Police to use licence plate scanners at entry points to identify foreign vehicles with outstanding summonses

bkk-ratchaprasong-dt

The Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM) is set to use license plate scanners, or Automated Number Plate Recognition (ANPR), at entry points into the country to identify foreign vehicles with outstanding summonses, Bernama reports.

An ANPR setup involves the use of CCTV, enforcement or dedicated task cameras to capture images of licence plates and optical character recognition to read them off the images, thereby identifying a vehicle. Applications vary, but the primary mode is that of enforcement, and it is in use in Europe, the UK and the US.

According to the Auditor General’s Report 2013 (Third Series), operation of the surveillance equipment and system will begin once the Trafik Cops online payment system is upgraded to take into account enforcement of foreign vehicles. This will allow foreign traffic offenders to settle summonses online.

polis-saman 630

In line with developments, the Road Transport Department (JPJ) is preparing a special rule under Section 66J of the Road Transport Act 1987 to regulate foreign vehicles from entering or leaving Malaysia. The AG’s report added that JPJ is also enhancing its online management system, MySIKAP, to improve implementation methods.

According to the AG’s report, a total of 16.3 million summonses were issued by traffic police for the period 2011 to 2013 – of this total, 121,664 were issued to non-citizens. Out of the 121,664 summonses, only 12,713 were settled, and the outstanding arrears was estimated at around RM7.63 million.

The AG’s report said that the majority of tickets issued were to Singaporeans (84,604 summonses), while Bruneians were next with 25,803 summonses. Malaysian citizens, meanwhile, paid up on 6.7 million summonses out of the 2011-2013 total, netting the government RM1.24 billion in payment, the report added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• zimbabwe on Nov 11, 2014 at 7:13 pm

RM1.24 billion revenue from summon? wow. summon makes big money for govt.

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 11, 2014 at 8:02 pm

about 15 years too late

day in and out the singaporeans and their sportscars are zooming up and down our highways endangering the lives of others

fine them, or bar them from leaving!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Chong Yew on Nov 11, 2014 at 8:45 pm

– Excluding leakages :)

• tishaban on Nov 11, 2014 at 9:32 pm

I propose that JPJ and PDRM submit their evidence of any Singaporean cars speeding or breaking any sort of Malaysian traffic law to the Singaporean Land Transport Authority (LTA) and traffic police. Make sure they’re fined in their own country in their own currency.

By doing this maybe JPJ and PDRM won’t be receiving revenue but they can also be damn sure that Singaporeans won’t dare break the law in Malaysia ever again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • driver on Nov 12, 2014 at 5:47 am

They come here, break our laws, and then just let them go like that?

I propose that the amount that they need to pay to be in their currency, but the revenue goes to our perbendaharaan.

• someguyonthenet on Nov 11, 2014 at 9:45 pm

not sure if anyone realise that most of the motorcyclist and some drivers stopped on a zebra crossing instead of before the indicated line.

• TeacWin7 on Nov 11, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Proves that govt’s coffer is indeed kosong…

• Gov truly got no money now. They try to get it from any where they can!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • macai on Nov 12, 2014 at 12:42 am

1) find ways to find money –> 2)find ways to dig it out –> 3) buying more unnecessary equip –> go back to 1)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
      • stranger on Nov 12, 2014 at 1:33 pm

well said, agreed wif u

it’s indeed our G is currently doing

1)new implementation -> 2)uses fund for it -> 3)new implementation failed -> 4)go back (1)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • driver on Nov 12, 2014 at 5:49 am

whatever is your argument, it’s better to not let those rich foreigners get away with it.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 11, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Please also fix all your stupid traffic light cameras to prevent red light jumping and illegal U-Turns especially by reckless motorcyclists and taxis. With those working I am sure the revenue will be more than just that from a handful of foreign cars……

• FireAce on Nov 12, 2014 at 12:03 am

I wonder how much is the cost to set up this “Automated system”… Better make sure don’t end up like “AES”, another white elephant.

• WhitE lephant on Nov 13, 2014 at 8:59 am

invest more white elephant, more project, more profit,
      is good for my pockets.

Semi value…
      I think u wish to stay longer in politics
      especially recent years.
      It will makes your pocket double even triple.

• Josh Ling on Nov 12, 2014 at 12:45 am

make sure the whole system can run smoothly first before implementing it. as much as i like jokes, i don’t want to see this becomes another joke for the world to laugh again.

• Sorchai (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 8:17 am

Why do we always need complicated solutions for simple problems and spend needless money on it?

When the cars come in, would it not be normal to input the registration/driver/owner details in the database? The database should prompt if the car/driver/owner has previous records.

You need a licence plate scanner to do this? Buta kah?

• scanner_joke on Nov 12, 2014 at 8:19 am

Police scanner doesn’t work one lahhh. Better scan the brain of our leaders to check for any malfunction. Oooops sorry, they actually have no brain. Pura-pura scan pun OKlah. Otherwise, nnt xde keje.

• azrai on Nov 12, 2014 at 9:47 am

Late la…Those kiasus already change their ride to a new one, so every 2 years new car, the summons was for the last ride. Rakyat didahulukan what.

• cendol (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 10:50 am

And the company awarded the project to provide the scanner goes to………..

• no standard plates on Nov 12, 2014 at 12:00 pm

And now we know the real reason the govt wants us to have standardised number plates!
    The image recognition software of the company supplying the scanner probably cannot detect non standard size number plates =P

• stranger on Nov 12, 2014 at 1:37 pm

please, what about Singapore, even thou u had chg ur car plate numbering pattern?

their system still able to read, and pop out the numbers in the digital screen

• no standard plates on Nov 12, 2014 at 3:48 pm

that’s what i meant. Singapore scanner software is able to detect different font but malaysia scanner software cannot detect even slight modification to the font of the license plate. And the tender is given to the incapable software developer crony of malaysia

• azrai on Nov 12, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Dear policeman, just look at the number plates of the cars and punch thru your smartphone to the database. No need to waste hundreds of millions to read the plate using machine. haiyoo…

• WhitE lephant on Nov 13, 2014 at 9:06 am

Dont suck my blood.
    Our life is tough enough.
    House, car on high price.
    Next year, everything price up.

My salary no up, economy no up, job opportunity no up,
    but everything up. I have no money pay you.
    Give a break pls.