Revolo hybrid kit at IGEM 2014 – PDRM evaluation showed 23% less fuel used, 14% less CO2 emissions

We were snooping around the 5th International Greentech & Eco Products Exhibition (IGEM 2014) in KLCC when we found a small stand tucked behind the COMOS stand. This stand belonged to none other than DFRAN Research Technologies, which markets the Revolo bolt-on plug-in hybrid kit that was designed and engineered in India by KPIT Technologies.

You may remember that earlier in the year, the Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM) was planning to conduct a two-month, 10,000 km evaluation of the retrofit system on a Proton Inspira patrol car. Well, the evaluation has been completed – they actually covered 13,000 km, a little further than previously intended – and the results were shown on a bunting at the stand.

Fitted with the Revolo kit, the Inspira was said to have used 23% less fuel than before while producing 14% less carbon dioxide emissions. The company also claimed that the battery could be fast-charged to 80% capacity in around an hour, and that acceleration has also improved.

Earlier, PDRM had stated that it would consider equipping more of its vehicles with the Revolo kit if the test was successful. According to Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar, PDRM currently has about 3,000 patrol cars in its fleet, with an annual fuel cost that currently stands at about RM28 million.

According to DFRAN Research Tecnologies’ executive chairman, former Proton boss Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin (who holds the same position at COMOS), the Revolo system’s electric motor has a maximum torque of 35 Nm, and can provide motor assist of between 80 km to 100 km on a single charge.

No prices have been announced yet, but a report by Autocar Professional India mentions an estimated cost of between Rs 65,000 to Rs 150,000 in India, which translates to between RM3,500 to RM8,000.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• frossonice on Oct 20, 2014 at 10:34 am

23% fuel saving is huge. If Proton can make it as standard in their cars, that would be great as a short term solution for their thirsty engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Sawwy on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:10 pm

Is that really Campro or Mivec engine? Cover pun mau tipu kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 43
      • engine cover just have proton logo maa.. no mivec or campro writing..

• kebodohan tu simpan sikit utk anak cucu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • pirlo on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:07 pm

bodoh ke apa? ada juga orang yang ingat Inspira pakai campro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • sailor on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Inspira using 4b11 for 2.0 and 4b10 for manual and both mivec engine from mitsubishi, do please make a research before condemed,

• rahman on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:44 am

hi Sawwy, just to add your poor knowledge, inspira is euipped with mitsubishi engine, pick up your smart phone and goggle..

• If the procurement process is transparent, sure go ahead. If rakyat have to pay RM10,000 for a RM2,000 part, then business as usual. PDRM has to remember this is rakyat’s money. No matter who the rakyat voted for. Otherwise those who didn’t vote, shouldn’t have to pay tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
  • Azure on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:02 am

23% fuel saving means about ~6.6million ringgit saved per year for 3,000 proton inspira.

Not a bad deal.
    Installation price about RM3.5k-8k. For sake of argument lets just take 8k (cause we know government projects will eat more money).
    RM8k installation for each 3,000 car is 24million riggit.
    That gives us ~3.4 years to recuperate the cost.

If the intallation price is ~4k then it would take 1.7 years to recuperate, but that being very optimistic.

3.4 years is a long time. With the current trend of electric cars, better and cheaper system than Revolo might come out. So my opinion is this is possible gamble, but worth the try. Also given the cumulative maintenance costs and if the system doesn’t break down before 3.4 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • slk3879 on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:37 am

the key point here is “if the system doesn’t break down before 3.4 years”!!!

• and don’t forget the increase price of petrol each year

• V. Swarup on Oct 29, 2014 at 12:42 pm

What is the maintenance cost expected ? – Note: Battery life is growing soon to be upto 25x so that may not be in the maintenance cost in the very near future (if not already).

• so,when can we buy that?

i need that for my 9.9km per litre myvi

• Haha – If this system apply for other countries i.e Singapore – it may be successful, its just a example I am not Singaporean. But here, I agreed its optimistic, because after 3.4 year, maintenance start to kick in and it cost another 15% out of the 23% savings. End of the day its make no sense of saving at all…

If make it good for implementation I am sure it will have a huge saving and the saving can spend for other better project, if its wrong our $$$ will go down to the drain and may cost more to maintain.

• Honestly, I hope this implementation should take a careful monitoring to ensure the success.

• wanfumi on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:26 am

Electric bill? batteries replacement later on? They should count it to the total cost then all back to square 1 but with less emission.

• Rinnegan on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:48 am

I hope this system can be made available to the public. Now everyone can drive a hybrid without having to buy either a T or H badges.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Ah ha, you say that but what is the point.

Hybrids are only attractive due to the tax discounts. (Police cars arn’t taxed so it makes no difference to them).

As a private owner, must as well spend the money and convert to NGV… its cheaper, more proven technology and much much cheaper to run.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:16 pm

but duit kopi amount still the same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Aero (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Don’t worry, I can bet my LIFE that this venture will succeed…. because D.S. Syed Zainal Abidin is running the show. ‘Nuff said.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 6:24 pm

stop smoking bro Syed Zainal Abidin isn’t all that hyped up he is to be

• shawn on Oct 20, 2014 at 6:23 pm

can i fix it to my previa executive auto ? price and how and where ? 0168263797

• xiper (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:23 am

bolt on hybrid to a Toyota VVTi engine?

Toyota got much better hybrid system..

• V. Swarup on Oct 29, 2014 at 12:37 pm

23% fuel savings is the petrol savings ?
    What about the cost of Electricity during charging ?
    Good to hear of the 1 hour fast charging.
    Of course Batter life is expected to become upto 25x better (Li) and shortly for all battery – so replace cost may not be an issues.