Lotus Exige S Automatic unveiled: 6-speed self-shifter

69046_ExigeS-Automatic-Interior_1024x699

Fancy the hardcore 345 hp/400 Nm bantamweight Lotus Exige S but not hardcore enough to row the manual gearbox yourself? Well, the British sports car maker has just the answer with a new self-shifting variant – the Lotus Exige S Automatic.

The new model basically swaps the six-speed do-it-yourself transmission hanging off the 3.5 litre supercharged Toyota-sourced V6 with a six-speed torque converter automatic, similar to the Intelligent Precision Shift (IPS) ‘box on the Evora. Steering wheel paddle shifters come as standard, and selecting Sport or Race mode delivers “optimised gear selection and response” to go with the changes on the rest of the car.

A limp-wristed gearbox for such a focused track car, you say? The Exige S Automatic is still undergoing final testing, but it’s already as fast as its manual-equipped counterpart around the company’s Hethel test track, and is actually 0.1 seconds quicker from 0-100 km/h at 3.9 seconds.

Lotus Exige S Automatic unveiled: 6-speed self-shifter

“By introducing a paddle-shift, we have expanded the Exige product range to make it more accessible to customers worldwide,” said Group Lotus CEO Jean-Marc Gales. “Now, customers who are more accustomed to two pedals and automatic transmissions can enjoy the unbelievable performance and handling of the Exige S without compromise.”

The automatic gearbox will be available in all countries currently selling the regular Exige S, with sales starting in January as a £2,000 (RM10,500) cost option in the UK. Over here, the manual Exige S retails at RM405,777 for the coupé and RM410,777 for the Roadster, and you can expect to pay a hefty premium over these prices for one less pedal.

Lotus Exige S

Lotus Exige S Roadster

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Enthusiast 3 pedals fan will bash in 3….2…..1…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 25, 2014 at 1:18 am

bash u first…and then bash the driver of automatic lotus…seriously why you buy so track focused drivers car if u don wanna shift gear yourself…poser betul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • rellyah on Oct 24, 2014 at 4:38 pm

my goodness, with that price i would take porsche, gtr, ferrari without even thinking twice. and that interior make me wanna jump from top edge of klcc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
  • Abu Sayur on Oct 24, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Go on proton….put the transmission into the the Iriz

• Abu Sayur on Oct 24, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Proton should stop making cars for the working-class. They should start producing cars to rival the M3 and C63. Just take the engine from this car and put it into a Waja shell and you have yourself a rocket….trololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Ada nama tak ada harga on Oct 24, 2014 at 6:40 pm

…………..price itself out of the market. Clever!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • hazamiey on Oct 25, 2014 at 6:41 pm

I will drive this bloody thing into corners and leave all those so-called archaic shift-it-yourself enthusiasts into dust. This automatic shitbox no longer sends telegram to change gears and having two pedals lets u focused into chicanes and reacts faster than to mess with heel-toe and miss-shifts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5