Mazda 2 named as 2014-2015 Japan Car of The Year

Mazda2_2014_action_01

The new Mazda 2, or Mazda Demio as it is known in Japan, has bagged the 2014-2015 Japan Car of the Year award by the Japan Car of the Year Committee. The previous winner was the Mk7 Volkswagen Golf – the first non-Japanese car to win the award. Prior to the Golf, Mazda also won the award with its CX-5.

All passenger vehicles with an expected annual sales figure of over 500 units launched in Japan between November 1, 2013 and September 30, 2014 are eligible for qualification. With the new Mazda 2, the company takes home the title for the fifth time since the inception of the award.

Mazda2_2014_action_02

“”We are both honored and grateful that the Mazda Demio has received such a prestigious award. We will continue our quest to build cars that add a certain sparkle to the lives of their owners, and aim to become the one-and-only brand chosen by customers again and again,” adds Masamichi Kogai, CEO of Mazda.

The new Mazda 2 is set to arrive in Malaysia very, very soon with bookings for the car already opened. Tentatively, our version will come powered by a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G four-cylinder engine with 115 PS at 6,000 rpm and 148 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm and likely to be paired with a SkyActiv-Drive auto transmission.

GALLERY: Mazda 2 at IIMS 2014

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 13, 2014 at 5:57 pm

mazda malaysia, 6 airbags at least please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • cendol (Member) on Oct 13, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Standard is 2 air-bags, you want 6 air bag? There is a safety package for it, but have to pay extra 10k,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
      • Dead Chicken Kick Pot on Oct 13, 2014 at 7:38 pm

One ugly looking car these Mazdas. Award or not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 54
        • myvie on Oct 13, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Angry bird in metallic form! Yuck!
          So uglyyyyyyyy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
        • riz (Member) on Oct 13, 2014 at 9:10 pm

I think it won if fitted with this engine
          1.5 skyactive diesel
          I think this engine not gonna be sold in malaysia. Malaysia’s diesel grade still low.
          If fitted with this engine, I will definitely buy this as 2nd car and my city car.
          an engine with 1.5 litre petrol power with 2.5 litre petrol torque.

new low-compression 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D turbodiesel four-pot. This mill produces 105 PS at 4,000 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 1,400 to 3,200 rpm, while consuming just 3.4 litres of fuel per 100 km and emitting just 89 g of carbon dioxide per km.

but … still waiting for the safety spec and crash test result first ;)
          this car main competition – Pug 208 and New Jazz , still considering this new Mazda 2..
          which one gonna be my city car ,,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:20 pm

whether got safety package or not…we shall wait till next year and see how will it end up as here….

• This is my perspective from the angle as a marketer.
      Malaysia Govt tax heavily on foreign automobile, but Mazda want to sell this car very badly, as this segment become popular. No choice i have to take something out of this car to meet my bottom line. So airbags ya!
      Remove the tax. Car price will get lower, and spec will follow international price. Local built-car mai die?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • Ibrahim on Oct 13, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Still blaming the tax until the cows come home? Old stories.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
        • Wah…. still got left over katak in tempurung?

• Ibrahim on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:57 am

Speak for yourself? You don’t even understand the rational of the tax. I don’t think you know only Malaysia allows 9 yrs installments for cars and the reason for it. You can continue dreaming in your coconut shell for lower tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
        • Ibrahim, please enlighten us with your “rational of tax”. I would love to learn.
          Thank you.

• A promise is a promise. He need to honor his words regardless of what “rational of tax”.
          Moreover, if you don’t fight for your rights, do you think they will ever bother to give a damn? In this case we can really dreaming in our coconut shell for lower tax, better welfare, while the rich who take ours money are driving Lambo, Ferrari, McLauren and etc. Time to wake up bro.

• Urzu3 on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:32 pm

lower down the tax, not eliminate it. mmg u katak inside the tempurung la.. old stories konon

• Jimmy on Oct 13, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Mazda Malaysia can take out some other things in order to maintain a spec with 6 airbags and ESP.
        And they ommited ESP in Mazda8.
        Greed and arrogance.

• cendol (Member) on Oct 13, 2014 at 6:01 pm

All these cars of the year when reach Malaysia will be stripped down to Kosong spec and become the laughing stock of the year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
    • Henry on Oct 13, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Ya, the only semblance of the actual car is only the shell. So sad.

The M2 is a nice little car, nevertheless. (Thumbs up)

• Aaron on Oct 13, 2014 at 10:27 pm

LOL you guys obviously never follow the article about Mazda2 Paultan has been updating all these while. In fact, the Mazda2 we’re getting in Malaysia are quite well equipped (Head-up display, Paddle shift, reverse camera, full leather seats, DRL, 16″ alloy wheels, I-start stop, push start, keyless entry, auto airconds, 7″ touch screen, MZD connect etc) and most importantly 6 speed skyactiv transmission. However we’re not getting 6 airbags from it though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Reality on Oct 14, 2014 at 8:04 am

It doesn’t matter. With the herd mentality here, 6 airbags is all that matters. Or cruise control on such a small car… Or whatever else that someone might fancy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • I think they believe our head is quite hard too. Can survive with just 2 airbags.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:58 pm

its not the matter of whether they give us the specs or not. look at honda, they provide a variety of models…cheaper and more expensive where customers that are willing to pay more can get 6 airbags and other luxuries. however, an obvious case of company manipulation is the obvious omission of cruise control from the jazz….its not exactly needed…but providing the city comes with it….its suspicious honda is doing it to maintain city sales….meanwhile mazda…i think they should provide more choices for customers that are happy to pay more to get better safety….

• All the while my thought of Mazda is 6 airbags is a standard spec.. so it has changed my perception now.. i think Mazda should stick with their 6 airbags as standard coz that is one of their selling point – SAFETY (NCAP 5 star), which is the main reason when i bought Mazda3 last time..

• riz (Member) on Oct 13, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Can someone please explain how this car won the car of the year in Japan ….
    any links ?
    Im curious what so good about this car, and I wanna know why.. maybe wanna buy one ;D

• nasha on Oct 13, 2014 at 6:16 pm

hmm i don’t think we’re getting the same spec & trim as japan. look at the new honda jazz. our’s spec is crap compared to thai spec. –> read the paultan jazz thai review and compare it with our spec. and more mahal.

• MugenRR on Oct 13, 2014 at 7:11 pm

Paultan should do b-segment hatch comparison when it comes to our shore. Mazda2 vs Jazz vs Iriz vs Myvi vs Mirage vs Fiesta

• Mak Temah on Oct 13, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Sempit kereta ni. How come boleh menang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • turbodiesel on Oct 13, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Sure won, this car can smoke GT-R!!
    joke aside, underpowered car unless diesel engine (turboed)

So pity, no turbo, no buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • mazdacustomer on Oct 13, 2014 at 9:01 pm

115 ps and already qualified as a ‘super’ mini?? Come on…

Im still waiting for my cx-5 after so long.. so mazda/bermaz, pls do something about the long waiting time. Don’t be complacent and syiok2 take booking and kira untung onli..

• How long have you been waiting for? My sis put down payment last Wednesday and today went to get her car already.

• W204 C63 AMG on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:03 am

“Supermini (also called B-segment across Europe) is a class of automobile larger than a city car but smaller than a small family car.”

Come on!!!

• Mazdacustomer on Oct 14, 2014 at 7:48 am

W204 C63 AMG: confirmed with wiki.. thank you sir i learned something new today ..here take my like..

• Anson Ong on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:26 am

The pricing of this car should NEVER even exceed RM60k if there were only TWO airbags and zilch ESP and ABS (Whether we like it or not) – torque versus power on paper alone CANNOT satisfy every potential owner, you see……

• Anson Ong is an idiot on Oct 16, 2014 at 5:38 pm

I think you will find that the mazda 2 has and abs and esp…jz wondering where are your eyes and brain? are they located in the bum hole?

• Mazdacustomer on Oct 14, 2014 at 7:47 am

W204 C63 AMG: confirmed with wiki.. thank you sir i learned something new today ..here take my like..

• leonardo on Oct 14, 2014 at 8:37 am

Bermaz Motor makes too much profit! Anything above Honda Jazz pricing, this car will be a dead duck, marketing wise. Regardless of the awards.

• twentyone on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:24 am

well need to fork as much profit..then only can BERJAYA mah..anything is possible

• am i the only one who thinks this car looks a bit wrong?

• Matjava on Oct 14, 2014 at 11:41 am

Should I buy suzuki swift 1.4 or wait for mazda 2?

• tkhengong on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:43 pm

It appears Mazda is on a roll! I have driven the latest 3&6 and besides the design, it’s just so ordinary in all aspects of driving. Besides, rear passenger space is a premium compared to my Prius. To my eyes, the design is being replicated across their range. If you have seen one, you seen all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Marque on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:14 pm

You are entitled to your opinion of course, but I seriously doubt you know what you’re talking about when you say the 3 and 6 are “so ordinary in all aspects of driving”. The handling on both are very good, and even hold their own against many continental cars.