Audi Q3 1.4 TFSI price, specs revealed – RM216,888

AudiQ3

Prices and specs of the Audi Q3 1.4 TFSI have appeared on Audi Malaysia’s website – the new variant joins the 2.0 TFSI in the Malaysian Q3 range.

At the heart of things is a 1.4 litre direct-injected and turbocharged four-cylinder engine making 150 PS between 5,000 and 6,000 rpm, and 250 Nm of torque between 1,750 and 3,000 rpm (2.0 TFSI has 170 PS and 280 Nm). Transmission is a seven-speed S tronic dual-clutch auto.

Fuel consumption and CO2 emissions are a claimed 6.2 litres per 100 km and 145 grammes per km respectively (2.0 TFSI 7.7 litres per 100 km, 179 grammes per km), and the crossover sprints to 100 km/h from rest in 8.9 seconds on its way towards a 200 km/h top speed (2.0 TFSI 7.8 seconds, 212 km/h).

Some time ago, we spotted one at JPJ Putrajaya – the car looked pretty much a carbon copy of the 2.0 TFSI (down to the 235/55 R17 five-arm cast aluminium ‘Trias’ wheels), except there was no quattro badge. So the Q3 1.4 TFSI sends its power to the front wheels only.

audi-q3-1.4-price-specs

Comparing the spec sheets of both the 1.4 TFSI and 2.0 TFSI reveals another thing the 1.4 TFSI loses over the 2.0 TFSI: a start-stop system, although regenerative braking is retained. The rest of the specs seem to be all shared, including the six airbags, Xenon plus headlamps with LED DRLs, LED tail lamps, dual-zone auto air-con and 10-speaker Audi Concert sound.

The Audi Q3 1.4 TFSI costs RM216,888, OTR without insurance (2.0 TFSI RM258,000). Options are Comfort Key at RM2,500, pearl-effect paint (for all colours except Daytona Grey) at RM3,500, Bose surround sound at RM5,000, a panoramic roof at RM6,000 and an S line package at RM21,000. The 2.0 TFSI offers the same options at the same prices. Study every detail of the Q3 1.4 TFSI on CarBase.my here.

The other VW Group crossover to get one-point-four-ed in Malaysia recently was the Volkswagen Tiguan – that one’s priced from RM179,608, OTR without insurance.

Thanks to Ken Soo for the tip.

Audi Q3 1.4 TFSI spotted at JPJ Putrajaya

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 7:06 pm

I think Audi could have priced it at least RM10k cheaper but thanks to the rather expensive Tiguan they are now unable to.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Hmm, I’ve sat in the 2.0 Q3, and I must say, it feels much nicer than the X1. The X1 feels old, one of the last E based models, where pretty much everything else except the Z4 has become the F based models.

One of the only saving graces was the X1 had a good engine, even till today, it got the nice N20, and even the 2.0 diesel too. While I can see this is a pretty good deal, especially considering the X1 sDrive20i can be had for pretty much the same price, just that it has no xDrive AWD. And it looks silly from the front, compared to the Q3.

The Q3 is not without it’s faults though, the rear seats are a bit tight imo, and inside it’s not as nice as the other Audis, but pretty much better compared to the X1, which feels dated.

If it were my money, I’d probably wait till Friday to see what MB’s new GLA is gonna cost. Seen the GLA in the metal before, looks decent, but not as understated as the Q3. Definitely better than the X1.

Or heck, I’d save the $$$, get a Golf TSI 1.4. Or maybe, a Golf GTI for shits and giggles galore. Or, a really nice Citroen DS5, or even a Peugeot 508 GT Premium if you need to haul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • dodgeviper88 on Nov 05, 2014 at 8:47 am

MB GLA’s price list
      GLA 200: RM238,888
      GLA 250: RM268,888
      GLA 45 AMG: RM378,888

• Why buy a Golf GTI Or TSI 1.4 just for shits and giggles galore? :/

• At this day and age Audi... on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:19 pm

You’ll need to read the market and understand that radio for infotainment system is just grossly insufficient and jarringly inadequate.

I would have bought 2.0 in a heartbeat if you brought it in with standard creature comfort: Quatro, Leather and Audi Music Interface.

Please fire all your marketing staff.

Nissan is one of the other joker with a 4 inch display. Please keep up with times. The days of raking in the dough with substandard spec is OVER!

• Simon Hoh on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Gonna get tapau by launch of Merc GLA!

• AudiFan on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Will this car also have the engine oil top up problem like the the other Audi cars here?

• VW 5 Years Warranty on Nov 04, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Audi Tiguan !!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:22 am

subaru forester 2.0 XT is a way better buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • nabill (Member) on Nov 05, 2014 at 2:09 am

I like the Q3….those who r looking for german mini suv not much choice out there,and trust me,targeted buyers r NOT looking for japanese alternatives…it might b a tiguan underneath but it has the audi badge which is alot more desirable… And in this class,brand power is an important factor
    The Gla might be a close competitor,not the odd n weird x1…

• But a Q3 facelift is on its way…

I wonder how many uninformed buyers will be disappointed..

• Joshy on Nov 05, 2014 at 3:03 pm

It is a 6 speeder S-tronic, not 7 speed. I had personally driven one

• Yes it’s 6 speed wet not 7 speed dry.
      Can check the updated sheet on their website.