JPJ releases tender results for BMW number plate

And here we have it – JPJ has released the winners for Selangor’s BMW number plate tender. One notable name is our national shuttler Datuk Lee Chong Wei, who plonked down RM97,777 for the number plate BMW 6. For an X6 or a 6-Series, perhaps?

Quite a number of the single digit plates appear to have been reserved for “anggota pentadbiran kerajaan” – are we going to see lots of the new Accord-based Proton Perdana running around with BMW plates? One person plonked down about RM340k for two plates – BMW 8 and BMW 11.

There are plenty of attractive combinations – BMW 3161, BMW 4281 and BMW 5201 for starters. Even things like BMW 507, BMW 2002 and BMW 1600 to evoke the past. BMW Motorrad fans can snap up BMW 1200 and BMW 800 for instance. We also see the names of a few BMW dealerships in there.

Have a look after the jump for the full results thanks to noplateidaman.blogspot.com, you can contact them if you want help in bidding for the remaining BMW plates not already taken up.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• NoHate on Oct 04, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Ahhh, no wonder the fuel price is up. The gov thought all malaysians are like them. Hmm malam ni mau makan apa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 77
    • Kangkung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 75
      • Bookie From Penang on Oct 05, 2014 at 1:18 pm

LCW is the champion … Wonder where he gets so much money… Win badminton title only USD30k unlike tennis USD2mil….

What is your secret LCW ?? Ppl say Bookie is your best friend.. betul ka ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 59
        • thedarkside on Oct 05, 2014 at 9:18 pm

u think just because badminton not as grand as other sports u expect the world no 1 to get paid peanuts is it? u havent count in the appearance fee, sponsorships, image righr etc. he can well afford the plate number.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 06, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Now you can have a peek on where our tax money, RM1.6bil Proton birthday cash and 20sen fuel subsidy go to…

After GST next year, there will be more luxury lives to come…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • Tolong hormat sikit la. He’s our champion. Don’t you know that sportsmen earn 90% of their first-hand wealth from endorsements and other sponsor-supported ventures? The prize money is actually just pocket money for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 11
          • Bulu Bulu Tangkis on Oct 05, 2014 at 11:25 pm

Saya pun pelik… mana dapat wang beli lambo baru 2 juta, gtr 500k, Bentley 1 juta ?

Kahwin pun ada rombongan Roll Royce dan Bentley.. Tapi yang turun dari kereta semua muka macam gangster jalan alor …. hmmmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
          • Udang Sebalik Bulu on Oct 06, 2014 at 2:14 am

Yes correct, like you pointed out… got “other” sponsors.

People who work so hard wont splash money that way, unless “easy” money…. esp reaching retirement now, when no more sponsors, no more income, and unable to win titles anymore

Look at Nicol David WORLD CHAMPION… 8 times. Also plenty sponsors … but she goes to work LRT and bas only

Kesian Nicol because squash balls no bulu

Today Wresting is like Football, and Football is like Badminton … ALL RIGGED

BTW, LCW how many times World Champion ah ? …ZEELOU … KOSONG….TELUR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
          • How many Asia games gold? how many Olympic gold? how many Thomas cup?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 06, 2014 at 3:03 pm

i respect him, but he hasn’t won anything major. always losing to lin dan. nicol david is my hero.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
        • alldisc on Oct 06, 2014 at 2:28 am

he has his own used car import company laa.. so he can get the cars at a very cost-saving price. the company known as Dynasty LCW – ultra low profile

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • Why not BMW plate on BMW car for ROI down the road on Oct 06, 2014 at 2:04 pm

I think its perfectly fine for Datuk LCW to spend his hard earn money for this number plate he wanted for his X6 or 6 series car….whichever it may be, he work hard for it, made clever investments, so why not enjoy a bit to get an exclusive number plate for his BMW car unlike other people in the in gomen where they just spash money to show how great they are plus not working for it, as its all given to them.

Even for that mywatch person, he is a good business man from what I heard and made his money wisely, why not if he own self wants to spend to get nice number plate’s for his BMW cars. This is all an investment as having this BMW plate numbers will increase the value when they want to sell down the road.

Good on them, we should not feel bash away just because we don’t have the opportunity to splash money like they do and the rich wont simple waste money on number plates if its not going to return something down the road, that concept is only for gomen staff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
          • I agree with you. Datuk LCW work so hard buy expensive to enjoy his life ok wat. For the most of them don’t like or too envy is your own problem. Go buy your RV car la.

• Goodness. How come Malaysians still don’t read and watch tv?

Besides playing badminton, LCW also become the spokeperson for some big brands, namely 100 Plus, Yonex Malaysia, Astro and others. He also sets up his own company.

Don’t lah get jealous and have all those stupid speculations just because you don’t look out of your well.

• okayyako on Oct 07, 2014 at 10:46 am

SAVINGS from winning prizes.
          if you stop talking about others and focus on ur career as LCW did, u can be like him one day. Believe it!

• Pity them. An expensive but for a meaningless cause …a slave over some miserable number…pity them and some of us who’re defending this craziness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 78
    • Pity you, can not afford, now behave so jealous like me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 19
    • Their business how they want to spend their riches. Plus it may also be good investment. These guys are smart as suits. They don’t get where they are otherwise.

• 1) Cool, now the whole world knows LCW’s IC number and birthdate. Not sure how I feel about that if I was bidding.
    Also, LCW’s birthday is on Oct 21, coming soom

2) Why do we waste the income earned by giving the free plates to Anggota Pentad Kerajaan? 5 plates x RM100K each = half a million. Give free toll for 500,000 people also good.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 9
    • driver on Oct 06, 2014 at 12:26 am

I have no comment on those who bid the number as an individual capacity, but those related to government is unnecessary.

If it is for government vehicle, I suggest, number bidding should be banned altogether. Complete waste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Fuel Cell Phone on Oct 06, 2014 at 11:11 pm

No wonder central government debt increases by year!
      Too many unnecessary expenditure, not to mention too many leakages highlighted (but no action taken) by AG annual report!

Might as well abolish all the fuel subsidy, which not too far from current market price… then let see what else the government going to rob from us… the rakyat!

• the same ppl will complain about fuel price increase, taxes, etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano (Member) on Oct 04, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Just watch, I am actually quite curious to see how much the dealerships will mark up the prices for the BMW plates. The last time when I was having mine registered, the dealer was offering a plate that will resemble the model of the car, i.e. 6401 for the 640i and 3281 for the 328i, those were starting at about 12-15k a piece.

I didn’t end up getting one cause it was a bit of a rip off and I felt like the plates were not that new cause those alphabets were running a few months before I got the car, and since I personally prefer the currently running plate (new car, why wanna put an old plate unless there is some sentimental value) I went for that instead…

My vote that the plates will touch about 20k at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Pauline Tan on Oct 04, 2014 at 8:14 pm

If a kapchai, Axia uses the bmw plate, big LOL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Really Anti-Crime? on Oct 04, 2014 at 9:35 pm

Lee Chong Wei’s name is not surprising since he loves fancy cars and buys them with his sweat and blood.

Whats surprising is that MyWatch chairman spending over Rm300k for 2 numbers??? Hmmmm….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 5
    • fishy on Oct 05, 2014 at 10:55 am

wow! this person a so called champion in fighting corruption got so much money ya hmmm…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • sutheshkumar on Oct 05, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Its nothing surprising actually. He main job is a businessman. His position as the MyWatch chairman is not the main source of his income.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
  • Steve Jobs on Oct 04, 2014 at 10:23 pm

manyak duit oo Sri Sanjeevan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
  • Maserati(Official) on Oct 04, 2014 at 10:45 pm

good move by the government to keep these numbers to themselves to avoid rakyat simply spend money

when rakyat spend money to buy 100k no plate, no problem
    when petrol rise a little by 20cents, big hooha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
  • Stupid! Wasting money on a dumb plate….. too easy to mark you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • topgear on Oct 04, 2014 at 11:15 pm

i noticed many tenders are from Salon/saloon ?

• BMW marketing director must be very happy when these people Q up paying top $$$$$ for the plate & advertise for BMW free!!!!!
    BTW the plate name NOT even close to their car owner family given name!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • old dog on Oct 05, 2014 at 12:37 am

What 20 cents?

• old dog on Oct 05, 2014 at 12:49 am

what happened to your web site lately?
    Page2 is all out of align when reading from Chrome from PC…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 05, 2014 at 1:30 am

guys….i am Sri Sanjeevan…(saying it in I AM IRON MAN style)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Oct 05, 2014 at 11:35 am

“Angotta Pentadbiran Kerajaan”

Wow, this is tax payers money well spent.

When auditor general does his reports next year, it will be another slap at the back of the hand for those that bidded for these number plates

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • kalam on Oct 05, 2014 at 11:38 am

Buy BMW 1 -10 plate number, can get higher RV ka?

• TRecnd on Oct 05, 2014 at 12:59 pm

WTF… spend so much money on numbers..

• TRecnd on Oct 05, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Malaysian r rich!

• After the WWW15 Liow Tiong Lai fiasco, JPJ is smart now.

Instead of using civil servant’s name to publish on the tender board/list, JPJ replaced it with “Anggota Pentadbiran Kerajaan” to prevent further scrutiny from the public.

This goes to show how far and desperate our government agencies will go to protect Government civil servants.

We need a real change in Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
  • wassini on Oct 05, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Anggota Pentadbiran Kerajaan? Bukankah no plat itu buat duit? Alangkah baiknya jika kerajaan boleh jana wang dari no plat itu daripada berikan kepada Anggota Pentadbiran Kerajaan yang guna no plat biasa pun sudah memadai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • Right you are. The numbers should be used to make money for the govt. Money that should go back to the rakyat. Private citizens buying up these plates with their own money I can take. Gomen people don’t have business with these plates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Why “anggota kerajaan” no need to pay? Why no names shown? This is sickening, coward. Bid la so government can get some money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • so if BMW1 is reserved for somebody in your beloved BN-Govt, could it be that same someone also ordered a new BMW funded by taxpayers to put that nice plate on?

think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • malaysia is full of oppurtunity . work smart and u will get rich .not understand why people like to complaint 20sen up . for me it’s only a small peanut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • kinda wastefull to spend 100k on a no. but its their money..easy come easy go

• Trolak on Oct 06, 2014 at 9:20 pm

talk like uols so bagus.. i’m all support the numbers for the govt high ranking staff.. you guys can see, some Malaysians r so damn rich!!! good move by JPJ for keeping some special numbers for govt! manyak bagus!

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Oct 06, 2014 at 10:57 pm

I wouldnt even call this a fair bidding, even if it is one. So many top numbers are reserved for the govt. If you wanna do it like this, better dont open the plates for bidding at all. Should’ve done it like WWW plates for KL the last time …

• PeterGriffin on Oct 07, 2014 at 8:40 am

Woohooo lots and lots of revealed IC number.. This post is a scammer and hacker wet dream! Ooooo yeahh..

• common sensor on Oct 07, 2014 at 8:44 am

It is irritating to note that “anggota pentadbiran kerajaan” is also involve .. clear evidence that there is no such thing as open-bidding being practiced. Ultimate bullshit it is!!

• So many ppl comment on Oct 07, 2014 at 8:45 am

Most high ranking official in Malaysia are crooks la. They act like taiko, talk without brain and loves to instill fear on those poor soul in kampung. korek money non stop, of course it is easy for them to acquire special plate in high price.

• what is wrong with LCW? on Oct 07, 2014 at 8:51 am

Honestly i think LCW can buy any no. plates he wish to. Is it because he is ethnic Chinese, so u guys are being butthurt? What if he is from the Malay community, will you guys be so butthurt? Seriously, if u all wanna be racial preference even on which race is our national hero from… y’all can go bak to your kampung and forever stay there. dont come out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • what is wrong with LCW? on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:13 am

Butt hurt guys? please… If wanna really break down on race and waste. Please go to very atas and premium area where u can find many mak datin and pak datuk use money like throwing them into salt water sea. Most Malay cronies tend to spend lavishly and if y’all don’t know. They also tend to separate themselves from the poorer or low Malay. I have been mixing with them to study their pattern. Though I am a Chinese, they treat me like one of them and always talk bad about those roadside hawker saying they dirtied Malaysian image.

• jaguh kampung on Oct 07, 2014 at 10:03 am

They are just dissapointed our Sepak Takraw team members lost to Thailand, Indonesia and wait for it…. South Korea in the Asian Games

• what is wrong with LCW? on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:15 am

Of coz, seeing how those Malay player live their life once they gotten some award or recognition? Clubbing and live the life totally opposite of Islam way. that is it.

Not being a racist here, but if y’all be rational and do mixed well with them u will know. I have known some Malaysian Badminton player like hafiz and some not so famous one. They tend to smoke alot, ask them why? they said, its ok, they dont really bother bout it.

• thedarkside on Oct 07, 2014 at 10:51 am

BMW 8055 is the best value for money plate. whoever owns that is tha BOSS.

• Haiyaa on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:33 am

also somebody lucky won nice no. with RM0.00 bid?!somebody send me 4tablets of peningdol pls..haiyaaa..

• richard quah on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:13 am

what state is BMW,IS START FOR register now

• richard quah on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:14 pm

still have any bmw number plates