GALLERY: Proton Iriz vs Perodua Myvi – take your pick

Proton_Iriz_vs_Perodua_Myvi_ 083

Just as soon as it was clear that the Proton P2-30A (now the Iriz) was turning out to be a tall B-segment hatchback, comparisons to the Perodua Myvi were unavoidable. Then the prices were announced – with the Iriz coming within hundreds of the Myvi, spec-for-spec – and so a head-to-head battle becomes inevitable.

This was, of course, Proton coming into Perodua’s mainstay. The Myvi is only P2’s (and Malaysia’s) best-selling model for nine years straight after all, and here comes big brother Proton attempting to claim a slice of that big, undoubtedly hugely profitable pie. So, Proton Iriz vs Perodua Myvi – take your pick.

A disclaimer first, though: this is simply a pictorial piece, as we only had the Myvi for a short photography session. We’ve driven the Perodua before, of course, but we’re not about to write a whole comparison story based on driving impressions from a few years ago. We’ll do proper side-by-side evaluations soon enough, but for now, here’s a straight-up picture comparison.

Iriz is actually 5 mm taller than the Myvi, but you wouldn’t have guessed it; extra width is more apparent

On the outside, Proton’s latest is bigger than the Perodua on all accounts. At 3,905 mm long, 1,720 mm wide and 1,550 mm tall, the Iriz is 215 mm longer, 55 mm wider and 5 mm taller than the Myvi. It’s heavier too, naturally, at 1,185 kg versus the Myvi’s 980 kg. As pictured here, the Iriz 1.6 Premium wears 15-inch wheels over the Myvi 1.5 SE’s 14-inchers.

The top-spec Proton has LED daytime running lights while the Perodua has standard front foglamps (the Iriz 1.6 Executive has front fogs in place of the DRLs). Round the back, both have diffuser-like elements, though only the Myvi has an exposed exhaust pipe. For the record, Perodua offers two distinct sets of looks for the Myvi (standard and SE/Extreme), while Proton relies on a subtle bodykit to differentiate between Iriz variants.

Under the hoods, the Iriz has a 107 hp/150 Nm 1.6 litre VVT engine, versus the Myvi’s 102 hp/136 Nm 1.5 litre DVVT motor. The Proton, paired to a CVT ‘box, hits 100 km/h in a claimed 11.1 seconds, while the four-speed auto Myvi takes 12.5 seconds. In their manual transmission guises, however, the Myvi 1.5 does the deed in 10.0 seconds compared to the Iriz 1.6 MT’s 11.1 seconds (identical to the CVT).

Myvi’s MPV-style cabin frees up space with a dash-mounted gear lever; both have touch-screen head units

Further down the food chain, the Iriz 1.3 has 94 hp and 120 Nm of torque, compared to 90 hp and 117 Nm for the Myvi 1.3. The smaller-engined Iriz gets to 100 km/h in 12.2 seconds with a five-speed manual, and 13.1 seconds with a CVT. Perodua did not release any performance figures for the Myvi 1.3.

Inside, each takes a distinct approach to cabin design. The Iriz’s dashboard (above right) appears more modern, but conventional, while the Myvi has an MPV-like interior, with more emphasis put on cabin space. The dash-mounted gear lever on the Myvi makes for a more spacious front area, though the horizontally- rather than vertically-stacked air con controls in the Iriz appears more visually appealing.

In these forms, both have touch-screen head units, but only the Iriz has a reverse camera function. The Proton has auto headlamps and a full keyless entry system too (only in 1.6 Premium spec), while the Myvi counters with an Optitron-like electroluminescent instrument cluster over the Iriz’s conventional back-lit dials. Steering wheel audio controls are standard on the Iriz 1.6 and Myvi 1.5.

More rear legroom in the Myvi (left) but Iriz’s bench is more comfortable, and headrests are adjustable

On the safety front, the Iriz 1.6 Premium has six airbags (rest have two) and electronic stability control (ESC) as standard, while the Myvi SE has two airbags and no ESC. The electronic safety net is standard on all Iriz models, while the base Myvi XT loses on out ABS. The Proton received a five-star crash safety rating by ASEAN NCAP, while the Myvi was rated three stars.

Space wise, we have pictures of 175 cm-tall Jonathan James Tan sitting in both models. For both rear seat shots, we had the front seats adjusted to Jonathan’s ideal driving position for parity. It’s clear to see here that the Myvi (above left) has considerably more legroom in the back (headroom is about the same for both), but the Iriz has a more comfortable seating position and the convenience of adjustable rear headrests.

It’s a similar story when it comes to cargo space. Looking at volume alone, the Iriz wins at 215 litres versus the Myvi’s 208 litres, but that’s not the whole story. The Proton has a higher load sill, and its rear seats don’t fold flat to the floor compared to the Perodua. On the other hand, the Iriz has a better-designed parcel shelf that is far easier to take off and put on again (the Myvi’s is a tad too wide for easy operation).

So there you have it, a simple comparison between Malaysia’s two B-segment hatchbacks. What say you?

Proton Iriz
Perodua Myvi

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• kelvintan1703 on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:27 am

Iriz of course, come together with better safety features and definitely the exterior are more refreshing than the Myvi, Congratulation to Proton finally coming out with a product that can really challenge the Myvi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 524 Thumb down 63
    • oleh kerna itulah auntie sudah kasi anak auntie pakai auntie punya mybi…iriz lagi seronok drive dan byk barang yang myvi tidak ada seperti iriz….

selepas ini aku mau race sama pemandu mybi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 166 Thumb down 40
      • FoodCritique on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:52 am

Wow.. I didn’t realise the IRIZ is so big.. not bad !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 25
        • komarad on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:36 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 226
          • VW DSG on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:50 am

I beg to differ… your office mate very likely chose it because of affordability issue.. AXIA is Cheap.. period

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 348 Thumb down 28
          • Maleficent Rides a Hybrid Horse Bird on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:10 pm

I agree wih my komrad… hehehe… my sis wanted to buy the axia.. then i told her… better look closely… then, one day she told me… when an Axia passed by, i was like was that an Axia..? i x feel the aura…. yes, it is considered fuel saver… but the roar isnt there…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 21
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:15 pm

An the winner goes to…….PROTON IRIZ!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 175 Thumb down 53
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Specs wise, Proton Iriz is better. But specs never Proton’s problem. Build Quality is.

Get a Proton Iriz? Get a best friend from garage first lar…

Proton-Murphy Law: “Any thing can goes wrong SURE go wrong”

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 125 Thumb down 179
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 232
          • Same Same Lol on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 193
          • Krony on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:02 pm

Pls buy more proton or perodua to support us so that we can buy Lambos or Ferrari. Krony pun mau cari makan tau? Tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 86
          • P2 Director on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Let the sheep come in doves to buy our car. Lagi songlap, lagi syiok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 36
          • the issue is same lorr is a bangang. duk dendang cerita lama. orang dah ke bulan dia masih lagi bekhayal. pitty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 15
          • Alex Ang on Oct 23, 2014 at 4:42 pm

My personal view only. I have a feeling that weight wise, the Proton Iriz is it to run a 1.6L engine, but not the 1.3L (Near 1.2 tons of weight may drag the 1.3 engine down)
            Myvi was initially designed for 1.3L, then later offer the 1.5L variant. So obviously you can really buy a basic spec Myvi, but not a basic spec Iriz.

Price and fuel economy is always my concern.

My bottom line, I’m waiting for my Axia Manual G… I like it cheap, but it’s the design that closed the deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 17
        • jenny on Oct 22, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Myvi with 4 years old design still shaking Iriz? lol
          I bet if Perodua decides to come up with Myvi face lift, what will happen to Iriz?
          lol
          Axia still dominating and selling like hot cakes out there.
          No offense to Proton fans.
          I support Proton and hope they improve. But, I’ll not buy their cars anymore.
          All the best Proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 36
          • where's motorhead? on Oct 22, 2014 at 9:07 pm

i hope not another FL changing bumper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • nameless on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:54 am

I think it’s kinda sad that a brand new Myvi 1.5 is far behind from a 1995 Satria 1.6 in the game of fuel economy, performance, handling, stability, maintenance, durability, looks, driving experience etc. Such modern technology can’t even match a 19 year old car on the road operation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 40
        • Mike001 on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:30 am

Interior space small compared to Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
          • myvi owner on Apr 21, 2016 at 11:53 am

wrong, i just bought iriz coz many my batch first edition myvians friendz change to iriz and its really different. The space more luxury in Iriz comparing to myvi

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 211
        • Krony on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:07 pm

Yes, any of them is a good choice as long as you can support us to buy better cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
    • TwoBalls on Oct 21, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Iriz rear end very ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 124
      • AutoSpecialist on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Agree with TwoBalls. Iriz rear end and bumper area kinda too low. Cant imagine what happens to it on the full loads.. Prakkkk!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
        • riderxdesign on Dec 04, 2014 at 10:36 am

the way proton design the rear stance of iriz that make you think it is too low or yet unacceptable thinking of what happen with full load? prakk?? can u justify it with technical data?

on the body structure only the iriz is so far much better, and we know proton’s suspension is good for sporty driving and yes it can hold up even up to 5 adult.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • P.Iriz – P.Highrisk….lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 102
    • Front design – Iriz win,
      Rear design – Myvi win,
      Interior design – draw,
      Engine – Myvi win,
      Safety features – Iriz win,
      Handling – Iriz win,
      Resale value – Myvi win,

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 164 Thumb down 79
      • NasiLemak on Oct 21, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Front design – Iriz win.
        Rear design – Iriz win.
        Interior design – Iriz win.
        Engine – Myvi win.
        Safety features – Iriz win.
        Handling – Iriz win.
        Resale value – dunno yet, hv to wait.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 56
        • badmofo on Oct 21, 2014 at 6:21 pm

P.Iriz will dominate the market for its segment. Perodua, say bye to glory days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 36
        • myvi owner on Apr 21, 2016 at 11:57 am

Iriz engine same Toyota Vioz, Iriz gearbox CVT same Honda HRV. Only Iriz exhoust “proton roar tradmark” guite noise. Need to change silencer mufler to make exactly same like drive Camry/Accord nad may be more comfort than Camry/Accord.

• wait n see whose engine is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • LLLLLOOOOOLLLLL on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:15 am

am i the only 1 who feel the Iriz headlight very ugly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 49
    • NasiLemak on Oct 21, 2014 at 4:05 pm

i must say this to proton.. a job well done!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 25
    • Nissan on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:00 pm

240km/h vs 220km/h, Iriz win! Win the race to hell faster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 8
      • AutoSpecialist on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:30 pm

That speed MAYBE on closed track. The truth need to wait..

• i'm noob on Jan 07, 2015 at 2:46 pm

lol fast car but if the driver “pengecut”, then no use high speed limits car. xD

• Hmmm…good post Paultan.
      I can see clearly back passenger is more comfortable and the cabin area for Myvi looked spacious.
      Iriz wins with additional accessories.
      But for god sake, please people… Proton will be so dumb if they come up with less-attractive car compare to Myvi. Good job to Proton team.
      When they compare together for both cars, don’t you realize Myvi is masculine and sexier? especially the front part. lol.
      Overall, Iriz for ladies Myvi for men. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 53
    • Ryeon on Nov 04, 2014 at 3:14 am

it’s actually not fair comparing the myvi which is already 3~4 years older than the newly launched Iriz.

But good job proton for taking the initiative to improve the road safety level in malaysia.

• Ryeon on Nov 04, 2014 at 3:17 am

it’s actually not fair comparing the myvi which is already 3~4 years older than the newly launched Iriz.

But good job proton for taking the initiative to improve the road safety level in Malaysia..

• Kolkola on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:28 am

Signal Lever LEFT: Proton Iriz
    Signal Lever RIGHT: Perodua Myvi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 19
    • Shy Fool on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:54 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 190
      • take that on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:56 am

your name proves alot. a fool indeed. give a break. proton will grow. this is a huge step and i’ll be supporting them 100%.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 23
        • Maleficent Rides a Hybrid Horse Bird on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:18 pm

huhu… lets x be too harsh on it (fool) iz still lhurning two think… it thinks it is supporting a full malaysian product, but its half bred.. ofcourse techs are from a wel established company and carmaker… but our pride is in a Malaysian innovation… PERODUA is Perusahaan Automobil KE DUA for a reason, they secondhandly take a model and refurbish that model… they recently just start experimenting on stuff…. proton stand on its own, even when people bash them… to think their own people… heheheheheh…. i iz learn something….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 10
          • anonymous on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:52 pm

if you put the proton iriz and honda brio side by side and looked at it, u will be surprised to find that it is the same. iriz is a redesigned brio (inside and out) happy veiwing :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 45
          • bigboy on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:55 pm

nope..your argument is invalid..error 404..iriz does not resembles brio at all…only the pillars are in the same shape..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • Low Budget on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:40 pm

MyVi is old product! P2 got to come out with a replacement to compete with the P1 Iriz, if not they can tapau the MyVi and need sales of Axia to survive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • you rather chose looks than tecnologi. iriz is loaded with new thing while myvi is holding toyotas name only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
        • AutoSpecialist on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:34 pm

MyVi = Toyota
          Malaysia = Japan
          Both hold reliable engine
          Like if you like it, Dislike of you dislike it.

• P. Kumar on Nov 13, 2014 at 9:13 am

I dont see any ugliness at all… I think, if they change the logo to the big ‘T’ or ‘H’, people will say it is state of the art design. For me, I like it and it hv the simplicity element + the defuser really umppphh… Thumbs up Proton. :)

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:13 am

Signal lever left : Follows Europe cars
      Signal lever right : Follows Japanese cars

Both makes sense, since P2 has always been about rebadging Japanese, and P1 always benchmark their cars with the European, although both are still way way behind …

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 4
      • Low Budget on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Whether Left or Right, its a matter of some minutes to get use to it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • I just feel that it’s dumb to follow things that doesn’t make sense (like putting the signal stick on the left and majority of Proton cars are sold in RHD countries). Be proud of Malaysian’s RHD culture la and put the signal stick where it belongs to, so shame of signal stick on right meh??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 32
        • Wayne on Oct 21, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Traditional RHD country, UK, have the signal stick on the left.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
          • pirlo on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:55 pm

biarkan ‘Name’ itu. orang baru nak belajar pasal kereta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Pororo on Oct 21, 2014 at 2:14 pm

I don’t care laa the signal lever at left or right.. What I want and wish about is the Malaysians do know how to use it when want to change the lane or belok masuk simpang, so that I can less or even stop cursing to the bastard who don’t know how to use the signal lever properly…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 239 Thumb down 2
      • frossonice on Oct 21, 2014 at 4:32 pm

This. Bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • So True!!! It is really annoying that these people do not use the signal at all.And you know what, some gave reason such as ” don’t want the bulb to blow quicker”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
        • jacksonljs on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:44 pm

It’s up to them either they want a so called “bulb to blow quicker” by using signal or to “taste” a 7 – 10 seconds of lori treler punya horn (aka air horn) from private registration car by not using signal because of the so called “don’t want the bulb to blow quicker”.

• Octoberfest on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Left or Right doesn’t matter, many Malaysian drivers don’t use it.

• TheMalayMale on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:53 am

Your are spot on Pororo! Imagine the savings automobile manufacturers could save on development costs i.e. wiring loom design and manufacturing, light cluster design and manufacturing, man hours to manufacture, install and assemble etc. etc. Think out of the box eh?

• Alex Ang on Oct 23, 2014 at 4:50 pm

So true… they swap the Signal lever with the wiper…
      I had a shock when I drove my company Persona…
      but I don’t have the shock when I drive a Nissan Almera…

So Perodua is diehard Japanese design…

• puterakupang84 on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:30 am

good review…overall winner comes to Iriz..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 17
    • OMG…Now temporarily winner is Iriz, later when Myvi facelift by adding ESC, TC, 6 air begs, push start, and LED daytime running light…. Then Myvi again the champion …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 46
      • OMGOOSE on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:41 pm

maybe in your day dream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 9
      • pirlo on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:59 pm

aku pernah kerja perodua. dengan practice buhin jiku dan cost down buang itu ini untuk mendapatkan profit margin yang tinggi, and DMC in control, bagi aku, itu tak mungkin. dari 2 airbags ke 4 airbags pun aku tak percaya.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 4
      • and the price is rising a lot. but they dont care, mahal tak apa asal bukan proton.

• AutoSpecialist on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:42 pm

Agree with OMG. Short story, Iriz has Traction Control (TC) and Electronic Stability Control (ESC) but in other ways Myvi lacks this technology. Dont worry. The next replacement model for Myvi will be much better because technology never stops, and we cannot stop technology. All the safety goodies will be inside the next model. Cheers..

• Sir Slave on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:31 am

If both cars are wearing standard wheels and spec says the Iriz is 5mm taller, how come the yellow Daihatsu ciplak is taller in the pics?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 52
    • MoFaz (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:51 am

5mm is very-very small difference.. you won’t really notice it in real. and so many things will affect a photo especially in perspective… if Iriz slightly in front, it will looks bigger, if slightly behind, it will looks smaller. if you really want to see that 5mm, compare blueprints of both models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • The floor is lower, so does it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • qwerty on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:32 am

The Proton has the edge in terms of safety features, accessories and styling (though subjective).

The MyVi, on the other hand, is ahead in terms of reliabity(2nd gen now), fuel consumption and interior space.

In conclusion, the Proton is better suited for those looking for a nicely-equipped safe car with a reasonable maintenance fee; while the Perodua is for those looking for a ok-ok-equipped car with low maintenance fee (5-year free service).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 21
    • nazimahjamal on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:59 am

Myvi no longer has 5 year free service, only 5 year warranty. Whereas Iriz now has 5 year warranty AND 3-year free maintenance service (parts and labour).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 6
    • Obviously (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:11 am

5-year free service? Last time I checked, they removed any form of free service package with their new cars. Now it’s 5-year warranty, I think. While I have heard their maintenance fees are lower compared to others, I can’t verify that since I cannot make any comparisons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • Low Budget on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:46 pm

P2 maintenance fess are lower because they now extend the service interval to 10000 Km or 6 months using the same oil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • myvi maintenance is high you know, the part is high price.

• Rawreng on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:41 pm

I sent my FLX for service, booklet says every 10k for normal use, 5k for heavy use.. Mine is city drive, now only done 27km after 3 years.. Is it going to be the same confusion here?? Or is the sc trying to milk us?? And the CVT stinks for FLX!

• kepalabana on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:35 am

err didn’t perodua stopped their 3 year free service package?

http://paultan.org/2014/08/11/official-perodua-end-3-year-free-service-package/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Proton is suitable for people with another car because when this car send for “routine” repair, you got another car to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 49
    • ganni on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:36 pm

ppl like me who is travel 75-100km/day might be stick to perodua myvi until proton’s product (iris) can prove that it is low maintenace, reliable for a long run, low fuel consumption etc..that is more important..

in term of features..definitely iris easily defeat myvi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
  • Mozilla Chrome on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:35 am

Since the premium Iriz is a direct rival to the Myvi Extreme, why not compare with that variant? Maybe SE and Extreme don’t have that much of a different anyway…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • carlover on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:38 am

View at Iriz back is like A shape.It is ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 89
    • Fairus on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:13 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 195
      • faizul on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:28 am

Low 5 star rating? Not much of a difference? You’ve never seen the asean ncap crash videos have you. Watch and compare for yourself

5 star Iriz – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CUleNxyo-Wk
        3 star Myvi – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WeEF379XRWQ

Got difference or not?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 3
        • ougees on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:16 am

Wow, myvi break its windshield front occupant badly hit compared to iriz much safer thumbs up proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 3
      • green on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:29 am

Bro, u drive a Livina and you comment unexplained plastics on proton? On what basis? Its only been in the market for a month.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 3
        • Low Budget on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Probably base on hearsay or having owned a Saga or Wira some years back or even seated in a Proton Wira Taxi.
          Even today, you will notice Proton taxi drivers open door to pay toll rather than wind down the windows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Maleficent Rides a Hybrid Horse Bird on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Well, well….

thats the difference between the IRIZ and the MYvi… u put other persons organ in the body of the myvi.. when the proton bears her own heart…

Which is more original? taking other person products, and claim it theirs? PERODUA… read the word DUA… Second..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • yes ! nujum pak belalang is talking. do not drive yet but already says everithing.

• Drive BMW on Oct 23, 2014 at 2:29 pm

I drive BMW. and I choose Proton.

• lembut on Oct 27, 2014 at 8:21 pm

“I’ll pick myvi over iriz given the reliable Toyota engine and drive train. It’s a proven drivetrain with smooth gearbox transmission for many years unlike iriz engine and jerky transmission sucks, loud engine noise and 6 months down the line unexplained plastic rattling sound will creeps in. Yes it gives better safety but not that much of a difference as its a low 5 stars rating.”

Says somebody who drove a Livina

• Bedal Saja la on Oct 29, 2014 at 1:55 pm

mike nmpak benor xfolow proton bterusan… enjin kete zaman bila y bising? campro CFE sonyap yo enjin nyer… dah test drive VVT enjin ke? xtest jgn dok komen melalut… VVT jgn lak kata tiru toyota or daihatsu.. g baca sejarah VVT ni dulu br komen… CVT xterasa tau tau dah masuk gear 6/7 beb…

• AutoSpecialist on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:46 pm

Yo are the real MVP

• Iriz front looks ok but the back really ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 44
    • honest on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:15 am

Yup can’t agree more
      i saw it on the road
      Not to my liking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • KawwKaww on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:39 am

These top-notch rivals had finally come face to face! Well done Hafriz! *Clapping Hands*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Steve Jobs on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:39 am

i take Iriz anytime.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 11
    • honest on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:16 am

strange
      why so many proton suppoters here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 52
      • bvc100 on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:51 am

It’s an open comment area, so you are free to express which car you like. So why does it matter if there’s more supporter for one than the other?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
      • ciakap on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:50 pm

to be honest.. it is strange to see people support car brand..

why dont they support team bola? Hoki?

#sarcasm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • 4G63T DSM on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:40 am

As expected, the Iriz beats the Myvi on all fronts but 2….maybe 3

1) brand perception
    2) interior packaging (don’t think anyone does better than daihatsu when it comes to making big space inside)
    3) fuel economy ?? 200kg is a hugh weight difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
  • Of course proton. myvi sucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 25
    • affinity on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Yeah myvi sucks but still Malaysia’s best selling model for 9 consecutive years. Iriz should annihilate the myvi not just compete with it. If people are still unsure whether to get a myvi or iriz then iriz has already failed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • Low Budget on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Poor Proton, people are unsure bcos of Proton past reputation, its a very bitter pill for Proton, hopefully they will recover from the mistakes made in the nineties where poor quality parts suppliers are kings and the buyers are being taken for granted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • That’s why a lot of people still buy Toyota rather than Hyundai or Kia, even though Hyundai/Kia comes with much better specification than Toyota..

I remember driving Kia ages ago (when it 1st came to the US in ’98), it was so bad. But nowadays, it’s totally opposite…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Allen lexus salesman mutiara on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Lots of suckers you see. Real men buy lexus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
        • Eyo (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:25 pm

If only every men can afford lexus , we live in a world where wealth and good fortunes are distributed unequally . Be grateful of what you have and try not to make silly statements like ‘ real man buy lexus ‘ . I know a lot of ‘ real man ‘ that drives proton and perodua . No offense mate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
        • Goh Jeng on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:51 pm

As the Teutons would say “It is still a Toyota”.

• Betik Muda on Oct 22, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Real men use 3 pedals

• myvi had 9 years potentials, but iriz is a few weeks to test it self, perhaps we all should wait a few month or year before judging it.

• rogaz on Nov 10, 2014 at 11:14 am

So Stupid Malaysian with MyVI high petrol consumption and really unreliable gearbox based on Japan Technology (all engine, Toyota Honda ) that never in history can race in F1 because of consume too much petrol at high speed. But EU car like Mercedes or Lotus (Proton) do race. Please all Malaysian wake up live based on fact not dream.

• AutoSpecialist on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:49 pm

After a couple of mount you will sit down, taking a deep breath and rethink which one is suck. Cheers

• based on these comparisons, i would like to say BAIBAI myvi and BAIBAI perodua!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 13
  • tfishp on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:47 am

What say you?:

Proton wins this round

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 7
    • Low Budget on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Win only on the Specs, sales figures might say otherwise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
      • Allen lexus salesman mutiara on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Who cares about sales figure? Are u salesman or shareholder of P2? So myvi is better car than lexus just bcoz of more sales?

If you buy a good product that has quality and is value for money you WIN regardless of the sales figure.

• we all buy car base by specs

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:50 am

The only thing that Iriz excels from Myvi is the safety features. Other than that is just additional accessories. The downside of Iriz is it needs to carry extra 200kg (equivalent to 4 small people). Myvi kerb weight is much lighter(less 200kg+-) than Iriz allows it to accelerate effortlessly and suitable for city driving, while Iriz feels a bit lazy to go from still but stable on high speed makes it suitable for cruising.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 12
    • ofcoz myvi is lighter and i hope u know why – no stability control..less airbags..thinner bodypart etc. lol!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 7
    • Obviously (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:13 am

The only thing? Maybe on spec sheet, yes. There are some things that the spec sheet cannot reveal like interior quality and fit-and-finish, for instance. Gotta sit in both to compare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Lemer on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:14 am

Ok, Iriz win on safety specs: ESC, traction control, ABS, EBD, airbag etc. you have to change your mental set. Safety should not be classified as features, it is mandatory standard.
      And you forgot also crash rating. One 5 stars the other 3 stars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 5
    • Manusia on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:16 pm

why so serious about the car’s weight?
      Iriz has stronger body than Myvi, of course it has more weight.

Iriz has more safety features, and more comfortable than Myvi.

Iriz the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • GadgetFreQ on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:00 am

Those pair of semi-bucket in Iriz looks comfy for long distant ride…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
  • Ultimately we just want a car which is well equipped with safety features such as airbags,ABS and VSC standard. I’d say Iriz wins hand down.. Unless Perodua ups it’s ante soon, its sales will be affected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • dy246 on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:03 pm

I highly doubt it, most malaysians do not understand the importance of ESC, ABS or even side airbags. Their argument would be “more things to go wrong”.
      Otherwise, why do we see so many death traps such as vios’es and myvis roaming our streets? There are even countless VSC-less Toyota Camrys costing RM185k on our roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • I understand your point for stupid vios & myvi buyers. But for us viva owners, tell me what new car cost below 25k ? More payments to bank installments means less rice on the table for our family. Can more airbags or ABS buy u rice?
        Don;t tell me to buy 2nd hand as my close friends have very bad experience buying one. One toyota SEG was a half cut car while the other was a major pain to repair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
        • dy246 on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:47 pm

I too, understand your point on entry-level cars costing around 25k. But as I know, most car companies react and update their products based on customer demand. If the demand is there, they would add it in to satisfy demand.

The Proton Preve is an example that comes to my mind. Initially launched with 2 airbags & no ESC on the 1.6 Executive and 4 airbags with ESC on the CFE Premium. Numerous customers made immediate and fair comparison with the export versions and deemed it unfair to export a better spec’ed version with 6 airbags & ESC on all models, including the cheapest 1.6 IAFM+ Manual. (I know this because I was one of those customers who complained when I took delivery & my sales advisor said they had received similar comments on the safety features)

About 18 months later, Proton relaunched the Prevé quietly with 6 Airbags,ESC,seatbelt reminders and ISOFIX for all models, bringing it on par with the Australian Spec.

If Perodua customers could submit similar feedback to it’s management, they might consider adding it into future variants. I would however have to admit that Proton buyers are generally more aware of such safety features compared to Toyota/Perodua buyers, so this tactic might not work with P2’s buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • KATAK on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:03 am

OMG A NEW FROG IN THE TOWN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 54
  • ruffstuff (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:11 am

Timing chain vs timing belt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 57
  • nazimahjamal on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:12 am

Myvi should slash the price by 10K because their specs are outdated and no longer competitive in this decade (yeah, I mean it has been around for more than a decade … ahaks :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
  • seancorr (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:25 am

Let’s see if P1 can take the crown from P2 in this case. They have a car that is better than the Myvi in most categories so it remains to show if the public will open up to P1 after being cheated for over 2 decades.

As for the Myvi…P2 will have to add in a whole load of safety spec in its FL to combat its new ‘rival’ (Iriz is actually a segment above).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:50 am

myvi n iriz same segment la…axia is diff seg..

• nazimahjamal on Oct 21, 2014 at 2:57 pm

No more facelift. Bring a new improved model with Iriz pricing and specs. Baru boleh comparo. Can or not?

• ganni on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:46 pm

myvi gen2 still new..if you want to wait totally for a new model..u might be waiting for 3-4 yrs..there will be a possibility for the FL to release by them..

• xoxox on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:27 am

obviously the legroom at the back sit for iriz is much shorter than myvi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • I beg to differ, it just that the seat base of Iriz is much longer that makes the legroom look smaller, but trust me, the seat has way better thigh support and quaite an incline for back support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • Jinyiwei22 on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:01 pm

True, I owned 1st generation myvi before. My passengers always grouses about the myvi seat too short to support their thigh. Hence every braking tends to slide them off the seats.

Iriz seat, as I viewed & seated were way much better than myvi.

• das auto on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Myvi only give you 3 quarter seat la bro. So it look more spacious. Even the centre of front seat back is only 1 inch thick. Axia is even worse. half inch paper seat backs. At least iriz seats are proper ones.

• Why spent such money to buy national car.. you just add in additional RM100 installment per month you can get better Japanese car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 63
    • nazimahjamal on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:11 am

You mean that fugly almaerah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
    • Maleficent Rides a Hybrid Horse Bird on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Well, well…. spend extra for a basic,
      then, suffer paying for additional to make it look premium…
      then, suffer expenses fr an import….
      then, budget lari lari… x cukup gaji…. makan blanja semua mau up…
      Blame no raise in salary…

if u understand what i mean, and think further, u will understand…. but if u dont, feel free to ask…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • haiya.. comparing full spec local vs basic spec import.. totally different thing.. not to mention, those japanese car usually cost more to maintain for regular service…100 bucks makes a lot of different to some people.. FOr u maybe not, but then dont blame the gov’t if your salary not enuff to sustain other price increase..

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:32 am

Nice comparison, guys. I especially like the shot of the MyVi and Iriz coming face to face at a distance:

http://paultan.org/2014/10/21/gallery-proton-iriz-vs-perodua-myvi-take-pick/proton_iriz_vs_perodua_myvi_-088/

Gives a really good point of comparison for their exterior dimensions and the impression they make. One can see that compared to the MyVi, the Iriz looks more hunkered down, sportier, sleeker and longer. Like it’s ready to sprint off at any moment.

To those that say that the MyVi loses definitely in all aesthetic aspects, let me give a different point of view. I think the MyVi is not that bad of a looker at all, but their ubiquity on Malaysian streets have made it much less special than the Iriz. The MyVi should still win the cuteness contest (ask any of your lady friends and see. I want to know whether I am right or not).

In the interior, I do think the MyVi’s Optitron-style instrument cluster beats the Iriz’s simpler two binnacle cluster. Sure, it’s the font and styling is a bit Ah Beng-ish but it wins the Iriz in legibility of the speedometer and the premiumness of the trip computer display.

I have sat in the Iriz Premium (though I haven’t driven it due to the sales people ignoring me for the majority of the time that I was in the showroom — true story) and I have to say that the seats are awesome. You really have to try it for yourself. Cabin impression is overall cozy (not always a bad thing) and welcoming. Also, as some have noted, the automatic gear lever is very nice to the touch even though it looks tacky. The put-off in the interior really would have to be the buttons, knobs and whatnot. I found a lot of freeplay on the aircond knobs; I rotated them lightly without switching the settings and found that they jiggled quite a lot. The door lock/unlock button was not confidence-inspiring when pressed — I found the button in the SuprimaS/Preve to be more solid. These are very minor niggles, I supposed but they do detract from the solid, if not premium, feel found elsewhere in the cabin. But one thing that bothered me was that I could not find the manual unlock switch (pull-rod or rocker switch) for the doors. Very strange. Did anyone manage to find them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Car unlock on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:46 am

If I’m not mistaken, newer Protons no longer have a manual unlock switch/rod. You just pull twice at the door handles and it will unlock the door.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • handle on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:29 pm

the unlock button is integrated into the handle lever. pull once for unlock, pull again to open the door. oldschool style pull the pin on the door panel than pull the door handle.

• Sir Slave on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Hope optitron panel got pictogram to show whether headlamps are on. Exora tak ada. Only dims when headlamps and at night hard to tell.

In town many optitron cars set off at night without headlights on.

• IrizX on Oct 26, 2014 at 7:07 am

Once you actually drive Iriz, you will realize even the crap Myvi has a better experience…no vibration sound, CVT whining, CVT jerking, underpower, fake Campro aka VVT engine roaring.

Once the new Mawi with all the equivalent safety feastures launch, there’s no more selling point for Iriz.
      It’s just junk.

Proton has improved on the quality of materials like seats and dashboard and all other useless things. But the key component…engine and gearbox…they failed miserably. But if you are looking for a manual car, the Iriz manual is better, can consider. The CVT version…plain junk…and please don’t tell me CVT is like that…i have tons of CVT cars in the house…they don’t have all the Iriz problems.

• I am still a bit skeptical on Pronton built quality, though Iriz does give me a “wow” effect. So i would pick Myvi at this moment.
    May be half year down the road, then we would know who is the real winner.
    After all, reliability play a vital role. I wouldn’t want to have a car that breakdown frequently.
    However, if Proton could really prove us wrong. Then it is time for Perodua to review on its price, or upgrade its specs on the next Myvi.
    To sum it up, consumer is still the winner :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 26
    • Shy Fool on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:00 am

Iriz fail big time at the rear design. Others are okay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 41
      • frossonice on Oct 21, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Man… If all you want is to stare at asses, go to the beach… Much more satisfying. :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Ziqquan on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:46 am

Both with some pros and cons. The choices are there to be made. But still, I am proud to be Malaysian and would like to own one of them someday.

• Ray (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:48 am

The Iriz looks visually longer in the second pic. That aside, I think the Myvi wins in terms space utilization, fuel consumption and (this we can’t deny) Perodua’s “Japanese heritage”. The Iriz on the other hand trumps it’s rival by premium touches on the exterior and interior and a plethora of safety features.

I really love the Iriz, but I’m still not that confident of Proton’s aftersales service and the reliability of their products. Being a current Perodua owner, I have to commend their great customer service and the products that they sell, though may not be perfect, are pretty reliable and run low on gas. I do also acknowledge the fact that they’re ripping off customers by omitting safety features (like ABS, SRSLY?) on low end models. Let’s hope that Proton has built a durable product now and do something on their customer service departments. Not a fan of Proton but a little part of me inside hopes that Proton can achieve what Kia has done today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • stranger on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:30 pm

I agree with you of the after sales service..
      I remember few years ago, I sent my company car (Exora) for service. The service was indeed bad with inexperience personal entertained.
      I wanted to do the wheel alignment, and yet the service mechanics answered that he dunno how to use the equipment

• Henry on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:50 am

Proton is muscling into Perodua’s territory. IMO, Perodua should retaliate by building a competitor to the Proton Persona. Competition is healthy, no?

• kzm (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 4:42 pm

daihatsu no sedan to give to p2..

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:09 pm

But Toyota has.

• peyn0 on Oct 22, 2014 at 7:14 am

so if perodua produce toyota sedan car… what the purpose of UMW??? killimg umw??

perodua=toyota perception only applies in malaysia.. part of salesman tactics coz toyota has big name compared to daihatsu

• Cannot give, later Vios cannot sell one

• rosdi on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:53 am

Myvi interior look so pathetic and cheap when compared to Iriz… now just wait when (if) accident happened.. you better pray those plastic will not end up sticking into your chest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • The side profile of Iriz look like Kia Veloster.

• oh look at that! how come those flat Myvi seat claimed as semi bucket by P2 too? hmm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • areos on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:59 am

PRESENTLY I HAVE BOTH P2 AND P1 CARS. ITS RATHER STRANGE P2 CARS GIVE ME MORE HEADAGE THAN P2. MY MYVI PRODUCED RATTLE SOUNDS (LIKE ORCHESTRA) IN THE DASHBOARD WHICH P2 SERVICE CENTRE CANNOT RECTIFY. MY KANCIL BLEEDS MY POCKET. SO I’M A BIT SKEPTICAL TOO WITH P2 SO CALL QUALITY CARS. AND FROM THE PAULTAN’S COMPARISION..ONLY LOW IQ PEOPLE WOULD SAY MYVI FARED BETTER THAN IRIZ IN GENERAL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • areos on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:59 am

PRESENTLY I HAVE BOTH P2 AND P1 CARS. ITS RATHER STRANGE P2 CARS GIVE ME MORE HEADAGE THAN P2. MY MYVI PRODUCED RATTLE SOUNDS (LIKE ORCHESTRA) IN THE DASHBOARD WHICH P2 SERVICE CENTRE CANNOT RECTIFY. MY KANCIL BLEEDS MY POCKET. SO I’M A BIT SKEPTICAL TOO WITH P2 SO CALL QUALITY CARS. AND FROM THE PAULTAN’S COMPARISION..ONLY LOW IQ PEOPLE WOULD SAY MYVI FARED BETTER THAN IRIZ IN GENERAL.

• Which one do you prefer? Rattle on dash board vs car stalled because of whatever reason, wiring fault, overheating, engine bocor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
      • where's motorhead? on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:49 pm

as always ioma the fortune teller knows everything..the car just launch few weeks yet he know everything..

• My prediction outdo yours on your last 2 models preve & suprima lousy sales.

• iomasark on Oct 22, 2014 at 7:40 am

Oh you must be blind not to see many Preve on road, many more than new fugly catfish vios and catfish altis

• New vios? Yea… and i see more hiluxhan your engine bocor preve.

• peyn0 on Oct 22, 2014 at 1:23 pm

n we see more honda city than umw vios

p2 umw msalwsman butthurt

• Dah kalah tu, panggil Honda. The reason I am using Hilux is because none of perodua model have lower sales figure than both your preve & suprima combined.

• iomasark on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:10 am

Why compare Hilux with Preve? Still Preve are more on road than ssheetty ride Hilux.

If like that you compare Ferrari sales with Vios, sure Vios wins. But Vios is still crappiest car.

• das auto on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:06 pm

This ioma feller is bomoh mar. He use 2 biji coconut can tell the future d.

• too soon to compare on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:00 am

i’m not pro p2 or pro proton… just my concern …if compare.. of course every eyes to the new iriz… coz its new… pple tend to get attracted to something new… why not wait for new Myvi soon… what i heard 1st quater next year.. then compare n judge wisely… i think its not fair to compare just launched model with several years old model… is it fair if compare current myvi with savvy? no isnt it…

and paultan! please stop updating about iriz… boring bro…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 33
    • ciakap on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:00 pm

P2 salesman detected..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • since when im p2 salesmen? on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:20 pm

errr… sinc when i’m p2 salesmen… hahahha funny just only bcoz i share my tot and its not pro proton.. suddently i became p2 salesmen… ciakap are u on ketum? ehhehe rilek bro… fyi i’m disappointed proton persona user… thats why i dont believe in proton anymore… and the best experienced i got from proton service cnter… when i ask why this and this problem occur…. this is their answer -> “OOO INI MEMANG MACAM NI ABG” mmg macam nie? what does he means…. mmg proton design part to be malfucntion suddently ke? about iriz.. im suggest dont rush to get one ur self.. rilek dlu atleast 1 tahun tgk pe poblem iriz dlu… tkot mnyesal je beli 1st batch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
        • beetk on Oct 22, 2014 at 7:38 am

That reminds of somebody telling that he owns gen2, persona, saga, lol

Better list down all proton cars and claim that you own it all.

• powershot (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:16 pm

there won’t be a new myvi anytime soon. a minor facelift, most probably.

when i say minor facelift, it would be a redesigned bumpers & skirtings; & also a redesigned interior.

there will be no improvement whatsoever in the safety & powertrain or transmission area.

• Ononimos on Oct 21, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Do you know that you can always choose not to open the thread that you don’t want to read? -.-”

Some people want to know more about the cars.
      As the world is not rotated only for your sake, you should just stop complaining about what paultan and the gang wrote in their website.

• ahmadjohnson85 on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:06 am

I’m quite surprise Myvi 1.5 manual can sprint to 100 km/h in 10 seconds. That’s the same figure for Proton Inspira 1.8 manual which claimed by Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Maleficent Rides a Hybrid Horse Bird on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:30 pm

psstt… the engine is not malaysian… no point taking pride on a brand taking peoples engine

• nazimahjamal on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Now everything P2 claims need to be verified. Until now, there is no proof on the road that AZIAH can do 20km/L…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Azure on Oct 25, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Yup. Myvi’s 1.5 Daihatsu engine going toe-to-toe with Inspira’s 1.8 Mitsubishi engine. Daihatsu vs. Mitsubishi.

• For me, the only things that makes myvi still relevant in this comparison is the gearbox which i prefer the 4 speed auto rather than fancy cvt that PUNCH me in the face every time i drive it. Else, iriz is ahead of myvi by miles

• Gurmit on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:09 am

Well done peodua, you have built great cars with your latest aluminium engine and timing chain you have bit proton to dust. Looking forward to see a sedan car from Perdua and send proton to the grave

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
  • RON97 on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:09 am

This is so boring but not to those low income people who can’t afford golf, mini.

Proton, your emblem is suck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
  • Jaychel on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:14 am

Myvi 1.5 se/extreme is expensive with such basic specs. I own one now. If they cut the price then ok la.. Myvi 1.5 auto is kinda responsive eventhough its 4 speed auto, thanks to the light weight body. But stability is almost zero at highways. Its floating with stock wheels, spring & suspension. It drives like a small mpv, like alza or avanza.

Iriz 1.6 premium is slightly more expensive but its fully loaded. Cvt a bit sluggish but i heard manual is better (havent tried manual). Its more planted to the ground & is stable (tried slightly over 120 @ nkve). Its not floating with stock suspension, spring & wheels. Its kinda follow the road surface really nicely.

In my opinion, iriz is made for those who appreciate better handling, safety & comfort. It drives like a sedan. The cvt sluggishness is ok actually if youre a patient driver. Interior quality is about the same with myvi. For guys, go get the manual. At some point i think buying an iriz for myself would be an upgrade rather than buying another car of the same class..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • despajero on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:15 am

Utk proton meningkatkan keyakinan diri sendiri terhadap kebolehan iriz utk pergi lebih jauh dan yg paling penting utk tingkatkan keyakinan pembeli utk membeli tanpa ragu-ragu, proton patut tawarkan pakej seperti contohnya pakej 30K atau 3 tahun servis percuma (percuma labour, minyak hitam, oil filter) macam myvi 1.3 SE saya. Ini mungkin membantu mengubah sedikit persepsi/tanggapan buruk disebabkan track record proton yg tidak berapa cantik sebelum ini. Sekaligus membantu sedikit kesan kenaikan ron95 baru2 ni. Alahhh ape yg omputeh cakap tu..less is more…haa begitulah

• Àlahai (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Iriz dtg dgn 5 tahun warranty dan 3 tahun servis percuma parts dan labour. Servis minyak cvt x pasti pulak.

• Thomas yoong on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:17 am

Both cars are good. I want only extra discount. Cari makan susah boss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Yeah, as a myvi driver, i think buying iriz is like an upgrade to a better car eventho its same category

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • What worries general public is the relibility of proton cars on the road, reliability of local made components and the ability of proton edar to undertake and address the coming flowing complaints.
    Public need to be clear the costs of maintaing the iris, regular services, cost of timing belts cvt belts changes as compared to the my vie.
    Proton a Malaysian company capable to design and build their own cars while Peroduo, also a Malaysian company at this moment can only assemble cars.. I think. I give BIG Full support to Proton… thanks to Dr M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • despajero on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:25 am

Saya pengguna Persona 1.6 HLine dan Myvi 1.3SE. Seteleh guna myvi sy mula rasa seronok drive kereta kecil. Bila Iriz dah keluar rasa terkilan sedikit sebab saya baru amik myvi tahun lepas. Saya suka designnya dan tertarik dgn safety features-nya.

• LLLLLOOOOOLLLLL on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:26 am

2014 vs 2005, comparing with Sony Ericsson K750 and iPhone 6 huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • Get your facts right on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:42 am

Its 2014 vs 2011 actually. 2005 is the 1st generation Myvi which won over the Proton Savvy.
      The 2011 Myvi, if it’s follows the 1st generation footsteps, should sell until 2018 until it’s replaced by a new base platform.
      Anyhow, we’re due for a facelift for the 2nd Gen Myvi, so this article should be revisited once that comes out.

• johnjonny on Oct 21, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Dah tu nak compare dengan apa? P2 ada model segmen B yang baru ke? P1 bukan nak compare sangat dengan P2 pun. sekadar nak tunjuk dekat rakyat bahawa ada kereta yang lebih berbaloi selain kereta 2005 yang diagungkan itu. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 4:58 pm

car life cycle 5-8 yrs (journal release on june 2008)..in this particular segment 5 yrs…as current Myvi is release on 2011 so they r legit competitor.

• roxas on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:29 am

myvi no chance! optitron meter is useless, i’ve seen many myvi drivers who oways didnt turn on their lights! iriz looks solids too !! it just looks better in everyway !

• Sam Looser on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Myvis are bought and driven by car retards. They are retarded in terms of car knowledge and driving skills. So its normal to see such things all the time.

• Iriz definitely win in terms of specs and safety, but hey, remember, Myvi is a 4 years old car. I would not surprise if they come out with something new next year. The only problem for Iriz is the reliability of the car, Proton for years has renowned as bad in terms of reliability, somewhat the opposite of Toyota, Daihatsu and Perodua. Fuel economy will also be the issue since the kerb weight for Iriz is 200kg more than Myvi.
    I would definitely go for Iriz only if Proton can sort out their reliability problem. Right now, well it is neck and neck. Pros and cons for both car

• Myvi facelift on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Looking at the last-gen Myvi, we will definitely have a facelift launching late this year/next year. A new platform entirely is out of the question.
      So we’re looking at a facelift that has an updated interior and exterior looks/styling with no dimension change. We can pray Perodua decided to throw in more safety features, but I doubt that will happen. At best maybe ABS across the range?

• ciakap on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:42 pm

changing bumber again? Oh NOOO.. please Stop!!

• since when im p2 salesmen? on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:29 pm

hahahah surely u on ketum la bro ciakap… mesti u igt this person… is me from my 1st “post too soon to compare…” ahhahah adehhh lawak gile… men sebat je ko… bro please stop fitnah org berdosa bro… gua tkde kaitan ngan perodua pon hahahah… sian ko ok2 aku ikut la kehendak ko… puji proton eh…. bahek la woi beli proton woi best gile…. thorbaekk tk nyesal punye… tk pnah rosak pape pon enjin paling jimat kalah hybrid go proton go hehheheh.. puas ati? dh2 tkmo pitnah org lagi ok bro ciakap… n please stop consume ketum!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
          • bang…memang sah2 dia tukar bumper. ni engineer perodua bape ramai da lari? tahu ke? xtahu kan?bape ramai engineer lari sebab dorang da bawak masok org dia?..btol apa perodua just tukar bumper dan lampu lepas tu letak sket lambang dia. even designer dia sendiri mengaku.tak tahu DIAM. :)

• where's motorhead? on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:22 pm

u just behave like our big guy Motorhead

• ciakap on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Someone bu*hurt… Pity on you P2 salesman.

Go get your life.. Nothing to touching… It is free country brooo

• If it’s reliable, it’s not Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
      • SavvyMyvi MazdaCitroen on Oct 22, 2014 at 1:41 am

If that’s so, my 09 Savvy isn’t a Proton but my Myvi could. I have no more problems with the Savvy than with Myvi. Dashboard is still very well screwed together. No rattling till now and the windows are still working.

Enjoy driving the Savvy more, AMT at that.

Only complaint is the service center. Just can’t beat P2 level of customer service.

• Your savvy must be newly bought then. Dont be a laughing stock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • blahblah on Oct 22, 2014 at 10:17 am

I’ve got both 08 Savvy H-Line and 08 Myvi Premium in our family garage.. I have no issue with the Savvy, however, the Myvi have been going in and out of service center/workshop since day 1.. Even worse than my 2011 308T.
        Did i get a lemon? Definitely!!

• Yoir savvy must be the test car sent to germany. This model failed so badly. Can easily win joke car in auto history.

• You condemned savvy also no use but sales number is not everything.

Iriz still wins hands down.

• Of course sales is not important for rent seeker because they are rent seeker.

• MeyouI on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:01 pm

if it’s imbecile, it’s definitely ioma

• dishonest liar (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:12 pm

I’ll wait for the reliability of the proton before i can jump to the conclusion. preview favors iriz but who knows in 6 months down the road what will happen to the reliability of iriz and proton is infamous for that. if iriz holds well, i guess we’ve got a clear winner in this segment though.

• Wow…. look at those Proton Cyber trooper. THey are everywhere!!! Wonder how much Proton pay them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
    • ciakap on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:37 pm

how much P2/UMW macai pay to you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
      • since when im p2 salesmen? on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:36 pm

hahahah aku mmg scroll down nk carik komen ko je bro ciakap ehehhe.. sbb funny.. btol2 bekap ko eh ngan proton… bersungguh2 ha… ehehhe… habis sume org ko marah yg mana tk shaluan ngan ko nye proton tu ehehhe… errr jgn plak tukor nama lpas baca komen aku ni… nanti aku kerinduan nk baca komen ko ehehhe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
        • kzm (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Sume org yg bg pandangan +ve kat p1 kat cni all kene pggil p1 cybertrooper or macai..i oso they call p1 macai just giving +ve opinion..even paultan they call bias when all other auto website give similar review..u seem new to this website.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • P2 sales manager Puchong on Oct 22, 2014 at 11:58 am

Since yesterday you were p2 salesman.You so fast forget already? Last week I interview you what. You said can start work as salesman yesterday but you did not show up for work in the showroom.You must be forgetful. Even today also you show up late and now ular dunno where. Even no customers also must standby in showroom. So free to surf on car blogs. Now get your ass back to the showroom before I give you warning letter!!

• where's motorhead? on Oct 22, 2014 at 8:43 pm

I think you are the funny one..

• Wow…. look at those Perodua Salesman. They are everywhere!!! Wonder how much Perodua pay them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • nazimahjamal on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:11 pm

I support iriz for free because the car deserves it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Hire cybertroopers? U really think proton so smart meh?
      They are tiga suku engineers that got nothing to do. Also the sales person that still waiting for their imaginary sales.

• Isaac on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:31 pm

based on design.. the iriz looks more stable. both are ok for me.

• NasiLemak on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:37 pm

i think both r nice car in it’s own way.. i guess both hv their own fans. just that myvi is proven bcoz it is an old car, hmmm old & outdated design.. iriz not proven, it is a new car.. if u ask me, i’ll go with iriz anytime.

• Maleficent Rides a Hybrid Horse Bird on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:48 pm

I as u can see my name, ride a hybrid horse bird…

what i see in you humans, you want quality… yes
    but you dont know how to spend the quantity for it…
    you loan so much… you monthly expenses are high…
    your pay just nice… but you talk big on things…

when you buy… u dont plan…
    you want people too look up on you…
    greed… and Vain….
    talking about imports…
    your salary…. hmmm

think of this…
    a locally made car, with premium spec… price almost as a basic car, of an imported car… you choose to pay a little more.. FOR A BASIC… then… monthly… you ppay more than the premium of a local… when your extra pay can be used to fuel and pwer your car… even the maintenance… with the imported ones… you spend more for the services etc… you say satisfactory factors…

then, you have bills and rents to pay… then u move to blame the company or the gov for your SMALL PAY… u x answer phonecalls from the bank to pay yr loan… when all was your fault in planning…

from what i see, PROTON is offering a premium for the price of a basic imports….but people want power… when its just a want… not need… need is when u need it to move with affordability… but once its beyond your affordability, its changes to wants… because u want it because of the standards that the lable holds…

u talk of speed, of safety…
    but u drive like u should ride a goat… without thinking of safety… no matter what u ride, if u fail to comply your own safety range, itll be useless… the safety compliance implied in the car, is to avoid and save careless fools faulty driving skills and negligence…

U put signal all around but if u dont use it, useless…
    u put diamond as bumpers, if u x keep your distance and speed, useless..
    U put Absorbing jelly sponge as airbags, with horrible driving skills (also other people’s carelessness) , still useless…
    U use the bull, but u x know its limit, u getaccident,
    U ride a mustang, if u x know the horse’s limit, ull tire them and they get out of control…

so, mock all u want…
    but before the sun sets on your every ride every day,
    its up to u how u want to drive, and plan ur affordability and mind set… grow up… and develop brain… generate more… no one on earth can change you…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • die hard Fan on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:56 pm

wow.. that is soooo truee… I like your poem

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Something refreshing for a change. Haha.

I just have one qualm with you. A need doesn’t become a want when it is beyond what you can afford. A need is something you cannot live without or something that will seriously inconvenience you if you don’t have it. A want is something you can seriously live without, like a luxury car or a sports car. For cars, no one can say they NEEEEED a Rolls-Royce, or a Mercedes-Benz or a BMW though everyone can want one. Thing is, we don’t need to have import cars. We sure do want them, though and that’s where your poem takes the cake. Well done.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:56 pm

But the option to have import cars is good to have. I never said we shouldn’t be able to pick what we want.

• wah… proton really desperate. Sampai have to bikin Pantun somemore. Respeklah

Tell you what, let the numbers tell the story shall we? By end year, lets compare Iriz Sales figure with Myvi sales for Oct, Nov and Dec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • JokerJoking on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:37 pm

I agree with most of your points; However, i beg to differ your most fundamental issue of your above argument…should we as the citizen be thankful to PROTON???? Thankful for sucking our money for more than 30 yrs in it existance? Thankful for providing “quality” + “affordable” car? Thankful for destroying the local car industry due to protection extended by certain party? Certain quarter also demand us citizen to be proud of the national car as only a handful of country manage to produce one. Let me ask you, what to be proud of? Nowadays, PROTON is not even jaguh kampung and can’t even put a dent in any market out their comfort zone. It is such a big failure, big waste of money and big waste of missed oppurtunities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Azure on Oct 25, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Its because of proton that Malaysia is not deeper in grave of foreign debt.
        Its because of proton that we don’t just buy imported cars but we make cars.
        Its because of proton that MALAYSIAN have the technology and workforce to make cars.

Proton IS the ONE and ONLY national car designer and manufacturer that separates us from Creative Production Country to Blind Consumer Country.

And its because of proton, that DRB-HICOM now have the technology to work on LOCAL production of PARS APC with partnership of Turkey.

Technical know-how is IMPORTANT for Malaysia’s FUTURE, even if it comes with a PRICE. If you can’t see the long-run instead of the short term benefits, Malaysia will end up BANKRUPT like Italy.

• JokerJoking on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:37 pm

I agree with most of your points; However, i beg to differ your most fundamental issue of your above argument…should we as the citizen be thankful to PROTON???? Thankful for sucking our money for more than 30 yrs in it existance? Thankful for providing “quality” + “affordable” car? Thankful for destroying the local car industry due to protection extended by certain party? Certain quarter also demand us citizen to be proud of the national car as only a handful of country manage to produce one. Let me ask you, what to be proud of? Nowadays, PROTON is not even jaguh kampung and can’t even put a dent in any market out their comfort zone. It is such a big failure, big waste of money and big waste of missed oppurtunities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • Sucking money? That’s too extreme, at least it’s moving cars!

• Well written. The limitation of oneself is important as you live within your means. Don’t wear a big hat if your head is not big enough.

• bootupjoe on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:51 pm

LP..PL nothing much to compare..

• nabill (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:56 pm

check out the myvi lean vs the iriz when turning , thats major!

the more i see iriz , the more i like the rear , bt the front stil , kinda confusing , id gladly get rid of that chrome bar in the grill…

most hatches suffer from vibrating rear parcel shelf when driven over bumpy roads , does the iriz has that too??

i do understand some of the negativity regarding the iriz on whether its gonna be reliable ownership , since thy been through so much in the past , i believe proton should go on an marketing offensive ,if thy want to correct their past mistakes n perceptions …
    one more thing to note , in the showroom , there were abt 3 iriz on display , i noticed all of them have a loose rear lights , if u jus giggle it jus a tiny bit , its actually moves…kinda creaky too….

• earth on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Comparing the 3 years old myvi with a just launch iriz seems like a bias, why not compared it with the new jazz? In terms of spec? Just wait for the refresh version,or just wait the sales figure to prove

• Rashuk Khan2 on Oct 21, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Actualy they not compare Iriz with Myvi 3 yo model (facelift), but they comepare with very…very.. old model inherit from 1st gen 2005. Lets the model become the legand….

• finally on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:16 pm

It took 9 years for Proton to put down their ego. Hope Iriz will be the ticket to redemption.

• Did they put down their ego? The last I heard them asking how much people know about car and also the head scolding Malaysian for not buying their car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • yellowbanana on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:37 pm

No offence but will it be like another Savvy? Full of powerful advertisement from Proton and bloggers but after a period of time, it’s a horrible experience owning it.

• perodua iriz
    proton myvi

:)

• johnjonny on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:51 pm

dah terlalu selesa duduk di takuk lama sampai lupa nak tambah baik model sedia ada. kemudian ada kereta baru yang lebih baik muncul di hina-hina. seumpama budak baru kena dengar cakap orang tua. dah ada 2 kereta konsep BEZZA dan BUDDYZ, tapi AXIA juga yang di keluarkan. Masih ambil rekaan DAIHATSU lagi. Lihat PROTON, konsep TUAH, hasilnya PREVE. Konsep EMAS, hasilnya IRIZ. walaupun ambil masa tapi berhasil. Tak salah ambil iktibar atas kejayaan pasukan lain.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
  • ch'ng on Oct 21, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Get to sit in the Iris once and i owned a Myvi.Im 177cm and my bro ia 180cm. Definitely myvi solve our problems of not enough leg room as compared to Iriz. And, myvi is more fuel efficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • peyn0 on Oct 22, 2014 at 7:24 am

myvi fuel efficient??
      prove it??
      at leat ituz has proof 14-16km/l tested by medias??
      myvi??? yet axia till now scarec ti call medias to test axia’FC

• APKing on Oct 22, 2014 at 12:39 pm

You got poor sitting posture bro. Sit up straighter a bit. I am 183cm and have no problems in Iriz.

• I’m 180cm, and 95kg.. don’t have problem sitting at Iriz both front and back seat during a 30 minute test drive yesterday. no issue with the leg room.

• If Proton selling strategy (by putting lot of features in) is right, we can saw a lot of Preve and Suprima on road instead of Vios…now they use the same on Iriz to compete with Myvi

• buaya on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:10 pm

There are more preve and suprima on the road compared to vios. However, preve had been around longer…

• Perodua is a our local company. For me, I think P2 really good in their marketing strategy. However, myvi is just too old model and looks very boring on the road now. While, IRIZ is a new model that beat myvi in every angles.If P2 want to enter the ring back, they need to introduce a new myvi with a new platform like what has been shown by ford fiesta. Current myvi just too boring and plain.

• Go Go Proton!!!!!!Beat Perdue,Toyota,Honda!!!Go go Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Jilbaber (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Definitely I’ll go for Iriz…best safety features of its class, bigger in size and latest convenient tech…what else you want meh…

already bought the premium one for my daughter…that’s shows how I love her

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • qaseh arjuna on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:59 pm

IRIZ IRIZ IRIZ IRIZ……..
    Definitely..

• I’ll NEVER BUY A CRAP PERODUA ever again. I have one VIVA which is a pile JUNK! Ever ever ever again!

• with so much comparison i wonder why they did not compare the fuel consumption

• holofanboi on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Any of you realize Hafriz wrote extremely basic english in this article?

I hope you unsophisticated, illiterate barbarians are happy at what you’ve done!

(Kidding :3)

• Jaimel Kaidar on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:39 pm

More P1 boyracer on road soon, as if we hadn’t enough MyV boyracers racing in streets imagining they are driving gtis.

• buaya on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Fuel efficiency quoted by most people is more perception and estimation than actual.

A real test should be done like this. Put the self-driving robot made by google in the car. Set it to travel at a set amount of acceleration (slow of course) towards a set max speed while going along a straight line. Put 1 litre of fuel inside the car. Then measure the distance the car can go before the engine cut off. Maybe proton should invest in making this test and compare with Axia, Myvi, Jazz etc. Then we can see which car is better.

• manoch on Oct 21, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Tong Vs Sampah ….tongsampah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Adlan on Oct 21, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Somehow what concerns me is that, Proton after sales service.

I understand that Iriz is a good car, so I hope on after sales service.

• Selipar Jepun on Oct 21, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Proton Iriz masih ada POWERWINDOW PROBLEM ka?hahaha!

• velet on Oct 22, 2014 at 6:33 am

That’s old story, sudah basi.
      Even Merc doesn’t give lifetime warranty

• where's motorhead? on Oct 22, 2014 at 8:50 pm

why using the word “masih ada” ??

it sounds like Iriz have been around for years..

• Warranty on Oct 21, 2014 at 7:24 pm

A lots of write of Iriz every components, how about giving a warranty for 5 years that would help to silent issue on quality.

• As usual MYVI will be rebadge from Daihatsu.
    So
    Iriz 2014 vs Myvi 2016/2017

http://i60.tinypic.com/ffcy9k.jpg

I choose IRIZ interm of exterior design… sorry MYVI so outdated design…

• As usual MYVI will be rebadge from Daihatsu.
    So
    Iriz 2014 vs Myvi 2016/2017

http://i60.tinypic.com/ffcy9k.jpg

I choose IRIZ interm of exterior design… sorry MYVI so outdated design…

• Che Ahmad on Oct 21, 2014 at 7:39 pm

why most proton and perodua compete and destroy with each other?

• feather on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:02 pm

Most? Myvi has been on road for years, Iriz has just launched. Axia is A segment, Iriz is B. Exora is C segment MPV, Alza is B. They cater different segments, at least different launching times.

• old dog on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:32 pm

bcos Protong cannot challenge others…if they can challenge others and export out of malaysia, the WHOLE malaysia is behind them!
      but Protong ends up looting own rakyat $ for the cronies supplier (Waja windows, handler for eg).

• geelr on Oct 22, 2014 at 6:30 am

Power windows now have lifetime warranty
        p2 got same warranty? Myvi also has those problem

• Jmsbnd on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:26 pm

LOL Power windows lifetime warranty?
          good for you geelr. Myvi don’t need that.
          Go lie to your self. full of blind supporters in paultan. you all better own one Iriz. If not don’t say anything. say is cheap. Go help proton make a great sales. so proton can no need to ask for 9Bil tax payer money. GO!

• geelr on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:02 am

Some Myvi oso have that problem. Dun tell me Myvi is problem free.

Those reviewers own Iriz kah? If not, they cannot make review? Who are you to say no?

So blind, you.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 8:41 am

Why shouldn’t they compete? Competition brings out the best and the worst in all of us. If you want Proton or Perodua to maju, you better hope they compete, rather than lounge about in complacency. In the end, the consumers will win as well.

• where's motorhead? on Oct 22, 2014 at 8:52 pm

if no competition among them..sure we’ll be back to zaman kancil and 1st generation saga

• Azure on Oct 25, 2014 at 10:11 pm

I believe you are mistaken.

Proton is not competing with Perodua.
      Proton is competing with Daihatsu.

That in itself is quite amazing.

• Itchi Bawa on Oct 21, 2014 at 7:50 pm

with proton quality control, worry that the so many extra new features such as the “6 safety airbags” might suddenly activated and become a safety hazard instead…

• Proton does not make those airbags, other automakers also use those from same manufacturer

• peyn0 on Oct 22, 2014 at 7:28 am

old minded ppl with old style bashing style
      mhahaha

• I’m still sad about that 0-100km/h figure but oh well we can strip the interior for lighter and more fuel saving than stock.

• No proton on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:14 pm

You are comparing 2014 car model with 2011 car model. So so so unfair i would said ….

• wsss2 on Oct 22, 2014 at 6:27 am

It’s not too far between 2011 and 2104 and the price is close too, why not?

• HittingBelowTheBelt on Oct 22, 2014 at 8:52 am

Concurred and ridiculous of such comparisons.

• Taufik on Oct 23, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Yeah…it is not apple to apple. Don’t be fool by Proton promotion…..talking through bad experience with the Preve CFE Turbo….

• old dog on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Protong is 9 years late…lol..

• Aero (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:43 pm

I was wondering whether paultan.org will make an Iriz vs. Myvi comparison, like the previous Axia vs. Viva one… and damn, you guys really pulled it off again ! I love these photoshoots / comparisons so much ! A picture speaks a thousand words after all.

Hope to see more of these in the near future. :]

• techart on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:25 pm

My opinion the reliability is top issued. The built quality have not be proven so far for P1, wherever we touch the interior so many hard plastic. P1 sales of Preve n Suprima showed for throwing more features did not make them top of the list of buyers.Hope Iriz can be the game changer for P1. Anything god job from P1 bcoz the effort. But the rear end just too much for me.

• Iriz much better than myvi,because the myvi dont have what iriz have n thats the fact. The safety of myvi dont have 6 airbag like iriz have if I have a cash I will take Iriz because iriz has many features n fast than myvi n iriz more safety than myvi. I like the design of the iriz dashboard because so elegant like europe car dashboard n the myvi the design of dashboard looks lame.

• peyn0 on Oct 22, 2014 at 8:25 am

safety, features, ride n handling, engine performance and FC… iriz wins

• GiveCreditDue on Oct 22, 2014 at 9:03 am

Myvi is only P2’s (and Malaysia’s) best-selling model for nine years straight. P2 should be proud of this achievement and support from M’sian.

So can Iriz break this records sales to take that crown away?

We should acknowledge Iriz set standards in safety features and that put P2 in challenging situation to upgrade safety features, warranty, improved FC and new engine perhaps.

• Jaguh on Oct 22, 2014 at 10:13 am

i had high hopes for the iriz. But i Visited the showroom and Was not very impressed. The dashboard isn’t too bad but the quality of the knobs and all doesn’t look too good…. Features and all are good tho.

• I’m selling both P1 and P2 cars (same owner, different branch). Based on experience, people tend to buy P2 due to reliability, however, lately, more people buy proton al well due to space and specification.. In terms of reliability, i hardly hear any complain on proton since past 2 years on Preve, Suprima and even Exora.

Talking about 1st batch cars, both P1 and P2 tend to have some problems early on. U need to get 3rd or 4th batch cars for reliability sake.. That means those cars manufactured 6 months onwards after launch.

• sukai on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:35 am

that is the point P1 to to emphasize all malaysian..

Past is the past… but now, P1 moving forward to greater reliability, safety, value for money

• Taufik on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:50 pm

I think you are wrong there or just want to promote Proton by note telling the truth about Proton. I was a user of the Preve CFE Turbo. Bought it in July 2013 and hardly 11 months I used it there were so many problems. On the second day of getting the car, I had brake problems and all the brake system had to be changed. Through out my use of the Preve, I have changed the brake system, the ignition starter complete set cuz the engine cannot be shut down. Battery twice I had it changed. Hazard light on for no reason. Window drop. And the major one when I had enough of it is when Proton said they have to changed the gear box. That’s when I quarrelled with those people in COE including the Dato’ CEO. They finally agreed to buy back and refund my money. That too until now not fully paid as per what was agreed upon. Before that I tried to trade in after 10 months using it, but the value dropped so low ie from RM72k to as low as RM37k. you can check with the people at COE and the car number is WRH 730. NOW YOU TELL ME PROTON IS GOOD..?? Now I have just bought Peugeot 408 Turbo and the performance is superb so far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • MeyouI on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:04 pm

Just wondering, r u now using WRH730 on your 408?

• Taufik on Oct 24, 2014 at 5:22 pm

No I did not use theat number anymore. The number was transfered from my Triton to the Preve. Now new number lol…

• Hardly does not mean never.. I admit some proton cars do have problems, but what i meant was, it was not as common as before.. Last time was like at least once on weekly basis, but since 2-3 years ago, not even once a month, due to the car defect.
        Mind you, i also received complain few times a month from P2 customers as well on defects such as such as radio reception not working, dashboard rattle, alignment issue, etc.

• Taufik on Oct 24, 2014 at 5:34 pm

P1P2…I am taljing about major defect that I have faced with my Preve. Brake system changed, gear box changed, battery twice in just a few months changed, window drop with no solution to it. I used to sit at the waiting area at Proton so call Center Of Excellent. I mixed around and share information. There was this middle age Chinese gentlemen. His Prevewindow drop problem to the extend of having all the four doors changed. Masuk akal ka?? There were others too having about the same problem. Try sitting there and talk to these customer and you will here a lot of negative stories about Proton.

• myvi owner on Apr 21, 2016 at 12:55 pm

peugot volkswagen no value, every 3 years must change gearbox not include in warranty, minimum price is above RM13k only for gearbox..the rest part sindri mo ingat.

• Betik Muda on Oct 22, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Real men use 3 pedals

• nueks on Oct 22, 2014 at 12:40 pm

pesanan untuk rakyat malaysia…
    pilihlah kereta yg jimat..
    itu je… patern ka apa… kalau maintenance and pengunaan petrol yg tinggi… tiada guna juga.
    jadilah pengunaa yg bijak..
    iris or myvi.. yg mana satu tidak membebankan anda..

• Since when it has high FC and maintenance?
      Life is priceless, you cannot buy it with money you saved from fuel

• where's motorhead? on Oct 22, 2014 at 9:01 pm

if the difference isn’t very much ..why bother?
      safety .. or reliability..which are no 1 ??

• The Stone on Oct 22, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Better waiting for new MYVI edition out next year . After that you can compare with IRIZ

• Safety car..and long term maintenance..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 1:58 pm

neither.

• harry the great on Oct 22, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Proton iriz champion? Yeah, jaguh kampong la. To all msians who is so forgetful and suddenly got turned on by iriz pls remember this car manufacture by the name of proton has or have been cheating the rakyat for donkey years and still in need of our hard earned money to support the proton brand……and yet the car prices in this country is sky high and all of you idiots are clapping your hands cUse iriz is fully loaded……oh my…you guys are shallow. I only pay a fraction of the price for even something bigger and better in NZ-la! Clap clap clap…and you guys are the biggest, idiotic suckers……
    Proton champion? Yeah lets see how this brand fare jn an open market. Boohoo…….you idiots will cry like a baby.
    Dont get me wrong, i am not a perodua supporter neither am i a proton basher but i am just speaking the truth. And when the truth is spoken many will be hard to swallow it. It is the stupid system we have in this country that is making you and i poor. It is because of the stupid system all of us are jndebted to the banks.
    Mind you, i paid cash for my cars in NZ and its no burden unlike here.
    Go la…support more la…and Krony will be the ones driving real cars. Not u. Ahahahahaa…..blah blah blah…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • youcrap on Oct 22, 2014 at 6:42 pm

I read sucker giving sucky comment because he is too sucky to have better car.

Work harder, don’t blame others if you cannot afford good car.

• harry the great on Oct 22, 2014 at 8:27 pm

You are truly an original msian breed idiot. U will sulk like an ass if u knew whatcars i own!
        Go ahead be a jaguh kampong. U r the loser by the end of the day.
        Ahahahahaha………..oh yeah thats what the govt want most rakyat to be….like u.
        I will be laughing my way to the bank but u will be sulking your way to the bank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • youcrap on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:06 am

What car you own?
          Lambo? Bentley? Ferrari?

Dun forget to provide drill or you are in your best dream. Too many kids being keyboard warriors here. Feel pity for their parents.

Haha!

• Ononimos on Oct 22, 2014 at 8:15 pm

You are poor because you are lazier than others. Period.
      Well, truth is hard to swallow yawww.

• die hard Fan on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:31 am

You know what Harry, … during my primary school, I used to hear that kind of wording coming out from my classmate..

“Bapak aku dengan Michael Schumacher adalah sepupu kalau ko nak tahu”

Hey kid, do you know who Michael Schumacher? XD

• Driver who drive both Proton and Perodua on Oct 22, 2014 at 5:19 pm

I know all about Proton and Perodua problems ~ that can be considered as hassles and stuffs like that…
    the only issues for me:
    (1) rear-passenger must be comfortable enough, when it says 3 passengers, it can accommodate 4 passengers
    (2) the rear-baggage area, at least 3 airport luggages can fit in…
    (3) and most important one, IF KENA HIT BY 16-TONNE LORRY FROM THE SIDE(LEFT OR RIGHT) OR FROM REAR OR FRONT, PEOPLE INSIDE ARE NOT CRUSHED! DX those N-CAP RATINGS ARE BULLSHIT! testing by hitting a wall is different from hitting/or getting hit by a moving 120km/h LORRY!

• Akulah on Oct 22, 2014 at 6:24 pm

No vehicle can save you if your vehicle is hit by a lorry at 120km/h

• meyouI on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:20 pm

Why hit by a lorry, why not by a train.. sure totalled.. the brain also can explode into pieces…

• IrizX on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:22 pm

You hit by lorry at 120km/h…Superman also die.

There’s no car which can withstand that and not be crushed. Use brain please.

• Muhammad on Oct 22, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Myvi is always best.. No model can compete Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • berat badan on Oct 22, 2014 at 8:35 pm

The 200 kg weight difference can affect fuel economy. On paper, Iriz suddenly look like a fuel guzzler.

• VTI-L on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:08 am

Similar weight with City, problem?

• IrizX on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:34 am

It’s heaviar than a City (1100kg)….and yes, problem. City has more power and deliver efficiently thanks to latest Eartdream CVT….Iriz has crap Punch CVT…although both are CVT, it’s like day and night in terms of power, fc and refinement….not to mentioned the City gb doesnt make noise and jerky like Punch…

• The Engineer on Oct 22, 2014 at 10:41 pm

hmmm…why is there no comparison between the engine? This is still not enough to persuade people like me to believe in Proton again. So many issues that we’ve seen with Proton cars and its engine before so please compare more in detail. Thank you.

• Kancil User on Oct 23, 2014 at 1:29 am

In this case, for sure Perodua will upgrade their Myvi la. Better facelift & interior. So just wait. hehe

• Fuel Concious on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:31 am

test drove iris. A fuel guzzler. You can put 100 airbags, small car only protect you so much. I vote on fuel economy, which Iris had nothing to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • qaseh arjuna on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:38 am

Congratz to Proton who have strive hard and put their commitment in making IRIZ a reality.
    Full of function that emphasize on safety & features for the convenience of the user..
    Past is the past.let us move on with our own pride of truly National car..

• rosli on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:24 am

“Aku Selalu Suka Tipu Ramai Orang” (ASSTRO)…

Iriz and Myvi are overpriced.

• hussein on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:29 am

At the end of the day is driveability and
    Iriz drivetrain sucks.
    Read all those reviews and judge for your self.
    Pathetic gear ratio coupled with a cut and paste
    gearbox and CVT.
    P1 should aim much higher than just a Myvi if
    it ever wants to go global.

• peyn0 on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:31 pm

typical p2 macai with old tech 4at
      cvt like a smartphone.. 4At like nokia 3210
      smart phone with touchscreen vs nokia with keypad

old minded old style will always happy with thiet keypad

• blahblah on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:37 pm

no la…cvt is like androidOS, the other one is like symbianOS.. both can surf the web. At least android have constant improvement, Symbian on the other hand sudah mati…

• IrizX on Nov 09, 2014 at 11:21 am

Stupid comparison. Just because CVT means all good, just because AT doesn’t mean all bad.

Proton’s Punch CVT is like Android 1.0..not even fit for released to mass market. While Honda, Nissan CVT etc, is already Android Lollipop.

4AT is like old Symbian, but still runs better than Android 1.0!!!

• which car is going to have a better resale value, pls check with the second hand car dealer?

• Wow..pm jonathan..

• mr koner leper on Oct 23, 2014 at 2:39 pm

kalau saya la..saya pilih myvi..ringan..minyak dah mahal..kreta makin berat makin makan minyak..

• jackas on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:14 pm

That weight is comparable to other B segment cars ex. Honda City

• peyn0 on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:47 pm

on paper .. iriz 7.4l/100km.. vs myvi 7.8

proton berani bagi media test lagi…

• IrizX on Nov 09, 2014 at 12:28 pm

i POTONG if the FC can beat Mawi in City drive. 1200kg+..heaviear than a City, Vios or Almera!!!

• ProCon on Oct 23, 2014 at 2:39 pm

In term of Design and Safety Iriz Win
    Engine : not sure
    Features : Iriz Win
    Resale Value : Myvi

For now better chosse myvi. WHY??
    Myvi has there for so long. Overall really good car. Nothing wrong with it.

But PROTON? Usually proton first generation car has so many problems.. Wait for their second generation Iriz if you want to buy.

• If you are to look for a stable performance, low maintanence vehicle, Perodua would likely to be your first choice. As for Proton… Nothing to say, design all high end, quality only so so… sometimes even worse!

• N.Gie on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:55 pm

This is my personal experience buying Proton last time that make me NEVER BUY PROTON ANYMORE .After sale service n maintaining service really SUCKS by Proton Service Center .

• LadyA on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:02 pm

As a lady, I chose Iriz. Cmon as you know, lady driver aren’t good in driving so safety spec is the most vital thing.
    Owned a Myvi and surprisingly material for the body are very disappointing (well I took a subject in material engineering hence I did my personal observation). Cant say much bcse I’m not really an expert.

Early 2014, I asked a friend of mine who worked in a secondhand car seller “why Suprima pun dah ada orang jual balik? Padahal kereta baru kot!” He told me that Suprima is actually boss dia yg beli, and dia purposely letak kat depan to show people that car tak bagus. That’s why baru pun orang dah jual balik. Omg. Pity P1. How can you develop so much hatred for a car maker heh? I had bad experiences with P2 but at least I dont hate them that much. Just deal with it lah.

• blahblah on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Somewhat true… It’s all about the brand perception..I have a 08 Savvy H-Line and like it every bit, unlike our family’s 08 Myvi premium which are not that stable on high speed.

Quality wise, we do not have any issue with the Savvy, but can’t say the same with the Myvi.. Got more problem compare to out P308T, which is known to be a bit problematic as well.

The only problem with the Savvy is the type of material used for dash board and side panel. Other than that, i think it’s a great car.

• neckotynne on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:24 pm

I might choose Proton Iriz…! Myvi tu macam tin kosong je… No safety… Kalo accident, habbbiiissssssss…! Hahahaa…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Forget about Proton. Don’t be fooled by its looks and the reviews. Four years down the road you will regret for sure. No resale value, spart parts expensive, quality is PHUI! Price of other cars will go down when Proton goes down!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • qaseh arjuna on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:00 pm

I choose Iriz..
    All features attached makes Iriz definitely a best compact car among others..

• yushu on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:21 pm

I own Myvi..had an accident on Perak-Kelantan Titiwangsa hill 2 years ago

driving downhill around 60-70km/h at 3am, pull a break during cornering however the car not turning due to on wet fog road cause an unbalance car position. then I turn my steering another side, suddenly car rolling over a few times and stop on road barrier. My sister at the back got some bruise on his arm. car totally wreck..

From that time I realised how important safety equipment for car even though you drive very slow..because unpredicted situation like what I experienced before might happen to others.

My opinion..myvi is unsafe car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • IrizX on Nov 09, 2014 at 11:24 am

Same can be said about tons of Campro engine which suddenly die and cannot move…if Lorry came running at 120km/h behind you, bye bye already. You can easily find many Preve Campro videos on Youtube which cannot move either due to Engine or gearbox.

• IrizX on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:24 pm

At the end of the day, Iriz will still lose in sales to Myvi. Just wait 6 months and see.

• hiyan on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:56 pm

fast fast go buy iriz…. fast go buy lor

• suhaimie on Oct 24, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Test drove Iris and the car transmission sucks
    Even the salesman confirmed its poor drive and
    suggested a Preve or Inspira instead.
    Proton engines are still light years behind its competitors.

• i rather wait, cause whenever Pooton launch new model there are many complains on accessories and engine.. whereas Peodua is very reliable and less complain.

• IrizX on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:46 am

Yes, please wait for new facelift without the Punch CVT gearbox. If you intend to buy the manual version, it’s still ok, but not the auto version with the Punch gearbox.

• rosli on Oct 24, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Myvi & Iriz are over priced. Pity to all Malaysian buyer.

• Ryeon on Oct 24, 2014 at 6:52 pm

I like iriz but the quality has to be improved. I found out there’s some rust on the parts beneath the bonnet of proton iriz, although it’s a new car. Plus the feel of pushing the button in the interior isn’t that firm. I hope proton can improve if they really want to meet international standards because very little things can make the difference.

• Ahmad hadi on Oct 25, 2014 at 12:16 am

The bookings speaks for itself. Iriz till 23 oct has confirmed bookings of less than 3,000. This shows how unpopular Iriz is.
    Proton still has a long, way to re convince the rakyat of the poor quality and service issues .
    Example just look at the back of the proton sagas. Many of them already has the rear license plate plastic part already dropped off. Proton is aware of this problem but still refused to acknowledge a recall. For the Iriz, not sure which part is going to drop of like the saga.
    I asked the sales manager of Edar kesas highway why proton uses timing belt? He replied it is for safety. Proton engine maybe first in the world that has a safety belt.

• die hard Fan on Oct 26, 2014 at 10:15 pm

actually.. timing belt is for sure for safety. if the timing belt snap, it will not damage the engine because of rubber to metal contact

Meanwhile, if the timing chain snap, it for sure will damage other engine parts because of metal to metal contact.. for sure cost of repairing will be rocketing increase.. not to mention to change timing chain which are more expensive to timing belt, but you also need to change other damaged parts. however, timing chain lifetime is longer compared to timing belt

therefore.. timing chain is not everything for engine technology.. same goes to timing belt.. it is also not everything for engine technology

• Caleb on Oct 29, 2014 at 1:57 am

I believe you got the pro’s and con’s of each of them reversed. Chains are more durable compared to belts which are more prone to snap.

• die hard Fan on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:07 pm

yes..I agree chain durability is higher compared to belts.

Do you agree if chain also have tendency to snap? Because chain not a robust material..it will face wear and tear..same goes to belts.

Materials that facing force all the time in the same direction tend to have fatigue. When it reach fatigue, strength of material on the fatigue area will reduced significantly.

Due to that tendency, belts is safer compared to chains..that explained why sales manager mentioned belts is for safety..

• Caleb on Oct 29, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Yep, they both have the ability to snap if given the right unlucky circumstances. I have a quote here from a website detailing the pro’s and con’s of each one…

http://www.car-techie.com/timing-belt.php

“Timing belts break most often at start up and shut down of the engine, because that is often when the most tension is on the belt. If you have a non-interference engine, a broken belt is not really a big deal. You throw a new timing belt kit on it and keep driving. However, if you have an interference engine, internal engine damage is nearly inevitable, though the amount of damage varies depending on engine speed at the time of failure. If it were to happen on start up or shut down, it won’t cause irreparable damage. Maybe some bent valves, broken valve guides, etc. However, if a timing belt decides to let go at higher rpm, the inside of the engine becomes an amazing, high speed, metal-chewing blender of destruction. When it isn’t your car, it can really be incredible to see. The valves typically break clean off of their stems, and bounce around the cylinders multiple times per second. This action typically horrifies the piston, sends aluminum shrapnel into the oil pan, and bends the connecting rod. Once the piston completely disintegrates (which it will), and the rod loses its direction in life, it will proceed to poke holes in the engine block and oil pan until the engine is cut completely in half. You. Would Not. Even. Believe it. Needless to say, the engine is not able to be repaired without the help of a time machine.

When a timing chain decides to break, it can have varied results as well. If it happens at low speeds, the chain may just slide to the side of the timing cover, and not cause any internal engine damage. Simply throw a new timing chain kit on and you are on your way. On the other hand, if the chain lets go at high engine rpm, it will likely whip around the timing cover violently, destroying everything in its path. Again, this can be quite incredible to see, but you really don’t want it to happen to your car or truck.”

• die hard Fan on Oct 30, 2014 at 12:12 pm

I agree for both destruction power in high RPM

but still total damage for chain is higher compared to belts.

• Ryeon on Oct 26, 2014 at 2:16 am

Ahmad hadi, my neighbour proton saga blm long strips of plastic cover place at the boot opening was broken exposing the light bulb and wire which lights up the number plate at the rear of the car, how awful to look at.

my comment looks like i am bias to myvi but i still like the iriz, i just speak out the truth so that proton can become better. I hope proton can take it positively. because we love malaysian made product that’s why we comment on them so that our country made product can be better.

• IrizX on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:43 am

Isolated case lah. I have confirmed with Dr. M.

• ciakap on Nov 12, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Did you see all proton saga blm long strips of plastic cover place at the boot opening was broken?

If yes, it is manufacturing problem( came from vendor who simply change the material to cut cost)

If no, it is user fault

• Ryeon on Oct 26, 2014 at 2:21 am

I PREDICT the next generation of myvi will have VSA, and all the safety features to compete against Iriz.
    After all, current myvi is already 3 years old since the launching year of new myvi.
    I am so sad that i bought myvi already, but I also realized that things are getting better and better every year so that is no point to follow the trend, after all i am not a millionare which can buy whatever that i want.

• IrizX on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:37 am

I predict once the Mawi with ESC/VSA becomes available, it will top sales again….Iriz is too problematic to begin with…lousy noisy car with junk auto gear.

• rogaz on Nov 10, 2014 at 11:30 am

Myvi body not aerodynamic like roti with specification below eu 4 and can’t be sell in EU because of low quality. Please Malaysian stop dreaming. Don’t trust the propaganda to tarnish image proton by unreasonable business man who want them to be rich but bumiputra produce car they try to destroy but other than bumiputra they say ok event it low quality than proton. Think their agenda to take all for them greedy.

• simple on Oct 26, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Reliability-wise, myvi engine will last longer than Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • rogaz on Nov 10, 2014 at 11:23 am

Who said that, Is there any taxi using MyVI, so no prove. Proton Taxi KLIA six month 100,000 km one year 200,000 km much reliable than Dihatsu engine. Consume too much petrol because of big body and small engine. Please make a research.

• It seems that campro engine is quite durable after all.

• robert on Nov 11, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Bro I travel a lot to Sarawak. Everytime I speak to taxi drivers with CAMPRO engine persona/waja all make complaint that the cylinder head fail due to burnt valves. CAMPRO engine is not robust enough for NGV as it is “dry” no lubricating action as compared to running on fuel alone. It costs the taxi drivers RM 1000 ++ just to get a replacement head. I have owned Kelisa for 10 years, Kenari for 5 years and now Mivy . So far none has any engine failures.

• FYI, Sarawak Taxis doesn’t use NGV at all… None of the cars here uses that.. We don’t even have any stations for it…

• Taufik on Dec 04, 2014 at 10:43 am

I choose Myvi base on good track record of Perodua. Proton has got a very bad track record and I am talking through a very bad experience in the Preve car and the management poor handling of situation. They tend to hide what ever problem there is with Proton cars instead of calling back the problematic models for verification. Never again to buy Proton. Shucks.

• halil on Nov 01, 2014 at 1:19 pm

cakap saja pandai beli la

• halil on Nov 01, 2014 at 1:20 pm

buy both la like me 5t and 6th car lol

• halil on Nov 01, 2014 at 1:21 pm

cakap saja takda guna go n buy la

• Vinccy on Nov 02, 2014 at 7:25 pm

I think to be fair..compare proton car that launch same period…..

Let’s wait replacement model for Myvi….then compare apple to apple

• safety officer on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:51 pm

due to safety, i’ll recommend iriz.

• Angau on Nov 06, 2014 at 11:44 am

If beli Iriz 1.3 tambah aksesori DLR, keyless entry & GPS boleh ke? Berapa bayar tambah? ta mau 1.6 maa..

• IrizX on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:35 am

DLR, lekat sendiri.
      GPS, Use your smartphone
      Keyless entry, can try 3rd party, but later got problem, you pikir lah sendiri.

• ben lee on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:26 am

i woud like to cancel my myvi booking of 1.3 XT and return my deposit of rm400.
    plan to get IRIZ.
    how do i go about it ? pls help ..

coz the SC service is bad when securing the car…

• rogaz on Nov 10, 2014 at 11:15 am

Produa accident terbelah dua like ALZA

• Saleh on Nov 14, 2014 at 9:57 pm

I’m using Proton and Perodua car,my problem exist around every 2 and half years,is changing battery and tyres..Both carmaker have their own strength and weakness..

• Mils7 on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:37 pm

Proton is a bad omen for my pocket change, most forum I visit people show how expert they are in term of proton part (it mean so many go to workshop). I thing of switching for Myvi or Livina, since they got a thumb up. I prefer to be Stupid about a car and just get-in and drive THEN learning about-it every-time paying on spare part

• I was inside a Myvi once or twice.. i didnt realise that it is so plasticky.. because people seem to love the car..handling also out.. basic features only.. safety.. so-so..Rated ASEAN Ncap 2 only right? i didnt like the rear because it looks like a Sumo wrestler sitting.. well.. in my eyes lah.. or maybe the price is good..but the colors are ok..

• Neo pelesit on Nov 23, 2014 at 12:49 am

Sedih dengan rakyat malaysia. Jatuhkan asset negara sendiri. Toyota dengan honda dulu pun tak kan berada di tahap sekarang ni kalau rakyat mereka sendiri tak support. Tak payah nak kritik sangat lah. Patutnya kita sokong buatan malaysia supaya satu hari nanti boleh sampai tahap kereta import. Mak ayah kita pun terima je kita seadanya dan sentiasa sokong kita walau seteruk mana kita ni. Takda dia nak kondem kita dan bangga dengan anak jiran rumah sebelah. Entah apa2 lah korang ni. Lagi banyak ilmu lagi rendah martabat diri. Pathetic.

• chou xiao zi on Dec 04, 2014 at 4:17 pm

iriz what lai de?i dint see 1 on the road in kota kinabalu hahah

• Caleb on Dec 06, 2014 at 1:05 am

I’ve seen 3 ady here. First was mountain grey, silver, and white last, which is my fav ^^

• honda on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:47 am

Proton iriz looks like Hyundai eon……….copycats……

• Redondo on Jul 17, 2015 at 2:55 am

Just buy & drive….it is up to individual after they’ve tried. Leave a comment afterwards…follow by improvising action of course. Anyway good luck Proton & Pr2

• Mikael Ahmad on Jun 18, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Proton, jual balik takde harga punya lah