Lexus NX SUV – Malaysian estimated prices released, open for booking, 2.0 Turbo & Hybrid, from RM300k

Lexus NX Canada Drive

The Lexus NX, previewed at IGEM 2014 this morning, is pretty close to its Malaysian launch. Estimated prices for the SUV have been released by Lexus Malaysia, showing a line-up with two engine options, five variants and seven exterior/cabin colour combos, in total.

The Lexus NX is the luxury brand’s entry into the compact premium SUV segment, one that has been dominated by the Audi Q5 and BMW X3, and of late, the Range Rover Evoque. Porsche’s Macan also wants a piece of this lucrative pie.

First shocking the world as the LF-NX Concept in 2013, the Lexus NX has morphed from beastly showcar into a less divisive, but still striking piece of kit, debuting at Auto China in April 2014. The NX sits below the RX in Lexus’ SUV family.

Lexus-NX-Malaysia-PricesLexus-NX-Malaysia-Colours

Click to enlarge price list

Two powertrains will be available for the Malaysian market – the 200t and the 300h. We’ll focus on the former, which comes in four variants and is expected to take the lion’s share of NX sales.

Powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged engine with 235 hp and 350 Nm of torque at 1,650-4,000 rpm, the NX 200t does 0-100 km/h in 7.1 seconds and has a top speed of 200 km/h. The fresh four-pot, which has VVT-iW (intake) and VVT-i (exhaust), is mated to a new six-speed (conventional, torque converter) automatic gearbox. Dynamic Torque Control AWD manages drive to the tarmac.

It’s not a Lexus if it doesn’t come with a hybrid option, and the NX 300h is here to please the eco-conscious. It combines a 153 hp/210 Nm 2.5 litre four-cylinder Atkinson cycle engine with a 141 hp/270 Nm electric motor juiced by a nickel–metal hydride (Ni-MH) battery pack.

There’s also another smaller 67 hp/139 Nm motor on the rear axle for the E-Four AWD system. Total system output is 197 PS. The 0-100 km/h sprint is done in 9.2 seconds while top speed is 180 km/h.

LEXUS-NX-PRICE-SPECS-LIST

Click to enlarge spec sheet

As mentioned, four variants of the NX 200t – Standard, Premium, Luxury, F-Sport – will be available along with a single NX 300h. Click on the brochure scan above to view the differences between each trim level. Six exterior colours are available for all variants except for the F-Sport, which has five options including the F-Sport exclusive Exceed Blue Metallic. Each variant also comes with a unique interior colour combo.

Priced from RM300k to RM390k, the CBU from Japan Lexus NX is well equipped to challenge the establishment. To give you an idea of the battleground, the latest CKD X3 facelift is priced from RM329k to RM349k, while the ageing Q5 2.0 TFSI retails for RM328k. The Evoque is a RM400k fashion accessory, while RM420k buys you a very basic Porsche Macan.

The Lexus NX is a breath of fresh air for a brand that, CT 200h apart, has been selling cars with big naturally-aspirated engines. Now armed with a 2.0 turbo, Lexus, starting with the NX, has the tool it needs to properly challenge the Germans. As you might have guessed from the lead shot, we’ve driven it already, so stay tuned for the test drive report. Like what you see so far?

Thai-spec Lexus NX 300h on display at IGEM 2014, KLCC

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Retep on Oct 16, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Lexus pricing no joke man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • TOTAL REKALL on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:39 pm

one word…. RECALL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • Same L0rrr on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Even minor defect, Lexus will recall and ensure a perfect quality to the customers.

You won’t see the Proton style “anything can go wrong will go wrong” symptom here. Not a chance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 2:40 pm

ini memang gila.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • sudonano (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:11 pm

I’m not sold one bit. I was actually quite happy with the spec list, especially the F sport variant, as it had adaptive suspension, but then I realised, hold on, the RX does exist.

Technically, the Lexus NX is actually smaller in terms of wheelbase compared to the Q5, as it has a 2660mm wheel base, exactly the same as the Evoque, but 200 mm smaller than the Q5 and X3, and about 100 mm smaller than the RX. While I believe for the segment, the prices should hover around the 350-360k mark at most (which was why when the 9 speed Evoque came, I was saying how it was grossly overpriced, considering Land Rover MY did cheapen the interior with the lack of the leather trimmed dash, no more Oxford leather seats), but to see the NX in range topping spec going for about 370k, err…. that is steep.

I’d have thought Lexus would have placed the F sport at 350k, at most. That would give it some breathing room from the RX270. The Q5 is pretty impressive for what it is, despite the age, it feels solid and drives well too, though you can see the age in the interior. The X3, I’m sorry, it just feels cheapened out too much. Just stepping out from the similarly priced 520i or 520d, you can see how cheap the X3 feels. As for the Evoque, sorry Danny but I don’t agree on the part where it is a fashion accessory. It handles really well for a Land Rover, and has bloody good traction in insanely heavy rain, even at 130kmh. The AWD system feels secure, and tends to fare better than quattro, in terms of response time, with xDrive probably being the closest thing to match it. The interior for the price, feels really well made and luxurious (at least on the 2011-2013MY units with the 6 speed auto) compared to the X3 and Q5, and mostly equalled by the Macan. Having said that, the fuel economy is nonsense, the updated pricing is nonsense too, and the boot is a bit on the tight side. But by no means a fashion accessory.

The Porsche Macan is an interesting preposition though, unfortunately, Porsche MY screwed it up a bit on the pricing. They should have put the base price for the 2.0T to be at 350k, so with the options, typical ones like PASM, sport chrono, Bluetooth, satnav, KESSY, and a bunch of other stuff, which comes to about 80k, we’d be able to get the Macan 2.0T at about 420-430k. If they had done that, I can foresee the X3, Q5 and Evoque will be wiped out. Flat.

Right now, the XC60 T6 is nearly here, and it too is bringing some cool stuff with nearly 400Nm of torque, giving it BMW 328i/528i acceleration numbers, and a very promising 5 year warranty too. Wondering to see if it will be in a decent 350k price and with AWD, cause right now, I’d say I’d place my money on that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
      • Hi sudonado I thanked u for your informative comments. I’m actually zooming in this car n Volvo XC60 T6 but I’ve never driven a Lexus nor a Volvo. If u or anyone could share their experiences on these 2 brands in terms of safety, reliability, after sales service & value for money, I would greatly appreciate that.

• Sonyman on Oct 17, 2014 at 6:55 am

Lexus, very luxury, but seriously, it’s a toyota. Volvo Xc60. It’s a different ball game, new engine, new type of power,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
          • alex_in_the_house on Oct 19, 2014 at 1:55 pm

But volvo is china now. What’s wrong a car brand to enlarge it’s market to luxury segment? FYI, lexus overturned the luxury market since they launched.

• empro on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:48 am

So an Audi, Bently, Bugatti, Lambo and Porsche is actually a Volkswagen?

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:48 am

Hi cody, thanks for the feedback!

Well I was in the same position as you a while ago while looking at a premium SUV, was looking at the Audi Q5 and Volvo XC60 T5, but decided not to get either and went for something else, but that was because I didn’t really need such a large SUV anymore.

Now when I was looking around, it was either the XC60 T5 with PowerShift or the Q5 2.0T with the S Tronic at that time. The XC60 T5 had decent power, so I would guess the T6 will be even nicer to drive. Fo r me the XC60’s interior was really shockingly good for the price compared to the Q5 and X3. The seats were really good I would say, better than the Q5.

However the one problem with the old XC60 was fuel consumption, and the ride quality. The ride was very floaty for me, and the suspension is not settled at high speed, about 110kmh or so. On the twisty roads, it rolls a fair bit too…

The Q5 was decent to drive, fairly practical and OK seats, but for me, the S tronic was a bit of a mess up, it has the inherent DSG judder which I know is normal for dual clutch transmissions, but somehow the Volvo’s one was not so obvious although it too is a dual clutch at that time. Now both are using normal 8 speed automatics so it should be really smooth. Another thing with the Q5, I just felt while it was well put together, it was starting to feel a bit out of date.

If you are looking at the Lexus and Volvo, I would say both should be fairly reliable, and have good aftersales. Volvo aftersales, based on experience with a V40 is pretty good, and I heard Lexus is really good too. Safety wise, can’t beat the Volvo as it is really a tank. Go and see the IIHS small overlap test, the toughest test on cars, and Volvos even the old ones, ace with full marks. Value for money, while the price of the T6 Volvo is not out yet, I would say it will be cheaper than the NX.

However if you are not in a rush, why not wait for the new Volvo XC90, it sure looks impressive! Should be here next year.

• Tq Sudonado & Sonyman. btw Sudonado I follow your comments in diff topics quite a bit n my knowledge on cars were enriched by some of it. I’m looking for a compact suv n XC90 is a bigger car. so until I test both cars n gather more feedbacks, my options r open. cheers

• Uncle_Sammy (Member) on Oct 26, 2014 at 9:05 pm

One word, Sime-Darby.

The grey importers will rejoice as buyers will flock to their cars which are 50% cheaper!

• Uncle_Sammy (Member) on Oct 26, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Apologies, should be UMW. Another crony company making extravagant profits to enrich those at the top.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Woot F-Sport with Variable Suspension! Wonder how much that’s gonna cost.

The pricing matches its rivals to be honest. The base X3 has xenon lights, comfort access and navi while the base NX doesn’t have any of those except a reverse camera and I bet the NX Premium price will match the base X3.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 2:50 pm

My bad I just noticed the price haha. Yep the Premium matches the X3 petrol version and the F-Sport @ 370k sounds tempting for the adaptive suspension.

• Cool interior and exterior , if the price can fix under 300k for the basic varient , it is more attractive

• xiper (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 3:20 pm

a 300k car with halogen headlamp at Y2014??

Seriously, UMW?

• Good Pricing on Oct 16, 2014 at 3:56 pm

IMHO, I think UMW did a good job with pricing and specs for the NX. 5 variants is great too if they really are looking for selling the NX in high volume. Compared to its rivals such as the X3/X4,Q3/Q5, the NX comes very well equipped and the prices actually justifies it well.. Unlike the outgoing Lexus lineup which doesn’t even come with any real revolutionary safety features such as BSM,Rear-Cross traffic alert, Dynamic Radar Cruise Control/Lane Departure Warning/Anti-Collision (Other countries gets this in their Lexus)… Hopefully, UMW will update the specs on all their line-up to justify its pricing..

• cendol (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% car price reduction?
    3% also don’t have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Bro… u believe kah? C’mon none of us Malaysian believe it. Only those 47% believe. So might as well work hard and earn a decent living.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:36 pm

you work hard….you can only earn a normal living…. unless u do dirty business or collude with gov crony…u can never be rich

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • Dr. Doom on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:28 am

yap. working very hard like me who drive BMW 3 series 330. Almost everyone see me their eyes so red and envy like in hell. I was laughing at them everytime. Lazy and stupid candy ass moron!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
          • Envious Lazy People on Oct 25, 2014 at 8:10 pm

Haha agree Dr. Doom. Some people are just jealous and bitter like Semi Value. Cannot afford then call people who can dirty or corrupted. Probably one of those people that only know how work hard but not smart.

• Overprice on Oct 16, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Seancorr. The base nx offer Led low beam headlamp instead of xenon. But it’s high beam is still halogen.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Damn, thats pricier than the base IS250. Only the IS250 F Sport costs more. But the IS250 F Sport is a really good sports sedan. Whereas the NX is just an average SUV (but looks great I must admit).

The NX may have slightly faster acceleration than the base X3, but elsewhere, the Beemer will just run circles around it. Also, how come the NX turbo only has a 200km/h top speed? Is this correct? Considering its 230bhp power, was expecting higher.

• shawal on Oct 16, 2014 at 5:00 pm

f sport seems like the natural choice…

• Kong a on Oct 16, 2014 at 5:14 pm

To cut down price of petrol, please see below:

Plz read this….excellent idea to reduce PETROL PRICE by PRICE CONTROL – A brilliant idea.

Lets do it… why not try?…..

Plz read until the end and plz make a commitment for our benefit.
    This is known as ‘price control’

It seems that price of petrol will keep increasing until RM3.00 by next year end. If you and everyone plays a part we can collectively force petrol price to come down.

Philip Hollsworth a brilliant economist came up with this idea. When compared to many other measures, ideas and campaigns, this idea works better, easier to enforce and manageable. On the previous campaign where we were supposed to boycott for a few days or a month petrol from a particular seller eg Caltex, Petron etc, this campaign did not suceed; but this new campaign has started and we are all going to force Petronas to revise its petrol price thru this boycott campaign.

Of course this petrol company is laughing at us but lets see who is going to have the last laugh. Previously we were supposed to cut down on travel to reduce petrol expense but this new campaign wil not burden us.
    No matter what, this new campaign is already working and we need each of you to play a small part for long term benefit for is all.

Do you know according to market research and information from OPEC, the reasonable price of petrol in Malaysia should not go beyond 0.95 sen a litre? So why is it sold so much higher? Because we are being robbed. We are treated as suckers. The petrol producing Companies are profiteering so much. We as consumers have to and must teach them a lesson ‘ Never underestimate the power of the common man’. We must stop them from robbing us.

And therefore we have to pass this message to as many people as possible. We must stop buying petrol from a particular seller / company for a certain period and that company must be the biggest seller and market leader so that all other Companies will follow suit. That market leader will have no choice but must readjust its pricing to get back its customers.

The idea is this:

For the whole of this year until 31st December 2014, effective from today we are all going to boycott PETRONAS.

This giant is the one which is manipulating the petrol price. As long as there is no drastic action Petronas will continue to cheat us.

With our boycott of Petronas and as it losing customers they wil see that business starts increasing for the other Petrol Companies and Petronas will quickly start reducing price to attract back all its customers. And when this is done other companies will start reducing their prices as well. But for this to be effective and producing desired results we all must do our part.

Its easy to start this off. The idea is for each of you to forward this message to all your friends, contacts etc right now.

If each one of us forwards this to st least 10 people or more (30 x 10 = 300)
    And if the next 300 forwards it will reach 3000 and so on. And by the time it reaches the 6th line, it will surely reach 3 million. Plz do ur math; it is simple but very effective.

Once again;
    1) forward this to at least 10 people.
    2) stop using Petronas immediately.

I challenge you; plz do not think we cannot be effective. We will win:

This campaign has started; play your part. Plz continue with your commitment. We have to continue

1. Forward this email to all your friends and contacts,
    2. Buy your petrol from other companies but not Petronas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
    • King Idiot on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Haha…RBA detected. We talk about car not fuel price here. Please go to other forums. I will go to Petronas more after this ….you are so brayokmok..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
      • kong a on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:59 pm

go to hell also who cares.it needs common sense to join this compaign

• VWfanboi on Oct 16, 2014 at 5:36 pm

ok i think the design nicer than evoque…. no joke…

• evoque is nice but when service quality and parts price far behind lexus

• BeemerFreak on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:41 pm

One look at the pricing u know it is doomed. It should undercut the incumbent of the class “Audi Q5” by at least 50k to make sense. Don’t forget Audi is CBU GERMANY as well. Freight charges alone makes the Audi to better buy and it comes with 4 years warranty.

Autocar also recently rated the ride of the NX as bordering unbearable especially for the F Sport variant.

UMW has gotten it wrong again, as usual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • empro on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:01 am

I dont understand the mentality… Just because it is Japanese it has to be cheaper?

Why Volvo so expansive since it’s Chinese owned? Logic would then be that the XC60 has to be 100k cheaper.

• tolota on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:57 pm

300k car still use cheap PU pretending it is leather. Ptui.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • heybadigol (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:10 am

Mercedes also uses synthetic leather (a nicer term for PU). And have been for ages. And by the way, Merc & Lexus PU is surprisingly softer and more durable than actual leather.

• dreaming of maserati on Oct 17, 2014 at 1:02 am

390k for this rubbish? Crazy lexus arrogant pricing again. Only fanboys will buy this crap. I’d rather get a RR evoque or porsche macan anytime. Both more luxurious and class than cheapo toyota NX. We will see alot rusting in the yard like most lexus here.

Thumbs me down fanboys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
  • Porsche guy on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:11 am

Lexus brand is going down especially in europe… Just some overpriced toyota… Guys dont botherlah… If you can afford it just go for Macan… This car got a very poor rating in europe and the design is defiinitely ahbeng’s… WTH… Lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • das auto on Oct 21, 2014 at 2:13 pm

I can see alot of Lexus salesman here thumbing down all the negative comments about the pricing of this NX. Lexus sells like what? 150 cars a year in malaysia? They used to do well with duty free CT200h.
      Now most Lexus salesmnan so free swatting flies and surfing online all the time LOL.

• #teesc on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Mr Tee

FYI

• james on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:56 pm

most expensive only cost $41,310=> RM 132192
    Wow!!! UMW fat fat profit…

Two versions of the 2015 NX are offered in the United States, the NX 200t powered by a 235hp (238PS) 2.0-liter turbocharged gasoline four, and the hybrid NX 300h with a 2.5-liter Atkinson-cycle gasoline unit and an electric motor producing a combined 194hp (197PS).

Excluding a $925 delivery and handling fee (*), the NX 200t starts at $34,480 for the front-wheel drive model and $35,880 for the AWD version, while the NX 300h is listed at $39,720 with FWD and $41,310 with AWD.

• I am an Ah Beng and dis is my dleam caaar !

• Today went to show room and test drive this car.

Pros:-
    1. Smooth and powerful pickup
    2. Comfortable rear seats with adjustable recline degree to suits the passenger preference, far better than range rover evoque which is to straight up.
    3. Sporty looks for me but the cosmetic appearance might not be everyone’s liking.
    4. Slightly above average on cabin noise insulation.

Cons:-
    1. The rear seats are too cramp to fit 3 adults with average size. I am a six footer and while I do not find any problem for the leg room but the width at the rear made it difficult to squeeze the third person in for long journey ride.
    2. The price is on the upper side which even the premium model does not come with GPS and and other gadgets that deem to be the basic functions offered by the competitors.
    3. The warranty is only 100,000kms /5 years, whichever comes first.

The current waiting period for the car is approximately 3 months and according to the salesperson, majority of the people placed the booking for F type model.