Proton EV arriving 2017, priced under RM100k – MAI

Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) CEO Madani Sahari has said that Malaysia will produce not one, but two electric vehicles by 2017 – with one of them likely to come from Proton – according to the News Straits Times and Berita Harian.

The dailies reported Madani as saying that the national carmaker is in the process of developing its own EV, and will have a prototype ready by the end of next year.

“Proton is expected to introduce its first EV by end of 2016 or in early 2017, as it usually takes about a year to test the prototype before the car enters the production phase,” he told reporters at the 2014 Automechanika Kuala Lumpur yesterday.

leaf-battery

Another yet-to-be-named company is said to also be aiming to produce a prototype EV next year – this time in September or October – before putting it into production in 2017. This echoes Madani’s own statements at the public launch of the COMOS EV car-sharing programme last month.

Madani also said that these EVs should come in with a price tag of under RM100k, thanks to the entire project – including the building of EV infrastructure and the production of lithium-ion batteries – being based in Malaysia. This compares very favourably to the last EVs that were on sale here – the Mitsubishi i-MiEV and Nissan Leaf, which even after tax exemptions came in at RM139,888 and RM168,800 respectively.

The institute will step in as the coordinator of the EV project, and has also set aside RM10 million for local companies to conduct research and development for their EVs. As the battery constitutes some 30% of the overall price of an EV, MAI will also work with the manufacturers to introduce a battery leasing concept – not unlike the scheme implemented by Renault – that could be another factor in the cars’ low expected pricing.

Madani said that in addition to improving the global competitiveness of the local carmakers, the project will also encourage foreign companies to introduce more EVs to our market, increasing the choice of energy-efficient and environmentally-friendly vehicles for the consumer.

Proton is of course no stranger to EV development, having worked with Frazer-Nash Research on EVs and range-extended electric vehicles (REEV) for use in the RAC Future Car Challenge in 2010 and 2011 (we’ve even driven them, and you can read our impressions of the Proton Saga EV and the Proton Exora REEV). No word from the collaboration has been heard since, however.

More recently, Minister of International Trade and Industry (MITI) Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed posted images of a Proton Iriz EV prototype from LG’s Incheon R&D facility on his Facebook page, suggesting that the new car was produced together with LG Electronics. The minister remarked that the car could travel 240 km on a single charge – by comparison, the Nissan Leaf features an NEDC-rated range of 195 km.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:35 pm

In 2009, they said it is coming 2012
    In 2012, they said it is coming 2014
    In 2014, they say it is coming 2017
    In 2017???

Typical Proton Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok!

If people is not buying your Preve/Suprima S/Iriz, why you think they will pay RM100k for your hybrid?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 289 Thumb down 195
    • normal_user on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:45 pm

2017.. Proton didn’t say em.. Its MAI’s CEO.
      2015.. Proton said it via Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil
      2014.. Proton didn’t say it.. Its Mustapa Mohamed.

Sources:
      http://www.thesundaily.my/news/935604
      http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2012/09/27/Mustapa-Protons-electric-cars-by-2014/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 16
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Give some support to PROTON as this could be first EV design and made by our Malaysian with the assistance of LG. This could embark a new era in Malaysian automotive industries..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 169 Thumb down 35
        • Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Talk is easy and CHEAP.

When it launchs, go spend RM100k and show us your support ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 32
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:36 pm

By the way, Ah Beng, have you bought yourself an Iriz since it is so awesome?

It is time to SUPPORT PROTON now!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 28
          • kzm (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Talk is easy and CHEAP Same L0rrr..
            Try built and show us how u built ur EV ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 17
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Ah Beng want NFE turbo! Sure can smoke your Toyota!! Puihh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:38 pm

KZM: if you don’t have the market and sales to sustain your products, don’t pandai pandai do something stupid burning money just to syok sendiri. Millions spent to build something no one want to buy, for what? So what??!!

Ah Beng: Whatever you want to smoke Toyota smoke chicken wings smoke salmon, have you bought yourself the new Iriz?? Don’t talkok, actions speak!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 20
          • kzm (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:16 pm

this is mostly untapped segment/market Same L0rrr..the market is still big. if u dont start now how u want to get expertise..even Singapore try to built their own EV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
          • kau bengong on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:04 pm

samelorr: talk like s***..u harddie n support ur toyota,then are u buy every toyota car?? previa?ugly innova?? haha…think b4 talk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:45 am

Kzm: You are right the market is big. But I think we should learn how to stand before we want to jump. Proton can’t even get their conventional petrol car right for 30 years, better don’t burn tax payer money making rubbish again. I bet you it gonna be another crony project (money spent, nothing done).

kau bengong: Like I always said “As long as it is sushi car, you have RV and build quality”. All my cars are sushi cars. You don’t like innova fine, then stick with your Alza then (it is also sushi cars). You driving Exora? You will have plenty of time commenting here while you are waiting for your repair in garage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
          • MAI Tok KOK on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:18 pm

How do buy at Rm100,000?

78.6& of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below. But the Government lied to the people we are on our way to earn GDP Per Capita of US$48,000 per annum by 2020. That is US$4000 (RM13,000) per month by 2020, which is 6 years time. Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak refuted the governments claim and openly declared EPF figures.

He also said 2 million households earn RM5000 snd below which is Government statistics.

Do you think average gaji of Malaysians will go up to RM13,000 in 6 years time?

• P1 Salesman on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Let P1 suck more money from the fan boys lah if they like potong so much. The more they buy, the more we earn. Haha

• Vader (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Around 15 minutes, the shameloo comment having >100 dislike and ahtoo comment having >100 like, while other ppl comments is just ~10 like + dislike.
          Obviously someone act so childish and boring keep on self clicking the like/dislike button.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
          • Formula guy?? on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:11 pm

What are you trying to say??

Is alright, you have time till 2017 to explain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Yea, you can say that I am clicking dislike for my own comments. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
        • Low Budget on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Hope the batteries do not over heat and catch fire.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:40 pm

If normal Iswara Waja Wira could caught in fire suddenly, why not Proton’s lithium ion battery?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
          • P1 Salesman on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:00 pm

I heard they are using Eveready battery

• alldisc on Oct 14, 2014 at 8:16 pm

i tot this car was built by LG with the assistance of Proton?

• I prefer LG to be responsible with the QC/QA part so there’s no lubang for Proton’s crowny to run.

• TQ. Good info.

2017.. Proton didn’t say em.. Its MAI’s CEO.
        2015.. Proton said it via Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil
        2014.. Proton didn’t say it.. Its Mustapa Mohamed.

Sources:
        http://www.thesundaily.my/news/935604
        http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2012/09/27/Mustapa-Protons-electric-cars-by-2014/

• Vader (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:51 pm

http://paultan.org/2013/12/26/proton-come-hybrid-car-end-2014-bring-ev-market-end-2015/

Potong, keep on talking but slow action will spoil your reputation as well..
      Even the primary school lesson, a boy lie that the wolf is coming to eat his sheep TWICE, the people are no more trust on him!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 26
      • RUbber meet oil on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:04 pm

I m ex Potong owner..
        Potong reputation already Potong on last century.
        Simple power windows, central lock, door handles, boot handles,etc do not offer any reliability.

EV with lithium battery. It’s explosive and flammable without proper and reliable cooling.
        Dare to try?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 24
        • BLT_Club on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Bagi free pun aku tak mau. Mak ai kereto terbakaq…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
        • Alex L on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:39 pm

but I am sure Proton has to meet some standards if it is to market the EV car. Plus the electrical parts are co-developed with LG. Should be reliable. I won’t mind owning a Iriz EV. But not a Saga EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:13 pm

They claim the Lynas also meet standard. Interested to stay in Gopeng?

Don’t forget this is BOLEHLAND.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
          • Gebeng on Oct 14, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Same L0rr,

Mana Lynas? Are you Malaysian. Only talk RV that’s all you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
          • Gebeng on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Thumb down confirmed from Same L0rr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Lynas Gebeng on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:22 pm

Same L0rr,

I ordered a Toyota Camry from you last week. Why you deliver to Lynas Gopeng?

Not sure of the place, use GPS mah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • riz (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:59 pm

perhaps, if we support it , its gonna be earlier than expected.
      well, EEV vehicle gonna need lots of EEV station to recharge..
      to imply all those gonna take some time and money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:15 pm

How you support? Donate 20% of your monthly salary to Proton every month? Or buy the RM100k Proton when it is launched?

Now, have you bought yourself an Iriz?

Support (in talking) is CHEAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
        • RUbber meet oil on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Agree. Riz. sorry to say.
          dont be naive and fooled.
          We shouted BOLEH for Proton in 30years ago…
          We were forced to sacrifice our house hold money for kids, safety, maintainance cost and even paid super sky high tax to get potong.
          I did support to buy a potong.

Sorry to say, potong is not cheap, not decent quality, Keep sucking tax payer and potong buyer money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
        • Low Budget on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:42 pm

We already forced to support it indirectly even if we don’t purchase P1 car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • alldisc on Oct 14, 2014 at 8:40 pm

EEV no need to recharge.

EV is the one need to recharge.

pls understand the differences between EEV and EV
        ~ EEV = energy efficient vehicle. still runs on petrol but good FC
        ~ EV = electric vehicle.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Actually, EEV is a very broad term. A hybrid and an EV also seem to count as EEVs.

• If people don’t buy Preve / Suprima / Iriz, they scold lor. Ask how much they know about cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Actually I also hope more people buy Proton. Seriously!!

Then Proton would beg less money from government next time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • RUbber meet oil on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:10 pm

No matter more or less ppl buy potong.
          they will continue suck your money
          by active or passive way.

• Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Can’t agree more, sigh…

Worse thing is we still have to bear with Proton fanboys Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok bullshit while we are being sucked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Lolzer on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:25 pm

In 2017, your precious Toyota Prius and Hilux be sucking more petrol and you’ll be complaining about the petrol price and spamming paultan about Proton is not good while people are using Proton’s EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Yes, Hilux is fuel sucking, I never say it is fuel saving. It is a pickup truck after all, it never designed to save fuel but to delivery power.

Hybrids user feel nothing on the recent RM0.20 price hike, u can ask them.

RM100k Proton EV may travel 180km on one charge (like Nissan Leaf, Mitsubishi MiEV), anyone dare to buy? Come come!!

Tell me how many hours you spend to travel from KL to Penang (travel – stop – charging – travel)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
        • Lolzer on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Your comment proved how ignorant you are. Tesla made their patents open to everyone. Take a look at Tesla Model S electric car. It can travel for about 400km (although their internal testing shows 490-500km,but expect real world usage at least 300km and above). Proton could be using their patents. Besides, charging is a thing of the past. You can simply swap the battery pack of a Model S, but we need the station.
          I didnt say Hilux has bad fuel consumption, i simply said that they will be sucking (using) petroleum while people be using electric cars. Nowadays engine are both fuel saving and powerful (merc 2L 360hp engine, volvo’s 2L 450hp engine and kawasaki’s 1L 300hp engine), sacrificing one thing for another (in this case, sacrificing fuel for power) isn’t necessary anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • alldisc on Oct 14, 2014 at 8:45 pm

do you know how many batteries the Tesla S has in order to travel far and has a powerful acceleration?

there are about 6,000 battery packs weighing roughly 1,100-1,300 lbs.

do you know how much does it cost to have a swapping station in US? USD500,000.

EV doesnt make much sense for us in malaysia. for businessman, for taxis, for ppl who like to travel, for sales rep, for ppl who often balik kampung. or weekend husbands.

it will take 3 days to travel from KL to penang, because of the need to recharge when battery runs out of its juice.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:40 pm

Them making their patents available doesn’t mean it is practical to use it the way Tesla is using them. The Tesla Model S’ battery spans the entire floorpan. That’s a friggin’ huge piece of battery and will definitely cost way more than many can afford. The Model S is a luxury car to justify such a price tag.

Something like a PHEV or REEV would make more sense for Malaysians. There are none in the Malaysian market at the moment, however. The vaporization of the tax exemption for CBU hybrids have thrown a wrench into the works of Mitsubishi’s plans to bring the Outlander PHEV in and we have no idea what became of Proton’s REEV project.

• Same L0rrr on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:50 am

You are right, Obviously.

We all Malaysian learnt about nuclear reaction in SPM, doesn’t mean we can operate a nuclear power plant or make atomic bomb here.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Same L0rrr, don’t twist the fact. A lot people buying Preve and Iriz. Iriz are ready for collection by this month..Please stop kencing and spreading virus to people in here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 15
      • Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Iriz is ready for collection because sales not good enough. 2013 Preve/Suprima S also ready for collection now what.

Customer in waiting period because sales too good, production speed can’t meet demand.

Understand the logic??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 23
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:22 pm

PROTON have the capacity and capable to produce more than 700 cars per day which inclusive 2 plants in Shah Alam and one in Tanjong Malim..So what? If Ah Beng said, “Waiting period for Iriz is too long”, then sure will said, “PROTON prod line are not efficient and producing rejects..”..Right?
          Same L0rrr will always be the kiasu basher who is just like satan that will never give up to mislead people..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
          • RUbber meet oil on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:15 pm

We no need Potong.
            Ahbeng, you need Potong, support Potong! LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • Low Budget on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Proton need to produce more than that if it wants to ‘whack’ Hyundai globally.

• Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:56 pm

I don’t have to bash Proton, although I was a Proton victim. Proton does not affect my business also.

Everything based on FACT!

Yes, I agree Proton can do mass production with 700 cars a day. But can make can not sell? How?!!!

That’s why we still can get 2013 Proton with RM6k discount now. Bear in mind it is already OCT 2014 now!! 2 more months we are going into 2015!!

Proton didn’t care about demand/sales and mass produce their cars with questionable build quality, of course RUGI lar! Of course making loss lar! Simple logic

Then how? Beg governmnet for money lor!

That’s why I said: Proton can sell or not? Proton car good or not? They still get money, it is either from tax payers’ or their customers’ pockets only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:33 pm

If price below RM70k + any govt incentive to buy EV..I will jump ship to EV car in 2017.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • xiper (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:11 pm

incentive to buy EV?
        slowslowwait.com

Electricity bill will be sky high by then…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Previous article u bangga said almost sell a prius..Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok…

• Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:18 pm

People willing to spend RM100k for Toyota, it is common.

People is willing to spend RM300k for Mercedes/BMW/Lexus, it is also common.

How many is willing to spend RM100k for Proton? Go ask friends around you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
        • RUbber meet oil on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Anyway, It’s not related to toyota and Potong selling RM100k price.

WE, MALAYSIAN, NO NEED POTONG.

Only ppl fooled, cheated by G will continue support them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Fully agreed!

The cronies also part of Proton supporter, there is no else where in world can make fast and easy money like Proton. It is either from government’s (tax payer) or their Proton customers’ pocket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • kzm (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Im boleh people but dont add me to ur equation…i want all car maker in boleh success n grow regardless local or foreign.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:23 pm

rather than ask p1 to fail..better u pray them to be successful. if p1 success it oso benefit u toyota car salesman as they will go look out of boleh.. that what happen to korean brand. Once the korean brand look out from their country the car industries become more liberal..

• Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Kzm, don’t worry lar. Proton will never fail. They will just keep on asking money from government.

Tax payers like you and me have to fall first before Proton fall. We better take care of ourselves first.

• kzm manyak pandai on Oct 15, 2014 at 1:51 pm

kzm is a budak kampung. Just came into bandar. Don’t know anything. Want to berak also he go cari the squattinbg toilet.

• BLT_Club on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Proton, kasik free pon tak mau. I rather look like Ah Beng driving white Vios with TRD stickers pretending to be cool (sarcasm)

• ThePolygon on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:36 pm

I guess with the petrol price getting higher and higher, lot might be jumping into EV for a try. Just please don’t make it look like some weird design…

• I don’t think so. Since 2010 you can buy a electric cupchai for RM 4,888 (not more than the petrol bike): The Modenas CTric.

http://www.modenas.com.my/v2motorcycle.asp?id=79

Have you ever seen one on the road? ;)

• Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:01 pm

The battery lifespan only 30,000km of course no one interested.

• Lolzer on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Please use Tesla’s patents. Now they make it open for everyone to use, use this opportunity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:27 pm

For Proton, there is a huge gap between Talk-Can-Do and Really-Do-It.

“Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok” is easy and CHEAP.

“Sendiri Memang Buat, Semua Syok” then deserve the compliment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • RUbber meet oil on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Potong did use Renault, Mitsubishi, “Lotus”, even Honda’s pattern..
      Pattern liao liao…
      Potong set up is not for national pride but for personal interest. Taking care own buddies buddies

Guaranteed! Even takes Tesla pattern.
      Without proper test, design, reliability bench marking. All pattern are crap.
      Potong is potong your everything and
      benefit, put $$ in own pockets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • LameAnswer on Oct 14, 2014 at 8:51 pm

patterns are just documents that declares what they imagine they will do now or the future (many patterns haven been prototyped yet, this is how a technology company protect themselves in this highly competitive world). But my point is, even with the pattern documents, you have got need to have the knowledge to actually work it out. You can imagine you buy a textbook of building a rocket, and pass them to some random guy (or even local university professors) they might not have enough expertise to work it out. Cut it short, we are still far behind, and it is not easy to catch up (by just reading the pattern documents). You can try and google and download some pattern document and read, then you make your judgement.

• user19 on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Honda Jazz Hybrid also below 100k, Proton selling own hybrid below 100k aren consider cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:57 pm

EV n hybrid is different..cheap jap EV without tax last time RM130k+.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Capunk on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:36 pm

How much does it cost to replace a battery?

• areos on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:48 pm

people will buy EV when govt take away petrol subsidy or wait until petrol cost RM4 per liter. Naturally you are forced to buy one..like it or not..otherwise use bicycle..the real EV (environmental vehicle)

• Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:28 pm

When petrol reach RM4 a litre, you all will come to ask me for lubang getting second hand Toyota hybrids!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • BLT_Club on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:34 pm

As long as it’s not an UMW Toyota that’s ok. You can keep your Ah Beng white Vios with “racing” stickers…

• Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:08 pm

We are fine if you don’t like Vios with racing stickers. We are open for opinions.

Not like Proton fanboys. You don’t like Vios, you don’t have to get out of Malaysia and Japan. You don’t need to balik kampung also. We still have various of models for your selection. Not happy with Toyota, Honda also ok. After all, sushi car rock!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • BLT_Club on Oct 14, 2014 at 11:16 pm

Magnanimous answer. Toyota support are klasse. Take my like!

• areos on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:48 pm

people will buy EV when govt take away petrol subsidy or wait until petrol cost RM4 per liter. Naturally you are forced to buy one..like it or not..otherwise use bicycle..the real EV (environmental vehicle)

• Besi Buruk on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:34 pm

2015 – Prototype under RM100k

2017 – Actualtype under how may Ks’??

In more than 2 years from now, the car technology would have leap frog and will this prototype survived?

• RUbber meet oil on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:30 pm

yes with G support. Heavy tax, duty
      after 10 years will still survive.
      Campro still survive too!

• Derrick on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Price tag of under RM100k.. means RM99,999 ?

• cabbage on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Proton EV is financial trap!

• Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Every Proton is!

Get a good buddy working in garage before you get a Proton.

• BLT_Club on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:28 pm

RM99,999.99 is also less than RM100k. For. A. Proton. Someone get me a barf bag. Also why the heck is Madani talking bout Proton when it should be the company playing up it’s product. Oh, sorry terlupa, bukannya MAI tapi PAI, Proton Automotive Institute….

• Proton has started their EV project much much earlier only people doesn’t know and they dont keen to make it public.

• Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Yea, means they had been burning money much much earlier and of course they are not keen to make it public.

A Proton EV launched in year 2057 would be sweet for them.

• OhIFailedByMath on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Can Potong guarantee no electric shock?
    But I already kena shocked with the price tag… below 100K, RM99,999.99 perhaps?

The fully imported Prius C only below RM100K, CKD Jazz below RM90K, so this so called local product asking for the same price bracket?

Baik jgn buat, biar beling brg import aje…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Proton Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.

The price tag give the potential buyer shocks.

Owners get electric shocks inside the Proton EV.

Next Proton EV slogan should be “Betul2 Shockz”!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Proton EV from 2009 on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:10 pm

HAha…now 2017 ….next year they will announce again and say prepare for Proton EV arriving in 2019, price under 200k excluding GST !!

Proton should not touch EV if they don’t even understand the technology …simple enough…it will take them another 30 years before they can produce their own EV car which wont burn to the ground, catch on fire or only able to drive 50km on a full charge !!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:13 pm

more money into someone’s pocket

• Toyota sales volume drop in Malaysia because of Same Lorr…y?

• Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:40 pm

If I could affect the company sales, I would be promoted to Marketing Director.

Malaysians now are poorer due to high tax and expensive goods, that’s why our sister company Perodua is selling good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • MultiTalentMinister on Oct 14, 2014 at 7:29 pm

When a finance minister tries to impress reader with the a comparison Proton EV and Nissan Leaf in milage he making a boo- boo to himself. As though he know Nissan will be forever not going to improved milage. Please keep your job scope to finance only period, leave the technology of EV to experts to comments. You just make sure Proton are NOT paying for an overprice EV system and get a few price quotations for price comparisons. Have EV adviser next to you for technical opinions

• old dog on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Can they make sure they can export them to sale first?

isnt it sick enough to be conning local again continuously? do they have shame?

• AVH (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 11:05 pm

EV are in technical terms, easier to make than a hybrid car. So I think we can give proton a chance and see if they can fulfill Madani’s big words of an EV by 2017. Thou that said I’ve been waitig for Proton’s hybrids since 2010. The hybrid was also said to begin production(thou carefully said not on sale) by end of this year(http://paultan.org/2014/01/23/proton-hybrid-to-enter-market-end-2015/)

Putting Proton aside at the moment, the other thing is this.
    “Madani said that in addition to improving the global competitiveness of the local carmakers, the project will also encourage foreign companies to introduce more EVs to our market, increasing the choice of energy-efficient and environmentally-friendly vehicles for the consumer.”
    The primary way to increase local competitiveness of the local market is to bring the prices of car down to a level when they are all equal. A Picanto cause the same as a Axia, a Jazz to a Iriz and so on. when the market is playing on the same battlefield, and foreign cars are not dependent on tax and so on, the competition will start rolling. This applys to all market, like the American market, competition form the Asians is what put GM and Ford running and improving, it is why Thailand gets much better specced Toyotas and Hondas.

And also “encourage foreign companies to introduce more EVs to our market”. With the CKD-EV tax exemption having an expiry date, and the basic definition to the EEV programme, all but lax. I’am not sure in seeing how this is happening. Foreign makers wants a long term commitment, at least 10 years, from the government to plan their production and sales. What profit can they make tricked by a candy that only last for another 3 more years. And with the Thai and Indonesia market surging, and the emergence of the Vietnamese and Burma market, I dont see what Malaysia has that can attarct foreign automakers to Malaysia anymore.

• roxas on Oct 15, 2014 at 1:05 am

electric vehicle is not the future. Fuel cell is.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 7:46 am

A Fuel Cell vehicle will most likely have an electric motor as a motive force. Electric is the future. It’s just the power source that will be different.

• rakyatboleh on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:37 am

P1, before you do higher technology cars…make your own decent C segment sedan 1st…
    Just like a baby trying to run when you can barely walk.
    Still need daddy to hold your hand to walk decently and you are trying to show the world that you can run and fly…..ROFL. Stop wasting tax payers money.

• marsredx on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:31 am

EV KONON. ENGINE KO YANG FUEL INJECTION PON FAILED. SEMUA NI NAK BUANG DUIT

• now it makes sense why no more hybrid car incentives…

• Dissappointed on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:14 pm

When P1 initially announced their REEV and EEV. It was so promising. However, this has been delayed delayed and delayed. Hopefully when it’s truly launched. It’s not just another outdated design like the latest VVT Campro engine with fuel efficiency that’s really disappointing.

Also, hope this is not yet another plan for P1 to ask for more funds by G for research done.

One word…. Dissappointment….
    Hope it won’t be DISSAPOINTING.

• Rakyat on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:51 pm

When you buy Proton, you get Potong!

• darkermarker on Oct 18, 2014 at 10:06 am

bye, proton.

Lets hope we are not going to see you again…

• the gomen knows when potong will launch the EV.. thats why they dont want to renew the hybrid car exemption… so that potong “can” sell their product… well done.. hahahaa

• Edmont on May 26, 2015 at 10:24 am

sigh Proton.. you don’t improve yourself and we have to pay so much cash to drive our dream car..

please wake up and do proper R&D for God’s sake..

• Orange vs Apple on Jan 04, 2017 at 3:47 pm

Wow. so many negative comments. I bet if Proton re-badge Tesla and sells them below 100k, people will flocking to buy it.