2016 Mazda MX-5 makes public debut in Paris: 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G in the US, rest of the world get 1.5 litre

The 2016 Mazda MX-5 was unveiled to the world early last month, but the Paris Motor Show is the first time the public will be able to gawp at the new roadster. Mazda has taken this opportunity to reveal a few more details, in particular some about the car’s powertrains that were not mentioned at the original launch.

Under the bonnet sits a 1.5 litre high-compression direct-injected SkyActiv-G petrol four-pot that is derived from the mill found in the new Mazda 2 – to give you a sense of perspective, that’s smaller than the 115 hp 1.6 litre mill that powered the 1989 original. However, the United States will receive a larger 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G engine as standard, and the power plant should be available as an option in other markets.

No official output figures have been released so far, but the 1.5 litre engine in the 2 makes 114 hp and 148 Nm of torque, while the 2.0 litre motor in the Mazda 3 produces 162 hp and 210 Nm. It is widely reported that the new engines will feature bespoke tuning for the MX-5, however, so they should best the 126 hp and 158 hp outputs of the current 1.8 and 2.0 litre mills respectively.

As standard, the MX-5 will come with a six-speed SkyActiv-MT manual transmission, but buyers will also be able to choose a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic, at least in some markets.

Elsewhere, Mazda’s promises for the new MX-5 remain. The company is still claiming a weight loss of more than 100 kg over its predecessor, which would put the kerb weight of the new car at just over a tonne. The car also slightly smaller than before, while the weight balance is said to be almost perfectly 50:50.

The 2015 Mazda MX-5 will be shipped to markets around the world beginning mid-2015.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 12:18 pm

according to MP Datuk Ariff Sabri Abdul Aziz, this car (1.5 version) is for poor people

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 3
    • AVH (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Not only this, BMW i8 is also for poor people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 6:17 pm

so is mini cooper, audi a3 1.4, some volkswagens, peugeot 208 gti, mazda rx-8 etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • neemfa on Oct 07, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Dissapointing power figures.. although it is just a roadster, it will benefit with higher output.. it’s gonna be a girl’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
    • Baja Lapis Seng on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Guess you never really understood and appreciate the Miata’s successful formula.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • Obviously (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Exactly. The aim was never to outdo other performance cars with power figures but to facilitate the merging between man and machine. Mazda opted not to join in the horsepower arms race and went to develop this car to be the epitome of their jinba ittai philosophy. History shows that it worked so well for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 3:04 am

reality check, how much output does your inokom getz makes? i guess that means you drive a girl’s car, technically rendering you a girl. geez, whats with these keyboard warriors and the horsepower mad obsession

• roxas on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:05 pm

interior and especially the steering looks like the new audi TT

• Jilbaber (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Engine bay doesn’t look like modern car at all..look so ah beng with engine block, wiring and pipes exposed sana sini

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • 4G63T DSM on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Wow. Thats very brave of them to put in a 1.5L.

Would have expected something with a little more meat.

• Chris (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:34 pm

New car, ol skool fun. While it’s fun to have a car with so much power you’ll never be able to use, it’s also fun to be able to push the car to the limit.

There’s a video of someone driving a 2CV to the absolute limit on youtube and his face shows everything. Not for everyone but it works for somebody out there.

• AVH (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:51 pm

But its in a lighter body and a smaller wheelbase. Its going to be extremely fun on a Malaysian Federal roads…… need some RocketBunny bodykit thou.

• Yours Faithfully (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:15 pm

One good advice I have received in life is… if there is nothing good to say, keep it to yourself. (Keeping silent now)

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:53 pm

One of the better looking sports car out there, in fact I would say the design is on par with the F 458 and Mclaren P1… well done Mazda for producing this world beater

• hmmm….hidden due to low comment rating??

• Pixelated on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Design proportion is accurate as being a small roadster. But the rear emblem since struggling to be located and the rear butt doesnt amaze so much if its not because of the rear lamps. The front face also look plain and dull. Well, i always love roadster but this is something i’ll skip.

• DAFUQ? AT least a 1.8!

• Mazda become better and better in styling!

• Berann on Oct 07, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Sporty looks, good handling but without sufficient power then will not be fun to drive. Similar to Cr-z only 1.5 engine. But at least crz comes with extra 20hp and 78nm from battery and able to achieve 190nm at 1000rpm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • mim (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Have you ever driven any previous gen Miata MX-5? Even the 1.6L ones are fun as hell! These cars are light! It’s like a softer Lotus

• theanswer on Oct 13, 2014 at 5:57 pm

miata or mx5 is more to fun rather than horsepower. of course more power is welcomed for such a good chassis but that’s not the point.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 12:39 am

Some love a bit of performance by natural aspirated engines,Others love by turbos and supercharge,To each his own..Doesnt mean your 2.0 turbo producing 500hp is everyone meat and doesnt mean a 1.6 with only 110hp is a dissapoinment

• MX5 is never build for high hp in mind, if you want high power output you can stay away from MX5. A 1.5 with manual stick is good enough for me.

• Henry on Oct 08, 2014 at 10:17 am

The bad news for this car’s admirers, and I’m one, is that the price will be something like a quarter million ringgit if it gets here.

• Money Matters on Oct 08, 2014 at 11:58 am

knowing bermaz motor, they will surely price this car in the RM300k range. AND the best part is only bring it in automatic transmission only. Just look at the previous gen miata that they brought in. No one bought it.

• my boxster 981 can tapau tis chic’s car anytime!!

• I see alot of people in the comments dont know anything about what an mx5 really is about/ Its not about the power, but the pure balanced driving sensation it offers, specifically the skinny tires which will cause the back end to slide around if pushed hard in the corners (Mazda purposely maintained the same level of grip as the original car), ease of handbrake turns and ability to smoke the tires without too much trouble, best part is you dont have to be a pro driver to control it when the car starts sliding around, an average jo can handle it and have a ton of fun. A caveat though, taking the automatic tranny over the manual is basically murdering the car(unless u only want the car for the looks)

• TheOctagon on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:22 am

Can’t wait for it to arrive. Hopefully it’ll be priced similar to the current gen and please Mazda don’t go add a facelift version as well. Yes I’m a collector and Yes I’m a fanboy and Yes I’m proud of it! YAY!!!

• Blaster88 on Dec 28, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Erm….understand that lately, we have been besieged by a lot of small capacity/forced induction engines capable of great torque and power BUT BUT….if you have not experienced a car with a perfect 50/50 weight distribution at merely 1000kgs, you have not tasted the ultimate driving experience….its never all about the power duh! Hence, please do not comment….