SPOTTED: Special order BMW M235i with manual transmission imported by BMW Malaysia!

m235i-manual-2

Have you watched BMW’s 2 Series The Epic Driftmob video? It features the BMW M235i being put through a drift sequence on (closed) public roads in Cape Town by some of the world’s best stunt drivers, including Rhys Millen, Rich Rutherford, Samuel Hubinette, Conrad Grunewald and Daijiro Yoshihara. The action is 100% real, without any camera tricks – trust us, we were there on location behind the scenes.

The same 326 PS, 450 Nm coupe in white was sighted in Malaysia recently by Leonon Nil, and he uploaded his find to the Malaysia Exotic Car Spotters group on Facebook. According to Leonon, the car is a special order brought in by BMW Malaysia for a customer and costs somewhere in the RM400k-RM450k range.

A quick check with BMW Malaysia confirms this. The white coupe is specced like a drift machine – it’s got minimum specs like no navigation for the iDrive system and even manually adjustable seats.

m235i-manual-1

But the most interesting bit is that the N55 3.0 litre turbocharged six cylinder engine sends power to the rear wheels via a six-speed manual transmission, instead of the usual ZF eight-speed automatic gearbox you’ll find in every BMW car sold in Malaysia.

The low equipment levels to put a focus on the drivetrain is what gives this order the interesting price tag though. Someone else in the group commented that his quotation for a M235i from a BMW dealer in PJ was RM520k. There’s no doubt his quotation specified higher equipment levels.

If you have the cash and bar any technical issues like fuel quality, BMW Malaysia will be able to custom order cars for you, so if you’re interested in a custom order car like this, get in touch with your BMW dealership.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BMW 2 Years Warranty on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:36 am

Though this is a beautiful car, BMW has still not addressed people’s main concern – the warranty.

They are ONLY giving a mere 2 years warranty whilst nearly ALL other car brands are now giving 5 years. Even BMW’s direct competitor Mercedes is giving 4 years warranty,

BMW Malaysia mask it by making it seem its 3 years but that is actually the free service that is 3 years or 60,000KM. So people are misled thinking its 3 years. But the real warranty is only a mere 2 years.

Even Proton and Perodua are so sure of their products and their quality that they are giving 5 years.

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY car company not just in Malaysia but in the world that is giving a mere 2 years warranty. It shows they have no confidence in their own products.

No point launching so many models when your existing model line up, they don’t give peace of mind to the customer. Oh btw, one can finish 60,000 KM in less than 2 years easily so, even the free service last 2 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 39
    • turboman on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:58 am

Whine…baby….whine…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • policeman on Nov 03, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Biasalah…

They know their products can’t last more than 2 years. Junk from Germany are like that. BMW, VW and Audi are all break down champions. These clown-car makers should learn from Mercedes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 33
  • cendol (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:55 am

This car is same price as my current house.
    I don’t know want to cry or laugh.
    I think the income disparity has become so large in Malaysia there is a disconnection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • What’s the use. Just like another BMW…all look the same…no personality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • mr1031 on Nov 03, 2014 at 2:22 pm

true indeed..it’s getting boring..to much b m w on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • True. “to much b m w on the road”. And because of this there are also too many BMW haters in the forum.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 12:15 pm

If I am not mistaken, BMW will bring in models, if you don’t mind waiting and paying for it. The last I know of was they were even willing to do the Individual interior features, even though it is not on the local options list, if you are willing to pay. I remember seeing a BMW Individual trimmed 640i Convertible this year at Quill Automobiles, and wow the Individual (Merino if I am not mistaken) in a really nice tan colour looked really amazing. It had the little BMW Individual tags on the seat sides too, very subtle but very lovely. The material is miles better than the normal Dakota or Nevada used in the other models.

The M235i is actually a really nice car. In fact, the 2 series in general is nice. It’s just that BMW MY should have not bothered with the 220i, and straight should have started with the 228i in Sport line, then add an M Sport line above that. I was able to sit in an M235i overseas, coincidentally the dealer I went to had a unit in stock, and just sitting inside it, it just feels right. It is not as spacious as the F30 as expected, but the compactness makes everything fall into place. Just wondering the GranCoupe will arrive….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Josh Ling on Nov 03, 2014 at 3:26 pm

don’t think there will be anything called 2 series GranCoupe, the market just not big enough, unless the A3 Sedan is doing super good.

• Ismail Razak on Nov 03, 2014 at 3:56 pm

There is something called 2 series Grancoupe goina launched by BMW. But whether BMW MY bringing in or not to bolehland is a qs mark.

Thank You.

• Can i custom BMW warranty to 10 years ??

• PY Tia on Nov 03, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Please some one find out if :
    1. Any one bring in i8;
    2. how much to bring in i8.

For curiosity cause it has gathered so much attention overseas that I wanna see it in the flesh.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:00 pm

If you do wanna see the i8, I’d reckon it will be available during the Formula E event at the end of the month, since BMW is sponsoring the i3 and i8 as support vehicles worldwide for the event.

Too bad the last BMW Innovation Days was in 2010…

• dunhavemoney on Nov 03, 2014 at 2:05 pm

at least 1mil la official
      recond pun mau 600k++

• WTF... Joke on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:28 am

Sorry but Bolehland did not have such high technology to keep i8 running.

• sutheshkumar on Nov 03, 2014 at 12:24 pm

This is nothing new actually. BMW and Mercedes Benz has been bringing in cars according to your specification, if you are ready to plonk in the amount they quote. A friend of mine friend’s brought in a E91 3 Series in Individual trim, all official from BMW Malaysia.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Is that taken from Quill? The autogate looks strangely familiar…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 4:32 pm

yeap it is from quill. in fact the only reason this car isnt fully launched in malaysia is because they are struggling to sell the 428i already and if the m235i is sold habis la 428i. some customer couldnt tahan and made a special order for the m235i. crazy guy but we need more real petrolheads like him.

• Oh really on Nov 03, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Pity that, for every CBU car purchased, government gained money @ 2 CBU cars value and eventually drain up the money.

• spongewai on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:12 pm

I HAVEN’T SEEN 2-SERIES ON THE ROAD ALSO

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Saw TWO so far…one kosong spec and the other the Sport Line spec lol. Really low volume seller and rightly so because of the really kosong spec and the high asking price. Imagine paying RM260k w/o insurance for a car that has manual air cond. Pffft

• WTF... Joke on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:33 am

Yes, I reckon that BMW should just bring in 228i and price it around RM290K. With iDrive Navigation and shigh spec equipment. Thats more justifiable. Not RM260k with a cheapo 220i.

• nabill (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:27 pm

all i can say is , can get the older gen m3 with that screaming v8 at alot cheaper than this , plus lots of cash left for maintainance….

its a great fun car,lots of online reviews get their pants wet when reviewing the m235i…but its about pricing and alternatives

• Kancil Hybrid on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Isnin, 03/11/2014.
    547 days since PRU13. Still no reduction in car price.
    KR1M – Kencing Rakyat 1Malaysia

• Aerodynamic bro on Nov 03, 2014 at 2:34 pm

That means I could order a BMW with no passenger seat and door trim? Because drift car.

• might be considered as ‘special order’ but in reality is the dude bought the lower spec’ed unit..manual is awesome and bmw should offer that option as it would b surely cheaper and more fun

• Sam's Best Friend on Nov 03, 2014 at 6:36 pm

So when the real M2 is released price would be 600k which is almost to M3 territory?

Overpriced low warranty ricer. Better to get RCF Lexus at least you know after warranty, things dont break.

• latacc (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 6:45 pm

As a fellow manual gearbox driver (albeit a wrong-wheel-drive), I’d like to say happy motoring!

• BMW number plate on Nov 03, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Looks like the new owner can get BMW 2351 number plate for that car as nobody tendered for that number.

• mahalnya on Nov 03, 2014 at 7:47 pm

over 400k for kosong spec m235i? how does bmw justify this when the a45amg and cla45amg are both under 400k?

• Kelvin on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Malaysians are so rich. With that price, I have to settle for a locally assembled new M4 coupe here in Germany.