GALLERY: New Proton Iriz – spec-by-spec comparison

We’ve just returned from testing the Proton Iriz in Penang, and our usual comprehensive review will be available soon. In the meantime, we have prepared an in-depth spec-by-spec comparison of the four different trim levels on sale for your viewing pleasure.

UPDATE: Our full comprehensive review of the Proton Iriz (1.3 and 1.6 engines, manual and CVT) is now up.

First, the prices – the 1.3 litre Standard model kicks off the Iriz range at RM42,438 for the manual and RM45,438 for the CVT. Next up, the 1.3 Executive at RM46,438 for the manual and RM49,438 for the CVT. Moving up to the larger 1.6 litre engine, the Executive goes for RM53,438 for the manual and RM56,438 for the CVT, while the top-of-the-range Premium retails at RM59,438 for the manual and RM62,438 for the CVT.

Now, let’s run though the equipment levels on all of these variants, shall we?

Proton Iriz 1.3 Standard

Proton_Iriz_1.3_Standard_ 001

• 1.3 litre VVT engine, 94 hp/120 Nm
  • ABS, EBD, Brake Assist
  • Electronic Stability Control, Hill Hold Assist
  • Isofix mounts on rear seats
  • Seat belt reminder for front seats
  • Dual front airbags
  • Reverse sensors
  • 14-inch alloy wheels
  • Silver “Proton Wings” grille
  • Fabric seats
  • Three-point rear seatbelts, 60:40 split-folding
  • 2-DIN audio system with Bluetooth, AUX, USB
  • Unpainted exhaust

Proton Iriz 1.3 Executive

Proton_Iriz_1.3_Executive_ 001

Adds on:

• Bodykit (body colour)
  • Rear spoiler (small, rounder design)
  • Body coloured door handles, wing mirror caps
  • Rear wiper
  • Black painted exhaust
  • Ash Grey centre console frame, Galvano Silver gear lever base
  • USB chargers (1.5 Amp, 2.1 Amp)
  • Adjustable rear headrests

Proton Iriz 1.6 Executive

Proton_Iriz_1.6_Executive_ 001

Adds on:

• 1.6 litre VVT engine, 107 hp/150 Nm
  • Android-based touch screen infotainment system with GPS navigation
  • Reverse camera
  • 15-inch alloy wheels
  • Dual-tone bodykit
  • Rear spoiler (bigger, square design)
  • Active antennae
  • Front fog lamps
  • Black B-pillar and window frames
  • Fabric trim for door cards
  • Patterned fabric seats
  • Steering audio controls
  • Piano black trim on steering
  • Chrome grille
  • Portable WiFi huddle

Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium

Proton_Iriz_1.6_Premium_ 001

Adds on:

• Six airbags (dual front, side, curtain)
  • Seat belt reminder for all seats
  • Leather seats
  • Leather on door cards
  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel
  • Extendable sunshades
  • Chrome trim on AC vents, Ash Grey instrument cluster housing
  • Keyless entry and push start
  • Auto headlights
  • Auto-fold wing mirrors
  • LED daytime running lights (replaces fog lamps)

See for yourself the differences between the variants in our comparo galleries below, the most comprehensive of its kind. We now have a full review of the Proton Iriz, which includes our verdict of both 1.3/1.6 engines as well as manual/CVT gearboxes.

Proton Iriz 1.3 Standard

Proton Iriz 1.3 Executive
Proton Iriz 1.6 Executive
Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• shawal on Oct 17, 2014 at 7:33 pm

Test drove the 1.3 manual just for fun of it…
    not bad…. good NVH
    the engine is preppy and willing to rev…

have not yet tried the CVT , i heard its sluggish…
    Manual is an excellent alternative

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 9
  • cendol (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 7:52 pm

Iriz has more specs than Haagen Dazs Ice Cream flavors

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 18
    • Last time say perodua got so many variants. now your 1 model got 8 variants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • kzm (Member) on Oct 18, 2014 at 1:13 pm

p1 always has many variant..current saga flx has 7 variant, current exora has 5 variant…

• what your point mate??

• Proton Forever Junk on Oct 17, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 201
    • amry83 on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:01 pm

stupid honda and toyota fanboy.. please test drive first before make any comment..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 33
      • peyn0 on Oct 18, 2014 at 5:41 am

honda n toyota fanboy.. but only can afford perodua .. but feel sooo jdm oredi jahahah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 10
        • Proton Forever Junk on Oct 18, 2014 at 10:17 am

produa will be smoke by my new Honda City,and new Altis 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 33
          • gtier on Oct 18, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Your Honda City and Altis will be smoked by my GTi, problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
      • cendol (Member) on Oct 18, 2014 at 9:30 am

WHo are you to call people stupid?
        I am a medical doctor, so am I stupid to you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
        • shhhh jangan bising on Oct 18, 2014 at 1:10 pm

medical doctor?
          well im a professor teaching at medical faculty

still doest makes me smarter and other people stupid.

also, people here are keyboard warrior.
          they can type and said here what ever the one..
          in fact all of the comment might be from the same person using multiple nick/IP.

just relax and have some fun..
          enjoy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • kzm (Member) on Oct 18, 2014 at 1:16 pm

who say doctor not stupid?..u might be a gud doctor but that don’t bar u to be stupid in other thing.

• Diss-illusions on Oct 18, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Just because you have a piece of paper that says you’re a medical doctor doesn’t make you not stupid.

Doctor so great le?? Pls la…

• not so smart on Oct 18, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Being as medical doctor doesn’t make you smarter duke…look at your face…

• Proton Forever Junk on Oct 18, 2014 at 10:09 am

Test drive??Wasting my time only,straight away go to Toyota and Honda,way better than this ugly junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 39
        • matop on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:27 pm

yo bro, Perodua SC technician call you,I heard your kancil is ready

• CCB Ayam on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:18 am

No matter you buy honda, toyota, potong. $$ still go into cronies’ pocket.
        But, history proof that, toyota & honda’s reliability are better than potong.
        Iriz ‘s price tag are equevalent to civic, altis price.
        Wherea Civic, Altis price in Malaysia equivalent to Golf GTI, Subaru BRZ, FT86, even ford mustang price.

30% car price down never comes true.
        Where are those taxes going?
        Where you spend those car tax?
        Subsidy petrol and Diesel?!
        Haiz….

• Matrix on Oct 18, 2014 at 2:59 am

agree with you.
      honda city can beat this junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 39
      • peyn0 on Oct 18, 2014 at 10:17 am

as long it is drb hicom product n not p2 umw product… it’s fine

• Proton Forever Junk on Oct 18, 2014 at 10:21 am

Of course Honda and Toyota can beat this junk forever.Only those with mental problem will get this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
        • What so special about Honda and Toyota, their ride and handling are lightyears behind proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
          • CCB Ayam on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:36 am

Facts,
            Honda , Toyota are both consumer car and super car maker.
            These international brands having well reputation in automotive industry.
            Unfortunately, our national policy want to protect potong and produa.

We only can get lowest specs, high price honda and toyota in boleh land.

Honestly, Iriz’s price is too high.
            E.g. VW golf 1.4tsi FOB price is RM 30++K.
            Iriz is almost doubled.

Maybe potong improve a lot.
            but, as a ex potong owner.
            I m potong phobia..

• You are comparing a honday city c segment with a b segment car , are u stupid retard ?
        i can beat ur stupid honda city with my bmw assholes , stupid mindset , never study before commenting

• and while your at it, do remember that at one time, honda cars were regarded as junk and pretenders as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • ToyotaForeverRubbish on Oct 18, 2014 at 11:37 am

Toyota is a piece of junk.
      Better buy Mercedes and BMW, miles better than Toyota rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Proton Forever Junk on Oct 17, 2014 at 8:39 pm

no interest to even look at this junk,honda jazz better than this junk.
    A Happy New Honda City Owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 123
    • peyn0 on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:23 pm

hahaha honda city???
      not jdm meh??
      me
      6 years in japan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
    • BLT_Club on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:54 pm

No interest in Honda City. Audi A3 better than junk Honda City…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 11
      • Proton Forever Junk on Oct 18, 2014 at 10:15 am

Audi stupid euro junk,not reliable and no second hand value at all.
        Honda City,Vios or even Almera can thrash stupid audi into junk yard easily!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
    • Dear Idiot,

You might think highly of jap cars, but least do you know about how much they spend on the metal sheet and chassis thickness that the car requires. In Japan the spec of min thickness is set at 0.9mm but in Malaysia is 0.6mm. But you might think that it’s a small reduction of thickness. But if you do the physics the tensile strength has been greatly reduce thus putting your stupid self in unnecessary danger by buying those mentioned cars above.
      So you talk that you know about jap cars now? I know much more because I’m was working in a jap local assembly before and I know that quality will be reduced if you pay like a stingy poker. You’re completely ignorant to the fact that the Japs are making a fast buck on your ignorant self. Idiots will remain idiots. So whatever suits you.

• razin on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:49 pm

correct me if im wrong, but the 1.6 premium doesnt come with fog lamps right?

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:29 pm

You’re not wrong. It doesn’t.

• razin on Oct 18, 2014 at 1:44 am

i see. its a bit weird i think. a top of the range model with a feature deleted. or does the DRL work as a fog lamp as well? does it have the intensity of fog lamps?

• What’s the use…most of the time use only to blind the opposite driver.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 18, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Cutting cost, I guess. There’s still quite a lot of unused space in that cutout area for the fog lamp/DRL. The DRL strip they are using looks quite thick, though. Perhaps in the future they can use a more integrated option like how the Mitsubishi Attrage integrates the DRL into the fog lamp housing. More expensive for sure, though.

• OMG…the fog lamp had been replaced by LED daytime running light…really cacat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • nabill (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:50 pm

jus curious , does the cvt come with the ATF cooler found on FLX.Preve,Suprima S and Exora CFE ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • mim (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:38 pm

it does but not the same type. Iriz uses a different horizontally mounted CVT cooler, if i remember correctly.

• xem6861 on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:04 pm

i believe Iriz Turbo/Sports version will be out soon with 16 inch alloy rim.

• Azhar on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:06 pm

I am in the market for a hatch back. I know I will not go wrong with a P2, proven product and proven after sales service. P1 makes a strong sales pitch with their new Iriz but so far it is only the product (yet unproven) and a poor after sales service record. Will I take the risk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 43
    • peyn0 on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:24 pm

p2 salesman detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 16
    • Obviously (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Ultimately, that is for you to decide. What are your highest priorities?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • sales2 on Oct 18, 2014 at 1:09 am

Higher sales number because if many people buy then sure the thing is good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • RicoT on Oct 18, 2014 at 2:55 am

Buying a newly launched car is always risky, however taking the high risk MIGHT yield great reward. It is a gamble getting the Iriz as we do not know how reliable it is on the long run, but the reward is it has higher number of equipment offered when compared to other manufacturers offering at similar price range. Many competitors at similar price range as the Premium variant does not offer 6 airbags, DRL, reverse camera, keyless entry, etc. Additionally, they still have more variants up their sleeves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • peyn0 on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:28 pm

p2 proven tin milo n soon die if accident
    swith power eindow kong that why ayla not selling well in indonesia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
  • Can please someone buy proton la…
    Kesian la….
    Kalau this time “Ilis” tak laku, susahlah nanti Porton.
    I support but I don’t dare to buy la…:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 25
    • ini bukan betul2 onz lagi.. tapi betul2 kasian sama proton.. hahahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • pirlo on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:39 am

lagi kesian tengok korang kena tipu dengan produk P2. dasar jepun, takde nya nak knowledge atau technology transfer ke Malaysia. daihatsu menumpang kelebihan ‘national automaker’ di malaysia untuk tax exemption. propaganda je morita. puii jepun!

• P1 should be rid itself of this over-attention to up-speccing and focus on vanquishing what has given them a bad name – reliability and after-sales service. Can they do this ? If they keep hiding their heads in flashy designs even six airbags are not going to save them. Most Malaysians are of the practical type. We just want a car that lasts at least 5 years without major problems, decent amount of power and space for both people and stuff. And price it reasonably. It’s gonna take years for P1 to repair it’s name if at all. Anyway good luck to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • tsk tsk tsk..can’t afford iriz, go buy axia. no big deal. has honda/toyota konon :-D tin kosong always sounds the loudest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • peyn0 on Oct 18, 2014 at 5:38 am

dah biasa dah dgn yektik macai… cite pasal honda toyota bagai… tapi setakat pakainperodua jeee

jahaha

• sompua on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:18 pm

“betul betul onz”adalah bahasa rojak. Ini adalah sangat memalukan, tidak sensitif, biadap dan kurnag ajar terhadap penggunaan bahasa Malaysia.
    Muhyiddin (Tan Sri), sila ambil perhatian dan ambil tindakan sewajarnya.

Dulu TV3 guna “sure heboh” kau ambil tindakan.
    Sekarang ambil tindakan juga terhadap proton sempena bulan Okt bulan bahasa Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 23
    • Misae Nohara on Oct 18, 2014 at 7:15 am

Yang ‘Lagi-Lagi Best’ tak bising pulak…

‘Betul-betul Onz’ adalah jawapan proton kepada ‘lagi-lagi best’..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • hate to say it, but you’re right

• magpie on Oct 18, 2014 at 9:35 am

Sila repot ke kementerian yang berkaitan. Bukan ruang komen pt. Ekstrimis bahasa selalu terdesak nak dapatkan perhatian.

• RicoT on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:21 pm

The addition of cruise control on the 1.6 Premium would greatly boost its competitiveness in the market. It could rival the new Honda Jazz V in terms of spec, albeit the Ultra seats and space. Cannot comment on build quality yet, but time will tell.

• This car is really beautiful from any angle..Some reviewer said its photogenic and maybe our Malaysian Mini car. I could not agree more. p.s. falling in love with its back, that kindly have unique character that’s only iriz have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Manocb on Oct 18, 2014 at 8:20 am

Still iriz(high risk) again….simpan lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
  • Manocb on Oct 18, 2014 at 8:21 am

Still high risk again….simpan lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • Vemal on Oct 18, 2014 at 9:27 am

Soon become another junk like Savvy…..

Terrible experience with Savvy…..Always Breakdown…. TDC Sensor always kaput…..

Saga 1.6 SE CVT….Terrible NVH with Rough CVT….Early Morning start jerking non stop…..few times upgrade software still the same…..Finally Proton says its like that. Until sold off Proton unable to solved…..The outcome of Stupid RND Engineers……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • tiger on Oct 18, 2014 at 9:27 am

would not buy this model due to:
    1-legendary Proton “quality”
    2-like the Preve, lousy amaturish edgy design
    3-crazy prices and too many variants

P1 is kiiling their own SAGA and Persona models, brilliant marketing team!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • peyn0 on Oct 18, 2014 at 1:44 pm

p2 macai butthurt seeing rakyat smart oredi n buying iriz
      30k booking for 40-60k price range is impressive indeed

macai butthurt

• cendol (Member) on Oct 18, 2014 at 9:31 am

A junk is always a junk.
    Just like we will always be second class citizens.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Littlebear on Oct 18, 2014 at 9:39 am

To be honest.. The Iriz engineering & design look is much better than Preve. What Proton lacks now is the confidence from consumers after years of selling sub standard cars to Malaysians.

This is the upmost important issue Proton needs to resolve. Of course Proton will need to ensure that their new range of cars are as reliable & durable as a toyota to gain confidence from consumers. May take a few years though to accomplish this.

If the Iriz is still a car that gives headache to the masses.. Then Proton should really consider bungkus already.

• Yawn….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • M sport on Oct 18, 2014 at 10:10 am

err…bombarded by Iriz this last 2-3 weeks…

• darkermarker on Oct 18, 2014 at 10:15 am

wait and see, before deciding buying the car…….got problem, sure will compliant in forums and FB like nobody business.

For me, I go japanese 2nd hand cars than this new untested car.
    Besides, Proton has repeatedly disappointed many protons owners many times…poor quality, poor built, poor service, poor etc…

Even the technicians at P1 SC regards proton owners as poor owners folks…..and provided service below par…

So, decide for yourself….

• Aerodynamic bro on Oct 18, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Japanese 2nd hand car are the best, many car enthusiast would choose old car than new car. But many Malaysian liked to choose new car because of “Easy repair” “Its good” because they can’t work on their own car. Real Car guy would work on their own car and learn about engine working.

• Japs 2nd hand cars dun have good ride and handling, swerve up down left right like nobody business 30 years old car.

• peyn0 on Oct 19, 2014 at 7:19 am

japanese 2nd hand car means 2nd hand perodua myvi rite???

orgfthhhhh

• dozy888 on Oct 18, 2014 at 10:24 am

Check out the boot lock! so rough and raw!

• 1.3 standard no rear wiper? O.o

1.3 exec – can i buy without the bodykit? ^^

• For Replacement on Saga,
    Rear design must be benchmark for this car
    1) Kia Cerato
    2) Hyundai Elantra
    3) Ford Focus Sedan
    4) BMW 3 Series

Front design Iriz already thumb up. Need good sedan proportion and good rear design for Saga-R. Not short proportion like Proton Preve, Honda City, Nissan Almera and Toyota Vios

• Aerodynamic bro on Oct 18, 2014 at 4:52 pm

What I need is exhaust and engine sound now…… If it sounds meh Honda Jazz will be the choice because of VTEC!!!!!

• waste on Oct 18, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Buying car because of sound? If you have heard new Merc engine sound sometimes is like shiate, but still times more powerful than sissy i-VTEC, haha!

• kereta sampah ..laku pun tak hype saja lebih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Albert on Oct 18, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Proton,if you seriously take customer’s comments seriously,and take corrective measures early,your chance of survival is greater.
    Stop all the sportivos,Jom Heboh carnivals.
    Improve your quality….to regain customer’s confidence.If not,you will be going the same route as MAS.

• Hehehe…altis2014 shit car la…interior all rattling..roof insulation when rain…cannot tahan..inside car empty..push start oso dun hav..many aircon compressor spoil..dun tok toyoga how gud la..rubbish..

• Polo Saga on Oct 19, 2014 at 8:40 am

Shouldn’t they improve the rear design, look kind of weird to me, doesn’t match with front design.

• C.P. MOHAN on Oct 19, 2014 at 10:42 am

I am not very enthusiastic about PROTON IRIZ for two reasons 1) the design looks like a facelift model of MYVI hence the design will be outdated soon as Proton keeps whatever design for a long time. 2) it is cheaper because of the tax regime not because of improved/better auto engine technology. I am sure MYVI will hit back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Used2beProton on Oct 19, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Without a real ‘Privatized’, which cannot get rid of certain heavy weight ‘Top-down’ corporate decision making.
    Would be no different to those ‘Planned-economy’ of the past.

• nandakumar on Oct 19, 2014 at 11:09 pm

The person who deisgned this Iriz should be given noble award of car design of the century.
    superb ca-cat looking rubbish. congratulation proton for your great achievement.spend millions of dollars on research and testing in overseas and the researchers burned down tax payers money while in overseas.with posh hotel and food,yet come up with crappy looking car.sekian salam 1malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
  • terbaik Proton. You the best

• despajero on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:15 am

Utk proton meningkatkan keyakinan diri sendiri terhadap kebolehan iriz utk pergi lebih jauh dan yg paling penting utk tingkatkan keyakinan pembeli utk membeli tanpa ragu-ragu, proton patut tawarkan pakej seperti contohnya pakej 30K atau 3 tahun servis percuma (percuma labour, minyak hitam, oil filter). Ini mungkin membantu mengubah sedikit persepsi/tanggapan buruk disebabkan track record proton yg tidak berapa cantik sebelum ini. Sekaligus membantu sedikit kesan kenaikan ron95 baru2 ni. Alahhh ape yg omputeh cakap tu..less is more…haa begitulah!

• mankind on Oct 27, 2014 at 12:56 am

Nice car… my future car… safe and, good ride and handling.

• middle ppl on Nov 21, 2014 at 11:00 pm

haha. never ever compare honda or toyota with proton.
    price forever different de.

we are malaysian, jz hope proton can improve…………
    coz 100% tax sure kena for foreign cars de…………

• Nik Mohd Jalaluddin Bin Nik Him on Dec 20, 2018 at 6:21 pm

Is Iriz 1.3m exec 2014 std sportrim pcd is 100 or 114?