Proton Iriz 1.3 MT, 1.6 CVT deliveries have begun, 1.3 CVT due December, 1.6 MT due February 2015

Proton_Iriz_Review_ 001

Deliveries of the new Proton Iriz have kicked off, with buyers of the 1.3 MT and 1.6 CVT (across all trim levels) having started receiving their cars earlier this month, echoing Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah’s statements in his interview with us at the launch event.

Also, we’re told deliveries of the 1.3 CVT are set to begin in December, while those of the 1.6 MT are due in February 2015.

Trying to decide which Iriz variant to buy? Check out our comprehensive launch report and spec-by-spec comparison gallery, or browse through all available variants on CarBase.my.

You can also learn more about Proton’s new baby through our Proton Iriz infohub, walk-around video and full review of the 1.3 MT and 1.6 CVT variants.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• all the hype n media…now no stock delivery??? wtf…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 54
    • P2 Director on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Lagi songlap, lagi best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 31
      • Same L0rrr on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Delay Delay Delay… Everything delayed… from the Proton Hybrid till this Iriz. Never failed to delayed.

Sales not good also delay… only when begging fund from government no delay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 64
        • kzm (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:57 pm

that’s their plan..not delay. Even the article don’t say bout delay

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
          • Their plan is to beg fund from government? Wow, good plan. No wonder the country getting poorer due to proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 33
          • Their plan?
            You mean the gear box miscalculation is part of their plan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
          • Real Motorhead on Oct 29, 2014 at 11:09 am

Same LOrrr and its stupidity…..will never apart.

• Other automakers also get fund from theor respectie gomen, before you say they make money, nope, not always. They lost sometimes, in billions. You know la p2 also get incentives, other investors also get incentives

What say you?

• Wisdom on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Prematurely engineered…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
          • debbie on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Dun tell me all conti engineering do much better!

Japs got shiatty ride and handling and that’s worse than premature

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Delay because they want deliver better product to customer also wrong ka?? Use your brain to comment not your bu++..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 11
          • Saiful on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Suck my ass, proton fanboys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 50
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Non sense, so you saying those Iriz delivered now are sub-quality??

The customer want cheap and good car and they want it now. Simple marketing theory.

If you can’t make it, don’t talkok sendiri syok.

A Proton, is still a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 38
          • samelorstpd on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:02 pm

SO what, sub-quality or not, it’s still light years better than your beloved Axia and Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
          • Same Same Lol on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Wah, sub quality also can sell ah?

• Same L0rrr on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Yea, spend more light years in GARAGE compared to Axia and Vios then, just like all Proton cars do/did.

You better rent a house up stair of the garage. Then you can spend ETERNITY there.

Now only you know Proton dare to sell cars with any quality?? Their operation strategy is simple: Buyer got problem buyers problem. We sell the car our profit. More problem more repair, we get more profit.

After all, it is all about Money! National pride? lol, just a beautiful lie to cover the whole story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
          • How about Vios problems?

1. kluk-kluk sound from front tyres

2. The paint is troo too thin.

3. The body too soft. (Of course it’s milo tin)

4. Zinc roof sound when raining

No recall?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • kzm where are you? on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:18 pm

kzm will say you are wrong. All GLC like Perodua are very honest.

When petrol naik, he says it is good for the government because the extra revenue will be used to build more infrastructure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
        • kzm (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:53 pm

I never said that..u the one who said that, then accuse me that I say those..frag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • kzm where are you? on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Don’t worry, kzm will come here and say, gomen has accomplished so much. Done well. All those kritik proven wrong.

then he will go to the public toilet and wet the whole toilet up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
      • tanderket on Oct 30, 2014 at 8:28 am

Yess arr Proton songlap..how you know tell la..people also want to know

• Krony on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:07 pm

The more hype, the more we earn mah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • ellix on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:07 pm

That’s p2 umw style, bash proton, praise p2/toyoktel

At the end of day, still got more Preve than Vios catfish on road. Feel free to say sales number is not important

• Ah Beng very quiet today. XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Ah Beng had job to do today entertained a lot customers that want to buy IRIZ :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
        • megavalve on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Talking alone in empty showroom? Kasihan macai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:20 pm

A lot of people see, but very few buy. That is the REALITY in Proton showroom now.

It is hard to find non-Proton victim in Malaysia now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
          • You are the one who is busy here in p1 article, sure no customer today, pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Oct 28, 2014 at 3:09 pm

By then, 30K units of Axia already on the roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
      • Same L0rrr on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:21 pm

So, you still can buy 2014 Iriz in year 2015 with RM10k discount. It is standard Proton marketing strategy.

In fact, you still can get a 2012 Proton now, interested? The car has been UV tested under the sun for 2 years, quality sure BEST!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
        • Proton is not VW’s DSG can get rotten in hot days
          p2 is not that good neither, some still has problems

• Same L0rrr on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Of course, Proton just get rotten in ALL kind of days. Don’t forget it is a Proton.

With limited fund, P2 is your best bet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • Keep the list of old proton for that. Newer gen is not like that. Why Vios has too soft suspension, cannot get past bolehland bumps, how?

Premature engineering?

Faulty design?

Sub-par quality?

It’s good candidate to stay long in SC. Cannot tahan bolehland road and weather like those sissy germany VW

Boooooooooooo!!!!!!!

• Radical on Oct 31, 2014 at 12:57 pm

@ccc
            As a VW Golf owner, I personally don’t find anything wrong with my car. It’s been good on Malaysian roads. It comes down to user preference I believe.

• Low Budget on Oct 29, 2014 at 10:34 am

Aaaargh, owned 3 Protons b’fore, the last one only lasted 1 year with me, sure those were the days when Proton are junk quality, even if they have improve now, I will let the brave ones to be the guinea pigs 1st. I also owned 2 P2 cars b’fore and my verdict is P2 have better quality, therefore my latest one is the Axia (done 1000Km already) which I think is not too bad.

• Annoynimouse on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Why? Did you order one?…

• Nissan on Oct 28, 2014 at 11:45 pm

tighten QC already, that is why all cannot pass & have to recycle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • carlover on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Scare customer book manual 1.6 only then postpone to Feb next year .Force u to buy auto or manual 1.3 first….Is this good idea ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
    • Krony on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:10 pm

We love proton as it provide a good income source for us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Macai on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:15 pm

If early deliver later bring back workshop how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0rrr on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Early or late delivery you also need to go back workshop.

A Proton, is still a Proton after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 45
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Same goes to Toyota. They suppose now busy rectifying the problems in new Vios which they refuse to recall..Huhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:27 pm

You can BS whatever you like, like I will care. Sales figure will tell.

And the history has taught us the Proton-Murphy law:

Anything can goes wrong SURE goes wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
          • lorlor on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Why ar Toyoltel dun want to make recall, buyers got conned when buy and after buy, sadding

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 29, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Tell me what recalled Toyota models have you bought?

Crown Majesta? Crown? Noah? Voxy? Corolla Rumion? Auris?

If you get a Lexus IS, yes, you are affected.

Get the fact right before you spit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • I laughed out loud Same Lorrr didn’t dare to say Vios.

Sure Vios is sub-par quality car. JDM is not great neither. Their home grown CVT gear also can go wrong. Read more on Alphard’s CVT-i.

Hahahahahahahahahah

• mango on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:55 pm

I must say proton did a pretty good job designing this car. Bolt on a Turbo and you got a winner..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 20
    • mangosteen on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:39 pm

More like loser, the turbo will be slow like Suprimau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 36
      • vivon on Oct 28, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Slow? Century sprint below 10 secs. That’s normal for C segment cars. Of course with much better handling and ride than Japs competitors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:17 pm

mangosteen:
          Monyet dalam hutan pun tahu Suprimau CFE manyak laju..U are worst than those monkeys..Puihh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
          • Suprimau manyak laju? Hahaha, you’re funnier than the clown

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
          • Why lie? Semua monyet dalam hutan pun tau you’re proton’s puppet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
          • Of course Suprima is fast, cornering is superb! Forget about those half-baked ride and handling quality of Japs cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
          • Clarkson on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Let me test and give you a verdict. Last time also claim Waja as BMW of Asia but turns out to be Banyak Masuk Workshop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • Huh? The problem of waja last time was power window, it’s not as serious as Toyota brake faulty and those huge recalls all over the world

• メルビン on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:06 am

See see later got 1.6 turbo 200bhp :P
      0-100 kph under 7 seconds :D
      (It’sa dream,juz ignore me,I’ll go Brit or Mapleland 2 vroom vroom wakaka)

• megavalve on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Macam lah takda kereta lain nak beli. Kia Picanto, Myvi, Axia, Mirage all much better than Proton with very good fuel economy 20km/Liter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 86
    • Chris (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Care to elaborate how they’re all better? Or it’s just your misinformed opinion?

Picanto and Axia is from different class.
      Myvi, Axia, Mirage lags behind on safety.
      All cars has less power than Iriz.
      For the same price, some doesn’t have reverse camera like Iriz.

Without knowing what the potential buyer wants, how do you know if a car is better than Iriz? What if the person doesn’t care for FC since he/she only drives 12km a day, but need all the creature comfort and features of Iriz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 8
      • Low Budget on Oct 28, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Really, if you only drive around 12Km a day, you do not need the Iriz. A bicycle will do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
        • Nowadays most bicycles won’t touch 12km per day unless you are an atheletes or kampung narrow paths

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
        • Chris (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 10:57 am

Why so narrow minded? Just because you didn’t do something doesn’t mean someone else won’t do it.

What if I live in a small city, every morning I need to drop my kids off at the school as well as my aging parents with walking problem at where ever they want to go, then I just drive to my work place. Repeat in reverse order in the evening.

I want the best safety for my family, Iriz it is. Getting an Axia probably saves me rm5-10 petrol a month and it’s not big enough a factor.

A bicycle can’t do all that. And that’s just one example of thousands out there.

• tatu880 on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:07 pm

You want to drive a car which saves fuel or a car with 5 star ASEAN NCAP safety? Your choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Megatron on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:45 pm

U wrong laa pakcik, current Iriz is better than Vios, and Swift… same class with Rio and Fiesta…The Myvi only suitable for makcik only. A MAN wouldn’t go for auntie’s choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • @Megavalve, 18km/l vs 21km/l that’s on highway. Try it in heavy traffic jams and the difference is very little.

Aand safety is much more important than money saved from fuel.

• peyn0 on Oct 29, 2014 at 11:57 am

hahah kutuk2 proton… pastu promite myvi axia

tupical p2 macai

jahhahah

• berserker on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:57 pm

What took the manual so long?

• Nomoh on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:08 pm

tokmoh can answer you!
      http://paultan.org/2014/10/20/perodua-axia-deliveries-driving-schools-begin/#comments
      Knock knock, tokmoh?

• karam singh on Oct 28, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Unlike perodua,
    higher spec faster .. lower spec very long waiting time
    tactics for the buyer to buy higher specs of car..

just my 20cents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Nomoh on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Eh no no no..cannot say like that.. Perodua is same..Ask tokmoh!! :
      http://paultan.org/2014/10/20/perodua-axia-deliveries-driving-schools-begin/#comments

Oh tokmoh, where art thou??

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Proton news I not so reactive la, if news about Volvo yes la.

Proton delivers cheapest and most expensive variant first, already that makes your argument invalid.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 28, 2014 at 1:01 pm

No wonder the proton saleman wasn’t too keen when I asked about the 1.6 Manual.

• No wonder the proton salesman wants extra commission for faster delivery

• coupla on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:33 pm

“wasn’t too keen” means not really interested. You said they want money, did you understand what he meant? Haiz.

• goIriz on Oct 28, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Saw white Iriz 1.6l WA6***R last night on road in KL
    W00T!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
  • I have tested the new car … but don’t like the build quality especially the sound when you close the boot. it sound like something is not fixed properly …. I try all the 5 units of the show room car, all having the same problem. The other one is the door rubber, it it a bit too loose …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
    • Low Budget on Oct 28, 2014 at 3:15 pm

You should not be to fussy with our national car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • Quality Inspector on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Yes, just close one eye when testing national car. Quality tak baik tak apa, supportlah barang buatan Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
        • Macam la kereta import is problem free. Tak jugak, ada jugak problemnya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • carfoot on Oct 28, 2014 at 1:38 pm

berserker on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:57 pm

“What took the manual so long?”

The reason is high quality manual gearbox hard to source.Lousy auto CVT gearbox available anytime.Got it ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • panjang on Oct 28, 2014 at 1:40 pm

This is better than stocking the car before launch.They can adjust their production line to meet demand.

Wonder if there is an Iriz in R3 workshop undergoing upgrade right now…..

• manual lover on Oct 28, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Take so so long for my beloved 1.6mt… T.T

• take delivery and drive straight to service centres to fix problem. service centre will not be proton ones as they don’t know how to fix.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • the time the killerzz show up begins

• I feel very excited, because now in Malaysia only Proton offer the MT option for highest spec.

But now, why take so long to deliver 1.6 MT? disappointed!

• Is it based on Order then Build basis? why need to way until Feb’2015? after few months waiting totally no mood d, no ready stocks? ai….just improve a bit then create another disappointment to consumers, export units need to wait how long? is it same like here and even more worse.

• Giggs on Oct 28, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Yes Proton is building car limited quantity like Rolls Royce custom-made order. Very rare and exclusive top notch quality.

• GO GO Proton!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Garfield (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:03 pm

I wouldn’t want to make a generalized single-line statement, but it is quiet close to say “I told u so P1!”.

A superior product (as compared to also newly launched Axia) is not enough. Even though the 2 cars are from different segments (usually defined by exterior sizes), Axia’s interior package in some respect has got its own big brother MyVi beaten. While it is not wider, it has better leg space. Then Iriz is seen as having a smaller interior space than MyVi (I personally would put it down due to perception of darker interior shade). Putting two and two together, strangely, interior size-wise, Axia > MyVi > Iriz!

An earlier leaked Iriz price estimation had shown around 3K lower price than the final selling price. I know it was not official, but it shown the potential price that it could be sold for. P1 chose to highlight all the safety features to justify pricing it closer; rather than lower; compared to equivalent MyVi variants.

I call this P1 being played out by P2. P1 chose to price Iriz as it is now and instead offer free maintenance. Well, their after sales service is not what we can call flawless. So P1 is seen as giving an inferior, insincere offer instead of the potential 3K savings.

Which where P2 happily accepts the spillover effect of people actually wanting that savings. Yes, Axia is cannibalizing MyVi sales, but it won’t make P2 go sleepless. Since Iriz is priced squarely in MyVi’s territory, so Axia is actually cannibalizing Iriz’s sales! When MyVi is updated soon, I dare say P2 is rubbing its hand in glee for the remaining of Iriz’s scalp.

The govt is not helping P1 by increasing petrol’s pricing. The ppl are already very sensitive about car prices when a significant portion of what we pay for our cars goes to govt coffers. Talk about bad timing all over again….. remember MyVi vs Savvy…..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
  • Airiz on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Lefthand MT stick + Lefthand signal stick.

BAD combination.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • Matchy on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:40 pm

That is the problem of having so many variants…

• so sad for 1.6mt..
    no mood already want to wait so long

• Aero (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Meanwhile, I’m still waiting for my Prevé / Suprima S 6-speed manual…. still waiting… for 14 months ( 32 months if you count from the Prevé onwards ).

Anyway, to those who booked / bought the Iriz 1.6E MT and 1.6P MT; It will be well worth the wait ! It’s completely free from the Iriz’s biggest flaw ( the CVT ), and you’ll get more out of the engine, save more fuel ( if you’re light on the pedal ), and the whole car costs a little less too. Win – win situation for you guys !

• Jaguj on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Eventually the actual truth will surface. Very unfortunate that the stock will pile up. The quality is just not on par with the price. Cheaper models will sell much better…

• bujang on Oct 28, 2014 at 11:15 pm

I think the CVT is ok. I sometimes get to drive the flx and I find it fun to drive. Read somewhere punch that supplys proton also supplys to european, korean and chinese car companies.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 7:43 am

Thank god I deferred my purchase as during my test drive of the car, it revealed all weakness Proton is going to address in the next upgrade model. As I prefer the manual drive hope they shorten the gearshift as it feels like shifting a broom stick now. Another thing I notice about the Iriz, there is not enough ground clearance which will be made worst if there are back passengers. This car is going to suffer from undercarriage scraping the ground when hitting a small pothole or going over speed bumps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • manual craz on Oct 29, 2014 at 9:20 am

It took too long… argh! . Give up n disspoint already.. Hope worth it.

• nazimahjamal on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:23 pm

I love Iriz

• mankind on Oct 29, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Punch Powertrain which supply CVT gear box to Proton is a well known company. From my readings and reseach Punch is one of the top 4 company of CVT gear supplyer. They supplied gear box to well known US, German and Korean car makers. Lately they also supply to Chinese car makers. The 6 gear CVT is used for Saga FLX, Iriz and Preve non turbo while the 7 gear CVT for Preve turbo, Suprima and Exora turbo. My Preve turbo is a joy to ride, so stable, fast and safe.

• Sierra93 on Nov 10, 2014 at 2:37 pm

I bought one too, but while I’m sad it hasn’t arrived, the promoter told me that they’re manufacturing based on the number of buyers they have. So since 1.6 CVT and 1.3 MT seems to have the most buyers, they’re just making those first. My 1.3 CVT will have to wait…. =(

• HAZEEM HAREEZ BIN HAZMI on Jan 04, 2015 at 10:27 am

Ive been waiting on the Iriz 1.3 CVT executive variant. They said december. Waited till the whole of december to find out that they now said it’ll be ready in the middle of this month. Is this the truth?

• Sierra93 on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:17 am

They told me I would get the 1.3 executive cvt car by year end, and now its the start of 2015, and I’m still waiting. I’m beginning to wonder if it was a mistake to buy proton after all.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 05, 2015 at 9:39 am

Don’t think the waiting list for Axia is any different. If you need car urgently, can always opt for existing models which you can get within 1 week.