Hyundai Genesis gets highest score ever by ANCAP

hyundai-genesis-dh

The Hyundai Genesis has achieved the highest score in the 21-year history of the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP). The flagship sedan scored 36.88 points out of a possible 37, along with a maximum five-star safety rating.

The demanding assessment includes a 64 km/h frontal offset test and a 50 km/h side impact test, along with a 29 km/h pole test, a whiplash test simulating a 32 km/h rear-end crash, and a 40 km/h pedestrian impact protection test. A minimum number of active safety assist technologies is also required.

The Genesis’ tally of 36.88 points includes a frontal offset score of 15.88 out of 16 and a side impact protection score of 16 out of 16. The Hyundai also scored 2 out of 2 in the pole test and a whiplash protection test rating of ‘good’.

The Genesis DH will be launched in Australia next month. It will include standard safety features such as adaptive cruise control, ABS + EBD, ESC, automatic emergency braking, emergency stop signal, lane support system, pre-safe systems, reversing collision avoidance, tyre pressure monitoring system, active lift (pop-up) bonnet and nine airbags.

The big rear-wheel drive sedan was recently previewed in Malaysia, hinting at an intention by Hyundai-Sime Darby to bring it in. The car on show had a 3.8 litre V6 Lambda engine with 315 PS and 397 Nm of torque, paired to an eight-speed automatic transmission. Very richly equipped, too. What do you think of a Korean 5 Series/E-Class contender?

Hyundai Genesis previewed in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sam Masak Roti in The Loo on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Ahhh for sure got no RV one! Kimchi car sucks, not even this one can ever be compared with Toyota Vios without VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 96
    • Yalor yalor.. Vios designed to keep rv, not life.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
      • kenny on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:15 am

Do you think VW got RV mei? The owner of VW have good life? they are driving car with problem while waiting the schedule for services and the spareparts.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Be advised that the sarcasm in the first comment above has been rated as “stale” and “not funny anymore” for your viewing pleasure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • hamboldt on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:51 pm

If u talking kimchi car ten years back, many ppl will agreed with the rv and quality.
      But nowadays, kimchi car made better and selling better than many of the sushi car.
      Well done to Hyundai which make more choices to the market for selection…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • kenny on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:12 am

Do you think VW got RV mei?

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Best looking Korean car. Period. They make pretty decent V6 engines too.

Though I’d reckon the 2.0 Turbo may make more sense, especially in our high cc engine- unfriendly market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Obviously (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Hmm…it doesn’t rank as the best looking Korean car in my book on account of that grille. I think it has too much vertical expanse and reminds me of the current-gen Toyota Innova. It doesn’t do the rest of the car justice, in my opinion, as the rest of the car looks sleek and graceful and then that grille shows up all brutish and all trapezoidallie.

So you’ve experienced their V6’s? How are those like?

• Yup, the korean makes a bloody good diesel too. Look how frugal & powerful those 2.2 R series turbo diesel used by the santa fee here in Msia….190hp & 440nm from low 1,500rpm…thats as good as any german’s made diesel, good review too from UK/Australia users too this stonking kimchi’s made diesels!

• Best looking car?
      They steal people design and then claimed as theirs, you think that’s good?

How about i copy your answer in the exam and i did it and show off that i studied so hard.

How do you feel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 31
      • This is more like an open book exam where by if one doesn’t open the book and copy, one is just dumber than dumb.

• hyundai seems to be improving every year.Well done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • BLT_Club on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:18 pm

here comes the RV comments. But seriously good job Hyundai.

• Asean NCAP lagi bagus… setekat ANCAP? …puii proton tak pandang pun

iriz dpt 5 bintang Asean NCAP tau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
    • JokerJoking on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Fine example of blind Proton supporter.

• wow..
      this car is safer than VOLVO..
      this car got highest ratings since 21 yrs ANCAP…
      cool…
      good job hyundai…

volvo driver sure die bang this car head to head…
      hurm….

• This is what i call a ‘communist’ interior design

• The logo remind me Aston Martin….

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Bring it in.

Within 6 months, there will a flood of them selling it off coz they will realize that they are the laughing stock of the bunch of people in their circle of income group

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
  • Anti-Establishment on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:26 pm

The grille doesn’t work – it looks like it’s trying to be an Audi but couldn’t pull it off.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:12 am

I wouldn’t mind having one of these over the E class if it comes with all those features listed above but how would they price it? In the US its priced a couple of grand above the base 3 Series so I think this behemoth will cost around RM250k?

• shafiq on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:18 am

1st time i’ve seen it in korean drama, i taught it was lexus ls400 from the rear

• roxas on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:24 am

good job my darling hyundai ~

• roxas on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:25 am

screw the arrogant japanese maker

• sooo elegance. macam dato sudah..

• look at this, proton.

• techart on Oct 25, 2014 at 12:40 am

if you put Honda or Toyota orang xkatapun..ne sebab kimchi not sushi…btw much matured design..kimchi become more spicy..Proton wake up..