JPJ issues over 160 summonses on Ops day 1 – report

W1A

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) is getting serious. On the first day of its operation (Saturday, November 1) against high-intensity discharge (HID) and strobe lights, plus non-regulation number plates, the Perak state branch issued a total of 163 summonses, The Star reports.

Out of 808 vehicles inspected on that day, from morning to midnight, 21 summonses were issued for non-regulation number plates, according to enforcement chief Mohd Ariff Abdul Rahman.

The remainder were issued for strobe lights, unapproved HIDs, plus expired road taxes, insurances and driving licences. Among the towns in which the operation was carried out were Ipoh, Gerik, Tapah, Kuala Kangsar and Teluk Intan.

Apart from the summonses, 91 warning notices were issued to non-compliant motorists with regards to window tints, Mohd Ariff told the English-language daily.

JPJ is currently advising, educating and spreading awareness on the new tint rules (front windscreen 70% VLT, front side windows 50% VLT, rear side windows and rear screen 30% VLT), and will only start issuing tint-related summonses in May 2015.

Current (left) and new tint regulations.
VLT expressed in percentages; the lower the number, the darker the tint

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• RicoT on Nov 03, 2014 at 6:10 pm

So it is clarified now we can tint up to 30% VLT for rear windows.

• skcus on Nov 03, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Yes. Which most of the tint shops will say 70% dark in their definition…

• How Saman Works on Nov 03, 2014 at 6:58 pm

All bluff la. When a big S class with tinted glass passes by, the officers just say “Lalu lalu”

The JPJ officers got no balls to tahan big cars with tinted glass, single number plates with tinted glass.

They only kacau the Ah Beng with their modified Wira. I have parked by car beside their road block and observed them.

Half the time the JPJ office pretends to write something in his saman book. Then suddenly he gives the book to the driver to sign. He gives the whole book and not the single ticket. Why?

I tell you why. The driver slips something in the pages of the thick saman book. then off he goes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 18
        • the main reason is the harga barang naik, gaji tak naik, anak mau makan.
          i rather pay them than pay the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
        • kzm (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:14 am

Lol…then how u wanna sign if just give a piece of paper?..u never got saman? How u sign?…eg watch this vid http://youtu.be/D6Iv39MGFl4
          Obviously they handover a lot more than a book.

• skcus on Nov 03, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Yes. Which most of the tint shops will say 70% dark in their definition…

• Confessions of a Doctor on Nov 03, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Actually it is more than few thousand samans. But most of it settle on the spot! Only 160 Made Official.

My close classmate, now JPJ enforcement officer till today boast to me, that his actual gaji is RM3000 per day. He is very proud of it.

So, if he works 30 days without weekends, he can make RM90,000.

Even doctor and lawyer also kalah. He tells me, why even bother studying MBBS for 5 years and doing housemanship another 4 years of your life when after school you can make so much of money per day. I am a doctor by the way. I slog 15 hours working everyday and my gaji is RM6,000. Soem days I don’t even sleep because on call.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 20
      • the difference is you deal with live and death.
        that is the main reason you become a doctor.
        passion, remember?
        1st year MBBS, 1st day-Hippocratic oath, still remember?
        Doctor is not the job that can earn a lot of money.
        bro, you are in the wrong field for the wrong reason.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • the difference is you deal with life and death.
        Passion. remember?
        1st day of MBBS-Hippocratic Oath, still remember?
        doctor is not the job that can make alot of money.
        Bro, you are in the wrong field for the wrong reason.

if you want earn more, do lots and lots of locum.
        go futher study and become specialist.
        no short cut and easy way out in medical field.

good example of those score good results and choose to become doctor before even know what is this field all about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Drzack on Nov 03, 2014 at 9:24 pm

15 hours is nothing… Try 72 hours nonstop…. And if you become specialist your work and burden are more actually. Everybody is asking you for answer… You must settle everything..with everyone…micromanage every single thing…why? Because we want you to save lives…the most important lesson today other than your knowledge and experience is always 3 thing boy, decision, decision and decision…

• Rulered on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:15 am

I’d rather feed my family with an honestly earned RM 6,000 than RM90,000 taken from a bribe.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
      • Samad Jain on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:02 pm

wait till this jpj fella kena tangkap makan rasuah…..masok lokap.

BTW, is he a muslim?
        if so, buat malu saja…..for Islam is a beutiful religion that preaches rightousness, fairness, etc

• Twin Turbo on Nov 03, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Ariff Abd Rahman forgot to tell us how much masuk pocket also?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 7:41 pm

duit kopi bro duit kopi

• alldisc on Nov 03, 2014 at 8:02 pm

i like this news for one reason – those illegal retrofit HID headlamp use may come to an end. i am just hopeful.

hard to understand anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Maserati(Official) on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:11 pm

malaysians are so skeptical for all the wrong reasons

if the jpj officers take bribe, macc will be all over their assess.. the fact that macc has not caught any wrong doers shows how bribe free the jpj officers are

wake up, and move forward. Malaysia is progressing ahead in full steam and corruption cases are falling like dominoes, the gov is returning Malaysia to its full glory days like in the 70s and 80s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
    • Ibrahim Dan Ali on Nov 04, 2014 at 1:16 am

Dear Maserati, I wonder if you have been sleeping all these years??

Knock knock! Wake up!

LoL

:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Idiot detected on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:28 am

Either you are the most ignorant Malaysian here or you are one of the people that has always been taking bribes thus you defend them.

• quattroporte on Nov 04, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Maserati is just being sarcastic, folks!
        He’s just “saying” all the right statements that BN politicians are taught to say.

• KangkungMurah on Nov 05, 2014 at 1:05 am

So you ink u can read other people’s mind? Dream on…..

• Samad Jain on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:03 pm

I think Maserati is a JPJ cyber trooper….or machai

• AbbasSaad on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:15 pm

The JPj should provide guidelines on how to properly retrofit an HId headlamp so that the angle would not create glare to oncoming traffic rather than taking the easy way out by just banning the use of it.

HID headlamps, if properly installed, creates better road illumination for the driver. Many first world countries like the UK allows it to be retrofitted but it must be set at the right angle, aimed towards the road and not oncoming drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Are you sure UK allows retrofit hid? Bcos as far as i know not only the headlights to modify … auto levelling and lens cleaning mechanism need to instal as well.

• Michael Thomas on Nov 06, 2014 at 12:23 am

Yes in the UK Hid headlamps are allowed to be retrofitted, but there are guidelines to follow. The projection of the beam needs to be set within certain angles during installation.

Once the correct angles are set, there should be no complaints from other road users.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:58 am

THE FACT is, you can’t retrofit a halogen reflector lamp enclosure to run HID. The beam pattern will be all wrong. You have more light output from the HIDs, but does not mean you will get more light where you need it.

Even those cheap plastic taiwan replacement headlamps for the wira is horrible and can potentially blind people with or without HID, compared to the original Bosch units.

Projector beam lamps are still a very grey area though, but whatever the case, the beam cutoff much be compatible.

In other countries, HID lamp systems must come with auto headlamp levelers and washes. Neither of which you can retrofit.

• quattroporte on Nov 04, 2014 at 3:04 pm

projectors vs reflector headlamps bro.
      OEM original headlamps are either reflector type or if in the case of HIDs, most use projector types. That way, HID doesn’t cause glare on other road users.

• AbbasSaad on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:21 pm

I really don’t understand why do they always create so much issues out of window tints? In sunny Malaysia, there are so many benefits of installing dark tints eg. To prevent skin cancer, hyper pigmentation and premature aging of the skin.

Why can’t ppl sitting at the top do more research before they act on something ??

Wouldn’t it be better to use the workforce to combat issues such as ppl driving with bald tyres, lorries which emits too much black smoke which could harm the population’s health and illegal immigrants driving with no licenses? I would prefer the JPJ to focus on such issues first instead of masalah cermin gelap cermin gelap cermin gelap………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • High VLT doesn’t necessarily mean low UV & heat penetration. If you look at V-kool’s tinting, it has a VLT of 70% but rejects 90% of the heat. So the only excuse for dark tints is either you’re some kind of mafia hit man or you’re just too embarrassed of your face.

• Takashi Hibi on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:33 am

My daughter likes to breastfeed inside the car. Dark tints could come in handy for my family also, not just mafia hitman. And I surely not embarrassed of me or my daughter’s face.

• The Boss on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:20 pm

There is something called privacy.

And having privacy not necessarily means doing something illegal.

Please look at the big picture instead of being so shallow.

Countries like Australia, UK, South Korea, Japan and Singapore actually allows the importation of cars with rear privacy glass and they have no issues wih it. And these are all first world countries with advance planning. In Msia unfortunately we always focus on things that doesn’t matter much. Mainly because certain people only see things from one angle instead of multiple angles.

We call that Shortsighted!

• quattroporte on Nov 04, 2014 at 3:12 pm

actually, all you people agreeing to darker tints are the ones who are already with dark (and illegal) tints! C’mon just admit it =)
          Given a choice everyone will want to tint as dark as possible so no one can see you picking your nose in public. But in Malaysia where security is a main concern, you don’t want people to kidnap someone or worst rape someone inside a heavily tinted vehicle. Remember the case of a Metrobus driver raping someone a few years back? No one could see inside to save the girl. This is just one example but you get the point. People will take advantage and misuse it. Imagine you are a policeman and you stop someone with 100% tint on his car. Would you dare to approach the driver in the knowledge that he could be aiming a gun straight at you and only find out when the window is open?

• KangkungMurah on Nov 05, 2014 at 1:08 am

Dark tints not only allows the occupants to have privacy but it also keeps valuables away from prying eyes. What ppl can’t see, they won’t steal.

The coin is double sided. It’s a shame that you can only see one side!

• The Boss on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:21 pm

I agree with Abbas.

Well said!

• Keju_kambing on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Yea make more money from the rakyat. After this activate back AES. Then, increase driving license fee, insurance and road tax (don’t forget to include 6% GST) until we are all poor and dependable on BRIM.

In between that, continue to brainwash our mind by making stupid statements in the newspaper to justify your actions.

After the gov give us BRIM, we will be thankful to the gov and vote them again. And the gullible pemimpin will live happily ever after.

Leaders are just like diapers. They are full of shit and should be changed and disposed on a regular basis.

Damn, damn, damn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • roxas on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:43 pm

fine, i will go change my plate back to normal font. rather pay for new plate thn paying for the summons..

• I just realised theres no fixed typeface for license plates.

• abahaku on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:43 am

duit saman tu la modal nak bagi BRIM nanti

• superdriver on Nov 04, 2014 at 9:42 am

I hope the JPJ go after the drivers that put the sun blinders/screen whatever you call it on their window which is almost as worst as the tinting on the windows. This one I notice the lady drivers stick on the windows kau kau until you cant even see them. I understand its suppose to protect them from the sun and from any road bullies to know its a women driving but honestly speaking its more to protecting their own bulying activities to others.

• rider on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:45 am

yes jpj should chase after this kind of drivers. there are jokers in the road. If they stick their sun screen at their front side windows, how they will able to see for coming vehicles from right & left hand side. Stupid to the core. specially female drivers. betul betul bodoh piang!!!

• The Boss on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Blame it on the hot sunny climate in our country. I’m nit sure if you know how harmful it is for your skin to be exposed to UV rays for prolonged hours.

Have u ever seen elderly people with a dark patch on one side of their face? Well that is due to the skin being exposed to UV rays too often.

Most ladies wouldn’t want to have that on their face. It just dents their confidence.

If you are a lady you would understand.

• quattroporte on Nov 04, 2014 at 3:22 pm

actually, in some cases, it’s because most ladies want to avoid most male chauvinist drivers who are always winking, whistling, making cat calls or licking their lips or other uncalled for advances. These gatal (ham sap) people have no shame. Imagine someone disturbing your mother or daughter at the traffic lights and you know what i mean.

• KangkungMurah on Nov 05, 2014 at 1:13 am

Wait till u get skin cancer due to the hot sun then u might start to get serious about this topic

• Samad Jain on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:08 pm

road safety is more important?? or face with patches more important??

Tell it to the police when kena tahan during ops. Tell the dear polis that the tint prevents dark patches on the face. See the police say ok or not…..hehehe

• KangkungMurah on Nov 05, 2014 at 1:11 am

Then why other countries can allow tints but Malaysia cannot? Even Phillipines, Indon, Thai and Singapore can.

Only Malaysia cannot why??

• tishaban on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:38 am

Assuming corruption is as a big problem as everyone makes it out to be, I’d like to see each and every one of the JPJ and Polis officers enforcing rules on the road to where a GoPro or similar camera. PDRM has an official youtube channel, post it there as proof that their officers are not taking bribes.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:04 pm

I have seen Police with a GoPro on the helmet. So the have already been using it.

Whether it would be recording while issuing summons would be anyone’s guess.

• Kenny on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Those vehicle with SUPER BRIGHT headlight are very inconsiderate to other road users. Some joker even brighten up their back light as if braking is active. The brightness is so severe that the vehicle behind will have hard time driving. I saw a lot of these non conformance vehicles in the NSHW. Polis should summon these jokers.

• KangkungMurah on Nov 05, 2014 at 1:16 am

If Govn wanna ban dark tints, then they should also ban JDM cars with dark tints. Don’t allow it to be sold then punish the buyers. It just doesn’t make sense.

But of course if recon JDM cars kena ban, AP holders punya untung juga turun.