Proton Edar announces new management members

Left to right; Andreas Prinz, Daniel Tan Soo Liang, Norzahid bin Mohd Zahudi

Proton Holdings has announced the appointment of new management members in the company as well as in Proton Edar (PESB). Andreas Prinz will be appointed as the new chief operating officer (COO) for the automaker’s commercial division.

Prinz joined Proton in July 2014, as the Director of International Sales. From his 29-year career, Prinz has spent 15 of them involved in the automotive industry. Among his notable contributions was towards the development of a dealership network for the Volkswagen Group in countries like the Middle East and India. He also headed Volkswagen Group Malaysia from 2008 to 2011.

Proton Edar will have a new chief executive officer (CEO), Norzahid bin Mohd Zahudi – replacing Azmi bin Idris, who now serves as Director of Quality. Norzahid brings with him 21 years of experience in the industry with previous stints involving managing the distributor network for multiple domestic and international brands.

The new chief operating officer for Proton Edar is Daniel Tan Soo Liang, who brings to the company 26 years of experience working in multiple industries, 10 of them in the automotive segment. Prior to joining Proton, he was involved with the Volkswagen Group overseeing sales in both local and the ASEAN market.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Tiara on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Are they still driving VW cars to go work there?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:23 pm

You really think Proton senior management drive Proton to work? lol

They sell cars for money. You buy cars got problem it is your own problem.

Typical Proton SC slogan: “Problem macam ni? Biasalah!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 33
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:40 am

New vios 2013 got problem. Their SA said:
        “Bang, tak boleh buat apa. Toyota sudah design roof lining and absorber ini macam. Cost down maa..”

• DRB SUXs on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:13 am

That Prinz guy was ex Mazda and destroyed the local VW dealers.. Look at where VW is today.

His hard handed approach just don’t bode well in this country’s culture.

Proton why must you take those that others VOMIT out.

Not all Germans are good. Some locals are better

• tok moh ketum on Oct 18, 2014 at 11:46 am

DRb suxs, you are totally wrong !! On this.
          Prinz build on compassion when all dealers were happy.
          China came with sowing when prinz left and destroyed vw until today, thats why talent like me left vgm. Prinz operate vgm like international company in Malaysian context.
          Sowing came and like giving a flower to a monkiez

• abuyaqt123 on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:54 am

No. Dont be too naif brother… Unlike you, they dont drive. They have their own driver.

• wont make a difference as long as cronies are running the company…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 26
    • P.Kumar on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:13 am

We need a person like u to demolish the crony system. Please be ridiculously rich quickly and buy all Proton share right away! Please! u are the only hope Malaysian left…

Pfftttt…..

• Old Beetle Man on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Smart appointments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:42 am

Good job DRB and Tun M! This will prove that Proton Holdings is serious to take back their sales in Malaysia and next to go worldwide..

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Pinching talents from VWG MY? That can’t be a coincidence … But anyways, proves to show how serious P1 wants to compete in the auto industry. Time to wake up from a very long slumber.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • vw kayu on Oct 14, 2014 at 7:14 pm

VW talents….It is more like they screw up in vw and they quickly go minum teh cronies company.

Can continue to lepak and makan kuih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • we know on Oct 18, 2014 at 11:16 am

Vw kayu, take it from us.. we know . Those persons. Prinz and Tan were the one who build vw nicely and humbly until 2011. 2012 a mgmt change happened beijing interfered on country operatins and screwed up everything until today

• abuyaqt123 on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:58 am

Dont be too naif brother. Tell me, which one you like to be top management? Professional worker or general worker?

• Car-Fans on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Lower current national car price – baru cakap yg lain ! Wasting ppl time only !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • latacc (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Google lah nama-nama seperti Gunther Scherz dan Claudius Meynert, eksekutif mat saleh yang sepatutnya membawa budaya teutonik ke dalam Proton Edar. Mereka datang dan pergi. Adakah mat saleh solusi yang pasti?

• nabill (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:48 pm

The other 2 should have been experienced foreigners as well ell

• image2014 on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Why so many people? Tun M alone can do all the magic. Spare their salary to reduce further unnecessary cost.

• Abu Sayur on Oct 14, 2014 at 7:23 pm

pity them 3, the amount to c**k they will have to eat

• Protiga on Oct 14, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Proton should also consider hiring VW engineers and designers from Germany to ensure quantum success for their cars. The latest Iriz design is good but not there yet. Look at the Polo, Jazz, Rio, etc.

• shoku on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:08 pm

you think german tech so good meh? the problematic parts in proton and vw are german tech.

• Dont syok sendiri la. Compare with polo, jazz konon. The only german brand you can compare is Trabant.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Scapegoat of the year 2015.

• abu bakar on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Top pool of experienced guys but sadly the final product
    is lacking and will never have a chance to make it overseas
    against the big boys Toyota, Honda, Hyundai & Kia
    Struggling to even challenge P2.

• abuyaqt123 on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:06 am

Thats DRB… Makes a car too advanced which cannot catch with local market. Malaysian wants cheap, dont care safety feature. Make a car that buyer want, not what buyer need.

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 11:33 pm

VW already a disaster here with DSG fiasco and crappy after sales, proton go hire those very same clowns? Good luck.

• This clown even better. Trying to portray proton is better than vw.

• SunnyLow on Oct 15, 2014 at 11:02 am

Actually VW had done a lot of improvement on their after sales service and others. For the DSG issue,they had replaced the gearbox oil right? Hence,i think you couldn’t say VW is a disaster. Proton also had improved a lot just like VW. Nowadays, you can see a lot of VW and Proton car on the street wad..

• tok moh ketum on Oct 18, 2014 at 11:30 am

Tok moh wat u been drinking?
      This Prinz and Tan dont build the dsg , so you/cannot relate it to them, as the same clown. Pfttthttrter
      If you know what you are talking about prinz left vw in 2011.
      Dsg issue when when crazy mid 2012.
      How does that relate to them, history dont lie.
      Your slander is damaging. Pls offer an apology to prinz and tan

• Aero (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 7:02 am

I read that Mr Prinz joined Proton some time back, and it gave me a lot of hope. This guy is no slouch, you can expect good things in the near future. When Mr Epple (ex-BMW) and D.S. Syed Zainal left, Proton was lacking severely in manpower. Even with these 3 gentlemen on board, it will still be an uphill battle for Proton.

• samninja on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:18 am

As long as proton amalkan sikap kronisma dan glamour jaguh kampong selabi itulah nasib protong hidup segan mati tak mau menghabiskan boreh jo. Duit rakyat jadi mangsa.

• Albert on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:37 am

These guys will get a BIG CULTURE SHOCK.If you are managing a premium brand for donkey years and suddenly you manage a BIASA brand with lots of political interference,you wish everyday will be your severance pay day.
    Tengku Mahaleel,Syed Zainal all kena ” political bullets” and had to go.
    Anyway,lets give them some time to earn an honest income.They also have big families to feed.

• Panzer on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:41 am

Mr Prinz previous profile was Director of International Sales, interesting for a sales person moved into back-end office (operation). Did he improved of Proton international sales and any great story about Proton International sales performance for past 2 years be in the financial media or Internet news? If not he should be dismissed for not meeting his sales target of international sales. So I would not put my hopes on him yet and future of Proton. For what you know, VW folks has a laughing stock on this appointment by Proton.

• tok moh ketum on Oct 18, 2014 at 11:33 am

Prinz only joined q2 this year la. So past two years not him.
      As i know nobody want to join proton that time for as long the locoman datuk/was there, killing /sacking good talent along the way