Audi A6 Hybrid dropped from line-up – are nearly half of all Audi A6 Hybrids in existence in Malaysia?

s8-1398339675-3791-audi-a6

When Audi unveiled the A6 facelift in early September this year, the Audi A6 Hybrid wasn’t featured in the image galleries that accompanied the press kit. We didn’t think too much of it at that time, but apparently the official word is that the A6 Hybrid has officially been discontinued because of discouraging sales numbers. We’re guessing buyers looking for fuel economy went for the TDI models instead.

That doesn’t really matter much to us at the moment since the A6 Hybrid no longer qualifies for duty exemptions in Malaysia this year, and Euromobil doesn’t have any more units to sell anyway. But when it was on sale, it was selling like hot cakes. Thanks to its starting price of under RM300k and decent equipment levels, the waiting list for the car was incredibly long.

You can only buy a used one at the moment – a quick check on car classifieds website oto.my shows that 2013 Audi A6 Hybrids are being listed for between RM278k to RM315k, which is barely any depreciation. Of course, transacted prices are a different matter, but if you buy a 2013 car today, you’ll still have at least another two years of warranty left.

What we found most interesting is the fact that only about 4,000 units of the Audi A6 Hybrid were ever built. MAA sales data for 2013 revealed that Euromobil sold 1,907 hybrid cars from February to December 2013, and the only hybrid Audi that was on sale at the time was the A6 Hybrid.

This means a staggering 47% of all Audi A6 Hybrids in existence are in Malaysia, and this does not even include a few cars that the grey importers brought in.

Audi isn’t abandoning hybrid technology though – the same hybrid powertrain in the A6 Hybrid continues to be used in the A8 Hybrid (there are a few brought in by grey importers) and Q5 Hybrid. The A6 Hybrid itself could possibly be replaced by something like a plug-in hybrid A6 e-Tron, which has been confirmed at least for the Chinese market, even if it doesn’t go on sale globally.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nabei on Oct 25, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Malaysia a dumping ground

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
    • Regina on Oct 25, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Not really – it’s because of the tax exemption that made this car as cheap as smaller cars with less features like 3-Series.

We Malaysians love features in our cars but when it comes to larger cars crammed with features, we are left with few affordable options.

This car just happened to fall into a sweet spot because all others were taxed while this was exempt, it’s the same story with the Mercedes Benz S-Class Hybrid – sold out like hotcakes within a few weeks and a 1-year waiting list.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • alldisc on Oct 25, 2014 at 6:11 pm

no lah. cant you read between the lines?

A6 hybrid not selling elsewhere, especially in UK (and most europe countries) was because they have the brilliant turbodiesel engines version, with compatible euro 4 above fuel available to suit.

turbodiesels have stronger low range pull with excellent fuel range. and now with modern common rail injection system, it is not much noisier as its petrol counterparts (proof as in BMW 530d, Jaguar XF 3.0d S and Ford Focus TDCi).

if only we have high grade diesel, and A6 TDi on sale here as well – i do not think the numbers will be the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Majuperak on Oct 25, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Wow, 47% of Audi A6 Hybrid of sales came to Malaysia …. looks like Malaysians have become dumping ground for “untested technology” and I wonder couple of years down the road when the battery needs to be replaced …. or any other hybrid motor parts ….. resale value is good for now but 5 years down the road, I think resale would be worst …… anyway it was good marketing strategy by DRB HICOM to flood the market with A6 to build confidence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 31
    • zeek (Member) on Oct 25, 2014 at 4:31 pm

In europe, the fuel saved on a hybrid isn’t enough to justify the higher price tag compared to its non-hybrid version. i.e. Activehybrid 5 & 535i. Diesels are far more economical & cheaper to run. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ll8cH1jK90w

• Now, everytime i see the word hybrid, it reminds that Malaysia is one country that has no interest in the environment but rather ensure its own cronies are satisfied as well as themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 58
  • sudonano (Member) on Oct 25, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Wait, what?

Did Malaysia just have half of the whole production allocation of the A6 Hybrid?

Well I guess one of the main reason why the A6 H didn’t move much overseas was because they had the A6 TDi which is pretty efficient too. And the boot is very compromised on the A6 H, which is not an issue on the A6 TDi. Then there is the part where, the A6 petrol and diesel in other markets were cheaper than the hybrid, not to mention that in those markets, you can get the quattro, which would be nicer than the FWD models, after all quattro = Audi. The A6H worked here, but that was only because of the taxes.

The Q5 Hybrid should have been brought in, I saw that unlike the A6 H, the boot is nearly the same size, since the battery is under the boot floor. That would have sold like hot cakes. Another reason for MBM and BMW MY to hurry up CKD-ing their BlueTec and ActiveHybrid line?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • seancorr (Member) on Oct 25, 2014 at 3:33 pm

I doubt BMW will build its ActiveHybrid line here. The subsidy is ending in about a year’s time but MBM has a different story whereby they have the factory setup so well that they can add any kind of line they want in a jiffy.

Unless BN sets some sort of plan for the long run, no sound investor will want to expand their business blindly. I think BMW is better off lobbying EEV status for its diesel models. Not sure about Audi since they do not officially bring in any diesel model so far.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 25, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Seems legit, a bit too late for now.

Oh yeah, I completely forgot of the half past six plans we have.

• MugenRR on Oct 25, 2014 at 2:56 pm

There are many rich people in Malaysia. Thats why they can afford this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 25, 2014 at 3:04 pm

have to say malaysia is a special market for these cars, while the a6 hybrid are quite expensive in europe and USA (almost the price of buying a s6 mind you), its fairly affordable here….though right now even if the a6 hybrid is sold here i would go for the excellent lexus es250 or amazing hyundai equus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • german car lover aka Jian on Oct 25, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Owhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!! I was looking forward to this car after Euromobil is been took over by Audi Malaysia.

Sent By IPad 4.

• P1 Salesman on Oct 25, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Crap car, even Mat Salleh don’t want this car. Only Malaysians are stupid enough to buy a 300k FWD. Better buy proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 30
  • gaviny on Oct 25, 2014 at 5:35 pm

lol malaysia is best dumping ground for th europeans, nobody gives a crap about economy here, just want to drive conti at cheap price,

even ang moh know it’s not worth but here we are snapping it up like sliced bread

lol, now stuck with car thats discountinued and nobody wants

• KL Stray Cat on Oct 25, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Boooo…..Hissss….some of us do want the new model A6 with a hybrid…when we can afford it anyways :)

• Adam Sims on Oct 25, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Proof that many Msians are rich. Tax these people more.

• Faridz on Oct 27, 2014 at 10:45 am

Dumb fuck, without tax Malaysia will also be a rich country. Why be unfair to rich ppl? they arent crony’s son.. some of them work hard since young. if want to tax. Please do tax the rich and poor, and on top of that, tax the kerabat diraja. There are the real pest in Malaysia, spend like crazy but buy luxury car without tax. Dont tel me they are royalties therefore they are special. No, tmw when a person assasinate them. They will die too. Tats it. Dont be unfair to the rich or poor alike while the cronies and those on top non-stop korek the wealth of Malaysia.

• cendol (Member) on Oct 26, 2014 at 11:00 am

Malaysia is precisely the dumping ground of cars.
    THat explains why we are so happy to be driving in reconditioned cars as though we have made it in life.
    Our reconditioned car industry is one of the biggest industry in Malaysia.
    In essence, we are proudly driving other people’s junk car.

• Macai on Oct 26, 2014 at 7:11 pm

Either we drive other people’s junk car or we drive the nation’s junk car(P1,P2)

• Yours Faithfully (Member) on Oct 26, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Since it did not move well in other countries that had the TDI, it will be interesting to see if the Merc E300 Diesel Bluetec Hybrid will sell well.

The second hand value of the A6H is fantastic . Its really holding its price really well.

Interesting times ahead indeed.

• kl fella on Oct 27, 2014 at 12:59 pm

with only a production run of 4,000 units globally, parts will be expensive and poor malaysians that own these A6H, second hand values holding up, wait until you need to service your audi or replace some hybrid tech related parts.. good luck there with only 4k units to support your “after service”