Toyota Corolla Altis – 1.8G replaces 2.0G in lineup

Not quite a year yet since its debut here, but some changes have been made to the Toyota Corolla Altis model lineup in the country – UMW Toyota Motor looks to have dropped the 2.0G model from the range and is replacing it with the 1.8G. The company’s website shouts the new variant by saying it’s coming soon – a tip of the hat to reader Andy Bee for the shout.

There’s pricing for it, as well as specifications – the 1.8G goes for RM119,900 on-the-road with insurance, which makes it just over RM3k cheaper than the outgoing 2.0G, which was priced at RM123,000 when the Thai-built 11th-generation Corolla was introduced here back in January.

There is only the one photo of the model shown above, but by all accounts it should shape up very much like the 2.0G – the general specs are identical, save a few minor additions to the kit list.

altis-pm-ipte

Aside from the 139 PS, 173 Nm 2ZR-FE 1.8 litre unit taking over from the 145 PS, 187 Nm 3ZR-FE 2.0 litre mill (still paired with the seven-speed CVT), the 1.8G now features black combination leather upholstery as that found on the range-topping 2.0V (the 2.0G’s seats were fabric, like the baseline 1.8E).

The car also gets smart entry and push-start ignition, as does the 1.8E – both it and the 2.0G had keyed-ignition when introduced. Otherwise, everything looks to be familiar ground – two-DIN DVD player with six speakers and a seven-inch touchscreen, the standard trim finish seen previously, two airbags (still no VSC) as well as 16-inch alloys and 205/55 profile tyres. The 1.8G still has halogen headlamps, but they now feature auto operation.

We’ll have more on the variant when it officially breaks cover. Meanwhile, also of note is a revision to the baseline 1.8E’s pricing – the variant is now priced at RM115,900 (OTR, with insurance), up from the RM114k when introduced. The 2.0V, meanwhile, continues on at RM136,000.

See how all the Corolla Altis variants shape up to each other as well as compare the differences between the old 1.8E and revised 1.8E on Carbase.my, and read our full test drive report of the Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V.

NEW-COROLLA-SPECS-630

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• iluvvsc on Oct 15, 2014 at 1:52 pm

no thank you because still no VSC..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 165 Thumb down 5
    • Toyota Moving Coffin on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:17 pm

This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) My brother just bought it a brand new 2014 Corolla. Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have.

UMW Malaysia will get this car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in Japan for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM120k.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM120,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis despite being launched 1 year plus already.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to youand your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.

How UMW? Get the car for US8000 (of even cheaper since its CKD) and yet take out the VSC??

All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!

Our lives not important UMW?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 315 Thumb down 20
      • 2.OG Owner on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Feel cheated.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 2
        • Where is Najib's 30% Promise? on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:35 pm

What is MOST important is where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up!

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us?

How to buy this car?

78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below. That is RM500 to RM2999). This was announced by Raja Nazrin recently quoting EPF data.

He was proving the Government wrong as the Government again lied to the people that we are on our way to earn GDP Per Capita of US$48,000 per annum by 2020. That is US$4000 (RM13,000) per month by 2020, which is 6 years time.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak refuted the governments claim and openly declared EPF figures that 78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below.

He also said 2 million households earn RM5000 snd below which is Government statistics.

Do you think average gaji of Malaysians will go up to RM13,000 in 6 years time?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 8
          • my friend, stop dreaming of car price is coming down. it is not going to happen. at all. not under the current government. we will have to be grateful if the road tax can even be reduced by 3%.

So, let’s move on. go get a car if you need to. don’t wait for the car price to come down. again, it will never happen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 6
          • CCB Ayam on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:19 pm

It’s possible Malaysian monthly income on RM13k.
            It’s soon.
            Coz your RM13k will be equal to USD 2K.
            Malaysia gov keep spending on cronism projects, how to pay?

Just print RM Kaokao!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
          • BLT_Club on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:19 pm

No money no talk la. No money work harder, no point coming here moaning…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
        • Altis owner on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Yes I felt cheated also,get the new Altis 1.8E in August,now 2 months later they launch the 1.8G and updating the 1.8E specs with keyless entry and start system.OMG!!

• i’m a proud owner of 2 gen altis.
            reliability & after sales; thumbs up with all the thumbs in the world.

Really looking fwd to be the 3rd time proud owner. But no vsc, no navi, no auto cruise, no 6 airbag.. i feel shortchanged. Going for Renault Fluence, 1k cheaper than altis 1.8G i can have it all + free 5 yrs service + 5 years warranty.. what more to complain. Come join me i can recommend u to get special pricing lagi.. terbaik.
            >> [email protected]

• UMW Government Company on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Go and google Paul Tan’s article on VSC. Once you read it, you WILL NEVER touch a car without VSC.

Paul Tan wrote the best ever article on VSC. Go google it and get a shock of your lives.

This is the problem Government owns everything. UMW is big time crony GLC.

Most governments protect the rakyat. They tell the car company to put safety features or be penalised.

Malaysia terbalik. Government own UMW. If they put VSC, UMW will get less profit. So, better for people to die and we at UMW and Government of Malaysia can make more untung and money.

What is human lives? Nothing. Better we at UMW make more money money money $$$$$$$

$$$$$$$$$
        $$$$$$$

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 6
        • CCB Ayam on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Dr M said
          You want Quality, You need paymore.
          You want VSC, buy 2.0V (honda accord price).

We are being squeezed!!
          140K spend buy a corolla!!
          it’s high spec 3 series, C class price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
        • policeman on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Oh yeah, I’ve driven cars without ESP for 20 years. Never got into trouble.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 64
          • BLT_Club on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Policeman mah. Turn on siren ok already what… ESP for what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • Crony King on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Don’t be so confident. Soon you’ll see trouble.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • riz (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:25 pm

yeah… try driving one with ESP
            feels alot safer , especially in the rain

• just words on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Your brother enjoying it there, but you still here.

Some sophistication you have there, quoting car models after toilets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
      • I am very sure you are culprit as ur statement is very very wrong..

1st..Altis is CBU from Thailand not CKD

2nd.. Altis 1.8E FOB port Klang price is ~RM43K not as u say <40K.

3nd.. 105% tax implment by Goverment make the car to be ~90K at Cost. Balance ~20K+ is their margin.

4th.. ur Crony part manufacturer statement & half of the part is made in Malaysua.. you are totally wrong as this is CBU car.

5th.. Altis Just launch early this year.. to be exact ~ 10 Months only.. not 1 year+ as u mention

6th.. confirm you are not Altis owner.. maybe not Toyota owner. So you din buy or own Toyota not means you are clever. All the car dealer / importer are crony related.. unless you are walking with your own foot.. eg:
        Ford,hyundai -sime darby
        kia – naza
        even VW CKD plant in Pekan also owned by crony.

The only things i agree with you is the car does not hv VSC. This is not acceptable

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 9
        • Bored Toyota Salesman on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Toyota salesman statement. They are bored in the office. No more sales.

Camry, nobody touching because new model already launched in US

Altis nobody touching because overpriced and no VSC

Vios, nobody touching because the Honda City is 100 times better value than the Vios.

So, Toyota salesman are very bored in the showroom. All play whatsapp or go online and spread rumours about Korean brands,

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 12
        • AntiCarTaxing on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Do you know that an AP cost is rm45,000 must paid by every new Corolla as a taxed in Malaysia. Without this tax, a Malaysian owner will enjoy the same features like your friend in USA. Surveyed twice before make your statements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
        • CCB Ayam on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:26 pm

For me.
          no matter CBU and CKD.

Facts
          2 bags, no VSC
          High Tax
          Cronism
          High profit masuk kocek.
          High risk bear by user.

This car! really not worth to buy.

Pay BMW cost , get Proton saga toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
          • agreed..
            ckd not a prob as long as got manufac warranty.

all i care is paying for what is worth @ the underlying value. Not due to the topup of AP / tax structure.

Exception to the pricing, Toyota is still among the best in the industry, but they are jeopardizing their sales if they still dont adapt and listen to why buyers going for competitor brands.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Malaysia has a trade agreement with Thailand. If it is CBU in Thailand with enough local (Thai) content it is taxed exactly the same as a car that is built in Malaysia. So CKD taxes apply.

• Master Troll on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Go live in the US. Stop whining. No one cares

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 102
        • I care

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
        • CCB Ayam on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Barang Naik Supporter spotted?
          Potong Naik supporter spotted?
          Crony spotted?
          AMNO supporter spotted?

You are silly to say so if you are none of above!

Support these policy, and you get risk
          and nothing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
      • alldisc on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:09 pm

the govertnment will never allow any toyota cars to be sold at the same level with Proton cars. so, between Preve at 75K and a corolla 1.8 at the same price, ppl will choose the latter and quickly killing national car business.

what the heck, govt owns UMW (thru PNB) so hardly surprising at all.

• pirlo on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:15 am

govt got nothing to do with proton anymore. if that’s the case, how come koreans cars can be cheaper and more features than toyota umw? how come myvi and iriz with same price but different features and safety equipment?

• Car-Fans on Oct 16, 2014 at 10:26 am

That’s y ppl said “Blood Sucker” – Shame on you UMW !!!

• Rokuth on Oct 17, 2014 at 5:43 pm

You know I used to sell cars in Santa Monica, California, and if a Corolla was obtained for US $12K the car is either:
        1) A 3 year old lease returned vehicle sold as used
        2) The car was leased.
        A base model Corolla is sticker priced for $17K so even after all the bargaining and discounts, it is practically impossible to get one for US$12K. Maybe if it was last year’s model that has been sitting on the lot, I might believe it… or it had been damaged before being sold… or the company’s demo model with a few thousand km on it…

• Anti-Toyota on Apr 13, 2015 at 5:54 pm

i have to agree with your statement, and i been to US and saw this car selling like a cheap crap. Only those low income people drives this around town, however in Msia its considered high income person will buy n drive proudly on the road.. on the other hand High income in US will drive their own national car, but low income person here will drive Proton/Perodua.

• Eamat on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Yup, why TOYOTA so kedekut? No TRC and VSC? The SAFETY features must be STANDARD to all cars variant!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • Lower than Dogs on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Malaysians have no shame. Government throw crumbs and tulang at the people, the people like dogs go and run and buy.

Even if you give a rotten bone to the dog, the dog will smell it and walk away.

But Malaysians are worse than dogs. Get low spec car with so low safety and yet go and crawl and buy the Toyota and feel proud of owning a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 22
      • CCB Ayam on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Obviously, UMW cheating on ordinary driver
        without VSC knowledge and only proud about TOYOTA badge. Sorry… Sam Loo..

Even we escape from UMW,
        buy others brand such Honda, Hyundai, VW, Kia, etc with full features… Money still goes into G cronies pockets!

G is slaving us. Sacrifice our safety, money, life quality.
        Fuel tax almost abolished, GST implemented, Hybrid taxes abolished for CBU, those action are well planned and prepare to enrich G cronism members.
        Giga projects introduced, G debt getting higher.
        Print money and pay those overcost white elephant projects.

Everything will price up 20-30% on coming few years!

MYR will depreciate soon to boost export.
        Malaysian slaved by G, get little paid.
        export cheap product to oversea. but Malaysian have to buy everything on high cost……

We need new party, new policy, new management.
        we cant eat kangkung everyday!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rrr on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:34 pm

It is ok. Not like Proton fans, we won’t ask you to balik kampung if you not happy with our specs.

Please consider others specs with VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • OMG…Other brands C segment spec are better than this shitty altis…No VSC and TRC….puihh….Still wanna put all new…WTF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • carazy on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:54 pm

With regards TC and VSC is very very essential in every modern car nowadays – regardless of cheap or expensive automobile. UMW should respond to the lack of auto-cruise is very unacceptable in a car price RM100K and above, not to mention just two airbags across the line is, again, very very unsatisfactory, while the whole world get full range of airbags in their corolla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • OMG…PRICE – Moving forward, SPEC – Moving backward…puihhhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Looks like Toyota really listen to customer feedback especially those buyer like me who purchased 2.0G when it launched. At least the keyless entry with push start is standard across variant, and 2 range top variant come with leather seat as standard. But still safety features like VSC & TRC should be standard on 100k+ C segment car. Feel abit cheated to purchase it early.==’

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
    • CCB Ayam on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Altis first Generation 1.8G with Traction Control…
      UMW moving forward to historic AE92 years…

• For UMW, they expect human to create the VSC during emergency, like the legendary AE86 in drifting action… ok… too much comic…

Obviously, waste of time…

• isengard12 on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:03 pm

nice effort, but VSC is still omitted.. boohoo UMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • Crony King on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:30 pm

What efford? They just raised the prices if you didn’t notice. 1.8G only 3k less than old 2.0G? Thats daylight robbery! There is no free lunch from UMW definitely.

Altis is dead model already and they still can raise prices. Now UMW can bury this model.

• cendol (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:04 pm

U know why the sudden introduction of this new spec?
    It’s because Corolla is not selling well in Malaysia, that’s why they need to spice things up a little bit, or rather downgrade the Corolla a little bit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rrr on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:37 pm

This is free market. The market is quite quiet now, so we give more. If our competitors give better, we will give better also. End of the days, you the customer get the benefit.

Even if we have sales issue, we also won’t ask government funding or asking government imposed more protection. We are selling cars, not condom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
      • Alex Lim on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:14 pm

But customer need VSC for standard can Toyota offer(Honda Civic 1.8S also have)Nissan Sylphy 1.8E have stability control and 6 airbag Toyota have it for base variant?Please tell your UMW which control the Toyota Malaysia ask Toyota Japan can Malaysia offer that because its many people complaining now about safety feature in Toyota model car.Need to be leader again in Sushi car you means,Toyota need do some work also.10 ago Vios is King in B-segment.Now?Vios arh?The Roti Kosong in sell at Starbuck with higher price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • Same L0rrr on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Thanks for your opinion. I will bring this into our weekly meeting. The company is working out something definitely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • altisturtle on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Dun forget to bring out issue on why Vios and Altis are too easy to be smoked by Preve

Tell them to put this thing into Toyoyol engine, it’s called TURBO!

lol

• alldisc on Oct 15, 2014 at 11:57 pm

somemthing to ponder about.

VW offering 40K rebate off for new passat.

Hyundai offering 17K off its new Sonata

Toyota offering 2k rebate for Camry.

see who is desperate to move stocks?

• Same L0rrr on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Malaysian road is not for smoke this smoke that, smoke chicken wings, smoke salmons FYI

That’s why you see Proton drivers and passenger are the largest group in Malaysian car accident fatality statistic. We rather our customer slow and safe. Save fuel, save repair cost, save life, save for next generation.

Want to be fast, get a cupchai then.

• Crony King on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Exactly. UMW should learn from condom companies. Nowadays ppl use condom for protection. No condom, no sex at parties. No VSC, no money for greedy UMW. Ppl smart already.

• D.I.Y on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Toyota – moving forward, and now downgraded
    Lol

• cendol (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Of course it is not selling well when you need to fork out extra money for ‘safety package’

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Ha!Ha! Padan muka UMW, business not good dy so now cut this cut that. Even if cheap by 10K but spec cheap by “thousand” also USELESS!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Ku buddy on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:06 am

To Maintain a good branding name with cust trust the cost ratio compare with bad image is 1:5
      Now UMW merely have to work hard if they still want their biz

• Almighty Snack Bar on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Haih..

Toyota Malaysia just never learn.

Now you know why Honda BS Malaysia sales is much better than you Toyota Malaysia?

Please change your marketing team.

Please.. eventhough I am a Honda user but i hope Toyota does change their strategy.

I am helping u.. better still hire me as ur marketing director.. Please Toyota Malaysia.. because of you i already gotten Honda eventhough i hate them..

Please Toyota, I am saying from the hearts of millions of Malaysians..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • Eamat on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Been using toyota cars for the last years and now I am not going to support toyota anymore. So kedekut, downgraded the most essential features of all cars, i.e. the SECURITY ASPECT. Plz Toyota, dont left behind.

• CCB Ayam on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:47 pm

If I m not remember wrong..
      Nissan sylphy and teana with VSC, 4 bags….
      for all specs.

• tehcho (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 2:01 pm

sylphy and teana got 6 airbag not 4 .
        now I think the best choice will be sylphy.

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Sam Loo will still say that Hailat is mother of all pickups and Vios is a god car, so go figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • frequency on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Even the 2001 year made 1.8G Altis come with VSC and TRC and now 2014 year, toyota is proudly bringing 1.8G without VSC and TRC. Moving forward ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Untuk Makan Wang shj on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Cheaper the price around 3k but downgraded the car from 2.0 to 1.8? Wow UMW still trying hard to cheat people..even though that coffin Altis is far behind rivals Civic,Sylphy or kimchi’s in term of specs,price n sales figure.Seems like those stinkies in UMW digging their own grave this year..Hello? Honda now No1 in Thailand ok? This year Honda No1 in Bolehland!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • cs tan on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Please give extra safety VSC & 7 airbags as standard. Keyless is not the main consider point for us to purchase a car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Just don’t buy this shit……!!!

• I can use my 2005 Altis for another generation since no VSC is included in 1.8G.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Matrix on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Get Honda City, this car can beat this stupid Altis.
    Better RV.
    Super FC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • I thought the vios is the better looking car compared to the city. Nicer colour choices too. But the specs list is lacking and the interior space is inferior. But the deal breaker was the half hearted marketing team. They said they have a model with the colour i wanted, its behind the showroom and they never got off their chairs to show it to me. So i went n got the City for the missus ; full specs 6 airbags , vsc, abd you name it. The honda sales person patiently showed me the different specs, colours, window films etc and did not try to push me to rush into a decision. Kudos to them. As for Toyota i still havent owned one after 35 years and its not on my bucket list

• Àlahai (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Vios discount rm4k
    Camry discount rm10k.
    This what i can see at my place.
    Altis i’m not sure. But by replacing 2.0g to 1.8g show that toyota is in deep trouble this year. Shame Loo will not getting the fat bonus this. 1/2 month maybe. Hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrr on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:41 pm

The market is quiet and it is year end thus we give some discount, it is normal marketing practice.

One thing I can assure you: you still get 2014 Camry with RM10k discount, we don’t put our new cars under years of sun bath at our warehouse.

Even when we get less bonus, we won’t ask government fund billions or ask government impose more protection.

We sell cars, not condom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
      • Àlahai (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:09 pm

I thought Toyota sell coffin with wheels. Toyota have their goverment aka Japanese goverment. Why it want protection and fund from Malaysian Goverment?
        Funny. If like that, proton also can ask japanese goverment to provide fund them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Same L0rrr on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Proton is instead the coffin with wheels. What is the majority of Proton on the roads? Not Preve, not Suprima S also but Iswara, Wira, Waja, Saga… These are the true death trap.

Toyota may ask for government once or twice during economy crisis, but definitely not Proton asking 30 years ago since 1980. Your father give u extra money once or twice, it is help/gift/award. But if he give u everyday, it become POCKET MONEY.

If Proton is eligible to ask funding from Japanese government, you think they won’t go ahead?? It is Proton man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • farghmee on Oct 15, 2014 at 6:26 pm

corolla kete baru xde VSC?
            sama la cam saga gitu.

• Àlahai (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 6:44 pm

How about Toyota best seller? Vios, Avanza and Innova. All of them didnt come with esc, TC and some of it didnt even come with 2 airbags. Wira, iswara and saga is old model. Even saga flx is based from 2007-2008 Blm model.

For vios, it’s only comparable to persona. Avanza and innova? Worse even to compare with alza and exora. Bouncy, handling like a boat and fuel guzzlers.

For your altis, it is worse than civic and your camry worse than accord.

P/S: i see more preve than vios and altis combined. If i see a vios, mostly a J spec auto.

• Aiya same lorrr how many times you want to repeat same things. That’s old cars, everybody here knows ady. Why you don’t say new Vios, still no VSC. Iris 40+K ady has one lor.

Toyoyol so shameful one.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:31 pm

2 airbags, no vsc…rubbbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • CCB Ayam on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Agree, no VSC, 2 bags, totally expensive crap!
      Sami.. will you keep the same words if you still work for barang naik?
      I think you will pusing and change your words again…
      LOL

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:44 pm

barang naik for u only…naik for u…number of mercedes for me also naik

• kenot on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:33 pm

as I remembered, the previous 1.8G Altis got VSC. but this one no VSC. it look like they not moving forward..hehe

• toybota on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:51 pm

i think many ppl don’t realise this is a damn good 1.8L 7-speed CVT.
    Better than Civic in all ways!

That douchebag who said he got Honda even though he hate Honda? What a klutz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 27
    • yeah good transmission, but you won’t able to get to enjoy it if you involved in accident and not surviving it due to lack of VSC which can save your life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
    • Crony King on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Damn good for 1998 standard. Stone age for today’s standard. Boo Toyotahi !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • breeze on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:17 am

In your dream that kind of cvt will better than Civic. Even Altis have VSC i also dont want to buy. Its a boring car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Almighty Snack Bar on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:29 am

Sorry.. as an educated person i won’t be spamming bad words or calling people names with uneducated rubb*** woops sorry.. people like you.

Of course getting Honda is much better than Toyota now, comparing the specs. BQ maybe maybe Toyota is better but sorry safety comes first.

BTW, thanks for proving to the world that garba** woops sorry.. like you exist in the world.

Thank to GOD also for creating such people if not we won’t be able to know what rubbis* woops.. sorry.. people behave like :)

• theanswer on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:01 pm

how expensive it can be? since u can sell the car over 100k.

• fluence on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Better buy renault fluence, nissan slyphy, hyundai elantra Nu 1.8 Sport, kia cerato 1.6 & 2.0, and peugeot 408 turbo in the same C-segment. You’ll get all the safety kits e.g. esc/esp, tc/asr, 6 airbags, abs, ebd, eba, isofix…
    They are all in the price range with toyota altis 1.8G…
    BTW, i am renault fluence owner… feel satisfied…
    Hahaha… some of you may ask “RV, RV, RV….” But your life and your love ones are less important than “RV”??? and just worth few ringgit only???
    Please ponder again on your choice to select non-esc/esp equipped car…. Proton Iriz also has now… so it is your choice….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • CCB Ayam on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:54 pm

I think almost 90% of car brands are owned by cronies.

• alldisc on Oct 16, 2014 at 12:14 am

the big ones…

DRB – Proton, Honda, Suzuki, Audi (wont be later)
        Naza Kia – Kia, Peugoet, Chevrolet, Citroen, Maserati, Ferrari
        Sime Darby – BMW, Hyundai, Ford, Land Rover, Alfa Romeo (some brands no more)
        Tan Chong – Nissan, Renault, Subaru

little ones..
        Berjaya Group – Mazda
        Sisma – Jaguar
        UMW – Toyota, Perodua (somehow)
        VGM – VW (but i suppose Audi, Skoda, Seat, Lambo)
        Merc Malaysia – Merc & smart
        BMW Malaysia – BMW

• am officially fluence for 2 days.. how to contact u bro?

• Sam. Loo on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Offer now… Come… Good RV Maa…. Cheaper some more…. Kimchi is guanchai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Look like Proton Iriz have better spec than this C segment car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • iskhalifah (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Its too bad that most Malaysians are blinded by brand image, gadgets & resale value, rather than safety awareness. The proof? I hardly see the well safety-equipped Sylphys (6 airbags & ESC/VSC standard on all spec) on the road, as compared to the Altis (both were launched not too long from one another).

UMW can just ditch out the push-start button & DVD touch screen reverse cam, and instead include VSC on the total package. Its just totally disapointing UMW… your top people & directors just profiteering too much by putting customers life at stake.

• Gov pls don’t subsidy petrol allowance to us , just take out the car tax , we welling to pump the high petrol price , example the new Altis save tax RM80,000.00 , the RM80,000.00 /RM150 (assume we pump petrol RM600 monthly , now we pay RM450 gov subsidy RM150), the RM80,000.00 can covered 44 years , if 2 cars at least 22 years .

• mastermind on Oct 15, 2014 at 6:08 pm

don’t cut tax on car impose more tax we
      want cheaper food,medical…no toll on the road
      We want more BRIM impose maximum tax for car buyers…
      They deserve (car buyers)pay more tax on car ..
      my income less RM3000.00
      buy more car mean I get more BRIM..
      IN MALAYSIA ‘SMART PEOPLE WORK FOR GRED C PEOPLE…SMART PEOPLE MUST SACRIFICE FOR LOW INCOME PEOPLE…LOW INCOME PEOPLE GOT MORE BRIM ..
      NOW SMART PEOPLE SAY:JANJI DICAPATI…
      LOW LEVEL INCOME SAY:HORRAY BN HORRAY BN…WE LOVE U PM…
      SO WHO IS MORE SMARTER:U or Me …no that is politician…they are the real winner…

So dont believe politicians…they just split us for they agenda……put money on they pocket first after that we just got left over…”KERAK’ lor

• amirad on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:14 pm

My 2006 altis 1.8g comes with 2 airbags and VSC. Now 2014, new altis 1.8g also 2 airbags and NO VSC. Moving forward but in a negative direction.

• The Real Same Lorr Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:16 am

Moving forward in profits for salesmen and staff only.

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Harga kereta turun, syukur BN tepati janji…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Anti-Establishment on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Toyota sales going down? Yahoo! Less shitboxes cluttering up the road with Ah Beng drivers!

Keep it up & we’ll get good cars as quickly as possible.

• Jimmy on Oct 15, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Joke of the year = Previa, with 2 airbags and no ESP, at RM250k.
    Does ESP (VSC) utilise the same hardware as ABS ? If yes, then to equip an Altis 1.8E or G with VSC does not add much to the cost.
    Marketing strategy to push people to buy 2.0V ya?

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Iriz: 42k, has VSC.
    Altis: 118k, no VSC.

Hmm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • cendol (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 6:35 pm

In few years times, Malaysian can only survive in Malaysia using RM.
    No change of surviving overseas.
    That is the aim of Malaysia, jaguh kampung only.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Oct 15, 2014 at 7:47 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • darkermarker on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Dont buy the damn toyotas. Teaching UMW a hard lesson until their sales down to zero for cheating Malaysian their hard earn money

This will sure make their UMW directors ride buses to work…

• Just make it 1.6 lah

• kelvin on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Buying this car is like downgrading from my 2008 altis with VSC… No thanks

• DanielJ on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:24 pm

better buy proton iriz 1.3 Std cvt…..equipped with ESP,TCS,VSC,ABS,EBD and BA… Also with dual SRS airbags….. just under rm42k…. lebih bagus drpd altis 1.8E

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • roxas on Oct 15, 2014 at 11:16 pm

whatever. still rubbish expensive.

• ben yap on Oct 15, 2014 at 11:28 pm

must be the 2.0G not selling well.

In fact, I don’t see a lot of altis on the road nowadays.

• majeed on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:03 am

Sam Lorr got RV?

• Big Minds, Small Steps on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:43 am

Same old mentality..why can’t we look at our behaviours first? Are we worthy enough? Will we not take having it for granted?

Only the wise would get me..

• David Wong on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:59 am

Let’s protest and boycott UMW and send a memorandum to Toyota Japan to complain on the shortchange of Toyota cars sell in Malaysia

• hi david, if you want me to support send memorandum, just email to me..tq

• jacksonljs on Oct 16, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Seconded that… What i really hope is to get UMW’s distributorship for Toyota Malaysia terminated and let Toyota Japan appoint other reliable distributor or perhaps let them do the distributorship themselves in Malaysia since Toyota customers or potential customers in Malaysia treated far more worse than a dog just because of maximise profit with ridiculously overpriced and ridiculously underspecified especially safety features (you have to fork out extra money to get so-called ‘Safety Pack’ with 7 airbags and VSC that MUST be there in first place).

@ David Wong and ley: In a memorandum, please also highlight these important facts how first batch of Camry XV50 2.5V as well as current G-spec Altis have their VSC and Traction Control STRIPPED OFF in Malaysia by UMW Toyota compared with previous generation for the sake of profit with no regards of motorist’s safety.

• dewaSemut on Oct 16, 2014 at 10:29 am

Malaysian consumers should have realised by now and no longer support UMW’s nonsense.. Continue to sell expensive cars with features far more inferior than Proton! What a load of rubbish!

• could authority take action to UMW because no VSC given. If nobody can’t take action to UMW..this thing will happen forever…

• I’m an Altis user, got mine in March 2014. I bought the car without even test driving it. I must agree with everyone that the lack of VSC is very disappointing, also as an early buyer, the key for the 1.8E is basically the same type of key you get with a Myvi.
    For all the safety flaws, the car is actually very good but definitely overpriced. For those who think Honda is better, try sitting in and Altis and compare it to the Civic. The Altis has soft touch plastics on the dashboard and on the top layer of the door panels, the same can’t be said of the Civic. The car is spacious and comfortable and is unlikely to give much mechanical or electrical issues, hence reliability and less downtime. Also it is worth mentioning that the car comes with really good tinting straight from the showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • breeze on Oct 16, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Civic and Altis both have different design trend. Civic may not comfortable in driving, but its handling superior and spirit also cant descride in words. Some people buy a car not because of the soft plastic on the dashboard. but the handling. Just like EVO X, its dont have nice interior and comfortable ride but the power and handling are superior. DO u get it. Your choice, cheers

• Protonlover on Oct 17, 2014 at 8:54 am

I thought there are less negative comment on imported car… But.. Malaysian is malaysian… Go for proton lah… Hahaha…

• coffin box with wheels hehehehe sounds like perfect fit!

• bukapintubayartol on Mar 07, 2015 at 8:58 pm

I never thought I would say this but the new facelift Elantra CKD (1.8L) seem more value for money

• abu la on Apr 16, 2015 at 11:08 am

UMW = U MUST WAIT !!

-wait for TRC
    -wait for VSC
    -wait for 9 airbags
    -wait for cheap price
    -wait for full spec
    -wait for good service
    -wait for electrical seat
    -wait …………