Malaysia Budget 2015 Live Updates (Auto/Transport)

bajet2015

Budget 2015 will be announced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak at 4 pm today. We will be posting live updates on any automotive-related announcements from his speech here. Watch this space for updates.

Automotive

• RON 95 petrol, diesel and LPG – NO GST
  • Subsidy rationalisation of petrol, diesel and LPG to be done in stages, government mechanism to be announced “in due time”

Transport

• Construction of Sg Besi-Ulu Klang Expressway (SUKE), 59 km stretch, at a cost of RM5.3 billion
  • Construction of Lebuhraya Pantai Barat (West Coast Expressway) from Taiping to Banting, 276 km, at a cost of RM5 billion
  • Construction of Damansara-Shah Alam Expressway (DASH), 47 km, at a cost of RM4.2 billion
  • Construction of Lingkaran Luar KL to Hubungan Timur, 36 km, at a cost of RM1.6 billion
  • Construction of MRT Phase 2 Selayang to Putrajaya stretch, 56 km, at an estimated cost of RM23 billion
  • Construction of Pan Borneo Highway, 1,663 km (936 km in Sarawak, 727 km in Sabah), at a cost of RM27 billion
  • LRT3 project connecting Bandar Utama to Shah Alam and Klang, at an estimated cost of RM9 billion
  • To develop electric vehicle manufacturing industry, Sustainable Mobility Fund of RM70 million to be established under SME Bank – 50 electric buses to be introduced initially
  • Facilitation of Bas Antarabandar (inter-city bus services) for those who live outside the city but work in KL – routes are Rawang-KL, Klang-KL and Seremban-KL, monthly fare is discounted by 30%
  • Upgrading of stage bus services with existing bus operators in Kuching, Ipoh, Seremban, Kuala Terengganu and Kangar
  • Electric Train Service (Ipoh-Butterworth) to start in April 2015
  • Rural road upgrade project, 635 km, including trunk roads in Sabah and Sarawak, RM943 million allocated

6.15 pm – The Prime Minister has finished his Budget 2015 speech.

Learn more: ,

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Hopeless malaysia on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Malaysia annual jokes ready in 5… 4… 3… 2…

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 166 Thumb down 249
    • Vivian on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:04 pm

You are just a flat moron!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 194 Thumb down 53
      • maniam on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:11 pm

@Hopeless… Jokes? Clearly you are one hopeless & useless Malaysian.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 190 Thumb down 40
        • Sama value on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 119
          • !@#$%^& on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:26 pm

And you sama value with taikucin, brainless, clueless & useless worth living in Malaysia?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 2
      • Where is Najib's 30% Promise? on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:41 pm

They can table all they want. What is MOST important is…Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up!

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us? Has UMNO lied to us? BN is comprised of UMNO only as the other parties have no say and are just mere puppets in the coalition.

So has UMNO lied to us?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 43
        • Terima Kasih BN! on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:09 pm

The fact is, it is the Malays that will suffer the most with the rise in fuel and also the coming of GST.

They form the majority in this country and they are the ones suffering the most. Recent survey indicate 2 million households in Malaysia are earning RM3000 and below.

Want to guess who the majority of the 2 million households are?

Still want to support UMNO?

Even Sultan Raja Nazrin has refuted Government figures and he proved that 78.6% of all EPF contributors earn Rm3000 a month.

Padan muka to all those BN worshippers.

In US, people earn 5x more than Malaysians but a CBU Japan Made Camry is only US$22,000. A very good D segment sedan. That is RM60,000.

Our Made in Malaysia Camry is RM180,000 despite it being CKD.

How they want to sell cars so expensive when the majority of Malaysians earn RM3000 and below?

Why hantam low earning nation so much until cars become 3x in price?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 33
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 11, 2014 at 12:19 pm

How much fund had been given to public transport all these years?

Do you see any improvement?

More highway means more toll… You don’t get the highway for free… Don’t be naive…

• Bobby (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:15 pm

He also promised to get rid of the Sedition Act too. Did it happen or is it going to?

Since when the government works for the people in this country?

If you believe in UMNO, you believe in everything, whatever you can think of!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 24
    • miskin on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:28 pm

they want to squeeze our money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 53
      • The Real Same LOrrr on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:36 pm

miskin no money, how to squeeze? Dapat BR1M nanti senyum lebarlah kau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 10
        • ya rite on Oct 10, 2014 at 6:03 pm

senyum sekejap :) .. masam seumur hidup :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
          • Skrg senyum skali sthn, thn dpn senyum 3 kali sthn. Kalau nk senyum memanjang, usaha mesti lebih, keluar dari kemiskinan.

• _xXx_ on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Always disappointments. I don’t expect much from the budget.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 60
    • _xXx_ on Oct 11, 2014 at 3:40 pm

I was right, apparently. No GST on ron95 & diesel is definitely not a good news unless you do not know how to count.

• mr_em on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:05 pm

The rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer… what else is new….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 53
    • Asiah Lawa on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:24 pm

So which one are you? The rich or the poor?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 4
      • Same LOrrr Syok Sendiri on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:46 pm

His the rich yet grumbling because cannot get BR1M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
        • The Real Same Lorr Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok on Oct 12, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Woohoo! I finally can get more BR1M!! Now I can finally upgrade Aero bodykit and new tyres for my Kenari Turbo. All those Golf GTI u better watch out!

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Not nice to listen…not at all…but it’s still important to know since it’s the country we are living in. Later the frog under the tempurung won’t even know that there is a flood coming to wash it away.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 3
    • Chris (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Agree. Anyone who calls themselves an adult “should” listen.

Everyone’s daily life is affected, and knowing the nation’s budget allows us to make plans accordingly, financial plans especially.

Even those who claim that it’s only bad news or it has nothing to do with them, won’t you have to listen to it to know how to make the best with what you have or listen to know that it’s not affecting you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • If you would think like an elite politician, you realized there is no reason to cater to the middle income. The low earners are big in numbers, so they are important for votes. The high earners & big businesses help with the “fundings”.

Middle income? Just a few noisy people with lack of balls and luck to be like the rich. In the end, they do not have enough resource to significantly damage or improve our interests. Let the rookie/mid-level politicians deal with them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 25
    • _|_

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • darkermarker on Oct 11, 2014 at 10:27 am

could it be cacat reader that wanted to comment but failed to do so??

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:43 pm

So…what’s the point of your comment?

• Well, if you are of mid-income, do not expect a lot of “goodies” coming your way. You are probably the least being thought of when the politicians are drawing up their policies.

At most, some tax exemptions here and there. Or some afterthought policies.

In view of the auto industry, we already know who they would want to benefit first…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
        • Afraid on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Just wondering… are you an economist or studied anything related to it?

Well if you really did study it then i guess you must have failed your course totally.

Why do you think the government is trying to increase the income level of the population although they have been doing a bad job at that.

Look up at the economies of developed nations and see which group is important for the economy of a country where an ideal curve is an olive shaped curve with low income and high income on either ends of the curve.

The process to be classified as a developed country is closely related to its growing middle-income group, and, to some extent, the development maturity of the middle class determines a society’s progress and prosperity. It is because majority of a country economy depends on the consumption of its own citizens and the middle income group has the largest slice of pie when it comes to consumption which drives spending and the economy of a country.

However we shall see what the leaders in our country think about this topic… no doubt lining their pockets and keeping their seats of power is more important than the status of our country economically.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • Your last paragraph is exactly my point. As in my previous posts, I have never stated anything other than from an assumed typical local politician standpoint.

You are right on the importance of the middle income, from an economic POV. However, deriving from our decision makers action, a lot of them seems to put political objectives before other interests.

If the leaders and power brokers (local and global) work towards actual universal economic & social improvements of the masses, we probably would not be too bad in this mess.

• bjauto on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:30 pm

please give a hope to BJAUTO… BJAUTO look like end up west this evening closing.

• bjauto on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:30 pm

please give a hope to BJAUTO… BJAUTO look like end up west this evening closing.

• kledipe on Oct 10, 2014 at 9:27 pm

what is this BJAUTO nonsense you speak of?

Bl*wjob auto ah?

• What’s with all the new acronym? EKR? MyNDS?

And we can already see sleeping MPs. And they get allowances to go to the Parliament? Look at the one with white tudung behind the PM. She’s struggling to stay awake. Even Muhyiddin is dozing off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • guilt (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:38 pm

I think there will be more incentive for EEV and Hybrid CKD cars..

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:58 pm

How about RON97? Will it be levied GST?

• No GST.. ii already up 20c, that’s GST lor.. just in another name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
  • nGwEi on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:01 pm

95 diesel lpg only? 97 macam kena GST?

• will Euro4 Diesel excluded from GST in future???

• iVincent (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Come on, if they want to intro Euro4 sure announce BIG font, otherwise they will saved it for next PRU strategy

• samanama on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Stupid buget 2015 buget 2014 belum selesai habis rakyat malaysia kena bayar itu ini dlm cukai nak teruskan budget berbillion habis poket duit rakyat malaysia barang bertambah mahal , cuba lah kerajaan yg baru nanti pada pru akan datang. Mana tahu tuah rakyat 1M senang .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
    • cinta on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:20 pm

we dont want tuah or luck… we need figures and fact! can we sustain or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Mou Mou Ren on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Wah, why no Construction for Sabah & Sarawak?? No High way for Sabah & Sarawak??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
    • Pan Borneo highway for you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Construction of Pan Borneo Highway, 1,663 km (936 km in Sarawak, 727 km in Sabah), at a cost of RM27 billion

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/10/10/malaysia-budget-2015-automotive-live-updates/#ixzz3FjYwl8gG

• Low Budget on Oct 10, 2014 at 8:55 pm

They are very good at building toll express ways, you will get one in Sarawak and Sabah, while the people in Klang valley will get several, some may be also flying on residents rooftop or along the back yard or right infront of houses.

• Mou Mou Ren on Oct 11, 2014 at 9:56 am

But the Pan-Borneo Highway already announced in budget 2014. It was estimated cost 23 billion to complete the construction. However, PM re-announce the construction of Pan-Borneo Highway again and the cost was climbed from 23 billion to 27 billion in Budget 2015.

• Car-Fans on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Ada Beza Mer ? Rakyat yg masih kena tanggung sara hidup … Car Price Drop? Por Dah !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Low Budget on Oct 10, 2014 at 8:57 pm

Axia E RM 24.6K, price already cheaper than Kancil. This is Ah Jib’s janji.

• Construction of Sg Besi-Ulu Klang Expressway, 59 km stretch, at a cost of RM5.3 billion
    vs
    Construction of Lebuhraya Pantai Barat (West Coast Expressway) from Taiping to Banting, 276 km, at a cost of RM5 billion

How come?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • land price~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Black Dog on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:43 pm

West coast highway is just expanding on existing trunk road.

Sg Besi-Ulu Klang Highway is built from scratch, acquiring expensive land and mostly using flyovers.

• mustafa on Oct 10, 2014 at 6:50 pm

I don’t see the need for thess urban highways at nearly RM10bil. I think the money will better spend for LRT/MRT/public transport…anyway by the time these Urban highways is completed the MRT is already operating…

• Gusto on Oct 11, 2014 at 12:04 am

Don’t agree.

Here’s an average highway cost for US.
        http://www.railstotrails.org/resources/documents/whatwedo/policy/07-29-2008%20Generic%20Response%20to%20Cost%20per%20Lane%20Mile%20for%20widening%20and%20new%20construction.pdf

‘The cost to construct one lane-mile of a typical 4-lane divided highway can range from
        $3.1 million to $9.1 million per lane-mile in rural areas depending on terrain type and
        $4.9 million to $19.5 million in urban areas depending on population size.’

If you assume USD$ 10M per lane mile, and the Sg Besi-Ulu Klang is about the same as US price to build. I don’t think our land price is as high as US. So it should be cheaper than the US average lane mile price.

• Crazy G on Oct 11, 2014 at 9:58 am

You forgot they need to have some money masuk pocket ler? So RM27billion. Perhaps RM10billion masuk cronies pocket to share then the balance makan here and there abit only build. IN the end, shitty highway with bumpy ride is completed. !st world price but 3rd world quality.

• sadnpain on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:35 pm

no how come just deal with it..malaysia way…strike here strike there also no use…3 minutes tahi ayam then thing will go back the same remember..mh370…mh17…? outcome?

example hk democracy protesters only hot for a while then thing will be back to the same. ? did they change anything ? hehe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • mirai on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:40 pm

a lot of flyover some more….

• kzm (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:48 pm

land price? type of highway?

• West end boys on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Finally an expressway planned in Sabah and Sarawak,i wonder how much goes into taib’s pocket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • Crazy G on Oct 11, 2014 at 10:00 am

Perhaps 20-30% of the RM27b? then the balance will be used to buy cheap raw material and build a low quality highway. Owh wait, still got balance boss after we bought the raw material. Well, you all know where will the rest will be going.

• Walao, all these highways need or not? Billions of rakyat money leh. No wonder Msia debt so high!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Petrofsky77 (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:43 pm

A 59km highway costs more than a 276km one? Sounds fishy!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • Petrofsky77 (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:45 pm

On another note, would love to ride my bike on the Pan Borneo highway once it is completed. Can test owns body to see if still got stamina to ride more than 1000km.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • increase the gap btween RON97 and 95 by intro tax to 97 so that they can justify the naik of 95. bravo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Finally they are proposing something to Selayang.
    Hoping it’s not a fake promise.

• No announcement on excise tax especially for CKD hybrid & EV?

• chongwey on Oct 10, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Yeah.. Lots of new project.. Kroni Kasi sapu.. Mid income people lets suffer..

• ew projects ka kroni sapu ka – thats political reality no matter who’s in power. Just wish those kroni were asked to build better, smarter public transport systems instead.

• hantu on Oct 10, 2014 at 7:43 pm

So all those mentioned highways will be funded by government? And we will get toll free highway?

• Gaviny on Oct 10, 2014 at 8:35 pm

lol how anti climatic

• gonsungar on Oct 10, 2014 at 9:06 pm

harap harap kontraktor/tender highway pan borneo tu buat jalan yang berkualiti.

• Almighty Snack Bar on Oct 11, 2014 at 10:19 am

As expected, all “bumiputra agenda” but we know u know what all those helps are not going through to the bumis but in fact entering the side pockets of you know we know..

Sometimes i feel sad seeing all those bumis got cheated off their privilege, nevertheless we should pray and hope that Malaysia won’t go down the path of destruction..

All hail Malaysia! All hail Malaysia!

• Kemal on Oct 11, 2014 at 4:06 pm

I’m not supporting UMNO or PR. Whoever is wrong, i’ll kutuk. For the sake of people’s money.

Okeh. For those who comment why 59km highway is more expensive than 276km, here is the argument – the land price in city or urban area is more expensive than land price in kampung area. Nodoubt baout that. It’s normal when the land status being taken for development, the price will soar up. Knowing people nowadays semuanya mata duitan sebab tekanan kos hidup.

Constructing a toll highway will not involve all people’s money actually. Govt only support the cost of land acquisition only. The rest, the contractor company will tanggung all the cost.

• Steve Kok on Oct 12, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Budget for own pocket..

• reshandran on Oct 13, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Hahahahah , non of you guys thinking right .
    remember there is nothing mentioned regarding the toll price yet .

I am just looking at GST 6% for all tolls .