Volvo XC60 T6 arriving soon with 306 hp and 400 Nm

xc60-t6-brochure

A brochure, detailing the specifications of the Volvo XC60 T6 has surfaced on the website of Volvo Federal Auto Glenmarie, indicating an impending launch of a more powerful variant of the Volvo XC60 – which is currently available in a single ‘T5’ spec.

It is expected to come with a tuned version of the Drive-E powerplant currently in service in the Volvo XC60 T5. The 2.0 litre, turbocharged four-cylinder engine in the ‘T6’ state of tune produces 306 hp and 400 Nm of torque, paired to an Aisin-sourced eight-speed automatic gearbox.

The incoming T6 betters the T5 with 18-inch rims as opposed to the 17-inch design on the latter, plus the addition of adaptive digital display on the instrument cluster – which is an option on the T5. The power increase is a definite welcome over the T5, which has 245 hp and 350 Nm of torque.

Apart from that, one can expect the full arsenal of safety features from the T5 to carry over. Volvo’s 5+5+5 coverage plan – which includes a five-year warranty, five years of free service and a five-year access to the Volvo On Call roadside assistance service, is standard.

With the arrival of the T6 variant set to take place in the near future, all that is left out of the equation is the price. The T5 variant is priced at RM288,888 on-the-road without insurance. With that said, how much are you willing to pay for the added power and kit?

GALLERY: Volvo XC60 T5 facelift

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• ThePolygon on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:39 am

How much are you willing to pay for the added power kit? From the old pricing, I guess it’s wishing thinking to pay less but I think it might end up with 1k for 1 hp.

• ABTguy (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 4:09 pm

I am only willing to pay the same price for such a cold car as the T5 version.

If more expensive, bye bye :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • R Design on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:57 pm

One skinny sales fella from KL said price is around RM320k. If it is true then it is a great buy. BMW X3 or Audi Q5 cannot beat it in performance or price. Only downside is that it is only 2WD.

Skinny salesguy also said only 20 units available for this year so Volvo fans and power meisters better get this quick before it finish.

• Aaron on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:54 am

I can not accept the fact that, the Chinese Volvo can tapao my Porsche Macan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • gaviny on Oct 16, 2014 at 12:23 pm

lets just think about this 300HP in a XC60.

Wow

This is good news for the v40 and s60. It means the doors are completely open again for high powered models at pricing less than the germans

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 12:37 pm

This is not twincharged meh?

“Details of the first cars to get the new engines have now been revealed. The Volvo S60 T6 FWD will now use a 2.0 litre engine from the new engine family, officially called the ‘Drive-E’ family. The 2.0 litre direct injection engine is equipped with both a Roots supercharger and a turbocharger, with the supercharger filling in the bottom end of the torque curve, and the turbocharger kicking in later when the airflow builds up.

This 2.0 litre engine is mated to a new eight-speed automatic gearbox, which means the Ford Getrag Powershift dual-clutch transmissions have been replaced as well. 0-100 km/h takes 5.9 seconds, thanks to 302 hp and 400 Nm of torque.”

Read more: http://paultan.org/2013/10/28/new-volvo-drive-e-engine-family-debuts-volvo-s60/#ixzz3GHMx0VCz

Interesting that Volvo’s Drive-E is not deemed to be EEV, tak cukup jilat?

• Actually, there 2 types of T6 engine in Volvo family worldwide…
      1)- T6 AWD with 305Ps, 440Nm on Dual charges engine
      2)- T6 FWD with 306Ps, 400Nm on turbo engine.

• It is good to have more hp and torque but if you are driving along Federal Highway or LDP, a Kancil can be next to an AMG.

What I like the most is the safety features that Volvo has but other makes are lack of.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Thats a lot of power & torque for a tall FWD based car. You will really need traction control on at all times to ensure no/less torque steer. But still, in a straightline, this XC60 will put some hot hatches to shame.

• CCB AYAM on Oct 16, 2014 at 1:36 pm

New Era is coming. “Multi Speeder” will be the trend of coming 5 years.

Volvo you got guts and nuts!
      Launch 8 speed ahead others consumer vehicle.
      Something that volvo cleverer. I believe this 8 speeder box are Aisin torque converter gearbox.
      Dual Clutch seems not ready yet!

VW, wish you launch your 10 speed or 12 speed dual clutch soon! Kindly test in variant drive condition properly before launch it!

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:23 pm

What in the world are you talking about? I think Volvo did the right thing in choosing an 8AT rather than a DCT. Even with all that performance, I think they’re prioritizing a smooth and refined driving experience rather than outright performance. From what I’ve read so far, DCTs are rather jerky and unrefined at lower speeds and some have trouble downshifting on demand. Plus, after the VW DSG fiasco, I doubt many people are willing to trust in DCTs at the moment.

And look at BMW: they’re doing very well with that ZF 8AT found in most of their cars. With the right tuning, Volvo can achieve similar results…as long as the Aisin 8AT is up to snuff.

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Jangan persoal Volvo’s safety, the world’s safest car.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Pretty soon we cannot really persoal their performance, too…

• glenmarie22 on Oct 16, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Wrong info, the T6 drive-e can actually do 0-100km/h in about 6.1s

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 2:42 pm

won’t be cheap..but considering how much that lexus nx is….this is a bargain

• Is it a 4wd?

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Yes, but only when there is slip. Most of the time, when grip is adequate, its just an FWD car. Its not like Audi Quattro, which though rear biased, all 4 wheels are powering the car at all times.

• neemfa on Oct 16, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Iriz steering.. hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • kangkong on Oct 16, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Ask vw to bungkus. Aftersales service Volvo win, safety Volvo win, power Volvo coming strong, reliability Volvo win, Design subjective to individual, Price value for money.
    I will definitely go for Volvo over those more expensive Audi, Merz or BMW.

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Fuel consumption also Volvo win. Some official numbers:

Volvo XC60 T5 : 245 hp, 6.7L/100km, RM 288,888
      BMW X3 XDrive20i : 184 hp, 7.2L/100km, RM 328,800
      Volvo XC60 T6 : 306 hp, 7.3L/100km, RM ???
      For teh lulz, Iriz 1.6 CVT’s fc 7.4L/100km
      Audi Q5 2.0 TFSI : 225 hp, 7.9L/100km, RM 328,000

People buy VW so that they can join Daphne Iking protest VW’s lousy car and after sales. Hahah, padan muka despo suckers. This “Chinese” car better than German’s Proton, muka campak kat longkang la pakai VW ini machiem.

Volvo owners can enjoy good time, see on fb, Volvo owners enjoy epic road trips with epic sceneries. VW owners’ epic scenery is workshop, waiting months for spare parts without replacement car. If warranty is over, epic repair bills too. Most spectacular epic view indeed! Jilat Germans somemore, jangan tak jilat!

• Sankar on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:20 am

Hmm, but if you ask me, I have still yet to encounter any issued since I got VW passat so far..my car still working fine for me..and for the protest that you mentioned, that Daphne Iking in facebook profile is not even real account, I dun think so anyone will go for the protest and I am not going….

• oil worker on Oct 16, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Heard from salesmen the other day, its coming out this Sunday, 18th.. priced around 318k++…

• damonlee on Oct 16, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Very good spec! they should have call it XC60 R instead of T6 which the name is more “garang”. 300hp, more than what VW Golf R offer now…

• “R” had been applied & register under Volkswagen patented right worldwide at few years back, so now Volvo can only use R design…

• Kong a on Oct 16, 2014 at 5:16 pm

To cut down price of petrol, please see below:

Plz read this….excellent idea to reduce PETROL PRICE by PRICE CONTROL – A brilliant idea.

Lets do it… why not try?…..

Plz read until the end and plz make a commitment for our benefit.
    This is known as ‘price control’

It seems that price of petrol will keep increasing until RM3.00 by next year end. If you and everyone plays a part we can collectively force petrol price to come down.

Philip Hollsworth a brilliant economist came up with this idea. When compared to many other measures, ideas and campaigns, this idea works better, easier to enforce and manageable. On the previous campaign where we were supposed to boycott for a few days or a month petrol from a particular seller eg Caltex, Petron etc, this campaign did not suceed; but this new campaign has started and we are all going to force Petronas to revise its petrol price thru this boycott campaign.

Of course this petrol company is laughing at us but lets see who is going to have the last laugh. Previously we were supposed to cut down on travel to reduce petrol expense but this new campaign wil not burden us.
    No matter what, this new campaign is already working and we need each of you to play a small part for long term benefit for is all.

Do you know according to market research and information from OPEC, the reasonable price of petrol in Malaysia should not go beyond 0.95 sen a litre? So why is it sold so much higher? Because we are being robbed. We are treated as suckers. The petrol producing Companies are profiteering so much. We as consumers have to and must teach them a lesson ‘ Never underestimate the power of the common man’. We must stop them from robbing us.

And therefore we have to pass this message to as many people as possible. We must stop buying petrol from a particular seller / company for a certain period and that company must be the biggest seller and market leader so that all other Companies will follow suit. That market leader will have no choice but must readjust its pricing to get back its customers.

The idea is this:

For the whole of this year until 31st December 2014, effective from today we are all going to boycott PETRONAS.

This giant is the one which is manipulating the petrol price. As long as there is no drastic action Petronas will continue to cheat us.

With our boycott of Petronas and as it losing customers they wil see that business starts increasing for the other Petrol Companies and Petronas will quickly start reducing price to attract back all its customers. And when this is done other companies will start reducing their prices as well. But for this to be effective and producing desired results we all must do our part.

Its easy to start this off. The idea is for each of you to forward this message to all your friends, contacts etc right now.

If each one of us forwards this to st least 10 people or more (30 x 10 = 300)
    And if the next 300 forwards it will reach 3000 and so on. And by the time it reaches the 6th line, it will surely reach 3 million. Plz do ur math; it is simple but very effective.

Once again;
    1) forward this to at least 10 people.
    2) stop using Petronas immediately.

I challenge you; plz do not think we cannot be effective. We will win:

This campaign has started; play your part. Plz continue with your commitment. We have to continue

1. Forward this email to all your friends and contacts,
    2. Buy your petrol from other companies but not Petronas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • tokmoh (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:22 pm

Interesting, but flawed. We’re using imported crude, Petronas can’t possibly control market price.

• PET Staff on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:01 am

Dear Kong,

As a PETRONAS staff, i found your remarks rather hilarious and uninformative. Do you think PETRONAS control market price? Do you think PETRONAS control Malaysian fuel prices? Please do some detail research, and find information where majority of fuels in Malaysia are originating (including those sold by Shell, Petron, Caltex, etc etc).

By boycotting PETRONAS, will not resolve high fuel prices. Perhaps you might want to talk to government on this, or vote for change of government next time. :)

• 400Nm all into FWD…any big difference ?
    Get T6 or wait for XC90? Ignore the 5+2 seats in XC90… any big help ( the extra 2 small seats in XC90 ) anyway ?