New Ford Mustang: S550 set for 2016 Malaysian debut

Ford Mustang 2016

Muscle car fans will find this of interest – the new sixth-generation Ford Mustang is set to see an official local introduction in 2016. The news came on an unassuming banner hidden on Sime Darby Auto Connexion’s (SDAC) stand at Asia Klasika last weekend, where a selection of classic and modern Mustangs were on display as part of the pony car’s 50th anniversary celebrations.

We’re expecting it to arrive here sometime in Q1 then. It’s a bit of a wait, but right hand-drive evaluation – which began in August – will only see market deployment sometime mid next year at the earliest. We’re likely to follow after Australia, which is set to be the largest market for the new pony in this part of the world.

All new from the ground up, the S550 Mustang swaps out the retro styling its predecessors (notably, the S197) have used since 2005 for Ford’s latest Kinetic design language, giving it a sleeker, more modern look. The new car is longer and wider than before, makes use of independent multi-link rear suspension for the first time on regular Mustang variants, and will also be available in right-hand drive for the first time.

2015 Mustang Media Drive in L.A.

We can expect two versions to go on sale here, led by the baseline unit with the 310 hp and 433 Nm 2.3 litre EcoBoost direct-injected turbo four, which is based on the 2.0 litre unit seen on the Focus ST. This pretty much negates the need for the naturally-aspirated 3.7 litre Cyclone V6 that pushes out “just” 300 hp and 379 Nm (which we won’t be getting).

The other version for Malaysia will be the range-topping 435 hp/541 Nm 5.0 litre V8, the top choice for the unwavering, die-hard muscle car aficionado, rare as that may be here. It remains to be seen whether we’ll be getting the GT or GT Premium variant of the flagship – matters little, really, since the 2.3 litre will be the relevant offering for this market.

So, how about that – a turbocharged, road tax-friendly, right-hand drive Mustang sold through official channels. Excited? We were in Sydney last year covering the official unveiling of the new Mustang – see full details, a mega galleryfinalised power figuresvideos explaining the car and a video of the event itself.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Chris (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:48 am

*Looks at wallet*
    *cries*

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 2
    • kerisjawa on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:46 am

Whatever lah Sime Darby. Price it RM1 million also okay. Proton will not angry as long it is twice Lotus price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Blaze (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:53 am

A v8 is a must for a Stang. But judging by my own experience owning a 4.4 V8 for past 5 years, the overall conditions is certainly favours the smaller capacity mill. Sad, but its the reality of motoring here in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Chris (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:20 am

Muscle car identity aside, the SVO mustang was once the fastest mustang out there isn’t it?

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Agreed. A muscle car must have a big V8, as it comes with a super macho soundtrack to match the looks. A 4 cylinder (and even V6 or inline sixes), no matter how powerful the turbos make it, just can’t match the aural pleasure of a V8.

But admittedly, cars have to move with the times. And the days of V8s look to be diminishing. Especially with tough emission laws and the ever increasing price of petrol.

• klata-klata on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:55 pm

The road tax is killing.
          RM10,000 a year for 5Litre engine.
          Double that for company registered.

JPJ need to rethink. Fuel is less susidized now, and “wealthy” owners of big engines will now pay market prices for fuel, so there is no justification for the expensive road tax. Furthermore the ever popular turbo engines drink like big engines too when charged up packing in more air-fuel mixture in every gulp.

• Mustanging on Feb 09, 2015 at 8:51 am

mustang is american muscle.
            Massive torque, V8 engine sound, crazy handling style.

Unfortunately, our roadtax is much more massive and killing!
            Perhaps, Ecoboost is a help for us to own a mustang. let us taste the american muscle feel.

No choice, this is boleh land.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Yes but a Mustang wihout a V8 just doesn’t feel right. But then again, that entire generation of pony cars were pretty much a write off.

The 4 pot in the SVO was quite commendable, I briefly had an old Merkur XR4Ti which uses the same engine albeit slighly lower tuned.

It wasn’t until the mid 90s that the V8 came back in force. Even then, the turbo engines (4G63T)in my DSM still had a good edge over the LT1 in my Camaro. Eventually had to give up on the Camaro due to it not being too practical (high insurance, too big, no parking spot and not very useful in winter) and stuck to the DSM. But nothing, nothing beats the feel and sound of a properly tuned up V8.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:25 pm

You have a E39 540i? Road tax would have been murder.

• klata-klata on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:02 pm

E39 540i is 4.4L
        The gem is the E39 M5 with 5.0L engine which JPJ taxes more than RM10,000 per year on the road. Many owners don’t even use subsidized fuel, they treat their cars with unsubsidized RON97. Feeling the rip off.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 04, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Was refering to Blaze when he mentioned he has a 4.4L V8.

Cool car the E39 M5. Nice ride.

• Blaze (Member) on Nov 05, 2014 at 10:24 am

Nope.. A 545i E60 sir. True, roadtax is the killer of having fun in a V8… And yes E39 M5 is a cool machine.. Haha.. Wish i have one..

• Gosh. a NA 4.4 bro.. But if u goina change soon. Can get 550i thou it is not sold in Malaysia. Saw 1 550i M sport around bangsar area. Or X6 50i that I have tested. The crazy torque from the twin turbo is MASSIVEEEEE!!!!!

• I have once driven 4.4 V8 of BMW’s 50i. all i can say is that the grunt is freaking awesome. Once pedal pressed, all i felt was being “pushed” all the way back to the seat. “stick in seat”

• more awesome car are coming to malaysia

• jwrx (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:58 am

The main problem will be the width, its wider then a BMW 5 series. Other then that, if it comes in at the target price of rm250-300k, it will sell like hot cakes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • seancorr (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:55 am

Meant for valet parking haha. I also hope they can put a price of less than RM300k for one. Its coming in 2016 so still got time to save up some cash for it haha.

• Definitely will priced below RM250K. Because its a Ford. But…… Only for 2.3 inline 4 i think. Which American will laugh. If y’all are getting 5.0 V8. Be prepared to fork out at least RM450K upnorth. For me, I am getting the 2.3 if 3.7 V6 is a no go.

• Boleh bersaing dengan iriz lepas ini.. hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 47
    • Tukimai lu on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:57 am

twin turbo v8 viva is the stang truly rival on earth..becareful

• AVH (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:01 am

5.0l Mustang, modded it to Rocket Bunny bodykit like how Vaughn Gittin Jr RTR Mustang, ahh the dream.

The other day, looking throu a workshop I found a 1971 Mustang Mach 1 under restoration. The owner was also a mechanic, after talking throu he told me he had another Mustang, and a short walk around the corner reveals a 2008 Shelby Mustang GT500 also under restoration. I can imagine the happiness he has when he first got hold of it. Such beautiful beast.

If the 5.0l V8 could price at around RM300-400k, I’ am sure the Muscle club Malaysia(yes it exist) will see alot of new members. The 2.5l Ecoboost? Its a good performer, but my mind cant wrap around the concept of it being a Muscle car rather just a pretender.

• kington on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:42 am

Based on the performance alone, I think the V8 will hit RM1M in price alone.

• No bro… U see where Chevy Camaro priced. I think it should be around that range of RM400K.

Peace.

• NurburgringDriver (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:37 pm

Chevrolet Camaro is import bro. This one officially sold by the DEALER itself. So yes, may be different. But what matters most to me, 4-pot or not, MANUAL GEARBOX FOR GOD BLOODY SAKE!

• Well. be more conservative then, from what I have observe. Malaysian price is 10 times more than US dollar to dollar. So if US selling for USD 50k. Here we might be getting arounf RM500K depending on trim level. Why? U gotta ask our love-to-songlap G.

• uslhwzero on Dec 04, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Your estimation is too high, good for mustang popularity but not for the price! Lets check this, i buy focus HB RM117K, But i check at ford usa, the price about 16k only. & i check for 5.0 V8 only 33k at ford USA. so i estimate the v8 5.0 malaysia is around 300k-350k

• Coriolis (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 7:35 pm

Meant 2014. Brain not working

• Coriolis (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:17 pm

While I agree with the v8 being what makes a muscle car a muscle car, I honestly doubt it will sell a lot. Simply because of our road tax structure that penalise any displacement above 2.0 (conveniently above whatever proton offers, no?)

Still I can see the ecoboost as being the more handling focused of the two. And I remember reading somewhere that they wanted to make the mustang into a world car, hence the ecoboost.

I wonder if dodge and Chevy will follow suit.

• spongewai on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:07 am

finally, i can see Mustang on the road for 1st time in 2 years

• erwinkarim on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:07 am

YeeHaw!!!!

• anakjambi on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:53 am

what??? ford mustang coming to town??? i say ameennn…Halleluyahhh and praise the lordddd

• AWESOMENESS!

• dr.terror on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:30 am

UMNO boys rejoice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • sean jo on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:32 am

my vios is better than this. better fuel economy, better reliability, better resale value! PTUIHHHH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 55
    • blibliblublu on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:02 pm

you must be VERY delusional or being sarcastic LOL

• P1 Salesman on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:21 am

My Iriz is better. Put in V8 can become Iriz R3. Smoke M3 and some say Mustang!

• Put V8 and ur Iriz will break down caused of over weight. Its like asking a skinny chap to carry a heavy weight dumbbell.

• tishaban on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:39 am

SDAC please bring in the manual option for the Mustang Ecoboost please.

• JB_KIA on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:48 pm

itu manual org kg pakai punye…kite org Bandar pakai DSG laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • lu bodo ke
        tak reti pakai manual cakap la
        tak payah nk kutuk orang kampung
        kanineh lu sial

• arelanz on Nov 04, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Real men use manual la brader, only pondan use auto..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
        • superbird #43 on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:22 pm

are handicapped drivers or drivers with disabilities are classified as pondan as well, since they drive auto?

• well are you? on Nov 04, 2014 at 6:49 pm

are you disabled sir? or cant you drive a manual car? Some people like to drive manual cars too you know, and they are getting rare nowadays.

so what if i want to drive a manual mustang but they only sell auto version? does that mean i have to pondan-ify myself or buy an axia 1.0G?

• uslhwzero on Dec 04, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Why this guy keep saying ” driving auto is pondan?” Haha. I think this guy fall into this situation( malaysia) 1. Living rural area or pekan when no traffic jamm 2. He only drive car when GO TO WORK & BACK HOME. Means he only a few hours in car perday. Thts why he said like that… & what i know if Someone ” WORK FOR OTHERS rather WORK FOR HIMSELF” will not BUY a car over 250K car. Because RM matter… i let you know, if everyday you seat i car over 5 hours, & traffic jamm like MRR2 KL. do still prefer manual? Its crazy!!!

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:47 am

Hell yeah its coming here! Can’t wait to hear the exhaust rumble!

• MONEYWANTED on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:49 am

when the pony finally come
    *throwing everything at ford*
    *take everything i have,my house my wife my kids. i will sleep in the car ty*
    jk jk

• macha s on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:58 am

a COOL CAR to drive around indeed.

• As if we need more high powered cars let loose on our atreets… which is already full of hill-billy drivers… from the hideous mod-out kancils up to the “get-out-of-my-way-im-coming-thru” lambos. sheeesh… these ppl should pay double for the fuel they burn!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • Black Dog on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:04 pm

If I’m not wrong, it’s ‘called’ 2016 Mustang but I think it will arrive here mid or end 2015.

• headturner on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:07 pm

ford unlikely a head turner compare to chevy, design wise failed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 34
  • najibest on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:18 pm

drooooling…….haven’t been in the newer mustangs but the old one (3rd gen) was such a thrill to drive…

• Kancil Hybrid on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Everyone is so happy.. Yay.. But let’s face the truth. Take a good look of yourself in the mirror son. U and I can’t afford to buy this car, anak Ahmad Maslan can. All thanks to 48% of people who had chosen to put his father and his gang in Putrajaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
  • Kancil Hybrid on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Selasa, 04/11/2014.
    548 days since PRU13. Still no reduction in car price.
    KR1M – Kencing Rakyat 1Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 9
  • YES!!!! finally!! Im goina go for 5.0L.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 2:48 pm

excited. but sure wont be cheap.

• Mustang Lover on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:36 pm

That will be mine one day, one day.

• Working Lad on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Tried Camaros & Mustangs while i’m staying in US~ You’ll be grinning while footing the accel!! But it’ll be at mercy of your wallet, regardless of US or Malaysia. =P

• DonkeyKong on Nov 06, 2014 at 2:19 am

Drove a Dodge Challenger while I was in Ottawa and it was crap. Brilliant acceleration but in terms of build quality, it loses out to even Proton and Perodua.. no wonder those American car companies went bust!

But while I was in California, I drove the Cadillac ATS and what an amazing machine it was, inside and out. Brilliant handling, excellent build quality and the performance was awesome. Hopefully the Mustang matches or exceeds the Cadillac ATS in every way..

• Coriolis (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 7:24 pm

2013 is a good year for petrolheads.

I’ll have mine in ecoboost, manual, and color it red or yellow.

Thanks SDAC!

• darkermarker on Nov 04, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Aya…just wait another 24 months and see first….

No point talk big, syoik here and syoik there, promise this, say this and that….but later habuk pun tarak….

• Aero (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:46 pm

F*ck yea ‘Murica ! …. 5.0 litre V8 ? This is going to cost more than a S-Class or even a 911 here ! Good thing there’s a 2.3 litre EcoBoost l4 too…. that will be MUCH cheaper.

• If and only if on Nov 04, 2014 at 9:04 pm

How about RM280k?

• ispeaktruth on Nov 05, 2014 at 9:43 am

Actual Headline: New Ford Mustang: S550 set for 2016 Malaysian debut….at an unbelievable price and roadtax that can only be afforded by dato’s, tan sri’s, and kroni’s.

• Waters on Nov 05, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Ya…getting the car is one thing, trusting those monkeys at SDAC to work on it is another. They can barely handle crappy Focuses, Feistas and Kugas. Won’t trust them with a Mustang.

• what ever mustang or tangmus still smoke by GTR end story :D

• fast furious muscle cars mostly have the auto g/box. if it comes with an auto, why not? but manual will be better la. more enthusiastic driving!!! For me both trans are okay.

• Totally not american on Nov 07, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Its an American car, of course it has no Manual.

Americans can’t drive manual. They need the other hand to constantly feed cheeseburgers and strawberries into their mouths.

• uslhwzero on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Ford focus HB US=US16 , MY=116K,
    Ford Focus ST US=23K, MY= 200K
    Mustang ECoboost US= 24K, MY= ???
    Mustang 5.0 V8, US= 33K, MY=???
    I Think V8 Beast sure NOT OVER MY450K! hehe

• uslhwzero on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Im falling in love wth ford fiesta & focus!!! Now time to go for V8 BEAST! cant Wait… we are young only suites for RAW BEAST!.. BMW & AUDI only for ORANG TUA! Haha

• uslhwzero on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:21 am

If have mid size family, this car still can afford, but i should be ur 3rd car.. because it only practic for 2 adult & 2 child at back… if the price fall 300k, means if tenure is 9 years, mthly is about 3.8K or 3.9K. Tht means people who earns 15,000/ mth can afford this. In malaysia, especially KL, JOHOR, PENANG, SELANGOR. I think very large number of people earned around 15,000 figure. For example, unit trust consultant, real estate agent, lawyer, SME business… at least self employed or good practice commision earner. Tht amount IS NOT IMPOSSIBLE FOR MANY MALAYSIAN TODAY! Confirm! But MUSTANG IS ONLY CHOSEN FROM Horsepower Man… bukan just ekot trendMan

• Regina on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:36 am

Estimating the price to be about RM210k – RM240k for the EcoBoost.

V8 no need to talk la, if you care about the price you can’t afford it.