Takata to be prosecuted in the US over exploding airbags, owners urged to fix affected cars immediately

Public prosecutors in the United States are targeting Japanese automotive parts supplier Takata Corp, which is suspected to have misled US regulators regarding its airbags. The company’s defective safety components have been a centre of series of massive worldwide recalls over the past few years, and Takata has been accused of hiding the true number of cars affected.

These recalls are all related to a single part – the passenger airbag inflator, which has been improperly manufactured. In a crash, the inflator could rupture, which, in extreme cases, can even cause metal shards from the airbag casing to be sprayed at the occupants, potentially maiming or killing them.

The ongoing saga reached new heights this month after it emerged that Hien Tran from Orlando, Florida was killed when the airbag in her Honda Accord exploded in an accident, sending shrapnel into her neck. Tran is at least the third person to have died from the defective airbag inflator implicated in the recalls, which has also caused several injuries.

Takata to be prosecuted in the US over exploding airbags, owners urged to fix affected cars immediately

Following the incident, Toyota expanded its recall on Monday to include 247,000 units of the Corolla, Matrix, Tundra and Sequoia as well as the Lexus SC in humid regions in the US, while the National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration (NHTSA) has issued an urgent alert for the 7.8 million owners of cars involved in the recalls in the US, urging them to get their cars fixed immediately. In all, around 14 million cars have been recalled worldwide so far by Toyota, Nissan, Honda, Mitsubishi, Subaru, BMW, Chrysler and General Motors.

Closer to home, UMW Toyota has recalled 18,700 units of the 2000-2003 Camry and Corolla Altis, Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) recalled four units of the CBU first-generation Nissan X-Trail, while Honda Malaysia recalled the 2001-2003 Stream, 2002-2003 Jazz, 2003 City and 2003 Accord.

If you own any of the cars affected, it is imperative to send them in to be repaired as soon as possible, and to stay away from the front passenger seat until the issue has been resolved.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• magpie on Oct 23, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Mind telling me if peroduas uses the same airbag from takata?

• Govt Official on Oct 23, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Paultan is doing a better job than Malaysia’s Transport Ministry in advising the public of such important news.

These defective airbags kills the occupants by firing shrapnel to the front passengers !

What a bunch of USELESS govt officials we have and we are paying them to look after us at the MoT and JPJ. Just USELESS.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 7
      • ProtonGSC on Oct 23, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Malaysia’s Transport Ministry
        MITI/MAI just only concern on increase/maintain current high taxes.

What they have done expect talking nonsense??
        And planing useless project that didn’t benefit Rakyat.
        USELESS MITI/MAI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
        • Badut Rempit on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:24 pm

Nasib baik aku pakai kapcai je, tak payah risau pasal airbag nak meletop.

Cuma kekadang bila 2 airbag awek aku asyik doq tekan belakang aku, masa tu aku rasa macam dada aku ni pulak yg nak meletop!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 1
          • coffin on Oct 24, 2014 at 1:48 am

Blame your beloved worshiped Toyoyol, high priced thing dun always good!

Even proton is better, face the reality!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • lol,u mad bro ? on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:24 pm

dude,japanese cars are expensive because of the local taxes…local cars that are selling at high price cant guarantee good quality too

• kzm (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 3:01 pm

that scary..suppose airbag give us assurance of safety.

• rakyat kito on Oct 23, 2014 at 3:53 pm

bloody lying japs. putting others life in danger because of money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Wow, you Korean?
      Fine, enjoy being killed in your Korean car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
  • bare baek on Oct 23, 2014 at 3:59 pm

barang jepun mmg bagus, tahan lama, cuma kadang2 sending high velocity of shrapnels to your neck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • do'oh on Oct 23, 2014 at 4:01 pm

sam lorr?

• TEMPO on Oct 23, 2014 at 4:12 pm

this issue hiding since early 2000s…
      scary!!
      how many defects still hided by automotive maker?

• alldisc on Oct 23, 2014 at 5:42 pm

paul, in my knowledge airbags need inspection every 10 years of its service. a recall is necessary for every manufacturer.

in malaysia if i remember clearly… the 1995 ford laser lynx was one of the earliest cars to come equipped with SRS airbags (at least the TX3).

who shall bear responsibility for this?

• Toyota Best RV on Oct 23, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Toyota owners valued Resale Values than their life.

That’s why no airbag also ok. No tsc also ok.

Got airbag explode also no problem. My 2nd hand value still rocks and sam loo still give me good hailat trade in price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • jacksonljs on Oct 24, 2014 at 11:34 am

Plus, only in Malaysia, even no seatbelt also ok, as many drivers here think they have too long life hence, no need to use seatbelt while driving.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Ha..ha..I’m one who is not convinced of safety of airbag out weight the benefit of being able to steer & control the car to safety after accidents. Not all accidents will result in driver smashing his head on steering wheel. Having a safety helmet on offers better safety outcome for the head than airbag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • sudonano (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 4:39 pm

They really deserve to be sued to glory and back for two reasons:

1. It took them 10 years to actually realise the airbag was faulty? Do they realise 14 million cars were sold? Even if it was just 10% of cars that had the airbag deployed, that is a whopping 1.4 million people who could have been affected.
    2. How could they have even manufactured such substandard quality in the first place? No conscience?

I really hope they all get sued big time, but nothing can bring back the lives lost. Imbeciles.

• Sahak on Oct 23, 2014 at 4:48 pm

and now, where is sam lorr?

• Same Lorrr is not worry about safety, he just wants to talk about RV

What use of RV if you are dead ady!

• Still better than Korean cars, all hidden problems, breakdown every time, customer service cheated me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • And Jonathan,

Are you trying to say that don’t buy Japanese car until this problem solve? Now you sounds like a typical Korean hipster now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
    • Obviously (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:04 pm

His exact words were:

“If you own any of the cars affected, it is imperative to send them in to be repaired as soon as possible, and to stay away from the front passenger seat until the issue has been resolved.”

So…if you own any of the cars affected by this issue (2000-2003 Camry and Corolla Altis, CBU first-generation Nissan X-Trail, 2001-2003 Stream, 2002-2003 Jazz, 2003 City and 2003 Accord), he says that you should stay away from the front passenger seat (!!) until the airbag inflation device has been replaced with a properly made one. Typical Korean hipster cautioning against Japanese cars? I see no hint of that at all. This is just a safety concern for those who already own these cars. The newer cars don’t seem to be affected but we don’t know for sure the extent of this cover-up.

Finally, please, work on your English comprehension and remove your prejudice against Koreans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • ding dong qiang on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:15 pm

This company likely going to be gg.

Good luck to all their shard holder.

• drchan on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:30 pm

can those who bought from grey importers send their cars back for repair?

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 8:19 pm

I wonder if AVH is driving a Honda City from the affected generation or the one after that generation.

• I wonder is Sam Loo busy lining up trying to get his camry’s airbag fixed.

hahaha…

• dreaming of maserati on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:41 am

Same Loor is bz lining up for plastic surgery after shrapnels destroyed his face.

• AVH (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 4:40 am

Nope, As far as the recall is going, its affecting cars from 00′-05′, be it Malaysia or Internationally. But I am not holding chance. while mine is a 10′ model. I did send a personal message to my local Honda SA to remind me if theres any recall and I will be the first, while In the meantime, I am awaiting my road tax for my airbag-less(safety-less) Saga Magavalve to come.

This incident actually sent alarm bells across the industry. Airbags by itself are hugely complicated device, there are actually small explosive right in your face, so there are inherent dangers to it, thou very minor. It actually got thinking, this airbags have cemical explosives, sodium Azide, in them, and by chemical explosive, I do believe there must be some maintenance too. Airbags by itself should be check regularly, which is suprising why no one has done it. I am not sure with Sodium Azide, but I know other forms of explosive tend to not fire once in contact with moisture…. so will old car with old airbag ever fail to deploy?

• Not gonna ride on my friends cars with those affected airbag recall. Will only drive my GTi for now

• copypaste on Oct 24, 2014 at 1:56 am

Please use this anytime you want:

Not gonna ride on my friends cars with those affected airbag recall. Will only drive my for now

Lol

• roxas on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:47 am

Fur is next sam lorrrr. LOL

• Shankar on Oct 24, 2014 at 7:02 am

the question is, will Toyota Malaysia make any recall?

• Sir Slave on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Tak ada airbag lebih baik dari ada Takata airbag?