Twenty years of Audi A4 – next-gen B9 due next year

20-years-audi-a4

It’s a bit surreal when you discover that the Audi A4 was born within a few years of yourself. Celebrating its 20th birthday this year, the Audi A4 was introduced in November 1994 and has since gone on to sell more than six million units around the world, making it “the most successful Audi of all time.”

“When the Audi A4 superseded the successful Audi 80 series 20 years ago, it became a bestseller soon after its launch. It was the fastest production ramp-up in the company’s history,” says Dr. Hubert Waltl of the Board of Management Member for Production at Audi AG.

20-years-audi-a4-2
From left: Audi A4 B5, B6, B7 and B8

Despite stiff competition from BMW and Mercedes-Benz, the current A4 has proved to be extremely popular, with two million units sold. No surprise when one in every five new cars delivered in Germany is an Audi A4. In 2013 alone, one third of 576,680 models produced were multiple variants of the A4.

Audi cites an ever-growing demand for the Audi A4 in markets like China, Germany and the United States as the main catalyst for their success with the current model, which has been in production since 2007. At the main plant in Ingolstadt alone, more than 700 A4 units are produced to keep up with global demands.

Mind you, that’s discounting the additional 40,000 units of the Audi A4 sedan that were produced at the Neckarsulm site. “The A4 secures the utilization of capacity in our German plants, and thus also employment, on a long-term basis,” adds Peter Mosch, chairman of the general works council of Audi AG.

With the A4’s success, it’s no surprise that Audi is already hard at work on the next-gen Audi A4, which is due to make an appearance next year. Major renovation and upgrading works are already in motion, with a new body shop built – which comes complete with 1,300 different machines – to accommodate the increased load.

GALLERY: B8 Audi A4 1.8 TFSI

Audi A4 B9-generation spyshots

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 4:54 pm

We’re actually gonna see both the FL F30 and the B9 launching in the same year…that’s gonna be interesting but my bet is on the B9.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • sudonano (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 5:06 pm

I bet 2015 is gonna be interesting, the W205’s engine lineup will be complete, BMW will launch the LCI F30, and Audi is gonna bring in the B9. My vote is on the BMW and Audi, but somehow not the Mercedes on the basis that the reviews were saying the rear sloping roof tends to be a bit in the way. Nitpicking but it is a hotly contested segment. Don’t forget the Jag XE, that will receive the whole Ingenium engine line by 2015.

One of the reasons why the A4 still moves is because it is quite timeless. Coming to think of it, al 3 Germans do design quite timeless cars. You won’t believe the A4 B8 is at the end of life, cause it still looks quite presentable, considering how far the W205 has come from the W204 and the F30 from the E90.

I’m just hoping they will improve the steering feel, the B8 feels a bit dull on the steering, but it is very very well made. Even the 1.8T is responsive, and have I told you how good the Audi Multitronic is?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:12 pm

audi multitronic, have you ever owned one to know how unreliable it is?

• Heng Lee on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:00 am

One out of five german car buyers do? Do you want to tell us that all like unreliable cars?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 2:50 pm

all i can say is…anyone who lived in uk will know that a manual a4 is the only a4 one should consider

• ganni on Nov 04, 2014 at 9:48 am

dont forgt on the successor of the alfa 159, the alfa giulia which will b introduce nx yr(that will be a comebck of RWD for the alfa sedan)…

it will b interesting nx yr..

• one of my favourite car..Unfortunately, I still can’t afford this beauty. Soon baby, soon..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • policeman on Nov 03, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Audi A4 will face very steep competition from Volvo, both are FWD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • alvin on Nov 03, 2014 at 6:41 pm

A4? buy new mahal sell later no price.. go mudah.my, wonder why the old 1996 A4 can sell so cheap………until omoz same price with a corolla of the time. even civic having higher market value…why oh why Audi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:29 pm

Mungkin owner tu nak membantu orang mampu milik kereta Jerman, #bersangkabaik.

Nak merisik family jodoh pun senang. “Awak bawa Audi? Shut up and marry my daughter!”

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 7:42 pm

c-class is the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
  • Somehow, I prefer the pre-facelift A4. That headlight was one handsome design!

• plotongkoman on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Aiyaaaa.. no MONEY go buy plotong la..

• ethansoh on Nov 04, 2014 at 9:37 am

I owned an A4 B7.
    This car is absolutely fantastic. The ride, the quietness, the power…. unrivaled by any of the japanese cars…
    Not to mention the level of equipment that come with it.

• random on Nov 10, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Hi all, heard that A4 B9 will arrive here in Malaysia next year March if they are on time. What do you guys think? I am thinking of buying a new car and would like to wait till March if the possibility is high. Thanks.

• chiinok on Nov 11, 2014 at 1:43 pm

@random not officially launched yet. Suggested to be launch in Aug/Sept in Frankfurt MShw. So Msia mybe seeing the B9 in 2016 onwards

• random on Nov 11, 2014 at 2:48 pm

@chiinok thanks for the prompt reply. I think the new B9 engine will be more efficiency and thats exactly what im looking for. B8 on the other hand are in promotion right now, what would you choose if you’re going to buy a new car? need some good advise before making decision, thanks.