Uber drivers involved in crackdown by JPJ – report

uber-x

According to report by The Malay Mail, five Uber drivers have been involved in a crackdown by the Road Transport Department (JPJ), under the Ops Teksi Uber 2014 operation – which begun on October 1.

Of the five vehicles involved, one was confirmed as a private vehicle, a Honda Accord, while the other four were commercial hire-and-drive cars. The owner of the Accord has been issued a summons and will face a possible fine of between RM1,000 to RM10,000 as well as a prison sentence should it be demanded. His car has been seized for 30 days pending further investigation.

The four other vehicles were returned to their respective owners – with their documents confiscated pending further investigation by the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD). Due to a wide range of circumstances, the four vehicles could be returned to owners should proper documents and other factors correlate.

Said operation was launched earlier this month to begin a crackdown on the popular app and its operations with a task force consisting of roughly 30 personnel from the JPJ, SPAD and the police.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Jhgh

• schmuck on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Memang bodoh punya SPAD!

Teksi kurang asam why SPAD no crackdown on them??!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 2
      • unforgiven on Oct 16, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Just go to KL, masjid jamek area or petaling street, or even KL sentral. Take a cab/taxi and let me know what you think! Or just ask around your foreigner friends please! I’m sure everyone know what is the right thing to do, back to the basic of fighting for the item rights, fair ride.

• unforgiven on Oct 16, 2014 at 2:02 pm

If you let your 5 years old to choose between sitting in accord vs proton, I’m sure the 5 years old will be choosing something better, saga/wira/waja will be the last choice.

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Dammit, typo.

Was saying, JPJ has worst online portal (MySikap) ever! Yet they have all the free time and money to chase some car poolers.

Sau pei lar JPJ, bodoh asyik menyusahkan orang. Teksi samseng tak gedik nak kejar plak, u know i know cronies must make money. Ptuih.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 1
    • JPJ Director on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:25 pm

Inilah akibat tak bagi songlap untuk saya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • Julian Lee on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:10 pm

BODOH

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
  • Black Dog on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Boo! Shame on you, SPAD!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
  • Same L0rrr on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Simple Logic: When the cronies have a cut only, you have a chance to do business.

“Rakyat”, “Kemajuan” are all empty words, it is all about business and money!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 0
  • Ok, 5 drivers were cracked down. Yeah, big deal but out of how many Uber drivers? Why don’t the JPJ conduct an operation on all the taxi drivers in Klang Valley and see how many taxis, as well as the drivers are not ‘fit’ to ferry passengers? Then we will see if ‘5’ is really a big deal.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 0
  • Why are operations like this much more urgent than problems like road potholes, street lamp installations, etc etc?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 3
    • because the problems like these hurt their pockets.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 2
    • Maserati(Official) on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:46 pm

because SPAD is not enforced to take care of potholes and streetlamps silly!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
      • allergictoidiots on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:09 am

Dude you gotta know what you’re talking about in the first place. You’re publicly making a fool of yourself..

• iskhalifah (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:39 pm

They should put more effort to crack down errant taxi drivers involved in cheating, theft, sexual harassment, road bullies, AND also taxi companies which make quick bucks (charge high rentals for drivers, which in turn disobeyed the law to ‘cari makan’).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 0
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:43 pm

country bodoh, gomen bodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 31
    • Eyo (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 7:40 pm

You can insult the goverment but try not to insult our nation . It offends me as a malaysian and i’m pretty sure some others are offended too . Have a nice day bro

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 5
    • Najib on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Ini cakap bagus. Saya setuju!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Malaysia is a beautiful nation. Yes, please dont insult. U can spit on BN or more precise UMNO flag but if u do it on our flag, Im goina kick ur black butt. Have a nice day brothal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Authority or our Government are quick to act… amazing. But is against the services provider that hv good record n services… the bulk of the so called legal taxi operator problem that pluge the public is deemed ok… genius. U hv to be a dumb n idiot to trust our G.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Whynot on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Bring in the Tut-tut!

• policeman on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:58 pm

This is good. These are illegal taxis. There are laws on this matter, and therefore they should be obeyed.

Do not be so shallow and start calling people “cronies”

This is just like those “jaga kereta”. Sure it’s cheaper, but it’s illegal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 86
    • Crony King on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:14 pm

Didn’t know your kind had a share in this taxi business too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Maserati(Official) on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:49 pm

exactly

the taxis in malaysia are still good and the government is doing a good job in cracking down bad city taxis who are flouting the roads

we must trust out government as they are getting very efficiency these days thanks to the new cabinets, an example is the crackdown on Uber private vehicles

yes there maybe still some small reported cases on city taxis flouting the laws,but JPJ and SPAD have been working very hard to crackdown on them

mind you there are thousands of taxis, so it may take time, but we will eventually get there

just trust the government!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 70
      • Barang Naik on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Barang Naik / Crony spotted.
        Trust G ?? Support G??

U r bohodoh

Bodoh n hodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:07 pm

the cars are actually owned by limousine hire and drive companies.

the scheme is known as ‘Private Driver’, not taxi. no cash transactions involved.

• Bribe berry on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Bribed policeman spotted

• Like north korea, gomen monopolize everything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • stranger on Oct 16, 2014 at 9:54 am

please, n.korea is dictatorship, no gomen

• stranger on Oct 16, 2014 at 9:55 am

dictatorship of coz monopolize

Msia is democracy but handle like dictatorship style

• out of topic, where this nice photo taken?

• BLT_Club on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:17 pm

Afrer having experienced Uber, there is no way I would want to take a normal cab. The smell, the rickety sounds and worst of all the “fixed fares” are ridiculous. Thank you SPAD for championing what is evidently a broken system. Kudos!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • transformer on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:44 pm

LPKP or the new SPAD is a money generator for “them”
    anything that will have negative impact to their income will be illegal. they won’t stop controlling rakyat biasa… they just want rakyat to keep spending, buying their lousy car, lousy services(TM, IWK), keep paying tax to feed their cronies and their generations to come…. announce new development project is to feed them perpetually….

• tiger on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:11 pm

yesterday paper reported attempted kidnap and robbery of 2 college students by taxi driver at bukit bintang, they jumped out of mooving vehicle to save themselves after the taxi driver refused let them go after robbing and driving to somewhere

• tiger on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:12 pm

they pretended suddenly so caring claiming that “uber users not covered by insurance in accident” me thought omg, much more risky in real taxi many involved in accidents becoz they drove like mad

• roxas on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:59 pm

idiotic.. go get rid of your stupid red cabbie driver who oways cause danger on the road 1st. bad attitude too!

• RicoT on Oct 16, 2014 at 1:16 am

Would MyTeksi app or other similar app arrange a illegal taxi with expired license or unfit taxi to ferry you? Do they check the legality of a taxi and its driver? I am curious.

• Such a disgrace to hear.

I travel a fair bit and have used uber in Singapore Tokyo and London. And the service provided by uber drivers have been top tier, they act more like a personal driver and are very polite. In most cases also cheaper than the average taxi. A black cab from heathrow to central London cost roughly 60-70 pounds and a uberx cost 40-50 pounds. I’ve used it a couple of times in kl and the drivers etiquette and cost is similar to the ones overseas.

Now, I’m wondering why these first world countries can accept and co-exists with their respective taxis but we can’t. In Singapore, über has teamed up with local taxis and you can book a normal taxi using uber. Whats so hard about offering the same service here?! You get a bigger market for local taxis and we can choose between an uber car or a taxi. The demand for taxis in kl is high anyways. There’s been heaps of times where calling a cab has me waiting or there aren’t any available so uber can also help fill this gap. Not just in kl. for example I was Johor , iskandar, last month and no cab wanted to pick me up to go to Senai airport and there was an uber car available 15 mins away. What I’m trying to say is that there is clearly a demand gap and I doubt taxis will really lose a lot of customers to uber anyways.

Such a shame the cronys are so greedy to even see how the system can benefit them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Dear Friend,

Long stories cut short. Malaysia isn’t a first world country although we might look like one of it. LOL.

And also, those first world country cares about their citizen safety and also practicing merit based policy. In Malaysia, u know i know la. Evrything cronies come 1st. That’s why.

If let say Uber is owned by one of the sultan in Malaysia or some UMNO dato brought it in, u think SPAD dare to do ops on them? That’s why, Malaysia is nothg better than a communist country.

• You need to read the news. Uber is facing legal problem in Europe as well. I never use Uber but I support their business and I hope they can sort this our with our gomen.

• I have read the news. Uber has overthrown court decision in Germany. Korea currently has an ongoing case with uber.

What I was trying to say basically is that why don’t SPAD just adopt the system and have them follow the regulations needed. Then everyone wins. Cronies can use it for their business, we can choose between uber and a local cab(there will be times where a local cab would be more efficient)

How easy/hard is it to apply for a commercial insurance policy? In Singapore. You just need to switch private to commercial insurance and you can be an uber driver.

• paulz on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:40 am

I have a bad moments with taxi ride in Malaysia whereby they racked up the prices and behaving in stupid manner while in Indonesia and Singapore transportation gave better and fair service for passengers in busiest streets whether is day or night. Will never trust the Malaysia taxis and SPAD under government umbrella.

• WhattheBigFuss on Oct 16, 2014 at 9:22 am

Local Taxi and Limbo companies can’t take the heat of business competition and it need protection from SPAD. How SPAD can bash a transport services with provide a different class of services, where people get to decided value for their money. I would not use UBER service if news of their service are horrible.

Based on good feedback by earlier readers who used UBER, it provide better service and more like a private taxi.

We hear story of tourists complains when pickup by local taxi or limousine from airport. First impression of Malaysia gone to the drain, as they exit KLIA, do you think he/she will return to Malaysia. Thank you SPAD for promoting Visit Malaysia 2014 plus less tourist arrived to Malaysia since MH flight incidents. As for now, UBER driver can deny their wrong doing, let see what the court say.. Stay tune..please

• Mehmet Az on Oct 16, 2014 at 10:17 am

You think the government has been proactively tackling the taxi issue in Klang Valley?
    Try and get taxis in front of KLCC!
    Or to see the worst side of the taxi service in Malaysia: go to Subang Jaya, in between Subang Parade, Aeon Big and the KTM station. That problem has been there for more than 15 (FIFTEEN) YEARS!!!
    #ISupportUBER #ISuppportDecentTaxiDrivers

• MeToo on Oct 16, 2014 at 10:35 am

Stop criticising our Govt.

It takes a moronic population to elect a dumb Govt.

So if you think our Govt is bad… take a look in the mirror.. that’s the guy who is ultimately at fault.

• political KE70 on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:06 am

Stop taking this so negatively guys. This is to protect our nation income from being flown into a foreign investment.

This is business guys, if you want to do it in a foreign country, you need to seek the country permission first. Logic?

• SamKL on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:42 am

Local company should copy / emulate UBER business model & make it legal as to ensure we rakyat has the alternatives to the not-very-efficient taxi services.

• gaviny on Oct 16, 2014 at 12:25 pm

i wonder if UBER is gong to assist or just ‘oh sorry guys, ciao first’

• Steve Kok on Oct 16, 2014 at 2:19 pm

If the Gommen allow UBER to operate, those big boss with 500 teksi permit to rent can close shop liau :)

• Rosina Wan Mohamed on Oct 16, 2014 at 4:13 pm

To be a service provider, one must be duly registered. I have heard that UBER is very popular, but I do not know whether the organisation is duly recognized by the authorities. And please, friends, let’s not make unruly accusations against the people who had to do their duties…they are only doing their work as per job specs.

• Localtaxisucks on Oct 18, 2014 at 1:03 am

A local taxi driver once drove off with my right foot still in the car because at destination he increased the price from the price that we agreed on and i refused to pay the extra.So local taxi companies and thier idiotic drivers can go to hell

• Ninja boy on Oct 18, 2014 at 11:58 pm

I have had bad experience with local taxi but that stopped after using MyTeksi. My experience with MyTeksi drivers: all use meter, punctual and friendly.
    Give MyTeksi a try..