Hyundai Aslan luxury sedan launched in South Korea

hyundai-aslan

The Hyundai Aslan luxury sedan has been unveiled recently in South Korea for the domestic market only. Previewed back in May at the Busan International Motor Show as the Hyundai AG, the new car is positioned between the Hyundai Genesis and Azera/Grandeur sedan in the company’s local range.

With the Hyundai Genesis – aimed at the BMW 5 Series, Mercedes-Benz E-Class and Audi A6 – and the Azera competing with the Lexus ES, the new Aslan finds itself in quite a peculiar segment with no direct competitors, at least in terms of on-paper rivals.

Adopting the Turkish word for lion, the Aslan is another one of the company’s attempts to push itself upmarket and vie for the attention of clients who usually favour German alternatives. Following on the ‘Fluidic Sculpture 2.0’ design brief, the Aslan features a bold front that is reminiscence of the Hyundai Azera.

According to a Hyundai Motor official, the company aims to “set the monthly sales target for the Aslan at 2,000 units with an annual target of more than 22,000 units.” Pre-order bookings have already reached 2,200 units since October 6.

hyundai-aslan-3

Power comes from a pair of V6 GDi engines with a 3.0 litre and 3.3 litre option, putting out 270 hp/310 Nm of torque and 294 hp/346 Nm, respectively. Both mills are mated to a six-speed automatic transmission, which sends power to the front wheels.

Step inside and you’ll be greeted by a interior highlighted by an eight-inch multimedia display screen, leather seats and rather tasteful wood trim on the dashboard and door panels. A premium sound system by American-based audio specialist, Lexicon, is also featured.

The Hyundai Aslan comes with double glass layers on the windshield and side windows to improve NVH levels. Standard safety equipment include lane departure and blind-spot detection systems, ABS with EBD, ESP and a first for Hyundai a model – an active hood to lessen the impact of a collision with a pedestrian.

Unfortunately, this is as close as we can get to the Hyundai Aslan with the company stating no intentions of selling it anywhere outside of its home country. Still, if sales are good enough – which it is – who knows what might be in store for us come the next few years.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• ‘The Lion’ came to my mind ._.

• cendol (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Aslan is the name of the lion in The Lion, The Witch, The Wardrobe, The Toothbrush, The Mineral Water bottle and The Good Morning Towel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • I think I need to get my eyes checked. I read it as Asian luxury sedan…

• Aerodynamic bro on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Mecedes-Benz headlight,BMW series front bumper,Volkswagen rear,Range Rover and Volvo interior….

• Campur-campur macam Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • seancorr (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 7:25 pm

At least they are up there now with the rest of the gang…look where Proton is after almost 3 decades despite massive help from the government?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 25
      • Obviously (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 7:19 am

They need a few more years still…they’re been too lax for too long in that 30 years of theirs that I don’t think you can say they have 30 years of experience. Can it be said then, that they’re immature for their age?

• TheDuh on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:52 pm

I don’t think Hyuandai spent any money on the dashboard. They just carried it over from the 1980s.

• JB_KIA on Nov 07, 2014 at 5:30 pm

aslan, fuel tax???

• Looks a lot like a Buick, especially with that grille.

• Huzaifah on Nov 07, 2014 at 7:36 pm

look like New Sonata

• ko malu saje... on Nov 07, 2014 at 8:43 pm

WHY NO KAMLAN????

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Narnia called. They want the name back.

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 7:20 am

I get that you’re joking (I think?) but that’s probably not a copyright infringement. haha

• Josh Ling on Nov 08, 2014 at 11:29 am

they should have planned to sell this in malaysia instead of Genesis. at least it can be priced lower and consume less fuel, and make more sense to buy. Genesis is just too expensive to persuade average Malaysians to buy. They’d rather go for German or Japan makes.

• karin nelson on Nov 10, 2014 at 10:47 am

Not buying Korean until they stop torturing and eating dogs. And, yes for the record I don’t eat or use products from ANY animals.