Proton upgrades Sungai Petani outlet to 4S, brand’s service centres to now open seven days a week

proton-sg-petani-4s

Proton recently officiated the opening of its service outlet in Sungai Petani. Operated by Mercu Usaha Mesra Corporation (MUMC), a Proton dealer since 2005, the Kedah facility has grown from a 1S shop lot to a 78,000 sq.ft. 4S centre. It’s the second such centre in the Northern region.

“It is timely since the Northern region is the highest contributor in terms of sales and volume of Proton cars. By providing facilities such as sales, service, spare parts and spray, or repairs, in one roof, MUMC can help cater to the growing needs of the consumers in the Northern region,” Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah said of the new outlet.

“People have said to me that producing good quality cars do not suffice if we fail to see the much needed improvements in our after-sales-services team, and we agree. Internally, we have talked about improvements done on all levels.

Iriz_etc_18

“Therefore, we are intensifying our efforts to provide quality service and convenience to our customers by making sure our service centres are open seven days a week in the more urban or busy areas where customers’ trend shows their preference to service their cars on a weekend,” Harith added.

The national carmaker has 270 service outlets nationwide, including 16 4S centres. For a start, 47 outlets will operate seven days a week starting October 10, with the rest gradually falling in line by January 2015.

Customers can call Proton We-Care at 1800 888 398 or visit www.proton.com for the list of participating SCs. All outlets will of course host the Iriz, Proton’s all-new B-segment hatchback that was launched last month.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:43 pm

16 4S centre kinda too low?…even toyota has more 4S centre I think..no wonder customer service satisfaction for p1 is low.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:11 pm

4s or not , it doesnt guarantee customer satisfaction, its the proffesionals inside, or lack of in case of proton, that count….
      unless thers a complete overhaul of the staff, I dont see any improvement,

• Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:39 pm

It is easier to operate a 4S centre than making a good car.

4S centre with an eye catching Proton Iswara parked around. Is this 4S centre selling second hand car also?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • alldisc on Oct 14, 2014 at 8:18 pm

hard to deny, but very much obvious based on JD Power CSI scores this past several years.

• ruffstuff (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:50 pm

This is the flying rumors: “Similar like BRIM. You need to register your car, the amount determine by CC of your car. 0-1000cc will get RM500, 1001-2000cc will get RM300, 2001cc will get RM200. National car will get RM500 regardless engine sizes.”

• Tiara on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Can see Proton salesmen lepak outside. Not much sales kah?

• khairilyazit on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Will that 7 days a week allow consumers to make warranty claim 7 days a week, including weekends?
    If not.. Then its no use..

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:59 pm

I would venture a guess that warranty claims are strictly weekdays only, much like any other SC for other manufacturers here in MY…

• khairilyazit on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:03 pm

thats why i said.. will it allow warranty claim on all 7 days…

there are currently Service Dealers that already operate 6 days even 7 days a week..

• Good news for Sg Petani and Northern folks

• to upgrade is easy job, but the attitude of your workers still below par..malas & banyak main-main.

• old dog on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:53 pm

as long the cronies supplier still in the picture, 10s center also useless since those quality will be bad for sure…

• Aero (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 6:49 am

I don’t think many Malaysians are aware of the vast disparity which exists between new car buyers in the Klang Valley, Penang and Johor, against all of the other states including Sabah and Sarawak. Not forgetting the special twins Langkawi and Labuan as well.

Yes, Proton is currently the no.2 best selling car brand in Malaysia after Perodua. However, this is only on the nationwide scale, if sales were reported by state and city, you’ll see that Proton (and even Perodua) is behind Toyota and Honda in some states and cities. I cannot give any credible evidence to support my statements (because MAA won’t share the data, for the exact reason I’m writing this long comment), but trust me, you won’t need any, coming from someone who keeps track of everything Proton did, is doing and will do.

Just drive around Damansara, Subang Jaya, Bangsar etc. and count how many new Protons you can see (just see the number plate, if it’s W 1234 X or WX 1234 X, then it’s new). In some places, you’ll be hard pressed to find a new Prevé, let alone Suprima S. Heck, some areas in Selangor and KL have more BMWs, Mercs and Audis combined than new Protons.

It’s not necessarily a bad thing, it’s just that Malaysians are moving up in the world (despite our government’s and some evil NGO’s best efforts), and naturally, as people move up, the bar does too. In this case, we can understand why very few upper class Malaysians will invest in a sub-RM100k Proton when they could get a RM200-300k European, Japanese or Korean car. Proton just doesn’t have a car for the luxury market. The closest thing on hand is the new Perdana, and that’s not even a Proton in my eyes.

So this leaves Proton with another dilemma; no matter how good their new cars are, some Malaysians will never buy them because they can simply get something bigger and more luxurious. It is heart breaking, but true. So I’m very glad that Proton has recognized the importance of serving those Malaysians who WOULD buy a Proton; specifically those in the less developed Northern and Eastern states, as well as Sabah and Sarawak. It is these people who will end up supporting Proton financially. Therefore, it is wise of Proton to support these customers as best they can in return.

• Low income survivor on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:32 am

You must be or have the potential to be politician to turn black into white…..salute you…. That’s why protong and nation is sinking…

Since when protong become a welfare companies in your argument? Tax the whole nation in buying expensive car and served a particular set of people? The ignorance of the true problem of protong bad management, and building a car that can export and gain return for the country instead of conning all locals via various irregular policies. Blaming the consumer is the Bolehland cronies repeated statement.