Honda Civic facelift quietly appears in showrooms

CIVIC-FL-0001

It appears that the Honda Civic facelift has quietly slipped into certain Honda Malaysia showrooms. Reader Suthesh Kumar saw this white example at the Ban Lee Heng Honda dealership in Oakland Industrial Park, Seremban. This is the 1.8 litre variant, and according to Suthesh it adds keyless entry and start, cruise control and auto headlamps, among other enhancements.

UPDATE: The Honda Civic facelift has been officially revealed – view full report.

Numerous sales advisors have already started listing the Civic facelift on oto.my for pre-launch bookings. Sales copy for the oto.my ads have mentioned that the 2.0 variant will get six airbags. There’s also going to be a new colour – Twilight Blue, the same colour as the Honda CR-V’s ‘hero’ blue colour.

Honda Civic facelift at the 2014 Bangkok Motor Show

2014 Honda Civic facelift (Thai-spec)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dat riceness… Jap facelift designer kenot pakai.. facepalm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
    • Front : kia + preve, rear : suprima :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
      • Honda City on Nov 13, 2014 at 1:11 am

I think more people will opt for the top spec Honda City V instead, looks better than the Civic and about the same size. C-Segment car really is a dying segment already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
        • supriman on Nov 13, 2014 at 10:26 am

city uglier than civic..looks very compress

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
          • Iriz_cool on Nov 13, 2014 at 2:43 pm

You are right!

No surprise of course launched quietly. Nothing special also. Better buy Iriz!

I already smoke many of these Civic. They always slow and blocking the fastlane.

• Where is Najib's Promise? on Nov 13, 2014 at 1:52 pm

What is MOST important is where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%? facelift got no meaning. This Honda should be sold for 30% less as promised by Najib.

More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up!

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 37
  • Apotic on Nov 12, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Hardly to notice the improvement from the facelift. Really minor changes not IMPROVEMENT. We need the damn 6 airbags. Iriz far better this lousy Civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 16
    • I am pro you nuub so listen on Nov 13, 2014 at 7:31 am

How do you know the Civic facelift would not come with 6 airbags? NUUB!

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Why can’t they just fix the back….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • gary gary on Nov 12, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Wow i’m impressed. Not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • kenot on Nov 12, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Very little FL. The interior still look cheap.
    however, it is good for more airbags in 2.0. Hope Honda can add to 6 airbags at all across range like Nissan did.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 8:49 pm

They quietly release the FL coz there is nothing to shout about…seriously its just them adding features to stay competitive like the Toyota 1.8G

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • spongewai on Nov 12, 2014 at 9:00 pm

i dun mind ugly or handsome, honda civic is my long time fav instead of Jazz, City and Civic Type R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 46
  • Lim Keng Chiau on Nov 12, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Suspension is soft as shit. Bring back the old model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • beeend on Nov 12, 2014 at 9:08 pm

which part is new?…no difference je…next pls

• Its ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Civic FD is ok but problem with suspension. Mine is 2010 and has 50k on it.

• I think my eyes aren’t sharp enough…exactly where’s the changes….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • lkf0512 on Nov 12, 2014 at 10:15 pm

Better than “3k rebate”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • jacksonljs on Nov 13, 2014 at 10:51 pm

Save “RM3k”, but hospitalization bill might be close to RM30k at anytime (nowadays, I won’t even dare to buy and drive an automatic cars without electronic stability control although I can drive both manual and auto perfectly).

For brand new C segment cars (99% of these C segment cars from non-national makes are automatics), it’s a MUST to have stability control equipped across the range, perhaps that’s the reason why most carbuyers already boycott a ridiculously overpriced cars without stability control (I leave it to you all to guess which car model is it) and opt for other brands instead that were generously equipped with the same or slightly lower amount of money spent. However, if they concern resale value so much, Civic is not a bad choice (at least there’s VSA for base 1.8 variant).

• jacksonljs on Nov 13, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Save “RM3k”, but hospitalization bill might be close to RM30k at anytime (nowadays, I won’t even dare to buy and drive an automatic cars without electronic stability control although I can drive both manual and auto perfectly not because of accident, but after seeing few videos from this website regarding the importance of stability control in today’s cars).

For brand new C segment cars (99% of these C segment cars from non-national makes are automatics), it’s a MUST to have stability control equipped across the range, perhaps that’s the reason why most carbuyers already boycott a ridiculously overpriced cars without stability control (I leave it to you all to guess which car model is it) and opt for other brands instead that were generously equipped with the same or slightly lower amount of money spent. However, if they concern resale value so much, Civic is not a bad choice (at least there’s VSA for base 1.8 variant).

• Peter on Nov 12, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Grille looks ok

• West end boys on Nov 12, 2014 at 10:58 pm

i prefer the us version than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 11:00 pm

finally, six airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Twinsturbo on Nov 12, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Had this car for 2 years. Well, what I can say is the interior is too plasticky especially the dashboard. The good things are multi-linked suspension and drive by wire makes the car better handling and more fun to drive compare to FD. It would be better if this civic FB can come out with US version instead of just minor facelift. Honestly I would go for mazda 3 over this because I can have more premium feeling with almost the same price tag !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • RavenAii on Nov 12, 2014 at 11:29 pm

If it was a facelifted Toyota, you’ll see thousands of advertisements and banners everywhere.

• maXref (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Only a company like Honda can make u scratch your head to look for what exactly they facelifted here… Absolutely disappointed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • maXref (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Only a company like Honda can make u scratch your head to look for what exactly they facelifted here… Absolutely disappointed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • What facelift?

• Stanley Free Makan on Nov 13, 2014 at 1:31 am

The FD is less floaty due to its firmer/harder suspension.

• zuchie on Nov 13, 2014 at 2:02 am

When I need advice about what’s car to buy..almost my friend said Honda civic coz I want the 1.8 cc for my second car. Seriously I want to move out side from the box.. Always M’sia people said buy Toyota or Honda. Sorry,I already book Nissan Sylphy high spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 17
  • I am pro you nuub so listen on Nov 13, 2014 at 7:33 am

what quietly? they didn’t even launch yet. paultan starts to b.o.d.o.h a bit. dealer puts their stock delivered early into showroom only la d.u.m.b

inb4 ban and dont approve my comment la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
    • ganni on Nov 13, 2014 at 11:30 am

if u are really smart ass..start your own blog and we want to see whether u are really smart or not…dont simply simply call other ppl dumb..

• Midship on Nov 13, 2014 at 9:07 am

It’s time to play spot the difference…

• Akulah on Nov 13, 2014 at 10:22 am

I think the beige color interior for 1.8 look more premium than 2.0 black interior. I’ll take it anytime. Good job Honda.

• Therealmaserati on Nov 13, 2014 at 10:36 am

At least this civic is way better to drive than thos rubbish cerato and elantra.

And it has such a smooth engine this civic. The Koreans all have rough and crappy engines!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • the features added so little. where is the steering control for bluetooth call, apple siri, auto wiper?

• Hon-daa on Nov 13, 2014 at 11:50 am

this year facelift…

means 2 years to go for new design…

save money for 2 more years then~

• Alcirvon on Nov 13, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Alza front grill? :v

• Hondah on Nov 13, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Boring… no significant improvement. Japanese just wanna rip your wallet

• breeze on Nov 13, 2014 at 2:02 pm

what i can say for Civic 2.0 is the handling is superior, savefuel with 13-15km/L urbendrive thanks to the SOHC engine n I-Vtec work perfectly. Basically Civic was design for spirit drive, that’s why u cant see anythings what u guys saids softplastic inside the car. Thats not the designer emphasis for this car. They emphasis drive feeling, handling and power. So u cant feel luxury insdide the Civic. But u can feel the soul of the car. Feel it and u get the power of dream. Cheer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Conti car fan on Nov 13, 2014 at 2:47 pm

in toyota page…a lot of negative comments…honda punye page pun byk negative comments…kalau mazda or nissan…lagi teruk…VW even worse…don’t talk about local car la…so…apa kereta mau beli kereta…semua negative…manyak susah…

• Honda guy on Nov 13, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Just some scoop, this honda will be up for sale until the end of 2017. Honda is currently testing the new American civic 2016-2017. It looks actually very much like JAGUAR F TYPE COUPE.

• Even with the facelift, Elantra 1.8 wins with hands down….

• Keris Jawa on Nov 13, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Another excellent cheapo plastico from the Jappo!

• Jibby on Nov 14, 2014 at 8:54 am

Stunning facelift. SO NOT!