Shell is new global service-fill oil provider for BMW

bmw shell

Shell has announced that it has been chosen by BMW AG as the German automaker’s only recommended global supplier for aftermarket engine oils, effective from 2015. The oils, which will be supplied for BMW service-fills in more than 140 countries, will be used on BMW, BMW i, BMW M, MINI vehicles and BMW Motorrad motorcycles. Shell replaces Castrol as the global service-fill provider.

The collaboration means that Shell will produce and supply BMW’s branded engine oils. These products, underpinned by Shell’s PurePlus Technology, are specially formulated to meet specific needs of the automaker’s vehicles and meets the latest BMW engine specifications.

The premium engine oils manufactured by Shell will be available to customers via the BMW network of more than 3,500 dealers in more than 140 countries, including China, Germany, Russia, South Africa, South Korea, the UK and the USA.

Shell adds that the base oil for BMW-based applications, an API Group III (hydrocracked) synthetic base oil made using Shell PurePlus Technology, is produced at the Pearl GTL plant in Qatar, a partnership between Shell and Qatar Petroleum. Of course, BMW isn’t the only carmaker with a tie-in with Shell – there’s that long-standing association with Ferrari.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 05, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Well, in the authorised BMW dealers in Malaysia, especially AB, they don’t exclusively use Castrol. I was given the choice to use either Shell Helix Ultra (by the liter charges, no bottles there), or to use the BMW-Castrol oil.

Interestingly, the dealer told me, with Shell, the oil change comes to MYR650, while with Castrol it would be about 1k. The main cost was from the oil, the oil filter was about MYR50 and the labour charge was MYR80 – which is very reasonable for BMW standards, but the rest was all for the oil. I got the same EXACT oil from another manufacturer’s dealer for another of my cars 2 days before, for about half the price.

So, now the thing is, are they gonna make them even more expensive? Good enough the whole CBS service is a bit messy on it’s own…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • reALLY?? on Nov 05, 2014 at 5:30 pm

1k just for oil change… i drive a 3 series and pay an average of rm600 for oil change .

who is ripping u off???

• reALLY?? on Nov 05, 2014 at 5:31 pm

and thats at an authorised BMW dealer …. ingress

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 05, 2014 at 7:01 pm

the MYR 600 was for Shell and not Castrol

Auto Bavaria Selangor, this was the list price on the computer.

• SimpsonTan on Nov 06, 2014 at 12:25 am

If u cant afford it then just sell your BMW off. A very straight forward comparison, u get a cook from mamak cost u RM2, in a cafe RM4, in a hotel RM8, in a fine dine restaurant RM20, what makes the different of the coke? Thats the different between the premium and non premium.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
  • Fr me is still mystery DAT which engine oil is best fr petrol cars incl.city drive as well as hi wayDrive.used many n dey r so so.excluding petronas

• Kruger on Nov 05, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Should have choose Liqui Moly. German lube for German car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 05, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Gotta take note what kind of oil they use in my next BSRI service.

• Will be interesting to see if malaysia will use the special blend from Qatar, or just the helix ultra produced locally @ port dickson

• thedarkside on Nov 06, 2014 at 1:20 am

way to go shell!! kasi up la skek bonus !

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 06, 2014 at 10:43 am

The same oil in Singapore costs SGD60 per 4 liters. So 2 cans will be SGD120 vs RM520