New ‘Kedah Circuit’ to be northern motorsports hub

str sepang

For a country so into motorsports, we don’t have that many circuits besides the one world-class facility that is Sepang International Circuit (SIC). There’s Pasir Gudang in Johor and the tiny Dato’ Sagor track in Perak, and Batu Tiga is long gone, so there’s room for more. ‘Rice bowl state’ Kedah is now set to fill the gap and serve the northern region.

Kedah Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mukhriz Tun Dr Mahathir recently revealed that the state goverment is set to build a 1.6 km race circuit on 70-hectare site in Sungai Petani, with completion expected to be in 2016 or 2017. If so, the circuit will be near to the proposed Kulim International Airport.

“With the professional-level racing circuit in the state, talents along with those with supporting skills will have huge opportunities, and do not need to move to the Klang Valley,” the MB said.

There’s hardly a day where SIC is empty; it hosts plenty of drive events, track days and international races

“We also want the circuit to provide a brighter future for youths via a safer racing environment and eliminate illegal street racing,” Mukhriz told reporters at SIC last week, where he witnessed the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on the construction of the circuit between Kedah Menteri Besar Incorporated and SIC.

SIC will be the technical advisor during the circuit’s development phase, and later, the management advisor. The “Kedah Circuit” will feature a race track, off-road course, drag strip, grandstand and hill stand seating, a paddock building and retail premises. It will seek recognition from the FIA (International Automobile Federation) and FIM (Federation of International Motorcycling).

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 4:41 pm

“We also want the circuit to provide a brighter future for youths via a safer racing environment and eliminate illegal street racing.”

Would the track rental be cheap enough for the youths? If not, illegal street racing will continue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Oct 27, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Sepang is always empty……

Only during F1 and MotoGP its full…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • seancorr (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Bro there’s always private track days for normal chaps like us and booking can be an ass when everyone suddenly fights for the date and time slot.

I’m all in for more cheaper tracks for the public to use.

• Mat Rempit on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:12 am

Drive what? Drive Iriz to race kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
          • Obviously (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:31 am

Why u so cari gaduh? What people drive is none of your business.

From his past comments, it sounds like seancorr has some pretty interesting cars that would not shame him on the track. Deal with it.

• mmg sempit la lu punya pemikiran. tipikal keyboard warrior la lu.

• weeeee on Oct 28, 2014 at 1:15 pm

it doesn’t matter what one drives, its how you drive it that matters

• Abu Sayur on Oct 27, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Why pay to drive on a track, when i can drive like a hooligan for free on the roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • mmmmm on Oct 29, 2014 at 12:37 pm

U haven’t met people who drive on the track yet. High level racing include bang car like bumper car. Drive safe on the road, Jangan libatkan orang lain.

• shame_Loo on Oct 27, 2014 at 8:56 pm

Why need a circuit? Our kia su neighbour and Monaco have their well known street race circuit for F1. Spend our money wisely, don’t build another white elephant project, please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
      • Obviously (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:28 am

You gotta have pretty darn good roads to street race F1. Else, you’ll just see flying missiles being launched every few minutes. I think our road conditions are not that conducive for F1 street racing.

It might be a white elephant, but it looks like they’ve already decided to build this project. I cannot dissuade them (I no powuh). Can you?

• Ayam Kangkung on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:26 am

Without white elephant,
        no lobang!

• thats because monaco n spore no land u m*r*n.

not to mention a lot of money spent to organise street racing in the middle of huge city (resurfacing the road surface every time there is a racing, hige lectricity bill if its held at night).
        how about businesses around the city tracks that need to be closed 5 days in the row? and how about other implication such noise decibel?
        All that only for 1 race event.
        whereas the proper track is all year long, alas need a bit maintenance from time to time lah. not to mention good race ground for youth and those wanted to try out their rides n cars in a closed secured environment.

Spend your thinking wisely.

• bro, rental of circuit are normally for large group / organizers.. F1 is a seasonal event.. trackdays are for us grassroot racers :)

currently there are two well known small tracks up north. one is UNIMAP and another is UUM, both are karting tracks which can also be utilized as time attack etc..

imho this kedah circuit is more like MIMC rather than SIC..

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:57 am

Hard to beat “Free” though.

Even a cheap track like Dato Sagor will run you 1500/day a few years back. I’m sure its more expensive now.

Rempits and street racers are unlikely to favour a track. They race based on high risk pure brute aggression and adrenalin. I know many “street racers” talking trash but will never put it down on the track.

That said, it would always be welcomed to have more such facilities for the ones that prefer the safety of the track.

• Mukhriz and his brothers now can race at northern region

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • will it be as expensive as sepang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • kzm (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 4:55 pm

1.9km too short..better 3.9km

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:19 am

They build 1.9km and charge 3.9km money?

• 3++ KM is great IMHO bro.. will be more like Pasir Gudang.. and hey.. guess who is coming down to race in pasir gudang’s johor circuit?

IMHO UNIMAP track is ideal for small-sized track here in the north..

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Do miss the Batu Tiga track. Too bad they had to demolish that one. Thankfully, managed to catch Mick Doohan in top form there in the 90s.

But honestly, rather than spend money building a dedicated track, why not use an empty carpark or disused airport runway/tarmac lot like how the Americans do. Autocrossing I think thats what they call them. Its cheap, and the cars can’t really go that fast, as there are more corners than straights to test driving skills.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • paparadzi (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:05 am

Disused airport runway? Any suggestion? There is none in the peninsular as far as I know.

• md_ash on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Diused runway at future planned Kulim International Airport maybe Capt.?

• Aerodynamic bro on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:16 pm

“Seek recognition from FIA and FIM”??? Damn, we will have hot track like Suzuka circuit or rather most rented circuit, Willow Springs.

• machi on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:50 pm

A good excuse for someone brother who owns a veyron to enjoy high speed during weekend..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • whatever on Oct 27, 2014 at 6:11 pm

more duit kopi for the authorities

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • RicoT on Oct 27, 2014 at 7:14 pm

Do it Nürburgring style, lap tickets. RM50/lap maybe? Many enthusiasts are eagerly to try out their cars. And incur the cost for crashing as well.

Reference: http://www.nurburgring.org.uk/prices.php

• sick&tired on Oct 27, 2014 at 8:20 pm

how i wish i can get the contract for building the race track. I am sure the person who eventually gets it will have the same experience as me in building race tracks, which is none! after that just sub it out to someone else. easy money.

• sick&tired on Oct 27, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Good to see our GST being put to good use instead of something stupid like education and public transportation. the rich cronies in kedah can use it to race their lamborghinis and ferraris.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • 1.9KM too short. For cycling maybe!

• Ayam Kangkung on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:28 am

Purpose.
    Not track
    Not race
    it’s my wonderful fully filled pocket!

• Ruther on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:53 am

Why complaining?

• Typical.
    When there is a new project proposed, it got bashed. I know our our country not perfect, but at least be positive and throw in a bit of optimism laaah.
    This kind of negative thinking that keep bringing our country down. :_(

• I have no idea how many tracks we need for such a small country. And youth doing illegal racing, well the police should be out clamming these activities down. Not making race tracks. A very huge majority of them cannot afford it and will still drive and ride recklessly on the road. Its a waste of money and will definitely NOT produce world class racers.

Money should be spent on real development. Education, infrastructure, security etc. Not on a farking stupid race track.

• barring fuel price and toll charges, i bet many would be happy driving all the way to johor or kl or melaka for a track event..

its just… ahhh forget it..

• Azizi on Oct 30, 2014 at 2:10 pm

I think it’s not waste of money. Motorsport is also part of education.

Have you heard of EimaRace, Formula Unimap, Formula Varsity, Formula Y, Ipmarace. These are educational motorsports event been held in Malaysia. Every year university/politeknik/kolej komuniti/IKBN/ILP/Adtec/private Institution all around Malaysia participated in this event.

Beside racing, students also need to present to jury about the development process of their car starting from researching, designing, analysis, fabrication until its complete. Then all team will compete in track.

• Freaking stupid idea…use that money to develop the state.

• Define ‘develop the state’?
      To me & others, building new track for nothern region (Kedah, Penang, Perlis & part of Perak) is considered part of development.

• Tun, Please don’t waste money for F1 circuit.
    Built MRT from Kedah to Penang, benefit the people in north. Don’t always marketing to automotive industrial (crony).

• damnit on May 01, 2016 at 5:48 pm

i think its track for motorcycle not car