Honda introduces world-first Pedestrian Collision Mitigation Steering System, to debut on new Legend

am_hs1410001H

The Honda Sensing suite of active safety systems, which first appeared on the US-market 2015 Honda CR-V facelift, has been updated with a new feature called Pedestrian Collision Mitigation Steering (PCMS), and the new Honda Legend (a right-hand drive Acura RLX) will be the first car to be sold with it in Japan.

PCMS calls upon the millimetre-wave radar located inside the front grille and the monocular camera mounted on the upper, inside part of the windscreen (that you get as part of the Honda Sensing package) to detect pedestrians and road boundary lines.

When the system forecasts a collision with a pedestrian as a result of the vehicle straying from the lane, it provides visual and audible warnings, and subsequently turns the steering wheel in the other direction to help the driver avoid the collision.

To accommodate the new functions, Honda says the Honda Sensing system’s precision and data processing capabilities have been improved. The system now recognises not only its surroundings but also driver intentions and vehicle conditions, and can apply collaborative control over certain vehicle components including braking and steering.

am_hs1410003

The radar detects pedestrians, and the camera identifies the attributes and sizes of those that come in range of within approximately 60 metres ahead of the vehicle.

The other Honda Sensing functions carry over, of course – there’s Collision Mitigation Braking (braking only), Road Departure Mitigation (steering wheel vibrations if stray, corrective input, braking), Lane Keeping Assist (steering assist, vibrations if stray, >65 km/h), Adaptive Cruise Control with Low-Speed Follow (can come to a full stop and start off again) and Traffic Sign Recognition.

Additionally, there’s False Start Prevention and Lead Car Departure Notification. The former guards against sudden acceleration when there is a vehicle or object ahead in close range, and vibrates the accelerator pedal. The latter informs the driver when the car in front starts up from standstill traffic.

Over in Britain, the Honda Civic hatch and Tourer are offered with a £780 Driver Assistance Safety Pack option that also makes use of a radar and a forward-facing camera to give you City-Brake Active, Forward Collision Warning, High Beam Support, Traffic Sign Recognition, Blind Spot Information, Lane Departure Warning and Cross Traffic Monitor systems.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Matrix on Oct 27, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Honda is the best!

no regret to get my city!
    hopefully can install system at aftermarket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Abu Sayur on Oct 27, 2014 at 3:04 pm

yeah u City drivers all need this system, cuz u all drive like kambing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Burong on Oct 27, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Well Honda is pretty good in making the interior looks very advance. And quality is also meet our expectation as well. Further more, Resale value is there as well. But…

RON95
      Actual price – RM2.57/l
      Control price – RM2.30/l
      Gov subsidy – RM0.27/l

But you need to pay extra 75% of a car price. Honda City original price: RM50,000. You need to pay extra RM37,500 so your BN government can subsidy you RM0.27/l fuel.

Full tank: 30l
      So they only subsidy RM8.1 for you per pump, and you need to pay extra RM37,000 advance not counting the interest yet.

And now they are thinking to remove that subsidy totally if you earn RM4,000 and above. What a sickening year.

• I’ve always liked the honda legend except that the name is so ironic because nobody actually knows it even exists.

• I always remember it because a hot chick used to drive one in my uni days.

Also, her assets were …err….”legend”ary.

• Aerodynamic bro on Oct 27, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Too bad this car can’t overtake at Passing on Right Prohibited sign and can’t go over speed limit.This can’t join Touge race at highway.

• make_sense on Oct 27, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Haiya… apa mau bising. Proton has used this technology long time ago. When a pedestrian is crossing in front of proton, the car will automatically speed up, hit the pedestrian and die one lah. The driver will also become coma. This is what we call killing two people with one hit. Wonder what proton enthusiasts will say after this?

• I dont know about you guys but I am always wary of “auto avoidance” technology. We are leaving too many things to the car to decide. Wonder what happen when this function is turned on in “pasar malam”. The ECU must be going crazy.

• Aerodynamic bro on Oct 27, 2014 at 4:58 pm

I’m very agree with you,if we leave too many things for the car to decide,we will become lazy to think and react.This technology just for stupid lazy people only.

• Daniel on Oct 27, 2014 at 6:09 pm

good point. however, what happens if you panicked during the last timeframe from the initial impact? thats the most crucial part.. so to avoid from making rash decisions (given that you are panicking).. the safety system is there as your saviour! so dont hate technology dude! this is what we call progression and people like you are hindering from it. #AToastToTechnology

• kamen rider on Oct 27, 2014 at 6:00 pm

ni sedap honda cekik darah kalo nk pasang kt honda sc. harap hingan auto dpt supply and pasang kat luar

• Porsche guy on Oct 27, 2014 at 6:21 pm

The truth is machine is machine… If you put up a cardboard cutout of a person… I do believe the car will try to avoid it… Who is to blame if the avoided something then hit a living being instead. Who will answer it in a court of law…that is the real question here.. Can we all blame HONDA…

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Wait for maybe 10 years and maybe we can see this debuting in the Accord. Honda Malaysia like to take own sweet time to debut new tech here in Bolehland…should learn from Volvo!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:09 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• AbsolutKev86 on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:36 pm

so elak the pedestrian and hentam the moto? wow…

all this safety techno can backfire… nothing is better that the driver who is alert…