Petrol subsidy to be distributed via MyKad, ‘low income group’ to enjoy current price – Ahmad Maslan

Fuel_station_ 002

The days of subsidised petrol are coming to an end, for certain sections of society. The government’s ongoing petrol subsidy rationalisation programme is currently under study and the implementation will involve the MyKad, Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Ahmad Maslan told reporters today.

Those belonging to the ‘high-income group’ will have to pay the full market price for RON 95 petrol – RM2.58 per litre at current prices. However, individuals classified under the ‘low-income group’ will continue to fill their tanks at the current subsidised rate of RM2.30 per litre. This dual-pricing will start in June 2015.

UPDATE: Second Finance Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Husni Hanadzlah has revealed that those earning below RM5,000 per month will receive full subsidy, while those earning between RM5,000 and RM10,000 will get partial subsidy. No subsidised fuel for those earning five figures a month.

“For the middle class, some will still enjoy the subsidised rate,” the minister said, adding that it did not make sense for those driving luxury cars to enjoy 75 litres of subsidised petrol for each refill, versus 7.5 litres for the low-income group. He meant to draw comparison between the tank size of a big SUV/luxury sedan with a motorcycle, but did not elaborate what constitutes high-income, low-income or middle class.

Petrol_Subsidy_Sept_ 001

Since targeted subsidies will be directed to sections of the rakyat via MyKad, we can safely assume that our identity cards will in the future not just show who we are, where we live and how we look like, but will incorporate data from Inland Revenue Board (LHDN) showing how much we earn as well.

Earlier this month, the price of RON 95 petrol went up by 20 sen to RM2.30 per litre. Diesel also saw the same quantum of increase, from RM2.00 to RM2.20 per litre. The Ministry of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs said then (October 2) that the actual market price was RM2.58 per litre for RON 95 and RM2.52 for diesel. This means that the current subsidy rate is 28 sen per litre for petrol and 32 sen for diesel.

In Budget 2015, tabled on October 10, PM Datuk Seri Najib Razak announced that RON 95, diesel and LPG will be exempted from the Goods and Services Tax (GST) that will come into effect in April 2015.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• bashhh on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:25 pm

From June onwards, the low income group people can start renting their ID cards for extra cash

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 958 Thumb down 22
    • Vader (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:19 pm

1. Integrate license detail into IC already took many years and still not able to implement fully.
      2. How many money again needed to pump in for setup the system? There is a huge amount been pump in during Pak La time, now whose turn?
      3. The high income ppl already pay higher for their income tax, so this is some kind of double tax!
      4. Petrol subsidy remove but the car’s crazy tax remain? Bravo, another blood sucking effort!
      5. Our income is totally private and confidential, now is open when you pump the petrol, more easy for the perompak to aim their target ya?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 890 Thumb down 38
      • Diss-illusions on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:26 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 405
        • Dwayne on Oct 24, 2014 at 5:20 am

Its already a stupid idea as it is and u expect him to come up with a solution? Yea nothing in this world is fool proof, our government is a huge example. A bunch of fools sitting at the top thinking how to pocket all the money. What non-sense is all this? Next mineral water will be cheaper for the low income?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 232 Thumb down 22
          • rasyd on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:08 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 533
          • funnt raysd on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:40 am

raysd. You have been brainwashed by Be Ended government. No rakyats will be happy when government take away subsi, except you, the macai. In KL, a family with RM4K cannot survived. Even the driver of my boss earning more than RM4k. Meaning, basically it affected 80% rakyat already.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 246 Thumb down 15
          • funny raysd on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:46 am

why particularly DAP and not PKR or PAS? Obviously you are macai from AMNO who always spread sentiment of racism.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 186 Thumb down 18
          • troll raysd on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:29 am

raysd. Tell me, what logic is that when someone work so hard but they are forced to pay extra? We didn’t rob the bank to be rich you know. We work our ass for that money. We go to work every darn day from morning till night man. Put aside DAP and BN. Does that sounds fair to you? Is that fair? You the one who got brainwashed and can’t differentiate between fair and unfair.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 190 Thumb down 9
          • moronic raysd on Oct 24, 2014 at 5:08 pm

that is because raysd is a low income earner and he is content with his life on a kapcai.

not to mention that he is also ecstatic that other people who works harder than him is paying higher for petrol i.e. subsidizing his subsidy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 10
          • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 306
          • Paparazi on Oct 25, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Low income people could pump their petrol at Satu Malaysia petrol station.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
          • man perak on Oct 27, 2014 at 1:10 pm

ok then,dont just blame govt. guys…give them ideas from your clever brain…be a keyboard warrior wont solve a thing..TQ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • Heskey on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:21 am

I thought pkr who wanted to tax the rich more? This is only removing 40 sen subsidy for the rich. The poor is not affected. So what’s the fuss? Majority here earn 10k per month? Wow…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Vader (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 7:46 am

Whether the idea is good or not, I think that the majority have the answer, no need to argue here and there.
          Besides, I hope you are not the management level too, if yes, so pity for your subordinates since you must be the typical stubborn manager who give a lot suck solutions and never listen to others and then improve it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 3
        • Low Budget on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:22 am

Fool proof mean everyone pays the same price. Why make it multitier system? Pui….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
        • hadi75 on Oct 26, 2014 at 4:30 pm

The solution : float the fuel price…no subsidies to the consumers. Subsidies only for industries ie. Transport, plantation, etc BUT MUST REDUCE THE TAXES ON CARS….are our menteris willing to do it??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Yours Faithfully (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:10 pm

I would also like to add that the chip on the MyKad is utterly useless. Many times i have tried to used at EPF or the banks … ït cannot be read. Changed many times already and still the same.

Foundation is already not stable and they want to link it to MyKad? It will never work.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 198 Thumb down 10
        • Bad quality on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:23 am

even banks atm cards have higher quality than it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
        • Low Budget on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:26 am

The application developer will probably make the default price to be the highest price if there is no MyKad presented or the MyKad chip or the reader ‘rosak’

• So many people go to banks and nowadays, it’s very often they use card reader to read your MyKad with no problem. If it’s a common problem, we would have heard about it already. So yours must be an isolated case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 42
      • Sunny on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:03 am

Weel said. Yes. We are classified as High Income because we worked for it and earned it. For that, we are penalised by paying higher income tax, NO BR1M, cannot get to buy affordable housing, no this, no that and NOW, NO petrol subsidy. Now its time to make our VOTE counts. Sound it through the ballot box.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 7
        • Change G for better Malaysia on Oct 25, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Dual pricing is split between which races should benefit and others don’t that the G was thinking, but I believe the races that never took thing for granted and never bow down to them will merge out stronger. See who still control the economic power of malaysia :) we the ppl who never enjoy this and that. Let them be spoon feed forever. With inflation one day their income will cross the threshold by then no one enjoy the subsidy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • Latin Man on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Will speak to Latin America now to hack our stupid IC.
        Then we can pump petrol for free ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • chow hai on Oct 27, 2014 at 9:11 am

suck that mannnn! eat the shite that “they” have been wanting too…

• farhan on Oct 27, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Integrate license detail into IC chip? now we got license with its own ic chip and both is worthless…

• High income people have already balanced up with high income tax. Now GOV try to make us forget about income tax and try to say income tax is equal for all level of income? Thy have brain or not?

• Now when you fill full price RON 95 make sure someone not following you and kidnap your children. Since your income is exposed.

• JB_KIA on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Maybe not renting IC but provide filling service coz IC got holder’s photo…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 1
      • MoFaz (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:43 pm

most probably, each will get very limited amount of petrol per month… as mentioned in the article, you could assume subsidy is 15sen/L for up to 150L per month only. if you use more than that, you’ll pay full price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
        • Low Budget on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:31 am

Thats right, the computer can handle quota limit on the petrol purchase and any permutations, but they forget the computer systems in Malaysia tend to ‘rosak’ due to lack of maintenance and incompetent personnels handling it, the latest example is the Sungai Buluh Hospital.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:40 pm

if they do that obviously their consumption will be high hence can be recorded n trace..so next time they will not get those subsidies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Abu Sayur on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Another flaw is…rich people have drivers. Just let the driver re-fuel

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 284 Thumb down 6
      • Henry on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:02 pm

This is what happens when retards think they can solve a fifty year problem with a stupid idea thought up in twenty minutes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 214 Thumb down 7
        • Yours Faithfully (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:13 pm

20 minutes? U really giving them to much credit. Probably they took 50 days and still came out with this rubbish!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 168 Thumb down 5
          • Abu Sayur on Oct 24, 2014 at 1:22 am

This country is really going to the dumps

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 2
      • Black Dog on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Another ‘bodoh betul’ proposal.

Someone’s gonna be very rich implementing it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 4
        • Low Budget on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:35 am

They probably charge a few hundred millions bucks to implement it, some one’s brother, brother inlaw or sisters etc. will open up a RM 2 company and start ‘direct nego.’ and get the contract.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
      • Diss-illusions on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Really?? Either you’re that daft or you’re one of those that is in a position to exploit your employee. In fact, every employer (SME) can exploit their employees or every boss can exploit their subordinate.

So, what’s the solution?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 55
      • MoFaz (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:46 pm

most probably is limited to 150L of subsidized fuel per month only. if driver is using his card to fill up his boss’s car, then he will not have subsidized fuel for his own car or bike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • They can ask their housewife to fill up as they didn’t work and income is zero too. So they will have unlimited subsidies fuel.

• Just float the petrol prices already and abolish those import taxes on foreign cars. Those that can afford to drive will drive. No offense but those that can’t should either earn more or take the public transport. Not whine about the petrol price hike. After all, a car is a depreciating asset and its sole purpose is to get you from point A to B.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 22
      • you mentioned public transport as if it’s a reliable way of getting from point A to B.. at least in this country.. yet it’s not.. this ain’t japan.. not even singapore.. owning your own ride is a necessity.. not a luxury..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 1
      • Low Budget on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:38 am

We need to ask the Malaysia Ministers to ride public transport to work 1st. just like many Ministers in the western countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
      • blabla on Oct 25, 2014 at 5:01 pm

oh my god.. public transport?? how often you take public transport to work? did you check the hygiene inside the bus?? normally what kind of people will take bus transport?? bangla? if that area don’t have LRT, they need to wait an hour for a bus? Seriously you never use public transport before..

• namabuto on Oct 29, 2014 at 10:00 am

and you may whine abt taxes while others may not abt petrol.why?bloody wanker.typical upper class scum,only give a fkuc abt themselves.bury a hole n dive in bastard

• Nissan on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:37 pm

i can forsee lots of parent helping their family to fill up in the station in future unless there is a quata to each ID. how about low income foreign worker? jobless ?

• May as well i be lazy & dont earn much…. at least petrol cheaper

• My thoughts exactly. Hold on I have two retired people in the household. I could use theirs instead. Some smart way of implementing a system where crony companies take the government’s money away.

• bbtree on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:10 am

“will incorporate data from Inland Revenue Board (LHDN) showing how much we earn as well”

Most likely the data is only correct utk yg makan gaji saja …

• OMG…another rubbish system from the G….puihhhh..HAMKACHAN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • OMG…IF forget bring mykad or Mykad lost already, then no need pump petrol liao loh…Tui….

• Steven Tan on Oct 27, 2014 at 12:51 pm

how much can u earn by doing that ? assuming RM0.20 for 100liter, its only RM200 ….does it worth doing it ?

• Shiva on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Low Income no problem, got subsidy
      High Income no problem, a lot of cash to spare

Medium Income – Si Lor
      It is truly mind boggling how all the “reform” hits out at the medium income group time and time again.
      U work your butt off to get a reasonable education, land a reasonable job, struggle to have a reasonable car, house and standard of living for your family. Can’t run from tax like the rich do because you are wage earner and subject to PAYE(and maybe the only people in this country who are paying their fair share of tax)

What happens to you? You get hit again and again by the rich politicians and their cronies implementing all this “high tech solutions” paid HIGH prices from OUR TAX money. End of the day system don’t work but money is spent and gone toward making some Datuk a hefty sum for his new palace…………

No future for the middle class!

• alldisc on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:27 pm

it is hightime the govt to start link all data for each individual malaysian.

1. starting from name, mykad number.
    2. address must be current (to prevent lari hutang bank, or to make it easy for authorities to track ie police)
    3. his details in bank negara record, imigration and inland revenue board are all there and inter related.

the advantages include
    1. easier for banks to track
    2. easier for JPJ, PDRM and local councils to track on existing summons.
    3. easier for employers to track job history before offering to hire.

in fact, everything a lot easier. of course, need to implement strictest control to prevent misuse. for example, JPJ officers would not have the authority to check financial history of a person. and banks cannot check whether a person got criminal record (necessary?) with police.

by doing so, the G can easily control who is entitle for the subsidy or not.

TOO HARD??

then, remove all subsidies but sell cars without excise duties. 10% sales tax, rakyat still can accept. not 75% customs duties.

no need pening-pening.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 248 Thumb down 19
    • azhar on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Where can remove all the taxes? Nanti harga kereta turun, semua kronis akan rugi marrr! Politikus macam mana nak cari makan?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 5
      • Diss-illusions on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Don’t forget the underground gangsters also have dominate the used car market…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Henry on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Exactly, but no, in screwing the economy further they turn this country into a Police State when the solution is to liberalise and let market forces prevail. Be careful, big brother is watching.

• kee jang on Oct 24, 2014 at 7:42 pm

if like that suda mcm negara komunis woooo

• im not sure about this plan to use mykad.
    we all know the durability of the chip on our mykad..easily spoilt.

maybe gov should create new card/smartcard for this purpose..and no kronism la pls for once. make it quality

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 20
    • SimpleG01 (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:49 pm

I’m not sure why this comment get thumbs down since its true. The chips on the id cards can be easily spoil. It used to happen to me a few years ago when i want to apply for a bank account when the bank clerk took my card but was unable to read because the card’s chip is spoiled. If this problem keeps on going, everyone will unable to fill their vehicle with fuel and they will have to re-new their cards.

Like the previous comment, hopefully that the gov will create a new card to replace the current ones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
    • azhar on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:49 pm

No kronis? Will never happen. Even with whatever system in place, you will still find subsidized fuel smuggled out because … why you think it never stopped despite all the enforcement agencies from polis to kastam to upp to whatnot?? Kronies are involved in every step of the way. Protected by the system that created it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • medic on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Not sure y 11 idiots disagreed with you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:18 pm

fellow ap king like me….lol….but i agree…i rather buy cheap benz where everyone can drive benz also rather than me be the only benz in the road

• FireAce on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Chip spoil no problem. We will have new ways to identify your income. High income earner get “Platinum” myKad, middle income earner get “Gold” myKad and lower income earner get “Classic” myKad. Just flash it at the counter.

Btw, petrol station and the rest of the merchants can also make use this new system to identify your customer. “Platinum” myKad goes to special counter where you no need to queue and get seated in lounge. As for the rest, go stand, queue and keep your complaints to yourself. Hell yeah, modern day caste system reborn!!

(To those who don’t get it, this is meant to be sarcasms. Face palm..)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 6
  • carlos on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Not easy. What if you sit somewhere just above borderline?
    Some with household income can live and save money, depending where they live. but in the city it’s different story.

Just do away with the subsidies. The lower income will still use lower fuels . Those with V8 bi-turbo can still afford to pay whatever the pump price. Just a few more cents. Let it go lah.

And let it float. If oil prices comes down, as the trend recently, do bring the price down. OK?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 5
    • i agree with u brotha
      just abolish the subsidy once and for all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
    • bashhh on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:41 pm

I think most of us not so concerned about the rising fuel cost, but most importantly the rising costs of living because of it. While I agree the subsidy needs to go, there must be a brilliant mechanism to curb the rising prices of goods. Of course not only by saying “We will monitor”..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • Low Budget on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:47 am

Brilliant mechanism is to make Malaysia high income country so our income can offset the price increase of goods and fuels, but can the presnt Gomen do it other than come out with empty and meaningless slogan like ‘Wawasan 2020’?

• agree but to get a high income society our government should lower car taxes and focus more on public transport, since most Malaysians are spending a substantial portion of their income on cars to get from point A and B.Couple this with over inflated house prices we will soon realize our real income is so darn low.

• Pakatan would be the 1st to bash you till kingdom comes for daring to remove subsidies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • mango on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:34 pm

screw u! im gonna pump 97..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • vagine on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Great, just great. Now someone can just tell how much you earn from looking at the petrol price shown on the pump. Great source of info for muggers. And of course, as usual, this splendid strategy open up a whole new world of corruption and malpractices. Now I can loan my MyKad for you for RM10 every time you pump at the station. Splendid strategy from a dumbass government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
  • studentahbeng on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:36 pm

So you mean all the 17 year old kiddos with Porsches, Nissan GT-Rs, Mini Coopers, and other luxury marques will only have to pay for the subsidised rates as they aren’t earning anything? Boo. Yeah.
    This is an incredibly stupid idea. Remember, the higher income earners pay more tax, therefore they should pay more at the pump? The logic here is somehow flawed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 5
  • sudonano (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:38 pm

*facepalm*

You know what I will do, if I were a parent?

Get the kids IC when going to fill up petrol. Just because a person may fall in the middle or high income group, that doesn’t mean the person is driving a luxury car. Many of them just drive a regular car, like a Camry or Accord, but want to save money for the kids so that the kids can have a good education.

Or better yet, get a diesel. He didn’t say anything about diesel right? Bring on the BMW 520d and 320d, or even the soon to come C220 CDI and E class BlueTec Hybrid. Or heck, I may just even pay for the RON 97 which is about 25 sen more, but one thing is for sure, RON 97 does somehow give slightly better mileage.

The middle class, where most of us are, are really trying to make ends meet. Say you are a new grad earning 3k after tax deduction, 400-500 gone on your 9 year car loan for that Myvi cause of the fantastic tax, then maintenance, fuel, rental, food to eat, utilities, savings, personal insurance…. You will barely have enough for a movie a month!

And, now since the high income will have to pay full price for petrol, so, why not remove the tax for cars? After all we are already being screwed over with the absurd fuel cost for a country that produces fuel, and by reducing the cost of cars, at least more people in the lower income group can upgrade from a family of 5 on a bike to a base Axia or something. The middle income can spend less on a car.

Though I don’t expect them to think this way, cause wait, I doubt he did the math before saying that.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 6
    • sudonano (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:42 pm

On a side note, I’d rather pay the guy at the petrol pump MYR50 to use his IC and get the fuel, cause I feel that I’d rather help the petrol pump guy to live a better life than to give more money to these people who don’t know how to manage well.

Even if I fill up once a week, in a month, he gets MYR200 from me. Assuming that even 10 people do this, that’s a good MYR2000. I believe he is more in need of the cash, he can save it and use it for his family instead, than giving to these people. Cause all he may get from these people, is just MYR 500 a year in some funny voucher.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 5
      • guest321 on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:31 pm

those no – low income people just stand around gas station, see mercedes/bmw driving in, help them swipe to get subsidized petrol price and charge them rm0.10 per liter. still worth it.

• Low Budget on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:50 am

A lot of trouble to save some ringgit, the real solution could be ‘PEOPLE POWER IN THE NEXT G.E.’
      provided the people don’t get fool by their divide and rule and religious B.S.

• LowBudget. You mean, with Pakatan, petrol will become even cheaper. Great news to foreigners and those rich people driving huge cars. All these while, I thought Pakatan fight for the poor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • Regina on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:38 pm

What about retired folks and pensioners?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • kemosabe on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Not very fool proof, but I’m pretty sure they are working on the ‘pinjam’ mykad loophole.

Another potential problem is when the verification system is down. Never mind if the mykad is spoil which is another problem.

Best is just to float the petrol price, and make costs of living lower thru lowering business costs, lowering business taxes etc etc and channelling those savings to increase salaries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • One reason Singapore was able to lower business tax is to implement GST aka, change the taxation system. Here in Malaysia, Pakatan don’t want to implement GST so don’t want to lower business tax.

• Anakjambi on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:39 pm

This idea is not good. It creates a sort of caste in the society. The rich will always be able to cough up the full price but will look down to the “certified” poor from the price display at the pump. Talk about unity in diversity…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Lew CN on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:42 pm

it may sound politically correct to distribute the incentive according to income level. But this is totally unfair and penalising the higher income group as they already paid the hefty tax when buying the more expensive car, and also, they are already paying more tax then the lower income group.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • bersyukur kerana Malaysia mash aman!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 82
  • Lin YZ on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:43 pm

MyKad can differentiate the poor and the rich. That means to increase the society problem. For example, Rich people can go via main gate, but poor people can go via dog gate. Where is the equality? It is not about the price of fuel anymore. It is about the society problem. To make a MyKad to identify how rich you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • Munkay on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:39 am

This person is right, having more information such as this in the national ID will only allow discriminatory practices to proliferate.

As it is, many companies and firms already use card readers to read the national ID card. So what happens if I go to a telco and they scan my card? Do I not get offered plans that are made available only to the rich? What if I am rich? Will I be put on a higher tariff plan?

This is just an example with telcos which is unlikely to happen but what of other firms and other service providers?

• tongkai on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:44 pm

How to differentiate high income? For a single layman riding motorcycle and earning RM1000 a month, he will classified a married man with a Proton car and RM4000 monthly salary is high income.

• Happy on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 128
  • Whatever on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:49 pm

utter bullshit.. You the more you contribute to the country through paid taxes, the less you’ll get in return. This is the government trying to squeeze the most out of the people, just for the sake of getting a precious GE vote

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Another day another shit story from govt, creates chaos, frustration n more ways to find cari duit illegally.later my kad would exchange fr Dis purpose.
    Y give subsidy first then barking barking to rakyat
    Simple follow USA style to have perfect competition among petrol stations meaning every petrol station have own price.easy fr customers to find which gas station have cheaper petrol fr tday.
    V don’t wan bloody word of subsidy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • heybadigol (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:51 pm

This sounds so very complex. This MyKad thingy for subsidies is bound to be abused. Some medium income earner could use his son’s (who is studying or just started work so is considered low income) MyKad to get subsidies which he would not be entitled for. Plus, it means all your personal data is residing in that MyKad. Imagine if an unauthorised person steals your IC. That can be pretty damaging.

• Save_msia_from_idiocity on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Please la.. Use your brain la.. You already increase the petrol price by 20 cents. You think those driving big car will mind paying another 28 cents? And is it worth the MONEY and trouble setting another system to save that 28 cents? The G probably spend RM 3 billion to save that RM 1 billion (like they always do). So please… Do us a favour… Remove the whole subsidy system and let everyone play on equal ground.
    By the way, the fuel price in Sept was RM2.57. That time crude oil price was $90 per barrel. Now it’s $80 per barrel so don’t tell us it’s still RM2.58. And G removed 20 cents from subsidy. For all you know, probably WE are the one subsidising the G.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 192 Thumb down 3
    • Manage Malaysia wisely on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:47 am

i will foreseen once ID reader on Mykad down, Malaysian has one more round of queuce up and lot of car out of fuel will have to park at pertrol station overnight. since is very frequent G system breakdown. all this information is link within diff G office with Petrol station. SO please extend Car Park in Petrol Station to cater overnight parking if system breakdown. Ensure towing car standby always.

• Heard often in coffee shop fisherman don’t have to go out to do any fishing. Sell their allocated diesel is more than enough. If true, anyone has any bright idea how to stop this?

• Stupidos on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Then we’ll see people not just borrowing money, but borrowing MyKad to get subsidies as well. I laughed at this implementation.
    High ranking government workers should pay the unsubsidised petrol. What happened to 1 Malaysia’s Rakyat Didahulukan? Irony. 1BN. Rakyat Didahulukan, Cukai Diutamakan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • infinity on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:56 pm

What the deputy finance minister said regarding RM75 and RM7.50 make sense. But, how will it be implemented remains questionable. Hopefully the cut-off point of those qualified to be subsidised won’t be similar to that of BR1M.

• user19 on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:59 pm

last time say need to subsidy fuel so impose tax on car, so now no more subsidy dy how?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:00 pm

hmm my mistress don work…so low income….eh sayang.;..help me pump petrol k? muacks

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 1
  • sebijiball on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:02 pm

New service incorporated into MyKad means new lobang to hisap taxpayers’ money lo..

• young on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:02 pm

This mykad system will still be open to abuse. High income earners can easily ask their kids to refill @ the pump. Same story with those having personal drivers who are from different subsidy segment. Worse come to worse can simply pay someone runner fee just for borrowing the mykad. A more foolproof way is actually by segmenting the vehicle type itself. ie. A-D segment.

• Don’t understand why high income group contribut higher income tax but get nothing in return from the gov….no BRIM, high petrol price, high car tax.

Unless they pay full petrol price but reduced car tax.now that is fair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:56 am

The highest income pay little tax and transfer most of their cash in some tax free Islands somewhere in the world.

• we will see new trouble@job opportunities created and more creative people will be born..

• LimPek on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:04 pm

then please remove the car tax

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • 7yearscivicfd1 on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:08 pm

How bout this , use the demn mycard if ure eligible to get the subsidized price , n the rest of us just fill up normally , bcoz i dunt want to go n replace the mycard every 2 months bcoz the reliability of the chip on this card is pathetic

• Low Budget on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:59 am

OH, you may not use the MyKad, the default values in the system is set to highest price for those who do not wish to use their MyKad or foreigners without MyKad like the Singaporeans or the Thais.

• romzee on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:15 pm

I just want to see, If Najib will borrow his MyKad to his car driver while filling the gas. Will he…?

• EnergyAnalyst on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:16 pm

LOL. I can How smart this move by goverment is.

Produce mykad means you are poor. Some poor fellow may be too proud to do it. If system down or mykad reader fail. The poor end up pumping same unsubsidized fuel.

• Great! I’ll just borrow my retired in-law’s IC to pump petrol and compensate them in another way :)
    Too many loophole… Our Gomen is not in their right mind to solve this never ending issue. Sigh!

• iwantpetrol on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Amazed me how they allow foreign registered car to pay only RM2.7 per L for Ron 97.

How much are they selling RON 97 in Singapore?

• Comolot on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:20 pm

How exactly this subsidy cut will be executed anyway?

Last time it was said to be based on cc

Then is it fair for someone driving Audi Q5 2.0cc to get a subsidized fuel compared to someone driving Fortuner 2.5cc petrol? By all means, the Audi cost much more than the Toyota

Then what about those politicians who have been living with only RM6500 allowance per month? Should they entitle for subsidized fuel too?

• paanjang16 on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Now is the best time to improve the relationship with my co-workers who come to office using motorcycle and LRT. Bring them out makan and on the way “borrow” their IC to pump petrol.

• stranger on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:27 pm

A person who studies hard, get high education and get a good job. He put all his hard work effort to get promotion and gets high pay.
    So he has to pay everything with higher price.
    So it’s his fault to work hard.

Then he ll be like: “Dammit, I shouldn’t study hard since I was young!”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 2
  • cendol (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Bring back RON88 and I don’t mind paying full price for it.
    It’s not like RON95 is that good or pure anyway.

• cendol (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:36 pm

In one policy change, a new kind of business has popped up.
    IC-renters : Those eligible for subsidized fuel will rent their Mykad for a small nominal fee for those ineligible people to pump petrol.
    Heck, even the petrol station attendant can rent out their Mykad, on the spot!!

• Nic.c on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:37 pm

People seem to forget that while the rich may enjoy more subsidy from petrol, they also pay a whole lot more TAX for their car.

Those of us who drive rm40 – 80K cars are maybe paying (already too high) 20 – 40K in car taxes. And those who drive luxury cars in the 6 digit range are paying taxes also in the 6 digit range!

So what if their tanks are bigger? They more than paid for it in their share of the tax.

So lets face it, its not the rich who are the problem here, it is the government.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
    • screwu (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 2:29 am

True that bro…face it la guys…gomen in dire need of monies…I’m pretty sure some ‘entrepreneur’ will start cloning ic’s and selling it off too…additional illegal business for them

• wondering on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:40 pm

the high income group paid higher tax what, why can’t they enjoy the same benefits?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • mason_ on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Stupid g…..cut the subsidies…cut the car taxes loy …habis cerita…why the g always make the simple thing so complicated…really frust….thanks for the rakyat who voted them,a chance for G to show off their stupidity….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • Khari on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Want to remove subsidy for fuel, then the taxes for the car should be removed as well. Let the rakyat afford safer, more efficient and environmental friendlier car, at least…

• Khari on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Want to remove subsidy for fuel, then the taxes for the car should be removed as well. Let the rakyat afford safer, more efficient and environmental friendlier car, at least…

• JB_KIA on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:54 pm

can’t believe filling up fuel tank is such a complicated thing in Mesia….

• nobrand on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:02 pm

Good. The rich can stop paying tax now.

• Bote Kesar on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:04 pm

how about the low income get to pay the old RM1.90/ltr RON95 back and the rich pay with the actual price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Henry on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:07 pm

What crap is this? So you see, becoming a developed and high income nation is a distant dream, maybe even a fantasy.

Say, I am a high income earner but I will retire next month. How then?

• Correct Henry. What if today I got job, tomoro I retrenched? Can also happen to Amad Maslan. Today he still minister, tomoro he lose election and retrenched how? Talk easy, implement surely go wrong one. See AES, glass tinting, no more cash at toll, nothing happen.

• Low Budget on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:07 am

Oops. The Gomen forget the private sectors employees always kena retrench and then found new employment with different salary and then retrench again so on and so forth, Fark-lah Gomen different salary different price..

• The richer are the ones that pays the most tax to the govt and they end up don’t get any benefit from it? How stupid is this

• peter on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:35 pm

its time to remove car tax!!!

• The more corrupt the state, the more numerous the laws.

• This might a

• The truely filthy rich declare loss on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:46 pm

And hides behind corporation. This would only hurt the middle class and middle class only.

Whomever thought this up must have clearly known this loop hole and is himself hiding behind a corporate wall.

Bravo for taxing the stoic and law abiding middle class and making the crooked exceedingly rich.

• groups of people gonna approach you and pester you and ask you to use their card and pay them.

like how it is with peddlers at tourist spots.

“Bang. Nak pinjam card? RM5 je. ”
    “Bang. Ambik aku punya. RM4”

• C.P. MOHAN on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:50 pm

So if my driver pumps petrol using his mycard is it low or high income, better still can he pocket the difference.

• Sajib on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Wawasan 2020.
    This way is to go.
    Rakyat, take it or leave it.
    You no like, u go out of msia.
    vote for BN coz they know how to make their wawasan come true without giving a penny and wife can go shopping all day long.

• In other countries, if petrol prices are without subsidies, it will also mean car without taxes.

What is our Government thinking?!

• cukur saya jadi org miskin.

• poor petrol head on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:02 pm

don’t forget there is always a “on hold till further study is concluded” button our G has. When they find not enough cover to close the loop hole associated with their brilliant soon to be implemented policy, somebody in G from no where will pops up to sweep the shit under carpet by pushing the magical button…
    Prove me wrong this time please…

• APs tak cukup makan. Excise Tax tak cukup makan. EPF tak cukup makan. Income tax tak cukup makan. GST tak cukup makan. Rasuah tak cukup makan. Dear Gov and Kronies, if you eat 200 meals a day, memang tak cukup la, some rakyat only eat 1 meal a day. Enough is enough.

• bodoh ketara on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:04 pm

G ygi bodoh ketara… saya akan pinjam mykad cleaner saya pump minyak je… atau kereta besar tu… suruh driver yg pump…

bagaimana dgn org miskin tu yg bawa Hilux single cab dgn 2.5 bawa sawit. Pergi mampos lah…

• Porsche guy on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Every year lots of us suffered… Imagine paying almost 40k in tax….This fuel subsidy for lower income is acceptable.. If you have workers you understand…their meagre income was never meant to be compensated by this subsidy… For them whatever available helps… I just hope the government would reduce the car price for luxury segment… This will help us the upper 1%..

• ronnaz on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Why need to complicate things. Just remove fuel subsidy. But lower the car tax. Baru adil

• This my kad option will not work. It’s too complecated for this low IQ people to implement. And when this kind of half baked system is implemented almost 90% of the people will abuse it.

How they intend to manage this. Through the foreign pump attendants? You think anybody would care a rats a$$. Just use ur wife, father, mothers or etc id to pump. Anyone petrol station want to avoid problem from roudy crowd making a scene will just close a blind eye. They just want to make $$. Doesn’t matter who pays for it.

Just get rid of subsidy, reduce ur exercise tax and no reason to make noise. People might even vote for G…..that simple. But it’s a Cronny’s world.

To that I say bring it. I will find way around it….ha ha ha.

• JaRoD82 on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:09 pm

PiSh! Please do not use smuggling fuel as reason to cut subsidies of Ron95 and etc.

How many % of smuggling involve Ron95? Have government study it? I thought all this while, Diesel are the main target of smuggling?!

Sigh… Sigh…

• Ng See Eng on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Only the followings are allowed to enjoy subsided fuels
    1. motorbikes;
    2. More than 10-years old cars

Those who owned a car especially new one are not from the low income groups.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • Uncle how about those super rich antic car collector who can pay RM10mil for a Ferrari F40?

• hakim on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Negara maju mmg xde subsidi.. Nway, aq dengar yg subsidised petrol ni majoriti digunakan oleh golongan kaya yg mampu.. So, kerajaan terpaksa buat mcm ni utk make sure those yg mampu suck all the subsidies by themselves xdpt enjoy subsidi ni semua, instead give back subsidies using brim to those yg berpendapatan rendah.. Even outsiders (Singapore n thailand) suck our subsidies in the petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • Memang tak masuk akal. Sebab org asing pump petrol subsidi… semua rakyat dikorbankan.

But yg senang, ikut Brunei… foreign car don allow to pump… as simple as 123…

• hakim on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:59 pm

i guess if u get across brunei from point a to z, mmg xkan habis minyak satu tank.. kt malaysia, kalo dr johor nk ke penang.. if outsiders xboleh nk pump, susah kn diorang la plak kn? less income for tourism i guess…

ntah la.. sbb golongan kaya guna lagi banyak minyak dr golongan miskin, golongan kaya ni dah la mampu, dh tu dpt plak makan subsidi kerajaan, mcm x adil la kan? golongan miskin gov bagi brim.. ofcourse, mmg xckup pun.. but at least those motherloaded people xdpt se sen pun subsidi dari petrol.. they don’t deserve subsidies, they have lots of money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
        • screwu (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:02 am

I agree that foreigners pay full price. But as malaysian, semua berhak dpt subsidi from gomen kerana minyak ni milik semua even yg kaya. tetapi, semua ada kuota…eg kaya atau miskin, setiap bulan dpt 300L shj(company car pay full, individual registration only)….

• Dude, wake up…..wat subsidy are u referring to. Want to compare uk or us car prices. All rick or poor will be hit cause the domino effect that this will create. GST + no petrol subsidy is going to kill the country. There is no poor getting help through this system. Basically the g coffers are getting dry. So another reason for them to squeeze the 20% tax payers and shrink the middle class. Just remember for a country to be prosperous, the middle class should be taken care off and brim is not the solution.

• poor Petrol head on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:48 am

Still believe in the” Robin hood” blunt fat lie that G is telling to rob the rich n give to the poor than the poor will only get poorer. The policy maker is the 1 make u poorer… time to wake up my friend

• heran (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:25 pm

how about those businessmen that under declared their income tax? declared under “low income” category?

• heran (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:29 pm

my friend drive new toyota Estima, having 2 houses with fully luxury renovated (1 is rented out), a businessman, still getting his BRIM. What’s the nonsense.

• Fuel Cell Phone on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:38 pm

This Maslan guy never stops to amuse me, or perhaps majority of us in Bolehland, with his short sighted, insensitive and unintelligent comments and statements!

How the #%^$ we get this guy as Deputy Finance Minister, LOL

• Moonmoonbird on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:39 pm

Honestly, I really doubt the capability of our brilliant government can make this happened within 1 year. Mark my words. So many broken fragmented silo it systems among the gov sectors. If they really managed to workout a flawless solution to cope all the loopholes, I would be super proud of the system, but I know billions will be spent for just trying to save millions. Again, if this happened, I will cast my last wishful vote against them, and hope change will happen. Ofherwise, time to move on and pay my tax to other country

• Expat101 on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:45 pm

i’m a malaysian but not working in malaysia… once in a while come back for vacation and do i still enjoy the subsidized price?

• Bn hidup on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Another form of taxation. Majulah Kerajaan.

• G, So? Any benefits to ALL citizens?? I am mentioned about ALL citizens…… Not such a bullshit thing for what low income or middle class or middle class……

• AmnoK (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Pak menteri jangan jadi bodoh. Cakap jangan berbelit-belit, gaji menteri mau naik, petrol kau pakai rakyat yg subsidi untuk kau. Hak rakyat kau buang, masa undi kau merayu mintak maaf.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • All the minister and high official can start to be self-dependent, no more fully sponsorship life and their subsidized chauffeur

• subsidize on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:04 pm

If low income people can afford to buy a car, they shd also afford to pay for the petrol. Why our gov is always subsidizing the low income people and keeps on punishing the middle income people, and worst still, they are protecting the high income people? Its the middle income people who always feel the pinch.

• Macromedia on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:04 pm

Fatt tatt la me. I is triad tai koh. I be making a million a month under radar yo. Yet I is still gets subsidized pump man. I love this country to bits

• Gayin on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Man man man Malaysians really fast to forget , this is flip flop government this was big keyword last year befor election please recall ok , tomorrow they Will announce it’s not confirmed only a plan many details to still work out barisan always probation to the people bla bla bla propaganda

• Yea..and AP holders continue to celebrate having dodge the bullet. Rakyat screwed once again!

• corrupt on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:25 pm

The pump upgrading contract to read mykad will definitely go to cronies. Same like the cigarette and alcohol tax labeling sticker contract. Thank u BN.

• japankiller on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:36 pm

I hope those voted for BN last election is belong to LOW income group, or else PADAH MUKA la..:D

• Tiger on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Hehe, tis only the beginning, yesterday The Sunnpaper reported some genius planning to implement scrap > 20 years old car…another projek to help their kroni P sell more..maybe later they will check where u stay or which restaurant u eat before allowing u to pump subsidised fuel

• Y dun cut off all the subsidy of petrol n stop import duty, excise duty n ap of cars…. From d money saved from cars, we can pump petrol for ten years… Otherwise we r driving d most expensive car in d world with international price petrol… N still d petrol n diesel ranged euro 2 , means paria fuel… If Malaysia have plenty of public transport, who want to have few cars in one house….. Malaysia Boleh

• 1 day before implementation, better fill your tank, later system hang, no petrol.

• heran (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:17 pm

Those are employed will victimized under this system. Those rich Self-employed will be benefited, they continue under declare their income, continue get more profit, continue to get richer,continue to get gov.support….

• Manusia on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Kerajaan tak akan berani hapuskan subsidi dan ikut harga pasaran dunia.

Stop wasting money for Rosmah

• Rakyat Terseksa on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:30 pm

When its implemented I am already became SLAVE in my own country, paying F**ing expensive housing loan, car loan, bills, support family members…etc tough I have done my best to save and cut unnecessary bills & even dont eat lunch or dinner.. Leave just in borderline there are no benefit to people like me at all in the FY15 budget. I will not forgive till the end of my life & to hell u went… you S*p*d ministers.

• Why are we complicating such a simple matter. We already have road tax and excise duty. Why are we not adjusting these and change how we classify vehicles rather than add another weird calculation? Just remove the subsidy, adjust excise duty base on vehicle class and segment. Add a fuel tax if you can be transparent about where the money goes.

• TEOAHLAM on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Monthly income of RM4000 can be considered as high income group? I doubt.

• anakjambi on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:34 pm

you guys pleasessss stop dreaming of using somebody’s mykad. the system knows how many times the same mykad has been used and at which petrol station. so if you ask the pump attendant to fill-up using his cards, the system knows lah..that poor fella will get his but kick by the police……so forget about it. and if you think you can borrow your datuk or nenek mykad, forget it laaaahhh. the system knows…every car owner is connected to JPJ and only those with maykad with registered car can fill-up his/her own cars. so you cannot ask any tom dick and harry to fill-up your car… if you dont like…you can go other other countries….get it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
    • Car-Fans on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:37 am

So U r saying … Your car can only U drive? Tak boleh pinjam kereta kpd orang lain? So everyone going to buy a car … then road jam with cars?

• anakjambi on Oct 24, 2014 at 7:52 am

you can off course pinjam kereta to orang lain maaaaa. nobody is going to stop you from doing that… but when it is time to fill-up petrol, that fella cannot enjoy the subsidy laaa. he/she has to pay the full un-subsidize petrol price because in the system through mykad, he/she doesnt not own a car and hence does not deserve the subside petrol. get it!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • What u mean the system knows and can’t check. So the police going to catch 1 million people. Think before u say something like G. May be u are. If the stupid system can catch then how come we still have tax evaders, cronies, pirate DVD shops next to police station and etc. If u use ur father mothers ic wholly not own a car how can they catch them. Unless they are saying now petrol is going to be limited use commodity in limiting the amount an ic can purchase.

• anakjambi on Oct 24, 2014 at 7:57 am

i’m not sure how long you have stayed in this country. the gomen knows lah all those who sell pirated DVD.. and what not. just waiting from the big boss to give the greenlight to catch maaa… same goes with cheating with somebody’s mykad. when the system shows the pump attendant mykad being used for say RM400 at the same petrol station and within 1/2 hours, that feella sure kenna punya. wheater today or tomorrow or next year they come after him is a different story but in the system they know and just wait for the greenlight to catch him..aiiyoooo..itu pun tak tahu kaaaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • screwu (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 2:43 am

In times of hardship, people can get very creative. Ada jer org yg akan clone Ic…Rilek la bro..for a higher fee, boleh dpt unlimited subsidized petrol lagi…ciptaan manusia takde yg foolproof…

• medic on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:56 am

You forgot here we have poor enforcement,riddled with corruption.Good enforcement only when hold slipper to our leader’s face poster.

• stupid G idioting the stupid rakyat who elected them.

• Jimmy on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Only those who ask for subsidised petrol need to show their Mycard/IC or whatsoever evidence.
    Please don’t disturb those who pay for RON97, don’t ask them to show IC nor consume their time.

• NicoZieman on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Looks like the Minister is a supporter of Datasonic-PosMalaysia MyKad solution for fuel subsidy. Good luck with the black market that it is going to create from MyKad renting.

Even the Indonesian Government has the foresight to choose a system that is miles better than what we can come up with. It is not perfect but it doesn’t look and sound like a system that a 5 year old can come up with. Just search Pertamina RFID on YouTube. Well done Malaysia.

• Hahhahahah….. enough joke for almost 1 yr.. well done G

• Abang on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:11 pm

Why our G dont just copy a system that works in other countries instead of creating a total new system?
    This is an ultimate bullshit system that is full of holes ready to be abused and unfair. Maybe that is the whole point of it.

• From june onward ,those indon ,bangla with IC can start selling subsidy petrol

they are low income ,with IC ,but most of them without car ,is that a good idea ? u help me i help u

• paparadzi (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:32 pm

I paid a significant amount of my salary as income tax. Whatever remains, I’m taxed again when I buy goods, cars etc. via GST, excise duty etc. I paid a lot of road tax for my old above 2000 cc car. Then I need to pay toll for road usage. And now I have to pay more per litre of petrol, simply because I am a middle income owner? No, I don’t receive BR1M either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • IDIOT MAS GOVERMENT on Oct 27, 2014 at 2:51 pm

I fully agree and understand your problem, in the attempt of goverment try to help the lower income group and make life harder for higher income group, the one ultimately to be suffer will be middle income. Haiz Idiot goverment, how I wish to migrate some where…

• lexfu on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:43 pm

Someone please just gun down this clown.

• lexfu on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:45 pm

Someone please just gun down this clown.

Oh wait, there’s moderation on this blog, that’s aight, keeping things cool.

How bout this admin, we make a deal, if this post gets 400 likes, it stays, else you can remove it? I’m pretty sure all Malaysians feel my sentiments :)

• The subsidy goes with the CC and price of the vehicle. Higher CC and luxury vehicle get less subsidy. Likewise, average car get average subsidy, and motorbike get full subsidy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • you are saying driving a proton Iriz 1.6 is equally rich as a bmw316i owner and richer than Golf 1.4 Tsi and Beetle 1.2 TSI owner?
      I like your idea.. I vote you as PM

Guys, you can drive these cars if you are poor..
      Jetta 1.4
      Golf 1.4
      Beetle 1.2
      Polo 1.2
      Polo 1.4 GTI
      Scirocco 1.4
      BMW 316i
      BMW 116i
      Merc CLA200 1.6
      Merc A Class 1.6
      Audi A3 1.4 TFSI
      Audi A1 1.4 TFSI
      Peugeot 308 408 508 3008 1.6 THP
      car for the poorest ppl -> Fiesta Ecoboost 1.0

• Car-Fans on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:34 am

Another money making project lor! Surely some ppl in the office keep laughing at us lor! Don’t subsidy petrol … give us cheaper car … by having cheaper car we can still able to good quality car (Good FC) – reduce use of petrol! Celaka punya “kerja”! Tak de kerja buang duit rakyat … Rakyat Di Bebankan Shj !

• SakitHati2014 on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:59 am

Brothers & sisters,

To be honest, this is an act of discrimination,
    1. Higher income groups pay higher income tax too, why the GV still wants to rob them? Orang yg lebih berupaya boleh dianggap sebagai low class rakyat? They earn more because they worked harder than others.. why they should be targeted and being further oppressed with? With the double standard implementation or so called rationalization program implementation, does this “rationalization” includes the reduction of income tax for higher income group of people?

2. Please dun tell me something like, “u tak suka you balik kampung”, this is BS, we’re Malaysian! Our ancestors shed their blood side by side with our friends from all races, what makes us so different?

3. Since government wants to “rationalize” things, how about the reduction of Excise Duty Tax for all vehicles? Dun tell me funny things like the car manufacturers will suffer or what because the most affected party will be the government after they reduced their super heavy excise duty tax… their tax income will greatly reduced. What is the main purpose of having such heavy taxes? because wanna reduce the numbers of cars on the road? If so, invest more on public transportation facilities lah! I dun wanna talk too much about other sensitive politics… i just voice out my opinion only!

Other than that, let’s further straight to the point. With these “Rationalization programs”, what are the benefits of Rakyat Malaysia?
    1. Do we enjoy better road condition? (*only will repair the most during GE seasons)

2. Do we have better public transport facilities? (if government wants to reduce the amount of cars on road… they should provide more STRAIGHT TO THE POINT SOLUTIONS instead of playing small tricks around us, then acting like as if they did something marvellous that can earn them NOBEL AWARDS!

3. Do we get to enjoy better car selection with reasonable price? (NO! They will tell you something like.. they discount sikit sikit on each car and IT IS ALREADY A SUPER GREAT EFFORT AND ALL RAKYAT MUST BERSYUKUR)

Seriously,
    1. we dun wan high raise building
    2. we dun wan high crime rate
    3. we dun wan expensive car tax
    4. we dun wan unreasonable taxes after taxes
    5. we dun wan double standards that further destroy our unity and peace between citizens from all levels, races & groups
    6. WHAT ABOUT THE HIGH RISE HOUSING PRICE???? How our next generation get to buy their first house? PLEASE DUN TELL THE YOUNGER GENERATION TO SLEEP IN CONTAINER MADE HOUSE… if you wanna do so, PLEASE TELL THOSE KAYA RAYA POLITICIANS OR GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS TO TRY TO LIVE IN THOSE RUBBISH FOR YEARS TO TEST HOW DOES IT FEELS LIKE BEFORE IMPLEMENT ON THE CITIZENS!

Dear leaders, can’t you see? We’re terribly suffering now! RM6000 per month after all sorts of taxes and out of control inflation.. is nothing.. not to mentioned those with income below RM3000! The living cost is raising faster than the rakyat could even adapted! Our income is not moving at all when everything keep raising! YOU INGAT HARGA MINYAK NAIK SEMUA BARANG TAK NAIK?

Our educational environment is under-par too.. this makes lots of young graduates could not find high quality job. High quality job only for those with “so called EXPERIENCED” people… should no body is giving them chances, how would they be SKILLFUL?

Most of the IPTS / IPTA offered courses that does not develop skill sets that is needed by modern professional job industry in which the MOE does not monitor and have proper control…

now comes with GST?

GST are mostly implement in seasoned + developed countries such as UK, US, AUS, France, German, SWISSLAND & etc… because their average citizens per hour working income is quite high.. and they are capable of paying the tax + their government will provide important facilities especially in insurance and medical field… single mother can get subsidy from government to ensure they can survive.. jobless people will be funded for education courses so that they can be capable to contribute to the country professionally and most importantly with the professional skill sets they can survive well..

Now, GST implements in Malaysia? How our fellow Malaysians can tahan when the situation is already not very good in the first place?

bad economics will contribute to higher crime rate… how are we going to survive this??? if the country is having good economics.. everyone can earn decent living.. who the hell wanna be PEROMPAK?

There are so many important developments our leaders should consider and put higher priority.. but now they even decided to focus on something that will less benefit the nation and of course the people…

I prayed hard that our country wont turned into third world level countries in the future…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Sharuddin on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:36 am

LOL… our country is already third world. Its ok to remain like that and I am more than happy. Running by a bunch of poor gene pool clown, u will be amazed if Malaysia will not be the poorest in ASEAN 10 years later. I have already given up hope on this G. Im goina stay here still but my next generation is definitely leaving to a greener pasture.

• 20 years back Malaysia could be considered the top economic country in the ASEAN region behind Singapore but look at how much we have deteriorated in the past decade. Don’t be surprised in an other 10 years Indonesia will overtake us and in another 20 years perhaps we will be the ones sending people there to work as maids or foreign workers instead.

This article speaks volumes about our current situation.
        http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/malaysia-19-years-behind-south-korea-complacency-graft-among-culprits

• medic on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:51 am

Some kampung folks will just say a one liner,’Asal Negara masih aman &still vote BN’.

• I’m all for a kinder society and social welfare schemes; but this idea isn’t enforceable and an unenforceable idea will ultimately be unjust. How will one be judged ‘worthy’ of subsidies or not? It has to be via income tax reporting. However, as has been reported many times, only a minimal amount of citizens actually pay / report income tax (hence the G wanting to impose GST). Of those that pay, it is likely that they earn > than the 4000/month. Therefore, all those that report income tax will likely be charged full price for petrol. Law of unintended consequences means that what will happen is less people will declare / report income tax since there is a disincentive. Further, income may be fluid from month to month for some people, making fair implementation a farce. Better to just give back fuel rebates and link it to income tax returns, thus giving people incentive to report their income tax.

• Martha on Oct 24, 2014 at 1:33 am

Stop whining & cursing like crazy bitches

Dont like the present government change them on PRU14!

• Sharuddin on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:44 am

We wanted too. Most Malaysian did. But…. Magic.. We Malaysian once stay united with brother and sister from other race. When i was in Bersih and other rally. I have seen what most ppl would only imagine. That all race stay together. One malay dude was being kicked by polis, we all have to throw stone to the polis to save him.. But recently all racial sentiment came up again. Its G’s agenda. To divide us, so I urge all fellow Malaysian to stay united and cast them out once and for all.

• K.S. Lee on Oct 24, 2014 at 5:08 am

Forget about car CC limits, and income level, subsidized amount, who being eligible, feasibility of implementation through MyKad, income tax and car import tax. The problem is with the government. End of story. I am really keen to see this being implemented – the opposition would have a better chance next GE!

• thedarkside on Oct 24, 2014 at 2:56 pm

funny we all putting our hope on politicians…be it BN or PR…because theyre both hopelesslah if u ask me. 2×5 ja. i say whoever in power now….lets put pressure on them so they change for the better. why wait another 4 years hoping things will get better.

• K.S. Lee on Oct 24, 2014 at 6:57 pm

True. Problem is, Big G doesn’t really listen even if we pressure now, or later during GE. Moreover, GE is so susceptible to ‘I help you, you help me’. Kampung folks will also fall head over heels over a free bag of rice! :P

• sighs on Oct 24, 2014 at 6:48 am

There comes a day when you will use your MyKad to purchase petrol and then suddenly, ‘System down la bro”. So means wait till system ok only can use car or carry extra petrol in car all the time?

Just enough money to live, no extra, no subsidy, slowly going to be lower income to ask for BR1M and subsidy. Sighs.

• Babelon on Oct 24, 2014 at 7:52 am

they must define what is low income group and what is middle or high income group? The entitlement to this subsidy must always change according to nation’s inflation rate.

please tell me whether a person earning RM3999 is consider a low income group and another person who earns RM4001 will be considered as mid income group?

• Sparcov on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:09 am

I have a 1997 nissan terrano 2.4 and fully paid. I pump petrol and no need pay bank installment. Average usage approximately RM 600 a month for the petrol. Is high CC, high yearly road tax and low insurance. Most importantly, I no need pay the bank loan and face the depreciation so badly. Am I consider Rich person driving big car and high CC car?

Even, if i trade in my car with a smaller car Perodua Axia, I only get RM8000 from my trade in as downpayment, I still need to get the bank loan and pay the petrol cost. No doubt in long run Axia as new car will have better benefit and low maintenance cost.

Is that means the government want us to change car?
    Because I have no other option, perodua is the cheapest available car in the market equally Indian Tata Nano.

Seriously the cost of living in Malaysia is sky high

1. High petrol price
    2. High groceries
    3. High parking
    4. High hawker “mee soup”
    5. High kopi ice
    6. High apparel
    7. High Electricity Bill
    8. High Toll
    9. High car price
    10. High Tax
    11. High Crime rate
    12. High Immigrants
    13. High Property Price
    14. High Corruptions

But Low in
    1. Salary
    2. Public Facilities
    3. Protection to the rakyat
    4. Government efficiency

I’m not try to turn the auto forum into a political arena. But again increase fuel will affect everything
    Is like a spin off effect but negative impact.

Government must make sure the benchmark is transparent, reasonable and fair and square when table out the comparison table. Most of the job opportunities is in the City, the city life, the cost of living in city life have to be taken into account.

• Quasar on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:15 am

There’s 1 realistic way to do this if the G really wants to go ahead. Basically, the price at the pump will be the full price. The “identified” lower income groups will be given a “rebate card” that they swipe, ala bonuslink cards prior to pumping. The points (ie. 1 point per liter) can then be exchange for cash/rebate from the G at the LHDN/taxman.

• Old dog on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:25 am

This is taking away the subsidy to cronies pocket in implementing the systems. I am sure the cronies will take % cents out of each subsidy instead of a lum sum charge. ah Noh method.
    Just took away the subsidy, and close case.

• kapchai on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:33 am

Actually, I see no reason for all the complication. If the gomen wants to stop fuel subsidy then just stop it for everyone. Why bother to go thru all the trouble to give subsidy for the poor? After all the poor don’t use much fuel, only the big cars and big trucks use lots of fuel. If the poor still complain that fuel prices affects them, just top up their BR1M. Simple

• You all still dont get it?
    Here the tricks everytime you go petrol station even you are low income:

SYSTEM/NETWORK ERROR, Unable to to proceed. Unsubsidised rate will be used. Apologize.

• manfisto on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:45 am

might as well announced it that the rich income group would get the subsidy as well since many of them are come with drivers. Drivers are the ones who top up the petrol !!!!!

• cukup! on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:54 am

” UPDATE: The ‘low-income group’ counts BR1M recipients and those earning below RM4,000 a month. ”

pakcik aku gaji 4k tp ade anak 10 org nk tanggung. mintak brim pun sangkut. igt pakcik aku tu pakai R35 ke?

buat rules dulu, then baru kaji. ELOK LAH SGT!!!

• I agree with Babelon comment. Need clear picture of low income group and high income group. Yes we earn 4K per month but need to minus EPF and PCB for LHDN. Isn’t 4K people group is high income group after minus all include housing and car loan…..Lu fikir la…

• Siti Sarah on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:04 am

Okay, i want to open a booth “IC RENTING SERVICE” infront of each petrol pump. extra income maa.. please queue here… hahaha..

• being rich or wht we call ‘berada’ in malaysia seem like commit a sin to government.. later no need to stdy hard and get a high income job..let all become kuli and gov will help u with brim bram brum..pfftttttt

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:28 am

When the opposition proposed the inheritance tax to tax only the filthy rich, the gee said this cannot be done as it will cause dissatisfaction amongst the wealthy, causing them to flee the country. But this new move by the gee by imposing two rate system at the fuel pumps is also squeezing the wealthy’s balls dry too … in conclusion, the gee is very clever in spinning its way around the whole thing, while at the same time, hitting hard on all malaysian, hardworking or not.

• arelanz on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:04 am

Dah nama pun ‘wealthy’, how come it can easily dry?? You’re talking like with this move the wealthy will be dirt poor in an instance?? Gila..

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:28 pm

It is not wealthy if your income earning is just a meager RM4k per month lah … It makes sense lah if the gee target those with income of RM10k / month.

• I hope its not one of those terms used “Bangsa dan Agama” in the MYCARD for subsidised petrol.

• The Vendor on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:33 am

Request For Proposal “bagi Pembangunan Sistem Penyampaian Subsidi Bersasar Bagi Kenderaan Petrol”

Tarikh Tutup: 10 Nov 14′

Implementation plan is within 4 months (Jan 14′ – April 14′).

http://www.kpdnkk.gov.my/tender-portlet/attachment/1730901_IKLAN%20RFP.pdf

• I just hope the terms used to qualify cheaper petrol will not be based on “Race and Religion” in the MYCARD

• mosar on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:43 am

why bother with a complicated system that will be tremendously difficult to govern or enforce? these lawmakers are so out of touch of reality, probably due to their pampered & sheltered life..

just sell petrol at retail price to consumers, subsidized price only for commercial vehicle (to avoid inflation), and make all locally made/assembled (CKD) cars tax free. good cars will be more affordable, and the auto industry will grow..win-win..

• Don't Care on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:45 am

Seriously ? I don’t care how fool proof of this system is, but if the government gonna make this system work, they should reduce the car price for the so called high income group, since they paying full price of price, why should they pay hundreds percent of taxes on car ? We pay the high car taxes because of the subsidies fuel price, not pay for fun.

Besides, the fuel price increased just a gap of 28 cents, but the car tax doesn’t down an inch, that’s sound illogical. But well, the things of our G do always illogical

• messi on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:51 am

This is another racist policy to suck more money from those who earn RM 7K and above.

You should know which majority race who earn the amount.

The have implemented the high toll rate at singapore border but not in Thailand. Why?

They have double the TNB’s rate if you go beyond the limit set. You should know who are the one to suffer.

They are good at sucking the “pendatang” who work hard for their money.

• arelanz on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:01 am

WOW.. I’m really baffled by how many high level income Malaysians that are stingy with their earnings. I salute for your hardwork, but remember we are living as a whole society. You can already drive several hundred thousand-ish cars, which the low income group can only dreamt off, yet you are whining when you did not get the subsidy, and even dare to asking for BR1M??? Seriously people like you deserve the deepest place in HELL.

I know the system might not be foolproof, especially it will be run by those BN bollocks. The idea is noble, we also must play our part honestly.

• Low Income on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:16 am

“High Income” people no subsidies, “Low Income” people used current price.. then, where does the money goes??? though that the subsidy will get higher for “low income”… very the pelik…

• Low Income on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:17 am

“High Income” people no subsidies, “Low Income” people used current price.. then, where does the money goes??? thought that the subsidy will get higher for “low income”… very the pelik…

• want money, implement GST, says other countries also implement, convince rakyat to accept it. For fuel, why not float it and remove all the car taxes, follow other countries also ma? no need to pening pening come out with this and that, refer to other countries..reference is there.

• YangMerana on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:32 am

Saya malu mau pump petrol sekarang. Nanti orang tahu saya low income. Sudah jadi macam sistem kasta zaman dulu. Lama kelamaan akan timbul ejekan dari golongan berada terhadap golongan berpendapatan rendah. Walaupun secara tidak langsung tapi dalam hati mereka, mereka akan terfikir bahawa mereka yang membiayai kita yang kurang berada dan mungkin kita akan dipandang rendah. Mungkin akan muncul laluan express untuk orang kaya raya di pump. Adakah cara lain untuk buat benda ni? Bagilah lebih banyak BR1M. Elaklah guna cara MyKad ni. Yang saya tahu, bila kerajaan nak duit dari rakyat kita hanya boleh berdoa agar kerajaan tidak mengambil kesemuanya.

• Not Important on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:33 am

Gov always push the spotlight to Higher Income group to the crowd as a excuse. The higher income group is already bearing so much higher tax. Simply those tax received is not enough for “them” to spend.

• neutral on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:40 am

simple answer, google it:

why mykad : http://datasonic.com.my/about-datasonic/our-portfolio.html

further reading : http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-news/296303-datasonic-acquires-new-unit-for-fuel-subsidy-job.html

who : http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia/article/firm-sues-the-edge-for-rm100-million-wants-sources-revealed

• We arrow come to safe this city~~!

• I absolutely disagree with foreigners using our subsidized petrol, either they drive to Malaysia to refill or fuel being shipped out to foreign lands. Anwar’s proposal to make petrol even cheaper does just that. Foreigners would love Anwar.

Since doing nothing is not an option and instead of complaining, can someone suggest a better system? If we remove fuel subsidies, then car price obviously must come down but if done overnight, what would happen to those who had already purchased their highly taxed cars? Give them rebates? What about those 2nd hand car dealers?

• neutral on Oct 24, 2014 at 11:21 am

bro, the point u look is too basic.
      if i am investor from US/EURO/SG, fews factor may affect my decision on my investment:
      1) labor cost
      2) political stable
      3) fuel cost (maybe, cheaper production cost/transport)
      4) etc
      stand on other point of view, dont always stay inside your own circle. just help on saving rm1 and loss rm1000 bring to your country, haha… no offence ya :) stay neutral

• neutral. Of course everybody and I mean everybody know there are multiple factors affecting businesses. Since you are game, we can talk about those you listed.

1. Labor cost. Low end, we can’t beat the Indonesian or the Vietnamese. High end, the graduates from our universities are not up to standard. So what do you propose.
        2. Political stability. According to the Wall Street Journal in an article in 2012, it warn FDI of the danger of being dragged into Malaysian domestic politic by Pakatan using Lynas as example. Is that good or bad?
        3. General consensus amongst economist is, subsidies are bad ideas.

• neutral on Oct 24, 2014 at 6:29 pm

tng, ur replied enlighten me. from this moment onward i think i shd:
          1) thanks gov, provide me education and study in university “but not up to standard”
          2) after my study, i should work with Lynas, Lynas will bring huge income to my country (fyi lynas is 10/5 yrs tax-free), and Lynas will provide better living for my child :)
          3) no idea, i am not economist, i just not up to standard graduates :)

• neutral. Let me ask you a simple question. How much radiation in Lynas material and how much in food (as according to USA regulation). If you don’t know the answer, I suggest you Google and then come back and talk some more about Lynas because the 2 figures will greatly surprise you.

• outsider on Oct 26, 2014 at 11:15 am

Bro, i guess u have answer it well, our labor cost higher so we need cheaper fuel. Political stability if we compare thailand and vietnam riots, malaysia is still far behind. Lasttime dr.m bought in panasonic/national investor, cheap fuel can reduce their operation cost

• despair on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:55 am

This is a recipe for disaster, inflation looms, tyranny is bestowed upon us.

Survival is becoming more tormenting, hopes fallen, dreams dashed.

Im very proud to be called a Malaysian, even-though i live aboard but i tend to ponder everyday as where my beloved country is coming to.

• prioritise first on Oct 24, 2014 at 11:17 am

quick solution which MUST be implemented in order:
    1. Increase overall salary of people at all levels without inflating prices with GST otherwise it’s zero sum gain.
    2. Provide a reliable and well-connected public transportation infrastructure so people have alternatives if we do not want to drive.
    3. Reduce crime rate so people feel safer walking and taking public transport anytime.
    4. Remove subsidies.

Our G is doing number 4 first instead. Rakyat didahulukan??

• MeToo on Oct 24, 2014 at 11:26 am

Why all the whining?

You, the people, voted this government in. Some cause of empty promised, some cause they are worried of the threat of violence, etc etc. Everyone voted for their own selfish reason.

So you will have to live with the consequences.

There are no stupid government, only stupid people who voted for them.

• michael on Oct 24, 2014 at 11:27 am

In the recent budget, income tax reduction of 1-3% will benefit the high income gp most.
    Now the gov want to spend hundreds of million to implement a system so high income go don’t enjoy the subsidy. Where is the logic?
    I am sure the additional income tax from the 1-3% can offset the fuel subsidy for the high income gp if the gov don’tinclude the tax reduction for said go in the first place.
    This fuel rationalization is not necessary in the first place. It is a waste of public fund and cause inconvenience to people.

• shawal on Oct 24, 2014 at 11:30 am

Mykad later can be turn into a some sort of ‘commodity’ that can be targetted
    some more it will contain more of our own precious information

Drug addicts
    thieves
    prison inmates
    neglected elderly

the Mykad will be abused

it is best to abolish fuel subsidies altogether , use the money instead to improve and subsidize public transport

we need a platform to gather everyone (peacefully) , to have a dialog with our leaders and to heavily pinpoint these flaws before it comes into effect

Do not TURN our MYkads into a commodity which can be abuse ( as if it is not abused enough already )

• Hukaka on Oct 24, 2014 at 11:44 am

The truth it’s salary under 4K per month only can ride bus or motorcycle.
    Rm 5 full take really not too much different.
    Witch it’s my curren situation.haha give you a like our good government
    Trying to protect low income citizens.

• RakyatMalaysia7 on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Keep the poor voters ‘depended’ on the gomen, more poor people,more votes for them.typical……same old s**t different day..n yet,people still votes for them..pfftt

• Rahman on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:02 pm

So, it is a big sin to be a high income earner in Malaysia. Even we pay high tax we also become anak tiri. My income tax can pay the salary of a teacher.

• Next time not only can not talk about our salary, which is P&C, we can’t ask what fuel price you pump also :p

• Confusiast on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:59 pm

This country is sick, really sick

• Bro,
      Country not sick, just politician sick.
      No point bashing them now.The only thing we can do not is to vote them out next PRU!!!
      BN OUT!!!!

• mango on Oct 24, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Petrol go up, everything else goes up and not to forget GST will be implemented as well. 4-5K earners get the worst hit and trust me they cant even afford to buy house and start a family. As a petrol exporter and agriculture country, we average citizen should at least benefit from it and not worsen our burden. High income earners bar should be raise from 6k onwards.

• CrudePrice on Oct 24, 2014 at 1:26 pm

From what I know the crude price per barrel has drop for two years low US82.00/barrel (from US110/2012). Expert claim it will reach to US80.00/barrel soon because US control oil price not OPEC.

But Govt increase price instead, it just wonder how subsidy works or is it a subsidy system or not?????? what formula of subsidy used here, please explain.

Do away to multi tier prices structure, no system in the world is perfect, so stop wasting tax payer money spending on these system.

Just a though my low tax contribution being used to build a system to hinder high tax bracket person from using lower price petrol. Or the other way, I’m paying higher tax and it going to used it against me. What a joke. I don’t used fuel and my tax being used for this system too..What a crap

• Crudeprice. Those USD80 per barrel are price for crude oil and your car can’t use crude oil. It has to be shipped and refined and transported to your local petrol station before use.

• there is no efficient public transport in the first place…
    the car price here imposed with sufficient amount of taxes plus thousands of tolls…
    the folks with salary below 4k/mth already squeezing here and there with so many prices hike and some more GST coming…
    those folks already paying taxes yet to enjoy the benefits and now have pay more for that…
    Hurray…

• UPDATE: The ‘low-income group’ counts BR1M recipients and those earning below RM4,000 a month.

May I know “those earning below RM4,000 a month” refers to households or individual?

• UPDATE: The ‘low-income group’ counts BR1M recipients and those earning below RM4,000 a month.

RM4000 refers to households or individual income?

• Criss on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Freaking Retard .
    This Wouldnt Even Work .
    Even If My Dad Has A 10k Income He Could Borrow Mine To Fuel Up . LOL
    Bring Me There And i Pump It .
    Thats All . We Human Are Not Stupid . Try Hard To Eat Our Money ~

• Ah Jib on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:53 pm

most of us didnt know that current malaysia market are supported by EPF cash, and spending futhure money.
    for my Umno friend , try wack as much as u can ,transfer all to London, and when the time it crashes……CaBUT…….!!!!!
    tips : Swiss bank and Singapore bank are safest !

• Elvin on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Think i should bring my grandpa together to pump petrol by using his ic to get subsidy petrol. Btw, senior citizen got extra more subsidy?

• Unknown on Oct 24, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Well there is nothing could be done besides what have been promised turns out to be empty promises. People of Malaysians have have decided to believed in them over and over again from one election to another, can’t say anything or get pissed on anyone majority decides this, just can hope until the next election the people of Malaysian is already done dreaming when they are about to place their bloody vote.

• Genius on Oct 24, 2014 at 5:14 pm

I’ll tell my accountant to make sure my director’s fee is not more than RM4k a month and use my company account for my expenses. The RM4k will go completely to my FD. This way I’m still in the low income bracket and my company make less money due to higher expenses so less tax paid.

Then I’ll buy a Mazda RX8 turbo with only 1.3cc engine. That way I can continue using subsidised fuel and pay much lower tax.

I LOVE MALAYSIA!!!!

Lick up to the rich and stomp on the poor.

• kee jang on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:00 pm

4.5k consider high income?? if 4k salary can get the benefit how about someone who earn only 4.5k?? kesian worrr..different only RM500 then must pay normal price… plz la.. gomen must revised to who ever earn above 10k than baru kena bayar actual price….

• Then how does this apply to foreigners? Since foreigners do not have Malaysian IC aka Mykad. How are they gonna determine how much foreigners can refuel?

• bn bullshit on Oct 24, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Whoever especially BN “totok” supporter said that by limiting the liters to avoid someone misused their ic is veru idiot. How about poor guy that need to pump more petrol for their cars cause they have to? Do they also need to pay for normal price because more than the quota though it is normal need of their life?

• Syameer (Member) on Oct 25, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Well, now I guess it’s time to remove those sky-high taxes as well. I’ll happily pay the market price for RON95 if I can purchase those RON95-capable car at minimum taxation.

• why everything the government does feels like being targeted to the Chinese community only??

• Paparazi on Oct 25, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Now a day everything so expensive, this harga nail, that harga naik, I think who earn below RM6k is considered low income ppl!

• meaning there is a reason to steal mykad for profit.
    i can imagine a lot will be victim of age 12 to 21

• F-Misman on Oct 25, 2014 at 11:14 pm

stop this multitier system.
    stop ron95.
    stop pushing middle people!

• tun musa putih on Nov 29, 2014 at 4:21 am

nice! no more smuggling fuel later on due floating price. but sadly people with income RM 4K-6K still suffer..

• upsetcitizen on Oct 26, 2014 at 9:49 am

1. Expect high increase in organised criminal activity. The high income group will have to get their income illegally in order to deal with the enormous tax.

2. 4000 is not considered high income. Can’t afford a Camry, let alone luxuries like BMW/Mercedes. How come 4000 is the same as those earning 10000 a month?

3. ID felony will increase.

4. Lots of money will be use to implement this new system. No money will be used to improve road condition, building better rural roads.

5. If people keep on saying ‘OK no problem’, the govt will keep on squeezing the people’s money. Recent example is the 20cent increase of petrol. No uproar whatsoever. So, the govt know that they can pijak kepala of the rakyat some more.

Fight for our rights.

• Hazard on Oct 26, 2014 at 8:43 pm

GUYS…plez understand this… from zaman MAHATHIR..gov pay almost 2 billion a year for subsidy minyak..and now NAJIB pay almost 23 billion a year for subsidy minyak.. Thats a lots of money.. itu yg timbalan menteri kewangan AHMAD MASLAN bagitau… BUT..BUT..BUT.. apa yg menteri tak bagitau..zaman MAHATHIR income gov from minyak only 6 billion..and right now zaman NAJIB income gov from mimnyal almost 80 billion…MY QUESTION IS… Where is the money??? adakah menjadi satu kesalahn bagi rakyat yg negaranya mempunyai hasil pendapatan yang lumayan daripada hasil minyak dinafikan hak subsidi minyak … bukankah kita juga berhak dapat sama seperti rakyat negara brunei,venezuala,saudi arabia,jordan yg mana minyak negara mereka murah?? bukannya sikit bro.. 80 billion?…mana pergi duit tu??

• pengeluar petroleum on Oct 27, 2014 at 11:03 am

The Barisan NEPOTISM GOVERNMENT always say… Malaysia fuel prices still Cheapest among ASEAN countries.bla bla bla.. alo!!!! MALAYSIA Is petroleum exporting country la…. just like ur father opens a sugar factory….but u pay **market price*** for sugar…logic??? how ironic…

n the mykad thing… if this really implenmented…. is JPN ready for millions of rakyats queueing up to change or upgrade their faulty mycards?????

• Adrian on Oct 27, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Susahlah kalau mereka berpendapatan RM4K kebawah diklasifikasikan sebagai golongan berpendapatan rendah.Walaupun gaji RM4-6K sebulan kene ambil kira perbelanjaan lain.Terutama yg berada di ibukota, jalan sikit dah kene tol…Makin mengarut kerajaan sekarang.Sejauh mana ketelusan system yg nk dibangunkan/diperkenalkan?

• Comolot on Oct 27, 2014 at 2:18 pm

We have to admit that we’re now living with no choice

Politicians are stupid.

Let’s migrate

• darren on Oct 27, 2014 at 3:36 pm

this will show who is rich who is not rich and thus put rich people in risk

• Can use MyKid to pump petrol or not? LOL!

• lorenzok on Oct 27, 2014 at 4:07 pm

a person earning 9k with 6 mounth to feed vs a person earning 3.5k single. I think it’s not fair. Best is all pay the same price and reduce the blardy excise duty. This way win win, less smuggling (gomen lose less money) and less leakage

• I guess somebody will have a job to create a special software and supply all those MyKad reader to all petrol station :)

• ZigZag Man on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:11 am

..G need more money?? Solution is simple:

1) Kill Proton (making only 5K RM/car) tens of billions a year loss

2) Kill MAS (endless pit)

• Ben Pua on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Please take note that the government has not imposed the new petrol subsidy rationalization program, it is still under study. Tell you what , this is what will happen , RON 95 will increase by 10 cent to RM 2.40 after increase the government will then announce there is no need to implement the new petrol rationalization program and the government will continue to subsidize 18 cent for each liter of RON 95.

• Why dont on Oct 28, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Every single one of you here are morons.

• no other country has such system
    only stupid and corrupted gov can think of such a scheme

• airbags on Oct 29, 2014 at 10:29 am

Did anyone take IQ test before..its all about logic stuff. The g always said the high auto-tax is to pay back to our fuel subsidy. Ok, we are forced to agree that. But now we have no more subsidy for the rich, partial for the mid and full for the poor. By logic, does it mean that it will be tax-free of auto for the rich, partial-tax for the mid, and full-tax for the poor? What a stupid logic? Which moron came out this stupid idea with zero-IQ.

• HiddenTermConditions on Oct 30, 2014 at 9:30 am

Are you sure that only 3 tier system and nothing else to be included to this 3 tier system as mention by a minister?

I believe penalty and fines for someone caught breaking this system not review yet to the rakyat.

More and more terms and conditions, processes, workflow for rakyat comply just to qualify the used of fuel be it low income or high income people before you being your first use subsidy fuel at petrol station. It burden everyone from the beginning to get his MyKad support for fuel subsidy. I leave my imagination stop here.. otherwise i will be insane

• so, can use niece or nephew IC to fill petrol? kind of feels like those futuristic apocalypse movies where u need to present an ID to get your rations.

• The very very rich don’t pay taxes – this is only going to hurt the middle class.

• Logan on May 23, 2022 at 10:58 pm

How to apply this