RENDERED: Proton Iriz R3 – hot-hatch for the future?

Iriz_R3_front Click to enlarge – renderings by Theophilus Chin

Yes, we know. It may be a tad overdone but we can bet for every one person who thinks the hype around the new Proton Iriz is getting out of hand, there are five who are keen on knowing more and more about it and possible future variations of the car.

So here it is, exclusive renderings of what a Proton Iriz R3 could look like. Dressed up in R3’s ‘Fire Red‘, the car does convey its sporting intentions quite well. In front, a new grille with R3 badging – and without the ‘Proton Wings‘ design cue, plus a gaping air intake are sure to catch anyone’s attention.

Further changes include the addition of LED daytime running lights (DRL) which are now in conjunction with added air intakes. Darkened headlight assemblies carry on the more aggressive aesthetic upgrades. Profile wise, darkened alloys – 16-inch designs, are featured.

Iriz_R3_rear Click to enlarge.

Black sideblades à la Porsche Macan provide a nice offset while there is a more pronounced side skirt design. The side mirrors are now finished in black, along with the roof which should help to further accentuate the ‘floating roof’ design.

Moving on to the rear, a new diffuser with a single, central exhaust pipe take centre stage. The NEXLIDE lighting system from the Proton Iriz Active concept makes its way here, along with a new darkened spoiler. The most telling detail would be the ‘Turbo’ badging in place of the ‘VVT’ one.

It would make sense for a possible Iriz hot-hatch to go the forced-induction route, should Proton actually choose to make one. What do you guys think of a hotter version of the Iriz? This writer is certainly looking forward to it. Let us know your opinions in the comments below.

GALLERY: Proton Iriz

GALLERY: Proton Iriz Active concept

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Well done Proton! Nice design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 36
    • It looks try too hard.
      I’ve realized that Iriz is too bulky and the 1.3 variant is underpower.
      What you guys think?
      Totally No-No for 1.3 and 1.6 is a bit expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 101
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Iriz design look like Conti car with German technology and built with quality on par with Japanese cars with the price of Malaysian cars..Well done PROTON, Ah Beng heard that Iriz booking reaching 40k with confirmed order 7k? Anyone from PROTON can clarify on that?..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 15
        • Albert on Oct 08, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Bookings mean nothing.Even a “rich,professional” beggar at Chow Kit Road can place a rm500 booking.
          It is the bank approvals that is important.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 57
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:01 am

Albert, booking means impressions and response from public towards the car itself. Theoretically, the higher the bookings, the higher confirm order they can get. Your “Rich and professional” beggar at Chow Kit Road means nothing to help our country development if not supporting our local product.. PROTON had proven that they had dare to make changes towards public impression about their car with the launch of new, Iriz which comes with conti-look design, higher safety rating, best ride & handling and new engine..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 4
          • Wisdom on Oct 09, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Nice indeed…..
            Should’ve use bigger wheel to complete the whole concept.

• Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Oct 08, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 199
        • OtakUdang Profile on Oct 08, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Yes you are right…

Then tomorrow you better do the following

Cancel your Astro subscription o

Cancel your TNB

Cancel your Water supply

Cancel your UNIFI

Don’t use any of the tolled Highways

Stay home and dont go out ok ?

Now do you know how stupid you sound from this end ?

What an ass you are

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 192 Thumb down 12
          • Vader (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:16 am

Ops.. you mentioned all the cronyism from UNO!!!
            Later kena lokap..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:06 am

Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan disguise of Alvin Tan..hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:25 am

Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan, what else then?

Dont buy petrol at Petronas
            Dont buy Naza cars
            Dont buy Gardenia
            Dont use Unifi/Telekom
            Dont bank in your money in CIMB/Maybank/Ambank
            Dont buy houses with IJM/Gamuda..

R u happy to live life like that?? Rakyat smart ady and want to live in harmony Satu Malaysia country..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
          • Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Oct 10, 2014 at 6:48 pm

I have migrated out from Malaysia, have stopped them and most likely will never subscribe to them forever again.. You got owned, son.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • The Real Same LOrrr on Oct 08, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Made-in-China cars salesman at work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
          • Comes with free gift asbestos inside, later got cancer

Scared to die

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • it’s like you’re the only person who pay tax.. please don’t be racist here.. go elsewhere..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
        • Obviously (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 10:40 pm

LOL…Proton dying won’t make Malaysia any noticeably better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
          • Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Oct 08, 2014 at 11:22 pm

With Proton out of the picture, at least average Malaysians can afford quality cars.. rather than driving that scrap metal.

Proton fanboys can dance on this…DANCE like the puppet you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 67
          • Obviously (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:14 am

What makes you think that car prices on “quality cars” will come down just because Proton is dead? If you think that way, you show that you don’t know how the gov is currently functioning. That’s just an overtly idealistic hope.

I also don’t know why you’re trying to provoke the Proton fanboys. They can be a rather sensitive lot. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
          • Low Budget on Oct 09, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Paul Cheah, If P1 and P2 die, and if the Gomen maintain the same tax structure as it is now, we actually have to pay much more to the cars we buy.

• KLWong on Oct 09, 2014 at 3:23 pm

@Low Budget. Very true because foreign car makers will mark up their prices knowing that we Malaysian will not have cheaper alternatives like what we have in the forms of P1 & P2 currently.

But those who wish for P1 & P2 to go die are too naive to understand this.

• peyn0 on Oct 09, 2014 at 3:44 pm

believe mw low budget… paul chechnwontnyalk kok about perodua.. his own perodua n pretend perodua has nothing to donwith umno gomen, protection bla bla

• holofanboi on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:14 am

@ Paul Cheah

I won’t be surprised if you happen to be around the same age as me… for some reason, people my age are stuck in this mindset that Proton = reason other car makes expensive.

It actually isn’t even expensive once you learn how economy of scale works. Stop finding a scapegoat to blame. That attitude is no different from how certain sections of the government works.

Work hard, and you will realize that car prices in Malaysia are surprisingly proportionate to a nation of our size.

• Annoynimouse on Oct 08, 2014 at 11:33 pm

WTF man… grow up

• Leonardo on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:19 am

Wow! You have a serious mental issue.

• peyn0 on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:24 am

buying proton perodua n umw rite?? all umno n mca croniess

• Albert on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:29 am

Paul Cheah,the stupid ah beng and his proton fangirls will never listen to facts.
          They dwell on what same Lorr describe as “syiok sendiri” and I describe as “everlasting perlindungan” syndrome.
          Protong and Lotus have been sucking these fools Billions of Rm for the past quarter of a century and yet they still ‘khayal selama lama nya”.
          What a sad generation has emerged.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 37
          • @PCYY, @Albert & @vader.

If you think people buying Proton are supporting cronyism then stop dealing with PublicBank/HongLeongBank, don’t send your children to UTAR/TARC & don’t read TheStar/NYSPau/ChinaPress because all of those are managing by MCA/DAP/Gerakan cronies.

Can you? If not, just go die & hope no more cronyism in your next life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
          • Low Budget on Oct 09, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Most Proton and P2 buyers are not fools, it is just that those are the cheapese and most affordable compare to others.

• Emily on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:21 pm

It’s super nice.
      well done Proton.
      Have you read the Axia owner review on its FC?
      God, it’s really fuel saving. I almost didn’t believe it when Perodua made the announcement.
      I’m thinking to book Axia SE (Red / White). I like Iriz, but Axia is just perfect for my budget and it’s cute.
      Btw, keep it up Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 17
      • peyn0 on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:12 am

never heard acia owner praise on the fc… but heard about engine vibrate n underpower

somemore this car n engine already running in indonesia for
        a year.. nobody suprise about the fc… the fc just suits for 1000cc 3 cylinders class car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • Low Budget on Oct 09, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Go ahead and get one, you won’t regret it. I got one for almost 2 weeks already, FC is better than Viva, and surprisinly the ‘crock,crock…’ sound associated with typical 3 cylinder engines are minimised in Axia.

• I prefer the original front design with this rear design, it looks amazing!!

And, why when you want to reverse this IRIZ you need to press the gas pedal? Can anyone explain to me?

For proton, PLEASE TRAIN YOUR SALESMAN ABOUT THIS CAR!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • alldisc on Oct 08, 2014 at 10:37 pm

its a cvt characteristics. accept it. but only to get the car moving. once it moves, just tap lightly on accelerator just like other conventional automatic gears

• beetk on Oct 09, 2014 at 12:13 am

So that you have second chance if you accidentally go to wrong gear

• I see.. thanks for the explanation! Is the CVT is reliable? Im afraid if this iriz become like old savvy..

• beetk on Oct 09, 2014 at 11:38 pm

So far so good. Make sure the SC uses the right transmission oil for CVT if not, it’ll be problem like Honda before (City CVT), now can see it using it again on Jazz/CRZ

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2014 at 1:15 am

savvy is using a totally different type of transmission. a combination of mechatronic also called automated manual.

normally the sensors are the culprits – having difficulties with our extreme hot weather. savvy gearbox was introduced by renault sometime in 1992/3 which shows how reliable it was in cooler weather.

on the other hand, CVT seems to be more reliable in the same picture

• designerr on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:32 am

this design will last till 100 years. others brand design only last for 3-4 years. bravo…

• Nissan on Oct 10, 2014 at 10:37 pm

Proton, its time to sack your chief designer & his team. Paultan do better than your team.

• is it necessary? lol
    Proton seriously?
    I heard that Perodua Axia’s booking almost reach 36k while Iriz only at 7k.
    Axia enjoying the moment since the fuel price hiked at 20 cent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 77
    • Good job Proton!
      Axia launched just at the right time.
      I knew it, Perodua management always better than Proton. But we still love Proton <3
      I do hope that they can shorten the waiting period for Axia SE.
      Looking forward to drive my Axia SE Midnight Blue soon :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 33
    • Lalala on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:08 pm

I heard that Proton Iriz service maintenance will be ridiculously high?
      Their SA try to convince me it’s due to modern and safety features.
      Know I need to really consider its maintenance cost after 5-year warranty ends.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 37
    • Ramanu on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:28 pm

If this is true, You know it’s going to be 3 – 0 for Perodua & Proton. haha
      First: Myvi 1 – 0 Savvy
      Second: Alza 1 – 0 Exora
      Third: Axia 1 – 0 Iriz

Btw, Proton is developing New Saga and Perodua busy in designing their first sedan.
      Lets see this game.
      But I have to agree with Emily, Axia is like magic on its FC. A friend of mine owns one and she totally in love with the car.
      But it’s not for me because I’m XXL type guy. hahaha
      Looking forward for new Ford Eco Sport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 73
      • peyn0 on Oct 09, 2014 at 7:57 am

u sounds sooo perodua diehard n salesman
        why no saga in your list… and comparing 27k axia vs 69k iriz iss soo questionable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • Low Budget on Oct 09, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Saga don’t sips petrol but sucks petrol as compare to Axia, but then it really is not fair to compare 4 Cyl with 3 Cyl car.

• riz (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:39 pm

yeahhh ..
      some of the bookings numbers are for driving school and for car rental.
      Axia not Iriz competitor,
      should compare it with the new Myvi …
      well Perodua aces on the engine but overall the Iriz
      stability,handling,safety,entertainment all goes to Iriz
      BTW perodua leather seat / steering doesnt feel premium at all.
      If anyone just care about the cars engine and brands, go for Myvi/Axia ;D beloved timing chain
      BTW world best engine still using timing belt,
      TSi engine switched to timing belt..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 7
      • Eyo (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 3:31 am

Please enlighten me on why you think Perodua aces on the engine ? Not attacking your post mate , it’s just that maybe i missed something .

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:18 am

I think riz is playing on the fact that there are some Malaysians who care too much about whether the engine is chain-driven or belt-driven. He’s saying that if they care about it that much, then Perodua’s cars are for them.

• mim (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 5:43 pm

If you went to Alami Proton event 2 weeks ago, you’ll know the real numbers. They announce it every hour. The count was 21k on morning of 2nd day of the event. By noon after I drove the Iriz it already went 22k. After I finished the free Iriz test track joyride at 3pm, it clocks 24k. I guess now they have ~30k+ bookings. Shitload of ppl went for booking counter.

I just hope Proton’s service centre will be ready to take shitload of customers when it’s time for service

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Yup Ah Beng heard that total booking reached 40k before Raya. This one claimed by their vendor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
      • xoxox on Oct 09, 2014 at 10:06 am

really?if it’s real, why don’t ‘show off’ in news paper to attract more buyers? too humble? :O

• peyn0 on Oct 09, 2014 at 12:32 pm

they officially announced when they reached 17k booking numbers…still got ppl( mostly p2 macai n salesman) dont want to believe it..

• peyn0 on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:27 am

acia 27k only 36k booking??

i heard iriz reached 30k booking

wowwww

• Mpit3 on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Super Nice…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • Darien on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:00 pm

hmmm..it’s fine.
    But Axia looks effortlessly on the road and still manage to overshadow Iriz is every way.
    Did you guys watch the viral photos when Iriz was hit by Viva on the road?
    So sad. lol
    5 stars ANCAP? let us think about that again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 82
    • Obviously (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:10 pm

So you’re saying the 5 star ANCAP is void because of a dent? I pity you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 6
      • Obviously (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Note that I am well aware that the Iriz isn’t tested for ANCAP yet. I merely responding according to his comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • kzm (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 6:52 pm

funny indeed Obviously..some people clueless what they write.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • DumDarien on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:29 pm

big BOBO u r.
      5 ANCAP is if its a frontal accident NOT got hit from REAR.
      dum dum.

you sure Axia overshadow Iriz?
      what are you? perodua salesman?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
      • I slowly noticing perodua salesmen are pretending in here.. first.. talk positively about iriz.. then slowly give negative feedback to it and talk about their axia.. there are few similar comments like that.. not sure by the same person or just perodua people launching their anti iriz campaign here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
        • lowprofile (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 10:39 am

pr smear campaign. other brands do it too.

• peyn0 on Oct 09, 2014 at 12:34 pm

p2 salesman tactics soo obvious… bashing others to promote his axia

• Being 5-star in NCAP test doesn’t mean it’s a tank and doesn’t crumple upon collision. Don’t be silly (stupid), k?

It simply means that the impact of collision is better channeled to body panels/ chassis and also to the ground so that the occupants don’t suffer serious injuries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • Rover on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:45 pm

If it doesn’t dent, then baru cannot get ANCAP 5 Star…… Short time of impact = High Impulsive force. You rather car safe or passenger safe? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
      • In accident p2 car is bit dent with engine intact, but drive dies

p1 car is totaled with engine thrown out but drive still alive, only light injury

Which one is better? Lol

• peyn0 on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:29 am

see
      i told u rite
      protin iriz basher= p2 macai n salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Looks good actually, if this comes into production. It will definitely buys young working adult’s heart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • zeek (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Instead of making a faster one, why not make a more efficient engine? The FC of the Suprima, Preve & Iriz is just disappointing. Even the BMW 528i has a better FC than the Iriz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 24
    • mim (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 5:26 pm

If the 528i is going 100% highway and the Iriz is going 100% city drive, then of course the 528i is going to have less FC. Or are you talking about 520d?

I have a 320i F30 so please don’t bluff people la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
      • zeek (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 7:14 pm

Its called combined FC. Not urban / city nor highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
        • youdumb on Oct 09, 2014 at 12:20 am

528 can get 14km/l in urban + extra urban driving?

This is best joke in Paultan

• peyn0 on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:32 am

perodua salesman pretend bwm owner… yet hanya jual axia jehehe

just to sell axia .. mereka sanggup menipu prrfthh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • driver on Oct 09, 2014 at 6:25 am

they need to work on lightening the car as well. then the power-to-mass ratio is higher, and theoretically should translate to better FC.

• Kampong beng on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:19 pm

I’m gonna hang a doll at the back bottom of this car, it’s look more great

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • so far, only Proton Iriz Active concept catches my eye

• peminat keta on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Hurm..lawa2 dah..full spect Rm 63++ if had a cash i look for 2nd 1st owner the likes of BMW, VW, Fairlady, Volvo, Jaguar, Mercdez benz, and the list goes on…kalau nk buat safety measure as selling point etc traction control EBS, and many more features you can ad own and still price is to high for National Car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • zapruder on Oct 08, 2014 at 6:51 pm

1st time beli kereta ke? Preferring expensive 2nd hand car over new car? The price of 2ndhand might be the same..but maintenance wise? Spare parts? Not to mention expired/almost expired warranty. You should put it all into consideration and choose wisely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Wah you want to add airbags on year 2000 cars ah?
      How you make holes on the dashboard? With your hammer kah?

HAhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah

• Sparcov on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:27 pm

I quite agree that Proton Service centre charge high on maintenance.
    Proton preve IAFM 35k service
    charged me RM 4++

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
    • RM4++ ?! That’s super cheap, only four ringgit plus..damn! U untung wei! Hahaha

Don’t complain liao loh!! My MyVi free 3-year service also need to pay more than 4 bucks..hahahahhahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Crappy on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Potong Iriz, whats the FC. hows the crappy plastic?
    add fancy electronics gadget to suck our blood.

Potong, nasional potong, tapi tax tak potong.
    Nasional car selling on high tax, a civic price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 55
    • Axia Advanced price is more expensive, at 40+k still no VSC, 1.0l engine. Iriz VDC + 1.3l engine

• Kanasai on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:50 am

Seems Potong sales man, potong supporter (47% voters),Potong suppliers, Potong Kronis are flooding in paultan..

Support Barang Naik, Support Minyak Naik,
        Hidup Kroni, Hidup GST?
        Beban anda dapat diingati dan dihargai?
        Rakyat pernah didahulukan?
        Janji Barang Naik ditepati.

47% of malaysian, Wake up plz!
        Sebab Potong,20% household expenses spend on
        extremely high car tax, but KOSONG car.
        Unless u are damnly rich.
        Buy AXIA, IRIZ, Persona, Suprima at CIVIC price.
        Buy Inspira at Camry price.
        Buy Civic on Estima price
        Buy Estima on BMW 5 series price.
        Think THink Think.
        Jangan jadi katak bawah tempurung.
        Minyak mahal, kereta mahal,
        Ayam naik jadi RM1.06 inclusive GST!
        Kangkung tak naik?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
        • Fake Same L0rrr on Oct 09, 2014 at 11:39 am

Pandai ko lelong ya. Ni mesti kerja jual VCD cetak rompak kat Petaling Street ataupun salesman gores & menang. Tipu orang siang malam!

• Pity Us on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Paultan has become a place for kronies of bashers.
    just because its Proton or Perodua.
    sure there hatred in it.

what happen to the real car enthusiast?
    most of these bashers keep on talking without facts.
    just for the sake of “hey look, im being cool by comparing this and that”.

Iriz is a direct competitor to Myvi.
    why are you venturing between Iriz Vs Axia? first and foremost its 2 diff segment.
    if you wana compare, compare it apple to apple.
    stop being KIASU -.-‘

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 8
    • Obviously (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Because there is anonymity on these comments sections, people dare to speak their mind. It’s just a shame that a lot of it is in the form of trash talking. I wish it weren’t the case. However, genuinely negative comments must be accepted as well if it is made with facts and sound judgement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Garfield (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Somehow the talk about safety-conscious Iriz vs fuel-sipping Axia cannot slip our mind although somewhat misplaced due to different segments they each sit in.

The recent fuel hike announcement does put a damper into some people who could’ve afford the Iriz. IMHO P1 also could’ve priced the car lower but instead choose to ask for people’s faith by offering 5 yrs warranty + 3 yrs free maintenance (nothing is free btw, rather the cost have been built into it).

• Because there are salesman fighting over small share in here…

• Good job Paul Tan. I worked for R3 and even myself impressed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • Obviously (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Honestly, a Renault diamond in place of the Proton badge would not be out of place with the current frontal design. The headlamp clusters are very similar to Renault’s Clio and Megane, now that I think about it…

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:41 pm

…… right. And some of you think Proton came up with this? Theo did a good job, I will give him that.

A hot version of the Iriz. A rather pointless endeavour. Proton doen’t have the drivetrain to make a hot version. Perhaps throw in a tuned up CFE and then we’d start talking.

They can’t even make a decent manual gear shifter…it is rubbery and imprecise, the throws are long… its like driving a pickup. yes I know it is a cable shifter, so I don’t expect Honda gearshifters, but my mitsu one doesnt flop about either.

That said, I do have faith in Proton in getting the car to handle properly…. but thats the only thing they have been doing ok thus far.

What they need to do is to make a good car. Period. Full Stop. The End.

PS.
    R3 should just take some old Elise chassis and do up a fiberglass body and pop in the CFE (should fit). At least it would be more befitting for a tuning and sporting outfit to offer something more than just wheels and bodykit add-ons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • AVH (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 7:08 pm

I kinda feel sad for Theo in the PaulTan section, when it is good nor bad design they will just ignored the fact that it was Theo’s works and praise or criticized the manufecturer in subject. And the last comment here I read that is actually regarding TC’s works ,actually cursed it saying it dampens or hightens people’s expectation. And as someone studying in the field of design and doing project not so disimlar than Theos, its actuually rather sadening.

On the side note, I think Proton could hot up the Iriz, drop the CFE from the preve siblings(with manual transmission) and add some styling from the Iriz Active concept(most prominantly that Light strip that I see Kias usings)and could seriously be a desirable little car.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 10:44 pm

AVH, I think the cause of the mis-attributions are due to the really confusing way the author of this article wrote about the car, even though Theophilus Chin is written on the renderings.

Just read the last paragraph and see if you’ll suddenly think that it’s Proton is the one who showcased these 2 renderings.

• Annoynimouse on Oct 08, 2014 at 11:42 pm

Agree, some people just don’t bother reading what’s written and jump straight to commenting. I hate to say it, but you can judge the person through the comments they post. While some comments are a joy to read, you do get some bad ones too.

• Too late on Oct 08, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Proton start from 1st Saga production on 1983.
    Well known magma engine, use for 20 years until 2003.
    Campro begins on 2004.
    We are 2014 now.
    Means campro still carry on for another 10 years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • viber on Oct 09, 2014 at 12:38 am

Toyoyol got more engines carried forward / been derived from older gens!

Dun let me start with other auto makers!

• Kanasai on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:01 am

Bro, it’s truth that toyota use old engine.
        But those old engine are bullet proof and
        well refined. Mainly for cost efficiency and cost economy for seller e.g “UMW”

Hey , take note, old engine usually use in developing country. not in Japan domestic and first world country.

VVTL-I, Valvematic, Dual VVTie all implemented
        in others country, we r not.

Famous 4A-GE, 2ZZ-GE only found in half cut shop.
        Obviously, Krony dealer company or proton, sacrifice our quality, fuel saving, using OLD ENGINE!!!

Bro, I believe u are one of the 53%, not 47%

• viber on Oct 09, 2014 at 11:49 pm

Who cares about those “bulletproof and well refined” engine, the torque is left far behind 205nm CFE. Underpower Altis Vios catfish and outdated Camry can go into incinerator

• viber on Oct 09, 2014 at 11:51 pm

Oh before you claim CFE is turbo engine, why Toyoyol cannot make and sell one here?

Why? Why? Why?

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2014 at 1:23 am

Proton = national car
            UMW = owned by Permodalan Nasional Berhad, indirectly the Government.

the G would not want to hurt proton. not in 1,000 years.

• Proton, Iriz dah jual berapa? Masih lagi 17K ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
  • Optimus Prime on Oct 08, 2014 at 5:12 pm

i don’t care about fuel consumption or its price.
    Just give me 1.6 turbo on this one, i’ll be happy.
    after all, how thirsty can it be?
    if this iriz is 20 sen/km and axia is 10 sen/km, you’ll only save 10 ringgit/100 km.

i dont care. Just put turbo in, and my money is yours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • Based on your comment if you travel 400km a week that would mean you are paying extra RM40 a week.

52 weeks a year = RM40 x 52 = RM2080
      5 years ownership = RM2080 x 5 = RM10400

Yup it’s your money alright

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • messi on Oct 09, 2014 at 12:41 am

Duh, I thought 2k per month!

• A 10k saving after 5 years is enough for downpayment of a new car. Think about it. People that buy local cars are usually on a tight budget and the savings really help a lot. With the impending price hike due to recent petrol hike and GST in half a years time any form of savings is a good thing.

Both Axia and Iris targets different groups of people and overall is beneficial to low and middle income group. One is a cheap and frugal car and another is a cheaper and safer alternative to japanese marques.

• Blurred on Oct 08, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Anyone know how does car manufacturers categorise their cars? How to differentiate a B / A segment car?

If by size of car, Iriz does seem bigger on the books. However after checking out the real cars. The Axia is way bigger inside for passenger and driver comfort.

How come A segment car has bigger inner space than B segment cars?

Hope someone can enlighten me here.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 7:02 pm

arrangement of interior..

• Aishah on Oct 08, 2014 at 7:08 pm

a thinner body as this as plastic bag??

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Cars are categorized based on exterior dimensions. You can read more about it here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Car_classification

As for why the interior space of the Axia is bigger than the Iriz, it’s just like kzm said: interior arrangement. They can choose to use thinner seats so that there will be more room as well as shrink and move the dashboard forward. Thinner space inside the doors, perhaps? And then there’s the seat arrangement, the adjustment methods they use, etc. It’s all about design and choosing the furniture they want inside the car.

• alldisc on Oct 08, 2014 at 10:48 pm

segments are set by its size, can refer to this…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euro_Car_Segment

we can use the wheelbase as a good guideline or indicator

A segment =anything less than 2400mm
      B segment = 2400-2600mm
      C segment = 2600-2700mm
      D segment = anything more than 2700mm

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 12:52 pm

these days though, cars are really getting much bigger. a wira which was c-segment when it was new looks smaller than b-segment vios and city of today.

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2014 at 1:25 am

BMW 3 series today is bigger than 1980s 7 series.

same goes to Honda Civic today, bigger than Honda Accord of 30 yrs back.

• Kanasai on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:04 am

ask wiki

• WOW! SUPER NICE!!!

• Blurred on Oct 08, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Optimus….

For the price, I think you should consider a Volvo V50 T5 or a lot of other real race cars.

• Maseratits on Oct 08, 2014 at 5:36 pm

I think there is enough space for a turbo or supercharger in the engine bay. So why not?

An Iriz GTI would be nice. It will be a Suzuki Swift Sport competitor.

Hmmmm I’m drooling already

• loopie on Oct 08, 2014 at 5:37 pm

With this kind of design, you have a winner. Nice Theo.

Now we talk about the engine. If you can have 1.4 TFSI or 1.6 TFSI equivalent, then you can hope to be on par with the big boys. As of next year I’m considering a Polo GTi, if you have something that have that power and FC, then definitely I’ll buy this R3 car.

And I think this could be a real global car if marketed correctly. I do hope this happen, for Proton sake and the nations sake in the future.

• abahko on Oct 08, 2014 at 5:53 pm

busy praising well done to potong and paul, while no one praise theo for the work, topkek.

• albag on Oct 08, 2014 at 7:02 pm

so much potential for the car… good work theo!

• That’s one beautiful design.

• Albert on Oct 08, 2014 at 7:24 pm

The more one looks at the Iriz,one will realise that it is nothing more than a well done copy and paste job with elements of Myvi,Jazz,Hyundai rojaked into one car.
    Looks aside,the same Campro alto with new pistons and engine blocks is still a major concern as to its fuel efficiency with the latest fuel hike.
    Well,be prepared for another round of fuel hike next year as PM still wants to cut fuel subsidy to reduce budget deficit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • messi on Oct 09, 2014 at 12:44 am

Axia is ugly, who cares about rojak or mee as long as it’s beautiful

• Diesel Power!! on Oct 08, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Theophilus Chin, i know u r very good in designing cars, but will it affect the upcoming proton model? Maybe some of proton designer already plan to launch something similar, but after they see your renderings, maybe they decide to halt it or change to avoid ppl say copycat..
    Just my guessing… bcoz your rendering really look like production ready spec…Proton plz employ him if u ppl cant design something like it…!!

• Go go proton!!!

• lembu jinni on Oct 08, 2014 at 8:30 pm

we would like to request TC to render iriz compact pickup truck variant to compete with hilux.

• banda suri mengawan on Oct 08, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Good idea East Malaysian has more option to choose pickup trucks

• rezcreep on Oct 08, 2014 at 8:41 pm

put cfe engine in r3 version.

• 1centworth on Oct 08, 2014 at 9:21 pm

different color for the roof and same color round the windows.

• Jimmy on Oct 08, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Just concentrate on Iriz crossover and forget about any hot hatch Iriz even if it is as ‘fast’ as an A250.

• Both this & beardesign-ed renditions are awesome.
    Gud job & keep it up!

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Not only bodykits/Rims/Techs but also R3 tuned engine with camshafts/Pulleys/exhaust/filter/ecu and suspension,at least a 1.6 with 150hp/170nm

• azrul on Oct 08, 2014 at 11:21 pm

should be IRIZ GTI rather than IRIZ R3..

• Tell me why people are comparing Axia & Iriz? Why not compare Iriz & Myvi as they are from the same segment (B, as opposed to Axia’s A)? Also, Axia is a 3 pots 1.0 vs Iriz’s 4 pots 1.3/1.6. So the FC on Axia should be SIGNIFICANTLY LOWER than Iriz. I’d be shock if it wasn’t.

As per topic, lovely exterior but the side blades looks a tad bit off. Really like the tail lamps though. If it does go into production, would love to get one in ORANGE (neo orange to be precise).

• honest on Oct 08, 2014 at 11:28 pm

I’ll be glad if somebody could render a motorbike with three tyres & with roof…can arr…enough for daily commute…less petrol, no toll, rainproof & stable

• roxas on Oct 08, 2014 at 11:40 pm

hey Theophilus Chin, can u pls go become proton’s designer ~ ur rendering is the best ~

• as i heard fiesta st is coming to our shore,
    along with already in market peg208 gti,
    iriz R3 sure will be great accompany…

look forward to this,,

great job theo…

• Eskuto on Oct 09, 2014 at 5:46 am

Masih mahal laaa utk NATIONAL car. Hmmm

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2014 at 1:30 am

semua kereta di malaysia mempunyai duti kastam minimum 75% dan cukai jualan 10%.

kalau tidak, harga myvi 25k saja. vios 50k. axia basic… 15k

• peyn0 on Oct 09, 2014 at 7:29 am

good job proton

• orangminyak on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:13 am

I cannot tahan this sentence la u olls “Good job Proton!Axia launched just at the right time.
    But we still love Proton.
    Looking forward to drive my Axia SE Midnight Blue soon :)’ Peruduah salesgurl omgggggg..

• Jilbaber (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:56 am

Nice la, if got 2 doors much better…just book Iriz 1.6 premium for my daughter, I just hope she won’t misunderstood since I just bought Jazz for my mistress but S variant one (got only 2 airbags)

• peyn0 on Oct 09, 2014 at 10:25 am

axia in the right time ti kill myvi 1.3 sales

• maniam on Oct 09, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Yes. MyVi is now under attack in terms of FC, boot space & price by Axia and in terms of safety, power & torque and even FC by Iriz.

Iriz 1.6 FC is only 7.4L/100km compares to MyVi 1.5 FC of 7.8L/100km.

• peyn0 on Oct 09, 2014 at 10:35 am

axia booking numbers not as good as perodua expected

so they kawtim with gomen to increase fuel price to boost axia sales

• arjuna on Oct 09, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Yeah lar..why sudden increase fuel price??

• peyn0 on Oct 09, 2014 at 1:21 pm

yeahh we rakyat are forced to buy unsafe national perodua car

lucky rakyah still hv choice of iriz

• pei lek on Oct 09, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Using persona for 2 years..No major issue, yet very comfortable for long distance..
    Thumbs up Proton..

• buaya on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Screw Iriz and Axia.

Proton, where is my preve manual CFE?

• panjang on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:57 pm

cool…
    lets hope people at r3 take notice…
    i am hoping they are busy doing something on the iriz esp the powerplant dept….
    current powerplant are too ‘friendly’

• alan carter on Oct 09, 2014 at 10:43 pm

Well done proton a very nice sporty wee number one of which i would buy.Hope you make it and sell it in the uk.

• Subaru fan on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Hot Hatch version of Iriz? why not? I will wait for this thing released and BTW what about 3 door version?

• nogoodcar on Oct 10, 2014 at 11:33 pm

proton savvy 2. just like savvy. high maintenance. unreliable. 40k lab mice giving away their head already HAHAHAHAHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • ProtonLover on Oct 16, 2014 at 10:57 am

Well done proton!!!

• elson on Oct 16, 2014 at 4:55 pm

change the name, change the logo, and change the stupidly performance series name “R3” , and take my money go