Mercedes-Benz GLA launch date teased – November 7

mercedes-benz-gla-launch-teaser

Mark that calendar, if you’ve been waiting for the Mercedes-Benz GLA-ClassMercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has posted a teaser image of the car on its Facebook page, announcing November 7 as the date the X156 will debut.

No official mention of variants or specifications for the crossover – which is based on the W176 A-Class’ platform – as yet, but expect the GLA 200 and GLA 250 to be debutants. The latter – powered by a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged mill with 211 hp and 350 Nm of torque and equipped with a seven-speed double-clutch transmission – was spotted on a transporter here back in August.

So unlike the CLA-Class, which made its debut here in CLA 200 and CLA 45 AMG form, the X156 lineup in Malaysia is set to have a 250 variant in addition to the baseline 200. Will the range-topping GLA 45 AMG – which was unveiled in January this year – be part of the line-up? Given that the A-Class and CLA-Class versions have been introduced here, the likelihood of that being too is very high.

Won’t have long to find out. We’ll have full details on the new crossover when it’s launched this Friday.

Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class

Mercedes-Benz GLA 45 AMG

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• meejawa on Nov 05, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Any wind on whether the e400 bluetec hybrid will be launched on the same day? :)

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 05, 2014 at 3:55 pm

MB GLA’s price list;
    GLA 200: RM238,888
    GLA 250: RM268,888
    GLA 45 AMG: RM378,888

• turboman on Nov 05, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Kereta Orang Tua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 39
    • katak dalam tempurung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
    • Mercman on Nov 05, 2014 at 10:21 pm

KNS, talk about Porsche you cannot afford to buy.
      Talk about Merc you says orang tua, you got money to buy or not? Respect laa sikit Turbo Ah Pek.

From your name we know you’re a Ah Beng with retrofitted Turbo. Sound nice to you?? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • policeman on Nov 05, 2014 at 6:12 pm

The logo represent…old uncle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
    • Eh Dude, your Kopi money not enough to buy this car.
      Yamaha sound better for you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • What’s the use. all look the same….no personality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • Got money than talk about personality.
      Go for porsche Lor…why comment here dude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • ThePolygon on Nov 06, 2014 at 10:13 am

Gone were the days they actually design cars that looked different from the family.. eg the 2nd gen SLK and the the first gen Z4 looks nothing like their siblings.

• and the whole point of this car is???

• according to review, especially from carbuyer uk, the GLA is POINTLESS, neither Hatch nor SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • That reviewer doesnt know what is ‘Crossover’. That’s why she said it is pointless

• Olio Benzina on Nov 06, 2014 at 11:40 am

The whole point of the car is if you have always wanted a Benz but you keturunan Bentan tak boleh pandu kereta rear wheel drive for seven generations.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 05, 2014 at 10:51 pm

It looks cramped on the inside….not that the CLA and A Class were spacious to begin with and this is coming from me who is as tall as a hobbit.

The 1.4 Q3 Audi suddenly looks a bit more tempting and the X1 although with its excellent xDrive systemand diesel engine; the looks doesn’t really dig me.

• ThePolygon on Nov 06, 2014 at 10:10 am

I do hope it’s bigger than the SX-4 or the 2008 but from the looks of it… hmmm…