Citroen Grand C4 Picasso MPV officially launched at new Puchong showroom – 2.0 turbodiesel, RM185k

Citroen C4 Picasso Launch

The Citroen Grand C4 Picasso, announced and previewed in June, has been officially launched at the brand’s new Puchong showroom, which opened its doors this evening. The 4,000 sq.ft Citroen Puchong is a 1S showroom located within IOI Business Park, fronting the LDP and opposite IOI Mall.

The Citroen Grand C4 Picasso is available in a sole 2.0 BlueHDi variant in Malaysia, priced at RM184,926 on-the-road excluding insurance. The engine is a turbodiesel making 148 hp at 4,000 rpm and 370 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. It’s mated to a conventional six-speed automatic transmission.

The seven-seater MPV goes from 0-100 km/h in 10.2 seconds on its way to a top speed of 207 km/h, while returning 4.6 litres per 100 km on the European combined cycle. Emissions are low for its kind, at just 120 grams of CO2 per km.

The new Citroen Puchong showroom is located opposite IOI Mall, fronting the LDP

Available equipment includes keyless entry and start, a seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system located below an enormous 12-inch digital instrument cluster, navigation, 360-degree surround view system, reverse camera, dual-zone automatic climate control in front and air vents for the second (pillar-mounted dual-zone blower control) and third rows (roof-mounted single-zone blower control).

The GC4P also features a panoramic roof, an electrically-powered tailgate, an automatic parking system and 18-inch wheels wrapped with 225/45R18 Michelin Pilot Sport 3 tyres, among others things Four exterior shades are available for the Grand C4 Picasso, these being Noir Onyx (black), Blanc Banquise (white), Blue Teles and Rouge Babylone (red).

Official distributor Naza Euro Motors is offering a five-year warranty with unlimited mileage. The company has collected 30 bookings for the Grand C4 Picasso so far.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• zeek (Member) on Oct 30, 2014 at 7:33 pm

Definitely a good & much cheaper alternative to the Sharan besides the S-max. And looks like they’re sticking to the diesel engine like the C4P which is quite punchy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Naza Suxxz on Oct 30, 2014 at 8:08 pm

French kissed – YES

French cars – NO. More so if its NAZA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 48
      • SeeTron on Oct 31, 2014 at 7:10 am

Pernah nampak kereta Citroen 10 tahun kat jalan ? Semua sudah scrap. Langsung tak tahan….Itulah Citroen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 32
        • Don Juan De Marco on Oct 31, 2014 at 8:07 am

Eh, byk lg apa Citroen kt jalan. You must be living in the stone age of cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
          • Ya, kos repair kereta boleh beli lagi 5 biji keta yang sama rosak.

• Fahmi on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:08 pm

I have a friend that drive a Citroen.. ZX 2.0, stick shift as well.. Quite a reliable car, with quite a few niggles though…

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 30, 2014 at 7:35 pm

Impressive price for what you are getting standard, Lane Departure Warning, BLIS, Surround View, Park Pilot, and considering it is fully imported and looks really good, I would say it would be pretty interesting to see. Personally I always feel MPVs should be diesels cause of the improved torque and economy. I’ve not heard any horror stories from the other PSA Peugeot Citroen 2.2l diesel used in the Land Rovers and the 508 GT (if I am not mistaken that uses the older 2.2).

For me this interior looks really good, if only the space in the 3rd row was a bit larger, that would be nice.

Wondering if Naza will CKD this. Hmm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • 508GT on Oct 30, 2014 at 8:06 pm

the DW12C oil burner is used in the GT, Evoque and 4 pot Jag XF. all are in the same state of tune of 204hp with 420Nm of torque.

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Hmmm, the Citroen is a 2.0 while the 508 GT is a 2.2. Perhaps they are not the same engine?

• Sam Masakroti on Oct 31, 2014 at 9:56 am

Again, majority ah bengs will still think Alphard and Veilfire as God MPV even though is twice more expensive than this french Seet Toh Loong (rugi sampai habis) and way way more basic in terms of features and safety.

Even if a 3 Ton lorry with no airbag but with Toyota badge will still see those sorhai sam loo’s fan throwing the money at UMW…Take My Money SAM !!!

• Said already, naza is really killing the citroen brand here. The old fully loaded grand picasso by brookland was only less than rm140k. And now naza keep on launching the expensive models and forgetting the lower segment models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
    • you need volume. brookland’s approach shows that offering low specs model is not attractive enough to gain required volume. the brand name/awareness/trustiness is just not there. citroen follower in Malaysia is an endangered species. nearly close to extinction.

so if their target is to sell 50 cars a year while gaining certain amount of profit and the boss is happy with that, why not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Don Juan De Marco on Oct 31, 2014 at 8:20 am

While most of the recent Citroens you see on the roads are of the higher end DS models, I think Naza should explore the possiblity of bringing in the lower priced model namely Citroen C-Elysee (and also its cousin the Peugeot 301)..

• sepul on Oct 31, 2014 at 9:59 am

At the moment, the brand perception towards French makes are relatively low, so bringing the cheaper models here is not a good decision imo. At least not until the brand awareness and market perception is good, then perhaps they will consider them.

• The perception will forever remain low. Low class image while you pay BMW $ to maintain it! Who want?

• Anti-Establishment on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:54 am

NAZA is playing a segmentation game with its French offerings.

For them, Peugeot is the entry/mid range brand for consumers to get a taste of Conti cars. Compared to Peugeot, Citroen is on a higher level as witnessed with the DS cars which are higher than the equivalent Peugeot model.

As it should, if they let Citroen & Peugeot go head to head they’ll only cannibalize sales.

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Exactly spot on. No point letting the two brands fight and cannibalise each other. Best to position them at different segments and both can be profitable instead of throwing profit to convert sales. As it is, there is enough competition already for Peugeot and there is no point in adding Citroen to the fray.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Agreed to a certain degree. Citroen as a brand itself around the world is being shifted to the entry level segment, so making it higher level in Malaysia makes not much sense. The DS brand is supposed to be above Peugeot, but the Citroen brand is supposed to be below. Just look at the C4 Cactus for example.

I don’t know if it makes sense in bringing the more entry level Citroens into Malaysia, like the Cactus. Maybe too different, and in terms of pricing it would only make sense if CKD. Then again, both the Cactus and the Grand Picasso diesel should easily be able to get tax exemptions if assembled in Malaysia, which could make them some VERY attractive options on the market.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 30, 2014 at 7:53 pm

This is probably one of the most unique and desirable looking MPVs on the market. That’s also just the icing on the cake for this very well-equipped people mover. Good to see that they brought this in with these specs at this price. The Toyota Previa, though being very much more expensive, can’t match it for specs, especially in the safety department.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • RicoT on Oct 30, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Just bought a Nissan Serena S-Hybrid. This is a great addition to my choices to consider and it might make me regret to rush buying so soon, but luckily, I am looking for a sliding rear door. Most European MPV are swing door type. Maybe they have more space to open their doors compared to the Japanese?

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Europe isn’t that spacious either.

Sliding doors aren’t too uncommon in Europe. All Kangoo class cars have sliding doors, except for the Skoda Roomster, so that’s your obvious choice if you need a space efficient 5 or 7 seater MPV that is very practical. Then there is the Ford B Max, a B segment MPV (think Alza) with a sliding door. And no B pillar. Super easy to get in. Strangely enough in the C segment MPV market sliding doors are indeed rare, though D segment MPVs do sometimes have them (the current Sharan for example, the previous didn’t, and neither does the current Ford Galaxy, and of course it’s predecessor which was a Sharan with a different nose).

Not sure why at least MPVs would not come with sliding doors… they are absolutely great.

Btw., do look up the Peugeot 1007… a 2 door A to B segment car with sliding doors. Sadly the marketing was a big failure, they aimed it at young couples, where it really should be marketed at pensioners who would very much appreciate it if they could have been convinced to test drive it.

• Jimmy on Oct 30, 2014 at 8:24 pm

How many airbag?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Jimmy on Oct 30, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Please be more creative in names. New to paultan.org?
      It is good that you also care about airbag count.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • seancorr (Member) on Oct 30, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Nice car with very good spec to match the new Odyssey has good spec too but with much more space and a higher price tag to boot.

Only issue is if Naza is expanding the brand…why only a 1S outlet in Puchong? Could have gone 3S and provide a small service area since not many sales yet so owners do not need to travel far just to service their cars.

• Huzaifah on Oct 30, 2014 at 8:57 pm

Most of the control on the multimedia screen. Speedometer also full colour LCD Screen. But the design look awkward.

• If you know Picasso then u know why this MPV design is awkward.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:14 pm

It is quite a head turner in real life, in a good way. By far ahead of most boring MPVs, especially the Japanese ones.

Anyway, many do seem to like the design of this car, me included.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 30, 2014 at 10:16 pm

it has got so much personality , godness me it makes those japanese mpv look so lame honestly
    i respect this car simply bcos it exists…..great interior , a modern diesel engine and a bucketload of uniqueness…
    yes u might have a doubt on the brand locally , but that design has so much pull…..
    im a big fan !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • TooPissed! on Oct 30, 2014 at 10:52 pm

By Naza? Sorry lah. I really cannot accept the way they conduct business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • thefact on Oct 31, 2014 at 8:33 am

oh ya man.. other brands conduct their business in a very fair manner. even though they screw you with empty cars with high prices they are still better. :P

• TooPissed! on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:46 am

You can go ahead with a low cost, “full-featured” car, be my guest. I just need a hassle free car that is easy to maintain, and easy to sell off.

• RicoT on Oct 30, 2014 at 11:42 pm

There are a lot of diesel engine passenger cars being introduced into Malaysia recently, but will the lower Euro 2M cause problems with diesel engines designed for Euro 4,5 & 6? Can we still take advantage of the lower fuel consumption or the lower fuel quality will increase fuel consumption and black smoke over the long run?

Some service advisers told me it is not recommend to get diesel engine cars here until Euro 4 is implemented, which will be donkey years later. It will cause fouling and carbon build up within the engines and an overhaul is required if there is too much carbon built up to the point the decarbonizer additives would not be that effective.

The sales advisers, on the other hand, said that the engines are de-tuned to suit our lower Euro 2M quality and there should be no problem with it. Maintenance wise, it is the same as petrol engine cars.

Can anyone comment on these conflicting statements given by the service and sales advisers?

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 12:34 am

Mohon pencerahan from Paul Tan and Harve Singh, they used to have W211 E270 CDI, F10 520d, BMW X5 diesel, F30 320d, Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2, that’s all diesels they had I’m aware.

• Euro2 Diesel fuel: max. 500ppm (parts per million) of sulphur

Euro4 Diesel fuel: max. 50ppm of sulphur

Euro5 Diesel fuel: max. 10ppm of sulphur

Euro2, 4, 5 has nothing to do with carbon, but sulphur. The diesel particulate filter (DPF) will be damaged by the sulphur. Benz and BMW had the DPF removed therefore for Malaysia.

• sepul on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:04 am

So technically, the same diesel engine available in Malaysia will emit more carbon than those in Europe? Since the DPF is removed, would it also exhibit the black smoke over time?

• Yes, the engine will emit solids that are otherwise burned in the DPF.

And no, it will not emit black smoke over time. Modern diesels have an injection pressure of up to 200 MPa (2000 bar). The injected fuel is vaporized into so small drops, that there’s no visible black smoke, even without DPF.

BTW: The injection pressure of an old Mercedes 911 lorry is 13MPa (130 bar) only.

• Confusing information on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:39 am

You are assuming that Citroen had the DPF removed for Malaysian consumption.

But I don’t see any indication from Citroen that this is true. In fact, in there brochure, they kind of brag about their Euro6 compliance DPF.

Can anyone please confirm?

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Peugeot and Citroen AFAIK and remember, do not remove their DPF.

• Henry on Oct 31, 2014 at 1:03 pm

In some countries it is illegal to remove the DPF in the cars. Don’t know about here.

• 508GT on Oct 31, 2014 at 9:34 am

the newer 4×4 on our road are at least Euro 4 complies and judging the number, they seems to be running ok with our Euro 2 diesel with a de-tuned engine as said.

the Bosch injection on the DW12c is indeed design to run lower than Euro 5 diesel but at the expense of a shorter FAP life span.

while there are trade off in an oil burner, but the flat torque characteristic, the fuel economy and the environmental impact is impossible to replicate on the spark ignition variant.

• kl fella on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:30 am

you just need to do a quick search on PT.org about diesel and read the comments for those diesel-related articles.

all users have positive comments and experience, including me. f30 320d year 2012.

don’t really believe those sales advisors.. do they own diesel cars at the first place? or are they just pushing for sales.. do your own research first.. it’s good you’re asking here, but like what i said, carry out a quick search about diesel here, and you’ll get tonnes of related articles including our own BHP fuel which is average euro 3 to euro 4 compliance..

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:20 am

Like what Mohd said, the major Euro standards on diesel fuel is to reduce the sulphur content to minimal.

Merc and BMW here remove the DPF because the cost of DPF not very cheap and with 300ppm of sulphur content in our diesel fuel (as claimed), the durability of DPF from 100,000km mileage will be reduced considerably.

Detuning of the Euro V compliant diesel engine is another way to have diesel vehicle in this country, provided the diesel engines have been around the market nearly 10 years where they are started from Euro 2 standards and kept fine-tuning to suit current EU regulations (Euro 5 or 6).

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:29 am

i will go for the honda odyssey instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • cendol (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 12:35 pm

HOnda Odyssey parts are expensive. Honda Odyssey road tax more expensive because it is categorized under sedan (passenger door is swing open type)
      I will go for Vellfire Recon instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • start-a-fight on Oct 31, 2014 at 5:42 pm

if u look at second hand.. latest oddysey is a van..

• OldRB1 on Oct 31, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Different person – different needs, previous Odyssey model is sport oriented, low stance – more on wagon than an mpv, superb handling for a 7 seater but quite harsh in KL roads if Absolute type, swing doors are much lighter than powered slide door. Mostly people bought Odyssey (Absolute) for that not for comfortable but for comfort they can choose type M or L, Odyssey road tax is, 2.4cc at RM740.

• coolie83 on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:51 am

the next weird thing is it’s gear which on top of your dashboard..anyway, this car seems fun to drive.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:21 pm

According to reviewers it’s more comfort oriented. A family car after all, that’s how it should be.

• kzm buda bodo (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:52 am

Citroen is a dead brand in Malaysia. It is like Fiat. Both good quality cars but they are completely dead in Malaysia. It would be suicide to buy a brand that is completely dead in Malaysia.

Drive around KL. You are most likely to see more Bentleys and Ferraris than a single Citroen.

Pity both the brands. Fine superb cars but handled by bodoh distributors who messed the brands up so much that people don’t even think about those brands.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 12:36 pm

To be fair to Citroen, i’ve seen a few DS5s on the road, and what a sight it is.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:21 am

Great pricing. Thats pretty low for what is very high specced car. And its beautiful too. Though am not a fan of instruments (speedo, tacho, etc) in the middle of the dash. But the customisable and pretty decent grapics makes up for its central position. Wonder what platform is that running on?

How did they manage to price it so low? Is this CKD? If its CBU, i would be even more impressed.

• sepul on Oct 31, 2014 at 3:18 pm

EMP2 from the PSA group.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:26 pm

I think he meant the in car entertainment/management system.

I wouldn’t say it is _great_ pricing. The VW Touran is cheaper, and also relatively well speced. A bit smaller inside (and it has a terribly uncomfortable suspension thanks to the oversized rims). The Ford S-Max is a bit bigger, well speced, a bit more expensive, and much more powerful. The Peugeot 5008, which is based on the previous Picasso, is well speced and quite a bit cheaper (the next 5008 will be based on this car).

Should be CBU, if it is CKD surely they should be able to apply for tax reductions thanks to the frugal diesel engine?

• isuzuki on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:35 am

Si ti on…..

• TheDean on Oct 31, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Malaysian Diesel + Citroen Reliability = Trouble.

• Citroen for life on Oct 31, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Many people will not convince on Citroen reliability, including me. However I decided to buy Citroen Evasion (A) 16v in 2005 (3 years used car). I went for Citroen after many months looking for a safe and comfortable MPV for my family ride. Toyota Estima, Nissan Serena were a way below than Citroen on quality of ride. 12 years later, I am still driving my Evasion, 25,000 km per year, my mileage ~ 300K km. The car is still very comfortable, feel solid, good NVH and never had any major problem, never breakdown. Maintenance cost is similar to many other cars, I buy spares from multiple suppliers/importers mainly in Klang valley.

• JustMeGiveOpinion on Nov 01, 2014 at 12:33 am

Citroen always make a good looking car.. this one included.. just wish they can bring this C-segment car here

• What an eye sore! After looking at it over 10 times, I cannot come to terms as to which is the headlights, signal lights and spot lights. Jeremy Clarkson: Please destroy this ugly car!

• Sean Moisstur on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:34 am

Waiting for next year as there is no year end promotion