2015 Toyota Prius to use fuel-saving components tested on the TS040 Hybrid LMP1 endurance racer

Toyota-Prius-002

The replacement for the current Toyota Prius (which has had its price increased from RM140k to RM216k in Malaysia) is set to be introduced next year. We already know that it will adopt the modular Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) platform, and now it’s reported that it’ll feature some advanced components already put to the test on the 2014 TS040 Hybrid LMP1 race car.

Speaking to AutoNews USA, Toyota Motorsport GmbH president Yoshiaki Kinoshita said that its championship-leading endurance race cars are already running certain microchips and micro controllers (though no mechanical parts) that will be used on the 2015 Toyota Prius. Talk about taking endurance testing to the extremes, eh?

Toyota_TS040_Hybrid_LPM1_13

With efficiency being one of the main objectives of both the next-gen Prius and the TS040 Hybrid, it’s obvious that the pre-production components involved here are of the fuel-saving variety. For 2014, Toyota’s hybrid LMP1 racer is 25% more efficient than 2013’s TS030 Hybrid, despite having its power increased from 830 hp to 1,000 hp. Likewise, the 2015 Prius is expected to be significantly more economical than its predecessor.

It’s said that half of Toyota Motorsport GmbH’s race engineers work on a six-month rotation schedule, where the lessons learned on the track can be transferred to the production car tech centre in Japan. The question is, does this make the 2015 Toyota Prius any more desirable to you?

2015 Toyota Prius

2014 Toyota TS040 Hybrid LMP1

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• 2015 Prius is more desirable for me?……Would be good if they swap hybrid LMP1 engine into 2015 Prius or more better put microchip and micro controllers into GT86….lovely….

• Same L0rrr on Nov 10, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Fuel price increased to RM3/l also Prius owners won’t rasa anything. Those who bought at RM140K are having big smile on face all time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • samelorstpd on Nov 10, 2014 at 9:55 pm

Fugly car with cheapo rims!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • Same L0rrr on Nov 12, 2014 at 1:12 am

Yes, you can put those colorful rims on your Proton and happy all days. This is called syok sendiri. Go on, carry on.

Your colorful japan-rims-wannabe (actually taiwan made or local made) are the true cheapo rims you are saying. lol

• bvc100 on Nov 11, 2014 at 7:58 am

Really?
      Your monthly payment for a car at that price most probably had offset all of your so called eco savings.
      Good luck also when the time comes to replace the batteries.

• Same L0rrr on Nov 12, 2014 at 1:07 am

If you never have a hybrid, no point talkok here. US Prius first generation recond to Mongolia/Cambodia also the local don’t change battery. How often you change your phone battery? You probably change the phone before you before you need to change battery.

For 300k km mileage and RM2.3 a litre, Prius save RM28,750 (24km/l) compared to your conventional car (12km/l). Petrol price will increase, Prius will save RM41250 when fuel price increase just another RM1 (RM3.3).

Talk with figures ok?

• paparadzi (Member) on Nov 10, 2014 at 11:05 pm

Thanks to our government’s policy, we’ll never see the 4th generation Prius in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • sudonano (Member) on Nov 11, 2014 at 4:28 am

Prius? Desirable?

Er….

• nabill (Member) on Nov 11, 2014 at 1:36 pm

yaaaaaaawn….