are in reverse, you need to press the gas pedal. Handling superb, love the eps. Best audio speaker, but, android interface in HU seems not user friendly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
  • Mozilla Chrome on Oct 02, 2014 at 9:05 pm

I really love this car but I find that the front design does not really go together with the awesome design of the rear. The front of Iriz seems too cute. I think the front design of Lotus city car (as per link) suits more for the Iriz. This is just my opinion, you can agree to disagree.

http://www.gotbroken.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/2010-Lotus-City-Car-Concept-Front-Picture.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • posmen on Oct 03, 2014 at 10:05 am

that’s because such design needs to also appeal to female drivers within the mass market.. so they have to choose a design that’s gender neutral.. make it too aggressive or having an angry look might put off quite a number of potential female buyers.. the opposite though can be said for a supercar where it is more of a niche market and the buyers are mostly men.. with a lot of money that is.. just sayin’.. peace yo..

• kalam on Oct 02, 2014 at 9:11 pm

I like the Iriz design. No need to talk more about how you design it. We want to buy a car, not to hire designers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • neomaster on Oct 02, 2014 at 9:29 pm

wow got sneak peek of new saga there..

• Low Budget on Oct 03, 2014 at 10:39 am

By extending the Iriz back side to create a boot and minus all the bells and whistles and named it Saga SV-II, I am sure it will be a very popular model, go for it, Proton.

• Waiting iriz r3 version ,cfe engine with manual stick,wide wheel arch macan civic tyre r concept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Annoynimouse on Oct 02, 2014 at 11:02 pm

I was also looking forward to the R3 version too. But it all depends on whether there are any race series the car can participate in. Then only will the R3 team begin their tuning program. Otherwise, it will only be cosmetic kits on offer… which is not bad by all means. But I prefer performance upgrade. I think this engine has more to offer in terms of power output, but they have tuned it for fuel economy rather than outright power. I’m sure a few tweaks here and there can release some extra horses. Also, I don’t mind a stiffer ride.

• Tiger on Oct 02, 2014 at 10:02 pm

Really, enough with the Iriz ” bombardment” news…me begiining to wonder whether in Paultan or Potong website

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 30
  • good job Proton design team!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 17
  • forrestcat on Oct 02, 2014 at 10:45 pm

We can be sure that Perodua engineers dont get these experiences….they only get to replace the Daihatsu badges with Perodua and change the bonnet and face design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 8
  • zamer on Oct 02, 2014 at 11:17 pm

it is enough with iriz…

it might be a trademark for a proton, but dont get to hoohaa bcos the iriz is just an entry leve car..

if so much fuss with a smallest car, meaning they are just feeling powerful on their own.

others already moving forward with C, D-segment…A and B segment is more like cincai laa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
  • Koozold on Oct 03, 2014 at 12:02 am

Engine design video coming soon?

• Proud of you proton keep it up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
  • common sensor on Oct 03, 2014 at 7:32 am

Been to showroom. This car is being overrated, saleable because of its being loaded with many features and comparatively lower price; built-quality is still very much domestic standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
  • nobrand on Oct 03, 2014 at 8:08 am

Ok. Fine.Just throw everything you have. Sportrim design video, seat design video, steering wheel design video, lamp design video etc. Proton think people care about that? Majority of them will buy a car that is safe, suite their lifestyle and make them look smart when they drive it. Just make a simple promo video focus on these aspects. Different storylah if we talk about performance car .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • frossonice on Oct 03, 2014 at 8:49 am

Great to see Perodua salesmen come in force to whack Proton Iriz. :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • mohd hafez on Oct 03, 2014 at 8:57 am

some of the negative comments are totally absurd and stupid…be more positive lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • konpia on Oct 03, 2014 at 9:39 am

Test drove it a week ago, design is nice actually but doesn’t like the 1.6CVT Executive, the CVT is jerky, delay throttle and loud, and also the speedometer is too small, need to look at it for a good 1 second to make out the speed that I was going, not good Proton designer. However, I prefer the 1.3MT Executive, the gear shifting is smooth, minus the loud sound in the CVT, but the gear knob is not comfortable to hold, a bit rounder would be nice. The 1.3MT is actually have sufficient power for city driving. Hoping Proton can include the touch screen and reverse camera in the 1.3MT Executive variant, it would be a perfect city car. Proton engineer need to seriously look at the CVT jerkiness and loud sound that it produces or maybe just switch back to the conventional 4 speed auto until the CVT is sorted out. With the ESC and TC across all variants, it is really value for money. Good job overall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • neckotynne on Oct 03, 2014 at 10:03 am

Don’t bother whatever they do la… It’s their money… Not your money… It’s their effort… If you don’t know how to appreciate other people’s efforts, don’t watch ok… Maybe you can do your promo your own… Nobody will bother you… Or you can browse to other Big Brand’s car… Play other places laaa… Like kids talk laaa… Hehehehehehe…! :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • You are putting (or rather paid) it in a forum. So anyone can criticize. If cannot take the heat, don’t put it in forum. Watch at COE or Tanjung Malim only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Wariswazer on Oct 03, 2014 at 10:04 am

This is encouraging. Proton must now continue to invest more in R&D and go all out in projecting itself as unique car manufacturer. I suggest to go for producing cheap Hybrids across the range. Add quality android connectivity with funky design a la the Fiesta.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 03, 2014 at 11:14 am

“We managed to interview Azlan himself regarding the styling of the new Iriz, where he mentioned that the car was benchmarked against the Ford Fiesta and the VW Polo – the latter in particular in terms of perceived quality. ”

I actually have high hopes for the iriz. In terms of the design it does look the better of the current selection of B segment cars. I spent a bit of time going through the details of the Iriz at the Glenmarie showroom but unable to do a test drive due to them not having a Manual 1.6 premium and it was raining quite heavily.

I will give it to Proton that they have made significant improvement to the car. However their inexperience still shows, and despite Tun Mamak’s big grand speech about quality, Proton’s perceived quality weakness remains their shortsightedness of the man-machine interface, and how the driver interacts with the world outside.

The switchgear remains very cheap feeling, and missing the tactile feel that one will associate with quality. Try the switches and knobs on a VW (arguably the best in the business)and you will see the difference. The HVAC knobs are better than those from the Preve/Suprima but Proton could have made much better improvements. The faux stitching on the dash is a nice touch but materials remain hard plastic. On the Manual unit, the gear lever’s actuation is very very rubbery and imprecise. First gear is a looooooong way left and forwards. If the plan is to sell in Europe (where manual gearboxes are popular) Proton needs to desperately improve this. You will not find Honda gear stick feel here.

Perceived quality comes primarily from what the driver touches…so parts like the controls, switches, steering wheel buttons, the gear lever, handbrake lever, door cards need some extra attention that is still lacking in the Iriz. (why are the gearstick knob and handbrake not leather wrapped even on Premium leather versions?). While the door cards have soft PVC side of the armrest, the armrest itself is unpadded and hard.

All in all, there are still places where the plastic isn’t properly finished, and can find sharper edges here and there.

In terms of ergonomics, I had difficulty finding a comfortable driving position. I’m 5′ 6″ and setting the seat for my driving position (i tend sit very upright – since my daily driver has a full racing bucket) makes it feel that the seat has no lumbar support (there is no lumbar adjustment even on the Premium). Reclining the seat improves lower back support but stretches out my arms a little too much as there are no telescopic adjustment on the wheel. Overall, I did like the sculptured seat’s lateral support and longer bottom cushions that gave decent thigh support

Other things that could have made an improvment is the fold down seats….it doesn’t fold down flat. In terms of overall interior space, this is a fairly cosy affair. You will not get Daihatsu level of interior packaging genius here, so you don’t get lots of leg room and the sense of space but its wide enough not to bump elbows with the person next to you.

Proton made significant improvements on the Front visibility compared with the Preve (which had a big blindspot) but rear visibility is badly compromised by the design. The rear view is very narrow and visibility out is limited by the very thick wrap around C pillars. This car will need some form of BLIS system. You will miss bikers coming up beside you. The side mirrors view could be a little wider to take the rear view into consideration.

Maybe the Iriz will preview improvements to come with future Proton models but as it stands, it has fallen off the built up expectations set by its designers, Advisors and CEO. After all, time and time again it was heard that they wanted to benchmark VW.

I hope Proton can take these criticism constructively. I am aware that one will likely not find VW level interior quality from Proton but after being all said and done, big words needs to be followed up with big results.

That said I am looking forward to testing the car proper.

PS.
    Oh, and Proton, tell your salesman not to BS people. One told me that side airbags are not fitted to non leather cars since side airbags only work with leather and not fabric.

PPS.
    other things I would have loved to see on the car;
    1) Cruise control
    2) Miracast (or some sort of control link) on the HU
    3) Lumbar adjustment
    4) Telescopic adjustment
    5) Wider view side mirrors (due to restricted rearview)
    6) Full airbags across the range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • buaya on Oct 03, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Bravo, finally someone with brain around here. Proton should take note on this and continuously improve if you want to compete outside.

• alldisc on Oct 04, 2014 at 11:25 pm

very nicely said. i am just hoping that ppl who reads can understand why there are ppl who gave critis – its because we love proton and want to see it as a mainstream carmaker.

by the way, steering wheel that adjusts on rake and reach is not new and common in C segment cars. it is not expensive to engineer one, but it will be a very attractive feature for cars in B segment. that is of course, if proton can find an alternative power train to comply with Euro 5 regulations. the keyword is – user friendly

• Just a basic car without any special and new features, a normal car equip with more air bag, VVT engine, CVT gearboxes, key-less…

Does it intro any new features or technology develop by Proton???

Why you keep on emphasize on it? Is it too over?

• ruffstuff (Member) on Oct 03, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Well, vios got special feature thei intro which is no ESC.

• Nieko on Oct 07, 2014 at 10:18 am

Well you seem to only highlight the most simplest items on the car but you have forgotten the breath-taking technology’s ie Electronic Stability Program(ESP),Traction Control(TC),Hill Assist(HSS),Break Assist(BA) ,and the rest like ABS,EBD so in some ways all the Asian carmaker have already bean Waked by all the Useless Proton’s that you seem to hate so much I mean even the Toyota , Suzuki ,Hyundai and sometimes Nissan …..Yes Proton did not make these systems as they are made by Bouch ie even for BMW , Audi and Nissan …the only carmaker who can make this systems them self’s are Mercedes and Volvo …..

So in the not so distant future every Protons will be safer than almost all the other Jap Mobil and even more so when The ADAS systems will debut on all Protons cars in 2016….Never though that this day would come…..by the way GOOD LUCK Proton…

• I really like the exterior. Good job Proton!
    Seriously, there is only one race in the video. I mean even if that’s the case, just put some other races in there for show.
    Again, keep up the good work!

• When will the 1.3 auto Iriz be available for test drive. Most showrooms only have the 1.3 manual. Hesitating to sign on the dotted line until I tested the auto version. If have to wait too long, may have to change mind.

• Samurai G on Oct 03, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Come on guys..u are talking about B segment car and then you expect the car should same with BMW technology. Seriously !!!! & come on we are Malaysian after all.Don’t start with racist discussion here.

For this time, i really salute Proton for their work. Good job Proton

• Drachen on Oct 04, 2014 at 7:08 am

pls la!!! among 10 richest man in Malaysia, 8 r chinese, most of the companies here in Malaysia r chinese owned.. majority of these companies employee r chinese, that is why malays, indians got so many jobless people.. n this 1 company u guys KECOH! wtf!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Nahh. Bet with me la ok. This iriz will be like preve. When preve was launched. Wahh so glamour. So awesome. So safety bla bla. Then got news enjin kuar la accident. Gps problem la. Sensor problem. No secondhand value.

• Proton please make available the 1.3 auto for test drive in Pulau Pinang as soon as possible. We can’t gauge the difference by testing the 1.3 manual or the 1.6 auto. It is not fair for the sales people to ask us to place booking for 1.3 auto after test driving the other variants. Strange here is that other car companies allow test drive only for their lower capacity but auto. The bigger cc will surely be better if we are satisfied with the lower range.

• iriz = high risk ??

• Hong Wah on Oct 06, 2014 at 6:44 pm

After i view the car at show room.
    No matter how good is the design.
    One of the major failure is on tight back seat space with 2555mm wheelbase.
    Tighter even compare to Axia with 2455mm wheelbase.
    Poor design and this car not going to be good sale due to this failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • mankind on Oct 07, 2014 at 10:32 pm

The car is actually way better than Axia. Iris has bigger space and can seat three adults compared to Axia’s two. The body is made of ultra high tensile steel which prevents the roof from crushing if it rolls over. ESP prevents from sliding if one wheel gets into water and there is a lot of grip in wet weather having traction control. It is much safer than Axia. The ride is top notch and less fatigue if on long inter city journeys. Two thumbs up for Proton.

• qaseh arjuna on Oct 08, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Good job team…really impressed with your design..

• is it normal for the radio to stay on after the engine off? just went to test drive, no 1.3 auto just 1.6premium one. idk what to say since i’m a newbie,barely 1month old…
    just booked 1.6exec, now i’m nervous…..
    myvi…
    iriz…
    persona…saga…?