Mitsubishi ASX Designer Edition – 180 units, RM132k

mitsubishi-asx-designer-edition-launch 668

A very unique ASX has entered the Malaysian market, and it’s called the Mitsubishi ASX Designer Edition. Limited to just 180 units, the special-edition crossover is the result of a collaboration with renowned Malaysian fashion designer Rizalman Ibrahim.

Available only in 4WD and Titanium Grey, the ASX Designer Edition sports subtle matte grey stripes that run from bonnet to tailgate, and sits on matte-black 17-inch alloys.

There’s also a larger tailgate spoiler with integrated third brake light, a dark chrome tailpipe finisher and a shark-fin antenna in place of the regular car’s bee-sting item.

Step aboard and you’ll be greeted by a new grey and yellow colour scheme that extends to the diamond-stitched leather gear knob and full leather seats.

Perforated leather is to be found on the door panels, the armrests get a high-gloss finish and under your feet are floor mats with Designer Edition emblems. The eight-inch Multimedia Navigation touch-screen gets a customised start-up image.

Everything else is status quo as per the regular 4WD variant, including the 150 PS/197 Nm 2.0 litre MIVEC engine, INVECS-III CVT with six virtual ratios, shift paddles, cruise control, panoramic roof, keyless entry, auto lights and wipers, plus front and rear parking sensors with reverse camera.

Three airbags (dual frontal+driver’s knee), ABS, EBD, traction control, ASC and Hill Start Assist make up the safety arsenal.

“The different shades of grey used in the ASX Designer Edition represent the strength and toughness of the ASX, signifying its suitability for on- or off-road conditions,” said Rizalman.

“We introduced yellow as an element of fun and contrast, especially in the interior, thus making the ASX Designer Edition an SUV that truly stands out even in challenging conditions.”

Locally-assembled (CKD) at Tan Chong Motor Assemblies’ Segambut plant, the Mitsubishi ASX Designer Edition goes for RM131,801.50, OTR without insurance (or RM135,515.30 with insurance) – only about three grand up on the regular ASX 4WD.

A five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty, along with two years’ free service (offered on all ASX models since February this year) are offered, and options include a Chrome Package for RM1,799 and an Interior Package for RM899.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 06, 2014 at 7:00 pm

The pricing…isn’t as jacked up as I expected for a limited edition car. Between the exclusivity, the specially designed interior bits, presumably upgraded leather and the exterior modifications (most notable being the shark fin antenna and tailgate spoiler) a 3k price increase over the current pricing of the 4WD model (128k vs 131k) isn’t too bad for people shopping in that price bracket, I think. Just wish they had thrown in the Chrome Package and Interior Package along with it but, oh well.

The stuff isn’t exactly anything you need, though, so I will be curious about how fast the uptake of this will be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Rizalman Ibrahim who? on Nov 06, 2014 at 8:55 pm

Who the heck is Rizalman Ibrahim?! At least get Jimmy Choo to collaborate with this “special edition” then probably I’ll consider buying one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 93
      • Jimmy Choo? Oh ya i think that guy can design ASX’s sports rim with sparkling pearls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Rizalman Ibrahim who? on Nov 06, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Who in the world is Rizalman Ibrahim?? At least get Jimmy Choo to collaborate with this “special edition’ then maybe I’ll consider buying one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 71
      • jimmy choo on Nov 06, 2014 at 9:43 pm

ok, a proton special edition selling rm1 million coming soon for this gentlemen over here who talk cock

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
        • Abu Sayur on Nov 07, 2014 at 7:09 am

hes right though. who the hell is he

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
        • leonardo on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:04 am

jimmy choo – stick to your shoes or whatever fetish you may have. Obviously you don’t know that that the topic here is about Mitsubishi, not Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • OMG…apa edition also got…ugly car still an ugly car no matter how to modify it…Shit end up still a shit…yucks…puihhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • It will be better of the interior has custom leather upholstery, sport seat, and a tuned up engine to make it more exclusive – Special Edition!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Eurobeat on Nov 06, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Good idea! Many ASX buyer would do that also its more cheaper!!

• kacimara on Nov 07, 2014 at 7:40 am

I agreed with KT,
      If only visual it is to subjective to define its beauty.
      It may fade as time goes by.
      Change your cloth doesn’t change who you are.
      But they had a contract.
      That TCMA need to follow.

• Milo O on Nov 06, 2014 at 7:27 pm

The only renowned famous Rizalman I know off is in New Zealand facing sexual demeanour charges. Who is the dude?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 13
  • panjang on Nov 06, 2014 at 8:15 pm

No offence but more like Brothers Edition to me.
    Which explain the small increase in RM.

• seems this is what they learn from proton in their collaboration, making cosmetic add on and sell as SE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 06, 2014 at 9:21 pm

I would pay a little bit more if they had included 6 instead of 3 airbags…the ASX ain’t a racer but a family car so why so stingy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • shiftstick on Nov 06, 2014 at 9:52 pm

seriously?? most of us here are better designers. FOr example lets say Tengku Djan Li, I can’t wait to see how he would give touch to this.. or Karamjit Singh ‘elegance’ design?

• Expensive and nothing special on Nov 06, 2014 at 10:04 pm

who want to buy this price high and super ugly special design car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • x nampak elemen designer pun. patutnya tumpu kabin lebih yg ecterior tu bkn kepakaran depa.

• abahko on Nov 06, 2014 at 11:37 pm

why getting such an infamous dude for this such a ripoff edition?

btw who dahell is this dude rizalman?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • White seats? Definitely a no for me, difficult to maintain

• Why not use Rosmah special edition ASX? LOL!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 33
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:55 am

what so designer

• They kno what many buyers will look at…just in the looks…nothing technical or safety wise…esp the ladies huhu…

• cendol (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:27 am

Saiful edition I will buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Milo O on Nov 07, 2014 at 10:00 am

If Saiful edition. Then the exhaust pipe will be located in centre of bumper.
      Car seat will be cut by Brioni.
      When you go service your vehicle, Nescafe 3 in 1 and curry puff will be served.

• What will it look alike? ASX with giant underwear?

• saiful edition on Nov 07, 2014 at 10:12 am

Saiful edition is the one you put the petrol nozzle in from behind =)

• Abu Sayur on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:07 am

the seat will be stained with semen

• useless-car on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:32 am

i dont see the point in this car, at all. gosh just a waste of time

• leonardo on Nov 07, 2014 at 11:33 am

It seems like Mitsubishi Malaysia is trying to emulate the “Victoria Beckham” Edition on the Range Rover Evoque a few years back. Evidently Victoria Beckham has done a better job as all her Designer Edition Evoques were sold out within days of the launch.
    To be fair, Rizalman is farily well known among the local fashion designer circle and many of his costumes are worn by local artists. But trying to do a Specail Edition for cars/SUVs maybe out of his league, especailly if you don’t have a passion for it. I was expecting the leather seats to come with Ostrich skin or Alligator skin or something out of the ordianary. Not just plain light grey. And why is the 2-tone gear knob with diamond stitchings not extended to the steering wheels and door trims? The Gold double stitchings on the seats are too subtle to be noticed. Only the piping on the headrests are visible.
    I was also expecting more differences on the exterior for the addition 3K. Why no special effect colors? The rims should also have matching colour effects for a continuity with the interior colour theme.
    I think more research and effort should have been done before attempting to do a ‘Designer Edition’ in the future.
    In short, no ‘WOW’ factor.

• SUFFIAN on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:36 pm

come on..the car doesnt look that bad..perhaps Mitsubishi Malaysia should just name it “asx special edition” rather than “Mitsubishi ASX Designer Edition – rizalman ibrahim”…this dude just trying to sell his name..i think.

• get a race car diver to design a car can cost a lot of money..so what to do? get a fashion designer, that just cost of paint, fabric and some bling bling.. ya nice move marketing department.

• nabill (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 2:41 pm

so any upcoming designer can go to a car brand and ask them to collaborate…? this what looks like…
    lets not dwell on the designer part , its a good honest car the ASX , and being a CKD , relatively competitively priced be it in 2wd or 4wd form….

• Alexei on Nov 08, 2014 at 11:26 am

Items such as shark fin antenna and sticker can be fitted by the owners. Expected much more from a Designer Edition but there’s no significant difference from the existing model. Good and well-packaged car but lack its own identity.

• Rathuan Abd. Aziz on Nov 14, 2014 at 7:34 pm

I just signed up 1 unit ASX 4WD Designer Edition. Can’t wait for it’s delivery next week. Been wanting this car since the beginning of the year, now I’m getting it … a Designer Edition.

I like the stylish design and the package (most everything is in), and the Engine ….a recer’s choice!

• Antonio Bang ke ras on Nov 14, 2014 at 7:52 pm

Common guys … Mitsubishi Motors (M) had done well on this model, additionally, giving a little bit more touch by the designer…

I fancy this car…it’s design, price and engine capability, among the best in it’s class. I had signed up for a unit today….

E1.

• Bernard on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Never heard of the designer!!!

Also, who is Jimmy Choo??

• Bobcrx on Mar 15, 2015 at 10:27 pm

susah nak puaskan hati semua orang… beli yg standart atau premium… balik cat sendiri…. lepas tuh bawak on the road…. then still kene kutuk jugak dgn bdk2 keter sbb paint kaler x ikut trend dan pasang sport rim chrome2 mcm gay… hahahahhaha

• I was scouting for cars like this but when I saw the designer on Mitsubishi’s website… He looks so weird and anorexic that I’m having doubts about the car’s safety by just looking at him. I’d rather buy a car not showing the designer (which nobody seems to know, thus questioning the car more) than to buy one knowing that the designer looked like that.

No quarrel, just to share, that this has greatly affected my chances of purchasing this car because I might be haunted with images of the designer when I’m driving it.