SPYSHOTS: BMW X4 M40i caught undisguised!

BMW-X4M40i-6

All variants of the BMW X4 currently only feature a rear exhaust configuration that places two tailpipes side by side on the left side of the bumper. This includes the current range-topping BMW X4 xDrive35i model. But from this set of spyshots, that fact is about to change.

Seen here is a completely undisguised but unbadged BMW X4 working the Nurburgring. Well, unbadged save for a little M badge on the front fender. The exhaust configuration is what makes it interesting – it has one exhaust pipe on each side of the bumper, which no BMW X4 currently have.

It clearly isn’t a bonafide X4 M, so could this be a more hardcore BMW X4 M40i from Munich’s BMW M Performance Automobile division The xDrive35i model currently has 306 horsepower and 400 Nm of torque, so an M40i variant would have to take the numbers considerably higher than that, but it still has to be lower than the M3/M4’s 431 hp and 550 Nm.

So we’re guessing about 360 hp and 450 Nm would make sense, making the BMW X4 M40i a competitor to the 340 hp, 460 Nm Porsche Macan S. If a proper BMW X4 M is ever released, that one will be the one to compete with the 400 hp, 550 Nm Porsche Macan Turbo.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• and the whole point of this car is???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • seancorr (Member) on Oct 26, 2014 at 5:05 pm

This model was created to compete with the Macan and Evoque as the market in this segment is quite huge.

Anyhow since the M40i and the 35i share the same engine…an engine remap and some slight mods will bring the hp and torque up for the 35i to match the 40i?

• remap theory never end.. why dont u said take the 40i remap to match the future X4M ?

• bayav on Oct 26, 2014 at 8:36 pm

It looks like jacked up Gen2!
          Those designers should be sacked!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Abu Sayur on Oct 26, 2014 at 6:07 pm

The tail lights looks like is drooping, like the pairs we always see on discovery channel…horrific

• Uncle_Sammy (Member) on Oct 26, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Waste of sheet metal. They’re not selling very well in Europe and in China, ‘4’ on a car…nuff’ said!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • bayav on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Correct and “Audi A4” in chinese meaning is “Audi Boleh Mati”.

• lorrycar on Oct 26, 2014 at 9:42 pm

The point for this car is to tapao VW Macan.

• SiLv3sTeR on Oct 26, 2014 at 5:18 pm

front design…boring…very ugly… oh no

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • lorrycar on Oct 26, 2014 at 9:46 pm

When this car cucuk you from behind, then you will see is not ugly but you will be in awe!!!

• Totally agree…will turn off many potential buyers.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 26, 2014 at 7:40 pm

meh…mercedes gla45 amg better

• This has been bothering me quite awhile..

Why is BMW still keeping the “i” at the back of the badge e.g. 320i, 523i… which BMW or other car make these days do not produce engines with fuel injection as standard?

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 6:59 am

It differentiates their petrol engined cars from their diesel engined cars, I guess. Sounds way better than, for instance, 320p. 320g sounds interesting, though. Anyway, what do you mean by “BMW or other car makers these days do not produce engines with fuel injection as standard?”. They haven’t gone back to carburetors, have they? There’s not a single production car that I know of that doesn’t use fuel injection in some form, whether it be direct or multi-port or some other implementation.

• Broh, BMW diesel engines comes with diesel fuel injectors as well..

“There’s not a single production car that I know of that doesn’t use fuel injection in some form, whether it be direct or multi-port or some other implementation.”

Exactly that is my point, why stress something that is already standard across all models?

Do you need to tell this car comes with seatbelts in the brochure? Even Proton has already dropped the prefix “i” from the Wira days, for eg 1.5 GLi, 1.8 XLi, etc.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 11:33 am

Then what is your proposal? Just simply, for eg, 320? I don’t think there’s harm in keeping the i as part of the name. A really small matter…

• Is it just me or BMW design is getting uglier and uglier

• Aerodynamic bro on Oct 27, 2014 at 2:46 pm

I’m pretty bored to see another BMW SUV but oh well its a Bimmer