PAC wants JPJ to clarify number plate tender process

jpj-number-plate-results-bmw

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) will be called upon by the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) to clarify the procedures surrounding the tender of vehicle number plates, Bernama reports.

PAC wants further details on the standard operating procedures (SOP) of the said tender so it can be made public knowledge, as it has resulted in controversy and negative public perception of the government as well as the winning bidders of the number plates, according to PAC chairman Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed.

“(Translated) Therefore, it’d be better if JPJ, through the Transport ministry, gives the relevant information to PAC,” he said in a statement. “At least it may reduce public anger.”

All this has come about, of course, over the recent Selangor BMW number plate tender results – five winning bids were not named and the amounts paid not disclosed, apparently (and ironically) to avoid negative public perception.

JPJ director-general Datuk Ismail Ahmad has said that BMW 1, BMW 2, BMW 7, BMW 9 and BMW 10, all of which went to “Anggota Pentadbiran Kerajaan” (government administration personnel), were all paid for.

“They made bids for the numbers and they got it. We withheld their names and the figures to avoid negative public perception,” The Malaysian Insider quoted him as saying.

He said the winning bidders comprised royalty, judges and cabinet ministers, and that it was standard operating procedure to keep the names a secret and to never disclose the names of bidders who were members of the royalty.

“It is not about transparency. It is our SOP and we have no bad intention in keeping this information a secret. We want to avoid speculation and doubts. As long as one has the money and used the proper channel to get the numbers, they can have it, whoever they are,” he said.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Someone DD on Oct 08, 2014 at 1:48 pm

It hints LCW is buying a 6 Series/X6/Mazda 6/Iphone 6…hmmmmmm

• plates on Oct 08, 2014 at 3:05 pm

he is already own X6 which is currently registered with AJ?6

• Dua Roda Sahaja on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:14 pm

AIYAR JPJ DIRECTOR just replied to PAC…

BMW means Banyak Masuk Wang… dalam kocek

• Burong on Oct 08, 2014 at 1:55 pm

In Malaysia, as long as you have money, everything can. It is scary, but it is a fact. From very basic administrator to high level government officer. From a guard, to 4 star officer. You will be amazed by the depth of corruption in every section, it has become a system.

Pewajar was at the edge of bankruptcy and top consultants were flew in to save the company, it has no way as corruption has been the system policy and nothing can be done to save the big hole.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
    • Uncle_Sammy (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Its Perwaja, run by Tun M’s ex-crony, Eric Chia then taken over by Tun D’s former driver and ex-taxi driver, Abu Sahid. Now in limbo after using much of tax-payer’s money.

Now that PAC has asked for JPJ to send documents, what can they do if they find out that JPJ staff or other govt staff has taken those numbers to be sold privately? Later will be wayang and sandiwara to divert our attention from the price rise of essential goods & services due to petrol/diesel price hike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • leonardo on Oct 08, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Finally someone noticed! Hopefully the report by PAC is also transparent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Goh Jeng on Oct 08, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Great, please be transparent JPJ. In light of this PAC, please enlighten us with the procedures of procurement and the necessity of the Penang’s KNIGHT XV as well. Don’t be a hypocrite as well huh.

• radnaksi run on Oct 08, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Nak telus, tapi terjerat. Bersih diluar didalam kotor?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • protonsucks on Oct 08, 2014 at 2:11 pm

JPJ also need to clarify with their taxi involvement and banning uber taxi!! so obvious corruption!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Those oni involve private car uber that is obviously not follow law..

• abcde on Oct 08, 2014 at 3:15 pm

it is too common with corruption nowadays.

There’s no place where corruption free. In ‘business’ term, you rub my shoulder, i rub your shoulder.
      simple as that.

similar when you buy expensive things, you expect something free gift in return.

to blame on their corrupt is because they are visible in the eye of public. but ask yourself whether have you did or not.

• stranger on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:32 pm

yes corruptions is every where in the world

but the way in our country did, is too much and bold

• Goh Jeng on Oct 08, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Yup true that. But also in our country, those who take bribe got hammered but those who give bribe, oh well considered as holy. Maybe its in their culture I guess.

• Kanasai on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:11 am

Mr. Ayam said “You HELP me, I HELP u!”
            Obvious enough?
            From top to bottom.
            Front to back
            Left to right.
            All dark!

Superman unable to save the world alone.
            Hahaha, Probably, we need batman, spiderman, banana man, X man, ninja turtle, Optimus prime come together save our soil and beat the female micheline down.

• TheDuh on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:23 pm

FYI:
      JPJ does not have jurisdiction over this, it is SPAD who is taking action against those on Uber.

• It's not about transparency on Oct 08, 2014 at 2:18 pm

“It’s about being opaque. And we want to avoid speculation and doubt by withholding facts. And nobody ever speculates or doubt when facts are withhold from them . They would just make only good… assumption. Assumption that these official are not using the tax payers money or money laundered to bid for inane no. plates, no! But good assumption like they are donating the plates to charity so that their Toyota Hiace will have a badass no. plate. That’s what happen when facts are withheld. “

• kismis on Oct 08, 2014 at 2:23 pm

This blog is becoming a MalaysiaKini for cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
  • Pening on Oct 08, 2014 at 2:27 pm

There is nothing much to clarify. This whole tender reeks of power abuse, money laundering, corruption all done under the bright sunshine. Rakyat are already suffering what with the day to day expenses and with the upcoming GST crap and here we have these pentadbir kera-jaan possibly spending money like there is no tomorrow to buy this un-necessary ‘flashy’ plate number. This is Malaysia, Truly Asia

• komarad on Oct 08, 2014 at 2:44 pm

how com when WWW1, the bidder was disclosed??

• komarad on Oct 08, 2014 at 2:44 pm

how com for WWW1, the bidder was disclosed??

• I dont see any good reason why they must keep these 5 names as secret.

• If it is true that names are withheld then why do some people still appear on the list for example the three members of Royalty which are listed? You see nobody would question the ones listed because there’s no doubt they would have such money and no need to question it either, but what does that say about the others that are not listed? ;)
    Btw this Sanjeevan guy, what business does he do? He may not be part of the ‘gomen’ but as the Chairman of MyWatch which is an NGO, he’s surprisingly rich to spend on frivolous objects and there’s no trace of his business either. Fishy fishy everywhere!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Errr… you said ‘nobody would question the ones listed because there’s no doubt they would have such money and no need to question it either….’

• If you read my comment I continue by saying, what does it say about those not listed? The people who are not listed may be highly questionable! For example, we all know Lee Chong Wei is rich so there’s no fuss about it, and the same goes for the 3 members of Royalty listed.

• because he is PKR he is bersih hhhaahah…

• soo tien ann on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:15 pm

he has his own business and income . if you are too stupid to know this, do not assume that others are also as stupid as you.

• drMpower on Oct 08, 2014 at 2:51 pm

what public anger?

here in malaysia, people think they are mature. they like to think so. and when they act, then only we know that people only think they mature but actually they are not

remember that a sultanate bought a special number plate not so long ago? these people who think they mature, they went beserk. they called names on those poor sultanate family members. and that episode went for months, and years, and still not completely forgotten.

the sultanate is well known for His businesses in and out of the country and His families been doing that for nearly 100-200 years, and people still think He was stealing from them. oh jesus christ what they were and still on about

and here we go again.

to be these kind of numbers, if got buyer then sell. if u can provide the means, then whatever numbers you want then its yours. i know people screaming about …. what they screamed about? transparency? basically they scream onto things they either 1) dont like, or 2) dont understand, no matter how true things are.

if a judge can outbid others for BMW 1, then good for him. for petes sake that person got paid handsomely, and with businesses of maybe his or her families members, what concern these MATURE people got?

i see this number plate buying is a source for the national income. whether that numbers/ alphabets necessary or not, thats not up to u to do. all i care is you got the means, we sell u the goods

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 34
    • @MrMPower on Oct 08, 2014 at 7:12 pm

I have no issue with Sultanate buying a fancy no. plate or anyone for that matter. But if you would want to bid for a no. plate, be prepared to submit yourself to the same process. There should not be any preferential treatment of any kind. It’s just a recipe for more corruption.

Respect is earned, not conferred. Sultanate or gov. personnel needs to stick to the rule and subject themselves to the same process (remember the caddy whacking case?). No preferential treatment. Especially when the tax payer pay for their operation. People naturally want to know if the tax payer money is spent on frivolous purchase, esp. when the gov. kept insisting that they are budget contraint (GST, gas price up, sugar prices up, etc).

I’m sure nothing bad would come out from the quick inquiry so why the secrecy?

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Its good that PAC wants clarification. Keeps the governance process in check. Hope the Rakyat can learn the process too, so can bid for some nice numbers and pay 0 for it.

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 08, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Malaysians are a jealous bunch of people

When highly successful people like our government officers have won the bidding, they are never satisfied. Got tender, complain. No tender also complain. Apa lagi you rakyat miskin mau?

Come on, they don’t owe you an explanation. If they do, its out of goodwill and more credit to them when they do it.

The government officers have been laboring for our country all these years, why can’t you people just accept they are entitled to these perks. If you so pandai, then join the government service la..

Haters gonna hate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 52
    • Pening on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Yes, very good. Your master pay you so well to defend him in PT that you could only afford a maserati nickname while he drives the real deal out there. Bodoh bin bangang.

It’s not the bidding (if there is a legit one in the first place) but the argument is about could a civil servant afford an expensive number plate in the first place with his salary and with the country on the verge of bankruptcy is there any logic in such spending by the Government or it’s personnel while they ask the rakyat to tighten their belts??? Bastards!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • cendol (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 3:52 pm

I can tell you the result of PAC findings now itself.
    The result is JPJ has decided to review the bidding process for future tender by government officials.
    The review will take roughly another year or two, then JPJ will report back to PAC, hopefully PAC still remembers about it

• Cronism allowed unqualifed people to own power to something due to the absent of competition which only the best wins. When unqualified people are leaders of everything, u know what the outcome is. What I am worried is the effect it has on local hospitals, now government hospital are so bad that a very high rate of emergency patients died everyday due to negligence, ignorance, lack of knowledge of hospital.

• While private hospitals in Malaysia are undependable too. They are simply charging and treating patient according to their profitability. No one are taking actions or can take actions as the owners behind these hospitals are mainly cronies of the government.

• Levin on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Lee Chong Wei won BMW6! Congrats to him!

• truely malaysian on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:57 pm

If this is the top 10 chart for the most wealthy people in Malaysia (un-official and may not be paying income tax) we can see three royalties, one Chinese and one Indian and FIVE government servant! Could this be the truth how wealth is distribution in the country!

• Royalties are bullshit on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:47 am

Dont need to talk about royalties la. They have all kind of money due to korek and bodek by UMNO monister to help keep them in power. Also, royalties buy cars without tax. So yeah, extra money can invest into all this instead of helping his subject.

• Annoynimouse on Oct 08, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Why bother publishing the name in the first place…

• Annoynimouse on Oct 08, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Why bother publishing the names in the first place…

• Rulered on Oct 08, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Why do pentadbir kerajaan need these kind of number? Just use the ordinary number enough la. You guys are civil servant, act like one. Don’t waste govt money ie tax payer’s money for unproductive activities.

• Goh Jeng on Oct 08, 2014 at 9:48 pm

If I’m not mistaken, ‘anggota pentadbiran kerajaan’ also refers to the winning bidders comprised of royalty, judges and cabinet ministers, and that it was standard operating procedure to keep the names a secret and to never disclose the names of bidders who were members of the royalty.

• cendol (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 7:25 pm

This is just a government ploy to discredit Sanjeevan. Now Sanjeevan has a lot of explanation to do and it will reduce the heat on government side.
    Anybody knows how is the investigation on shooting of Sanjeevan going along? Or has it gone into ‘unsolved’ files

• Albert on Oct 08, 2014 at 8:42 pm

The crime informer paying more than rm300k for fanciful number plates,is this not disgusting?
    His net worth runs into Rm10-100 juta.
    can someone from LHDN,MACC investigate this guy,please?
    He wakes up from point blank assasination,and spends to show off.He could have donated the money to IJN for needy bypass patients who cannot afford to pay.What a waste of money.

• soo tien ann on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:20 pm

if he earn his money from proper sources, and declare his money , what is the problem?

the money that he spent to buy the number plate will be used by the government to build hospitals, schools, and give BR1M to your useless ass.

• ahjiahjo on Oct 08, 2014 at 11:31 pm

BMW24 <<< BMW Z4 prefect

• JPJ Director on Oct 09, 2014 at 5:07 am

Songlaplah, apa lagi?

• Leonardo on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:52 am

My suggestion – do a live bidding for the 10 most wanted numbers. Similar to an auction. Everyone who is interested should register themselves with JPJ before the bidding/auction date. Whoever offers the highest amount for a number wins. You can use a proxy if you want, but at least it is more transparent process and you can see the bidder.

• htgnel on Oct 09, 2014 at 10:37 am

Haiz. What a shame on the JPJ and MOT and particularly PAC. Now only they question. They should have done the questioning years ago. MOT’s PIC should be responsible to this, particularly the minister, DS Liow Tiong Lai.

• Billy Bob on Oct 09, 2014 at 12:44 pm

There is a misconception that Anggota Pentadbiran Kerajaan are civil servants. They are not. APKs are Cabinet members. that’s why you don’t see any Ministers names in the list but you see the high value numbers attached to Minister’s cars.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Oct 09, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Hmmm, all of these “anggota” utilizes taxpayers money right?

• “Anggota” kroni lah