2015 Mazda CX-5 facelift leaked onto the internet

mazda-cx5-fl-leak-1

This is what the facelifted Mazda CX-5 will look like, if these are legitimate brochure images, which they appear to be at least. This latest Mazda leak comes just a week after brochure images of the facelifted Mazda 6 also made their way onto the internet.

From what we can tell, the facelifted CX-5 gets a revised front grille now with prominent horizontal bars, new Mazda 2-inspired LED headlamps with integrated daytime running lights, new fog lamp surrounds, a new alloy wheel design and new internal graphics for the tail lamps that match the headlamp design.

mazda-cx5-fl-leak-3
mazda-cx5-fl-leak-2

Unlike the Mazda 6 facelift leak, there’s no photos of the CX-5 facelift’s interior for now. We wonder if the CX-5 facelift gets as big a revamp to the interior as the Mazda 6, including the new MZD Connect infotainment system that newer models such as the Mazda 2, 3 and MX-5 have.

Mazda is set to unveil the CX-5’s smaller sibling at the 2014 LA Auto Show towards the end of this month. Will the CX-5 facelift be unveiled alongside it?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• It’s a good looking facelift, but will it be a reliable machine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • Jimmy on Nov 09, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Let me tell you what ‘overdo’ is.

Go for a detailed search for ‘dexamethasone’ .

The front grill should have been fully chromed for only the uppermost boldest strip found in prefacelift grill, leaving the rest unchromed and empty.

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Hmm…the horizontal slats…does anyone else feel that the more subtle grille of the outgoing car looks more refined?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • As usual, nothing new from the Japanese… Just a copy and paste ideas from others on the surface to con the uninformed potential buyers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 44
    • Obviously (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 6:22 pm

The heck. That is standard industry practice and if that’s an offense, then all automakers are guilty of doing so.
      This is a facelift. Usually there’re no groundbreaking changes and only rarely are significant alterations carried out during a facelift. One of the more significant facelifts in recent memory was done by Toyota for the last generation Corolla Altis’ facelift where they gave it a new engine (dual VVT-i) and new transmission (Super CVT-i) in addition to the obligatory cosmetic changes.

Last time I checked, Toyota is Japanese.

• Obviously, you know nothing about facelift

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Looks like a pretty standard FL to me but its a good one. I hope they will follow suit with the interior like the FL Mazda 6. I seriously dislike the way they put the central LCD screen which looks like an aftermarket solution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Mitchell wong on Nov 08, 2014 at 4:03 pm

When will it be coming to malaysia?

• kodok on Nov 08, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Well…This facelifted look much nicer. At least now, it have proper daytime led running light than the current version which look a bit cacat.

• cendol (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 6:09 pm

As usual , only cosmetic changes for facelift, but price will definitely jack up 3-5k at least.
    Poor Malaysians getting poorer day by day.

• nabill (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 9:53 pm

reading owners feedback in the cx5 forums , almost all complain of the front subframe tak tak sound that the SC cannot resolve….u sence their frustration…
    one thing i wish they rectify in the facelift is the gearbox software tuning , which always goest to the highest gear at every situation possible…which means if u want abit more shove , u have to press the accelerator pedal till the gearbox drop few gears for the rev to rise

• roxas on Nov 08, 2014 at 11:24 pm

i think they realize they need to remove the ala BMW style interior and realize their new mazda2 looks too good, now they are giving other model the same facelift = =

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 09, 2014 at 3:10 am

wonder if interior change

• tempe on Nov 09, 2014 at 10:09 am

facelift = cosmetic.
    All-New = new Model.

So kesian la you guys!

• vwoner on Nov 09, 2014 at 12:37 pm

What is the different?

• alberttee on Nov 10, 2014 at 6:05 pm

2.2D skyactiv come to malaysia,pls.

• techart on Nov 11, 2014 at 12:06 am

Please fecelift the dashboard like the 6.Current design looks awkward with the touchscreen looks like.