Daimler to purchase 25% stake in MV Agusta for €30m

Merc-Agusta

It seems that Mercedes-Benz’s parent company Daimler is hungry for a slice of the bike pie as it enters “advanced talks” to purchase a stake in MV Agusta, according to a Reuters report.

Citing German daily Sueddeutsche Zeitung, the news agency said that the company is looking to acquire a 25% stake in the Italian motorcycle maker for around €30 million (RM124 million) via its Mercedes-AMG performance division, with an option to raise its holding through further investments. The same source added that the deal could be signed as early as this week.

2013-MV-Agusta-F4-RR-01
MV Agusta F4 RR

Mercedes-AMG has dabbled with the motorcycle industry before, entering a marketing and sponsorship joint venture with Ducati in 2010 – going so far as creating a limited edition Ducati Diavel AMG – before the latter was snapped up by Audi in 2012. With BMW also in the bike business through its Motorrad division, the competition between the German luxury brands appears to be spilling onto the two-wheeled path.

Does the MV Agusta name sound familiar? It should – Proton once bought a 57.57% stake for €70 million (RM290 million) in 2004 before famously selling it off for a token sum of €1 (RM4.48) four years later.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 11:27 am

Thank you Dr.M for spending our money wisely.

This clearly show that he is truely a bastard for buying at si beh high price and selling at si beh si beh no price.

Now MB is buying back at si beh high price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 22
    • zeek (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 11:59 am

its a good thing they sold it. If not MV would have probably died & the magnificent Brutale 800, F3, F4R etc wouldn’t even exist

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • policeman on Oct 27, 2014 at 1:04 pm

You really are an idiot.

MV was sold off in 2005. Mahathir was questioning why it was sold off at 1 Euro. Obviously he did not approve this decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
      • unforgiven on Oct 27, 2014 at 11:41 pm

What do you think D M will do? Ask for more money to throw it into the sea right? Do you mind to loose millions every year? Definitely not if you are driving a Porsche.

• Mal mal on Oct 27, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Dr M didn’t want to sell it and lambasted proton for selling it off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Mouth without Brains on Oct 27, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Yes you are right… but the idiot here is YOU !

GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT.

It was Pak Lah and his 4th floor boys namely, Khairy, that sold off Augusta. An act that irked DrM which ultimately saw the demise of Pak Lah from Putrajaya.

Stop barking at everything and anything or you are worst than a stray dog

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • thedarkside on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:00 am

Talk cock only lah you!

• kzm (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 11:32 am

so sad they r like ball…still dont close

• Jimmy on Oct 27, 2014 at 1:54 pm

UMNO cybertroopers will not say anything bad about the negara, not even constructive advices/critics, so they talk about something else or change the topics.
      Now we know 1 + 1 = 4 x 30 million.

• azrai on Oct 27, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Haiyaa…Proton sold the entire stake just for 1 Euro.

• F for M on Oct 27, 2014 at 12:54 pm

no wonder potong keep asking for grant from the government… what a shitty company..

• Mamat on Oct 27, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Proton should have been a motorbike
    manufacturer instead.
    Now everyone can own a bike !!
    No need to compete with Perodua.

• the driver on Oct 27, 2014 at 1:15 pm

If, according to population growth charts tallied to global pollution and to personal mobility figures, bikes are the future for those looking for convenience, practicality, fuel costs; and even for those looking for their performance fix. BMW knows that (Motorrad), so does Audi (Ducati) and now Daimler.

• thedarkside on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:04 am

Maybe proton can eye on aprilia so everyone can afford a rsv4 factory?

• Peter on Oct 28, 2014 at 1:35 pm

… which M’sia glc sold for 1Euro!
    I know many have said that but I still feel cheated as a tax payer. And, those who involved in this decision are still holding high-rank position in M’sia authority!