Honda Civic facelift listed on oto.my – Nov launch?

Honda Civic Facelift Thailand-1

An ad for the Honda Civic facelift has been sighted on car classifieds website oto.my, with a tentative November 2014 launch date mentioned in the ad copy. That’s very soon, next month in fact.

UPDATE: The Honda Civic facelift has been officially revealed – view full report.

The ad for the 1.8 S variant carries a price tag of RM115,980, which is about the same as the price of the current Civic 1.8 S, if both figures are presumed to be OTR with insurance.

The ad further details some changes in specs in the Civic line-up. According to the ad, the 1.8 S will gain a push start button, auto headlamps and cruise control, while the 2.0 S will be upgraded to six airbags (side and curtain airbags mentioned in the ad) and have the auto headlamps feature added as well.

The top of the line Civic 2.0 Navi will get Honda’s new navigation head unit with HDMI connectivity, similiar to the head units found in the newer Jazz, City and Odyssey.

There’s also going to be a new colour – Twilight Blue. This is the same blue as the Honda CR-V ‘hero’ blue colour. The Civic is currently limited to white, black, silver and grey. The new colour will mean the Civic facelift will have the exact same colour choices as the CR-V.

Honda Civic facelift at the 2014 Bangkok Motor Show

2014 Honda Civic facelift (Thai-spec)

civic-oto

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• The biggest issue of why the current gen civic is not selling so well is because of its terrible interior plastic and its poor equipment list.

Honda did do something with its equipment list, but with no improvement on the interior?

Keep storing more unsold model in your garage Honda

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 9
    • mystvearn on Oct 20, 2014 at 7:04 am

The US market got a new better interior FL after a year of the current Honda sold, due to very poor sales and not recommended buy consumer advice. Weirdly, Malaysia seems to be able to tolerate with poor quality interior. The previous gen Honda had better interior quality. Equipment upgrade alone is not enough sell cars, especially when Cerato has more equipment and better interior quality

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
      • Koko (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:46 am

The market for US is huge, therefore any feedback from public is taken immediately and fast. That was why the Civic upgrade came out fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Because got leftover inventory ma.. kennot just burn it so just sell to Malaysian lo.. anything with Honda or Toyota, most will blindly follow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Chow 1 on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Yup, totally agreed. I am so turned off by the grey plastic interior and low body.

• Ray (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:03 am

Things the facelift needs to have:
    1. More airbags.
    2. Soft plastics on the dash. The hard ones look and feel awful.
    3. More safety features (oh god get some lessons from Ford)
    4. Improved sound insulation. This needs some serious attention.
    5. The rear looks? It does well with me but a lot of people around me despise the white reflectors.
    6. No more having sat-nav as a cost option. The 2.0 Navi sounds like a weird variant to have.
    7. Not complaining about the SOHC and 5-speed box but it’s a Civic so please….?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
    • exterior-wise the new facelift looks better and no complaint, but being a civic it’s a sportier car and should have sportier engine option (manual gb, dohc engine)

damn i missed my old b18c engine !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Koko (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:51 am

For me, when added with bodykit, the Civic looks so sexy when views from side. Beauty is quite subjective.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:31 am

it needs a new model…not a facelift…euro civic would be good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • lithium7x on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:42 am

simple fix for the civic, just bring the current US variant over with nicer higher quality interior and whack on the same safety and gadget level as the city-v while dropping the price a little or at most sell at same price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Das Auto on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:51 am

Still fugly as hell. Low rent plastics for interior. Wonder why anyone would still bother buying this when so many better options are out there. Mazda 3 interior is like Merc compared to this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
  • kooper on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:59 am

I honestly think the real problem with the Civic is the design of the rear. It doesn’t look as elegant as its older brother Accord, and its younger sibling City.

My colleague drives a Civic and everyone thinks that it looks dated. Even the latest City now looks nicer than the Civic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
    • kington on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:52 am

Yup, couldn’t agree with you more. The design seems to date very easily even though it was the first new C segment for the current range of vehicles.

That SOHC engine, though claims to bring about fuel economy as priority is really not that economical.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • my oh my they did nothing to the exterior design.

its gonna be a flop. again…

• Peter on Oct 20, 2014 at 7:25 am

Let’s see

• adrian on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:11 am

what is all these?

• Jaybond on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:23 am

The Civic’s dashboard design looks like poorly done mix & match of plastic parts , whith a messy and an untidy execution. Honda needs to make a complete & comprehensive overhaul of the design of the next Civic replacement.

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:57 am

pre facelift or facelift, the civic still looks mesmerising, more than any korean junks that are currently on our road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
  • darkermarker on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:05 am

I dont think facelifting would help if the built quality and design appeal are a disappointment to buyers….

Besides, there are better brand of cars that are attractive out there….

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:09 am

Wait, the facelifted US Civic (which the ASEAN version is based on) looks WAY different. This ASEAN facelift is just a minor nip & tuck. The US facelift is a major operation. The dash here is still plasticky, whereas the US one has soft injection molded plastics with stitching on the dash. And the US dash was completely redesigned, with exception of the top level/tier instruments. Even the front & rear are completely different in the US facelift. And US gets a CVT too. Boring yes, but it does come with improvements to performance & fuel efficiency.

I suspect the real facelift (as per US) will never reach here, as Honda is rumored to want to release the next gen Civic as soon as possible. During the City’s launch here recently, I thought I read that the product planners/developers had mentioned that some of the packaging tricks from the City had been put into the new (10G) Civic. They were talking like as though the new car is almost complete.

• Josh Ling on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:34 am

it’s time for Honda to put all its brilliant ideas into the all-new civic, just to keep the car exciting still. with the new city and accord, and even to some extent the new cr-v, current civic suddenly seems so obsolete.

but sadly, we won’t get the all-new civic soon enough. we still have to go through a cycle of facelift for the current civic.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:50 am

The cycle may be shortened. But in the US. In Malaysia? God only knows.

The next gen Civic will have to be more upmarket. Thats a given. The current Civic came out at the wrong time, based on wrong predictions. Honda economists thought the economy would be really bad in 2011 onwards. They got it wrong, and market was still good. People were buying cars (except in Japan where people have lost interest in cars). Problem is design was already approved to be a budget car. R&D was done. Money already spent. They had to sell it the way it was. Honestly, sales are not as bad as what we perceive. I still see many Civics. Just that there are also many Kias & Hyundais.

• Josh Ling on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:45 am

it’s terrible if you compare with the 8 gen civic. it’s really terrible, especially after new accord and city came out. i visited honda dealer here many times for last couple of months, and i could only see majority are accord, city and jazz, with some cr-v. civic? either none or only 1 or 2. and i am talking about amongst at least 30 new stock cars there.

i have yet to see any new civic registered with new plate no running on local roads where i live.

• Josh Ling on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:50 am

but can’t blame the whole sale issue to honda too. because the c-segment market is definitely shrinking. if i am not rich enough, i will go for a b-segmenter, cheaper than many c-segmenters, but no less well equipped than those c-segmenters. if i have the money, i will go straight to d-segment and buy my cars there, or just buy any suvs in the market. why bother i want to consider a c-segmenter anymore?

i think the next gen civic will have to be super good to really steal the sales, because not only does it have to face the competition from the same segment, it has to face the competition from b-segment and d-segment as well. and it will have to give some pretty good reasons to persuade people away from the brilliant city and accord as well. tough job at hand.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2014 at 2:54 pm

I think the problem is not only the Civic.

Yes it has a crap interior and bad sound insulation.

But the biggest problem is internal. C segment cars are being squeezed both ends. The B segment cars are getting bigger, more refined and better equipped, the D segment cars are begining to get proper equipment levels beyond those really “kosong” base units previously. That 40K gap between a fully loaded B and a well equipped D is not big enough to sway buyers to settle on middle child C.

Toyota is having the same problem with thier Altis. All you see is Vios and Camry….

Koreans still manages to make the C segment work for them because they still have a fairly weak B segment.

In the UK market, they technically don’t even have a Civic anymore since the EP. The Civic they have is actually a rebodied B segment “City”.

• mkhee on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:24 am

IMHO 8Gen Civic which I used to own is still the best looking Civic ever. The design was way ahead of it’s time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • To be honest guys the FL upgrade is not too bad actually BUT from today market the KOREAN and others car manufacture give a better spec than the Civic. So we end up we compared to others. Without other car manufacturer especially the KOREAN this Civic will sell like hot cakes! In other word we consumer are smarter now. Pls Honda and Toyota you no longer the main players in Asia car manufacturer. Pls accept the fact!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • heybadigol (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Spot on. Honda ASEAN/Malaysia got lazy. They though people will buy it in droves just because its a Civic. They (and basically all the Japanese manufacturers) didnt anticipate that the Koreans would offer cars at much lower price points & with more goodies. Now that they know (except for Mazda which is selling a great car like the Mazda3 but killing it with lack of specs), expect the C segment battle to get tighter.

• Civic fans on Oct 20, 2014 at 9:50 am

How many facelift honda want make ?? The rear design really looks like shit .. Pls get us the US version and take my money!!!!

• THATS AUTO on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:12 am

The rear still looks like crap. Can’t help comparing the rear with the previous gen. Looks like it needs more than a face lift, an ass lift perhaps.

• Berann on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:27 am

All I can say, So so exterior, lousy interior with cheap plastic dashboard, old gearbox and engine. I won’t spend RM 115K+ for this…Pls bring in new model. Civic is already dead. thumbs up for Accord, civic and jazz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • iskhalifah (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:12 am

The CBU Thailand-imported Sylphy currently has full safety loaded features (6 airbags & ESC for all variants) with better soft plastic interior and yet I’ve only seen 2 on the road since its launch (not even one at Nissan service center PJ & Klang). People still buy less-safer CKD Civic & Corolla.

Just plain weird because the Sylphy ain’t that bad looking while the service center is quite competent.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Yeah, it’s sad man. :( At least you’ve seen two on the road, I haven’t had the pleasure of seeing one yet. But actually, the Nissan Sylphy is not a particularly great car either, to be absolutely frank. But because it’s one of only two cars in the Malaysian market C-segment to get a standardised safety package ( the other being the Prevé ), it has the coveted moral high ground. Other than that… I can’t think of anything particularly special about the Sylphy… it’s not a bad car, but not an excellent one either. Ok ok lah I guess. Just my opinion though, I’m sure others will disagree, but I’d like to remind in any case that we’re talking about global powerhouse Nissan here, not some small, ‘pushover’ company; Nissan could and should have done a lot better with the Sylphy. Well, at least they did better than Honda with their abysmal Civic…

If I were to rank the best C-segment sedans in Malaysia, all things considered;

1) Mazda 3 Sedan
      2) Ford Focus Sedan
      3) Toyota Corolla Altis (with opt. safety pack)
      4) Kia Cerato
      5) Nissan Sylphy
      -) Toyota Corolla Altis (without safety pack)
      6) Proton Prevé Turbo
      7) Honda Civic
      8) Proton Inspira
      9) Mitsubishi Lancer
      10) Hyundai Elantra
      11) Chevrolet Cruze

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:27 am

If I were in the market for a Civic, I would wait for the next model. The FL , while improved, is a little too late to save it.

This one is dead in the water. I hope Honda finally realises that it wont do well if they shortchange the buyer. The plastics are horrid and historically, Honda never scored well with having sufficient sound deadening, and the final nail in its coffin, the lack of proper and expected safety gear.

• woww… Kia Forte alike? pity to all honda owner, but not sympathy to them as they deserve it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • wanfumi on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:40 am

Not trying to condemn korean cars but my neighbour’s 1 y/o Kia Forte starts making bad noise at start compare to a 2 y/o honda city. Maybe it just a lemon car.

• Fortegees on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:40 pm

wanfumi, I owned KIA Forte since 2010, it still ok,no weird sound, interior still look new, I’m very satisfied and never regret bought it. Maybe your neighbour was unlucky (kes terpencil) same as my wife’s friend whose got trouble with their brand new City and Vios. Or maybe it caused by bad driving habit. From my survey most of KIA owner (started from Forte model and so on) they were satisfied with their car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • geek8585 on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:25 pm

With the Thailand ver of facelift drop inside our market, I’m safe to say US ver of facelift won’t happen in Malaysia anymore… Civic fans? Take this or wait for 10th gen Civic in 2018 probably?

By the way, is the new civic already with modulo body kit? It seems appealing for me either from rear, front or side… It’s just sportier look than the current one…

Hey Honda, you choose he wrong timing to have the FL version in Msia… Msia consumer only see at RV zzz

• Aero (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:31 pm

The current generation Honda Civic is a disgrace to the Civic lineage ! It was so bad, Honda of America had to introduce an emergency Minor Change facelift to save face and stem declining sales. That was 2012. Now it’s 2014… and 2015 is just around the corner. Honda has a lot to work on if they want to restore and reinvigorate the Civic nameplate. I am honestly not lying when I say our own Proton Prevé Turbo is better than the ASEAN market Honda Civic ( however, the Euro market Civic is a much, much better car ). Don’t believe me ? Read some Australian reviews of the Honda Civic and Proton Prevé, you’ll see that the Civic is only a tiny bit better than the Prevé.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • JUST ME on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:19 pm

NO WOWS FACTORS….same old shit with little upgrades ….such a disappointing.

• Red Baron on Oct 20, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Civic fans is not gonna be impressed with this.
    If Honda really care about the Civic legacy, they should launch the US facelift here before people start shifting to other better equipped cars.

• 7yearsciicfd1 on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:21 am

Its not enuf , u made the FD 8th gen Civic too awsome , even today it still look awsome. We expect much much much more..hoping few years more for next all new civic model, till then , im sticking to my fd. Pass

• roxas on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:46 am

doesnt look like a facelift in anyway../

• suresh on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:13 pm

err facelift..??what facelift..hardly anything thats worth taking a second look nor much difference..come on Honda..sure you can do MUCH better than that

• Just a little bodykit? I rather ask Fibre glass shop to make better bodykit and yes Where the new Civic that we saw at Paris Motor Show oh wait…..This is for stock clearance

• winwin on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Oh my. Why still want to use that old engines ?? It is time to bring in your 1.5L turbo DI engine for Malaysia. Low roadtax is definitely a plus for Malaysian.

• Leyha on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:46 pm

facelift with same old spec. huhu we are expecting more from honda

• Say what you want, civic sales is top in the USA and selling very well in Malaysia. Dont you all see there are SO MANY 9th civics OTR.

• Kingsley Young on Nov 11, 2014 at 11:06 am

The lack of standard safety features like ESC (Electronic Stability Control) is one good reason you should not get a Honda car. Or a Toyota.